DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first, second, third and fourth end attachment points are vertically spaced-apart from each of the first and second side attachment points must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omoto et al (US 5,169,206) in view of Pfalzgraf (US 2002/0167202).
As concerns claim 1, Omoto et al (US 5,169,206) discloses a motor vehicle, comprising:
a roof including a roof opening (2a); and
a panel (3) configurable (via a command mechanism) between a fully closed position in which the panel fully covers the roof opening and a plurality of open positions in which at least a portion of the roof opening is uncovered by the panel, wherein the panel is moveable from the fully closed position to a first open position by movement of the panel in a first direction (as the front of 3 moves backward), and wherein the panel is moveable from the fully closed position to a second open position by movement of the panel in a second direction opposite the first direction (as the rear of 3 moves forward).
Omoto fails to specify, however, wherein the panels are manually configurable.
Pfalzgraf (US 2002/0167202) discloses a motor vehicle, comprising:
a roof including a roof opening (Paragraph [0030] “common roof opening”); and
a panels (15 and 21) manually configurable (Paragraph [0014]) between a fully closed position in which the panel fully covers the roof opening and a plurality of open positions in which at least a portion of the roof opening is uncovered by the panel, wherein the panel is moveable from the fully closed position to a first open position by movement of the panel in a first direction, and wherein the panel is moveable from the fully closed position to a second open position by movement of the panel in a second direction opposite the first direction. (At least Figures 1 and 5 illustrate this configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Omoto as taught by Pfalzgraf to include the capability of manually configuring the panel, for the expected benefit of being able to close or open the panels without the use of a motor or need for power, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 2, the combination discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein:
when the panel (Omoto - 3) is in the first open position, a first portion of the roof opening on a side of the panel opposite the first direction is uncovered by the panel, and when the panel is in the second open position, a second portion of the roof opening on a side of the panel opposite the second direction is uncovered by the panel. (Omoto - Figure 1 / Pfalzgraf – Figures 1-6)
As concerns claim 3, the combination discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 2, wherein the panel is configurable such that both the first portion of the roof opening and the second portion of the roof opening are simultaneously uncovered by the panel. (Omoto - Figure 1 / Pfalzgraf – Fgures 5 and 6)
As concerns claim 14, the combination further discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein:
the panel includes a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a first side extending between the first and second ends, and a second side opposite the first side and extending between the first and second ends, the roof opening includes a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a first side extending between the first and second ends, and a second side opposite the first side and extending between the first and second ends, the panel includes a plurality of pins (Omoto - at least 23, see Figures 2a and 2b) projecting from the first side and the second side (Omoto - Figure 1 illustrates such a panel), a first track (Omoto - 5) adjacent the first side of the roof opening receives the pins projecting from the first side of the panel, and a second track (Omoto - 5) adjacent the second side of the roof opening receives the pins projecting from the second side of the panel.
As concerns claim 15, the combination discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
a beam (Pfalzgraf - Figure 12 above 18 and 24) projecting across the roof opening, a first portion of the panel is on a side of the beam opposite the first direction, and a second portion of the panel is on a side of the beam opposite the second direction.
As concerns claim 16, the combination discloses the motor vehicle as recited in claim 15, wherein the first and second portions of the panel are independently moveable. (Pfalzgraf - Figures 1-3 illustrate such movement)
As concerns claim 18, Omoto discloses a method, comprising:
moving a panel (Omoto - 3) from a fully closed position in which the panel fully covers a roof opening in a roof of a motor vehicle to a first open position by moving the panel in a first direction;
moving the panel from the first open position to the fully closed position; and manually moving the panel from the fully closed position to a second open position by movement of the panel in a second direction opposite the first direction. (According to Omoto, the front and rear section of the panel are independently operable; Column 8, Lines 3-32)
Omoto fails to specify, however, wherein the panels are manually configurable.
Pfalzgraf (US 2002/0167202) discloses a motor vehicle, comprising:
a roof including a roof opening (Paragraph [0030] “common roof opening”); and
a panels (15 and 21) manually configurable (Paragraph [0014]) between a fully closed position in which the panel fully covers the roof opening and a plurality of open positions in which at least a portion of the roof opening is uncovered by the panel, wherein the panel is moveable from the fully closed position to a first open position by movement of the panel in a first direction, and wherein the panel is moveable from the fully closed position to a second open position by movement of the panel in a second direction opposite the first direction. (At least Figures 1 and 5 illustrate this configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Omoto as taught by Pfalzgraf to include the capability of manually configuring the panel, for the expected benefit of being able to close or open the panels without the use of a motor or need for power, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
As concerns claim 20, the combination discloses the method as recited in claim 18, wherein:
the step of moving the panel to the first open position includes moving a first portion of the panel relative to a beam (Pfalzgraf – Figure 12, shown above 18 and 24) projecting across the roof opening, and the step of moving the panel to the second open position includes moving a second portion of the panel relative to the beam.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As concerns claims 4 and 19, the panel is claimed as having at least one clamp, configured to selectively attach and detach the panel to a plurality of attachment points. The prior art found, that allows for the movement and configurability of claim 1 does not also provide clamping mechanisms that cooperate with a plurality of attachment points as further defined in claim 4.
While there are rigid panels that indeed have clamps, such as Bernath (US 12,037,824), and Pizzuti (US 3,993,348), these clamp systems would not have been obvious to provide on the soft panel systems of Omoto and Pfalzgraf because they would cause the systems to stop functioning, by either adding too much weight or pacing mechanical elements on the panels that would interfere with proper fitment in the roof opening.
As concerns claim 17, similarly, in order to perform the movement claimed by depended-upon claim 1, a soft panel is the only type which meets the claimed invention. The addition of a roof rack including cross-bars overlapping the roof opening of a soft roof as found is not found to be practical given previous roof designs. In order to maximize the open space, vehicles were designed to not have roof racks placed over the soft movable panels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679