DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Based on the amendments to the claims, the previous restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/4/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the first use of the acronym 3D PHY should be defined. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akel et al. US 2024/0088084 in view of Park et al. US 2022/0113889
As per claim 1, Akel et al. apparatus, comprising: one or more memory dies (figure 1 element 102); and an interface die comprising (figure 1 element 112): a 3D (stacked memory, figure 1 element 104) PHY (figure 1 element 112) communicatively coupled to the one or more memory dies via Through-Wafer Interconnects (TWIs) (paragraph [0021] through silicon via), wherein the 3D PHY is configured to communicate with a host device via a customized communication interface (Paragraph [0016]); and a memory built-in self-test (MBIST) circuit communicatively coupled to the one or more memory dies via the TWIs (Paragraph [0019], Fig 7).
Not explicitly taught by Akel et al. is that the self-test is a MBIST as claimed. However, in an analogous art Park et al teaches a memory built-in self-test (Abstract) in the context of stacked memory circuitry. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application to use a memory built in self-test to test stacked memory dies as suggested om the abstract of Akel et al.
Claim 9, directed to the interface die, is substantially the same as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
As per claims 3 and 11, Park et al. teaches the MBIST circuit comprises test patterns of data and instructions for performing a test of the apparatus (Paragraph [0135]).
As per claims 4 and 12, Park et al. teaches the MBIST circuit is configured to output a test result of the one or more memory dies to an external device (paragraphs [0130-0131]).
As per claims 5 and 13 Akel et al teach each of the one or more memory dies comprises respective interface circuitry to communicate with the interface die via the TWIs (TSV Figure 6 element 624 paragraphs [0025-0027]).
As per claims 6 and 14, Park et al. teaches the MBIST circuit is configured to communicate with the respective interface circuitry of the one or more memory dies via the TWIs (Paragraphs [0134-0135] Fig 12).
As per claims 7 and 15 Park et al. teaches the MBIST circuit is configured to select a memory die of the one or more memory dies for testing by sending a select signal (control signals) via the TWIs to the respective interface circuitry (Paragraph [00134]).
As per claim 16 Park et al teaches the 3D PHY is communicatively coupled (Paragraph [0037]) to the host device via a plurality of micro-bumps, and wherein the host device comprises the customized communication interface (paragraph [0134]).
As per claim 8, Park et al. teaches memory dies form a three-dimensional (3D) high bandwidth memory (HBM) cube (Paragraph [0133])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 are allowable over the prior arts of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The “claimed invention of independent claim 17 recites:
“A memory device, comprising:
a memory built-in self-test (MBIST) circuit of a memory device, comprising:
an address generator communicatively coupled to one or more memory dies of the memory device via Through-Wafer Interconnects (TWIs), wherein the address generator is configured to generate address data and transmit the address data to the one or more memory dies via the TWIs;
a data generator communicatively coupled to the one or more memory dies of the memory device via the TWIs, wherein the data generator is configured to generate input data and transmit the input data to the one or more memory dies via the TWIs;
a comparator communicatively coupled to the one or more memory dies of the memory device via the TWIs, wherein the comparator is configured to receive output data from the one or more memory dies via the TWIs and analyze the output data; and
a built-in self-test (BIST) controller communicatively coupled to the one or more memory dies of the memory device via the TWIs, wherein the BIST controller is communicatively coupled to the address generator, the data generator, and the comparator; and a
3D PHY communicatively coupled to the one or more memory dies of the memory device via the TWIs, wherein the 3D PHY is configured to communicate with a host device via a customized communication interface, and wherein the MBIST is configured to communicate, via the TWIs, data with the 3D PHY of the memory device.”
The prior arts of record teach
US 2025/0201722 to Loh et al. teaches a 3D chip stack connected to a separate chip via an elevated fanout bridge. The apparatus can be configured to deliver power to an interposer die without obstruction. Instead of blocking any part of the power delivery to the interposer die, through-silicon vias can be placed in the edge of the interposer die, and additional through-silicon vias can be placed in a dummy die on top of the elevated fanout bridge. A backside bridge can transmit signals from the physical interfaces of the interposer die to the elevated fanout bridge through the two sets of through-silicon vias.
US 20250103488 to Kang et al. teaches a stacked semiconductor memory, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) die, and an interposer. The stacked semiconductor memory and the ASIC die may be connected to the top of the interposer. The stacked semiconductor memory may correspond to an HBM with a bandwidth increased by stacking a plurality of memory chips, e.g., a plurality of dies, and electrically connecting the plurality of memory chips to each other via a TSV base die may include a PHY interface, an HBM controller, a low latency channel (LLC), a UCI port, a boot module, and a test module.
However, the prior arts of record fail to teach the claimed specifics of independent claim 17. As such, modification of the prior arts of record can only be motivated by hindsight reasoning, or by changing the intended use and function of the prior arts. Therefore, it is not clear that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have made the necessary modifications to the prior arts of record to encompass the limitations set forth in the present claims. Moreover, none of the prior arts of record, taken either alone or in combination, anticipate or render obvious the combined specifics of the claimed invention. Hence, claims 17-20 are allowable over the prior arts of record.
Conclusion
CYNTHIA H. BRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2111
/CYNTHIA BRITT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111