/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666 DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on November 18th, 2024. Claims 1-8 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on November 18th, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to JP2022-116478 dated July 21st, 2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first-vehicle information receiving unit configured to receive” in claim 1. Structure for this limitation can be found at paragraph [0013]; of Applicant’s specification; “Each of these functional blocks 3 to 9 is composed mainly of a microcontroller having elements such as a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, and an I/O port. The microcontroller executes software processing by causing the CPU to execute a computer program stored in a non-transitory tangible storage medium, and executes hardware processing with a dedicated electronic circuit for controlling the vehicle positioning system 1. The computer program executed by the CPU includes an own-vehicle information provision program (also referred to as a second-vehicle information provision program)”.
“a surrounding information analysis unit configured to analyze” in claim 1. Structure for this limitation can be found at paragraph [0013]; of Applicant’s specification; “Each of these functional blocks 3 to 9 is composed mainly of a microcontroller having elements such as a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, and an I/O port. The microcontroller executes software processing by causing the CPU to execute a computer program stored in a non-transitory tangible storage medium, and executes hardware processing with a dedicated electronic circuit for controlling the vehicle positioning system 1. The computer program executed by the CPU includes an own-vehicle information provision program (also referred to as a second-vehicle information provision program)”.
“a positioning unit configured to perform positioning” in claim 1. Structure for this limitation can be found at paragraph [0013]; of Applicant’s specification; “Each of these functional blocks 3 to 9 is composed mainly of a microcontroller having elements such as a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, and an I/O port. The microcontroller executes software processing by causing the CPU to execute a computer program stored in a non-transitory tangible storage medium, and executes hardware processing with a dedicated electronic circuit for controlling the vehicle positioning system 1. The computer program executed by the CPU includes an own-vehicle information provision program (also referred to as a second-vehicle information provision program)”.
“a positioning accuracy determination unit configured to determine accuracy” in claims 1, 2 and 4. Structure for this limitation can be found at paragraph [0013]; of Applicant’s specification; “Each of these functional blocks 3 to 9 is composed mainly of a microcontroller having elements such as a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, and an I/O port. The microcontroller executes software processing by causing the CPU to execute a computer program stored in a non-transitory tangible storage medium, and executes hardware processing with a dedicated electronic circuit for controlling the vehicle positioning system 1. The computer program executed by the CPU includes an own-vehicle information provision program (also referred to as a second-vehicle information provision program)”.
“a second-vehicle information generation unit configured to generate” in claim 1. Structure for this limitation can be found at paragraph [0013]; of Applicant’s specification; “Each of these functional blocks 3 to 9 is composed mainly of a microcontroller having elements such as a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, and an I/O port. The microcontroller executes software processing by causing the CPU to execute a computer program stored in a non-transitory tangible storage medium, and executes hardware processing with a dedicated electronic circuit for controlling the vehicle positioning system 1. The computer program executed by the CPU includes an own-vehicle information provision program (also referred to as a second-vehicle information provision program)”.
“a second-vehicle information transmitting unit configured to transmit” in claim 1. Structure for this limitation can be found at paragraph [0013]; of Applicant’s specification; “Each of these functional blocks 3 to 9 is composed mainly of a microcontroller having elements such as a CPU, a RAM, a ROM, and an I/O port. The microcontroller executes software processing by causing the CPU to execute a computer program stored in a non-transitory tangible storage medium, and executes hardware processing with a dedicated electronic circuit for controlling the vehicle positioning system 1. The computer program executed by the CPU includes an own-vehicle information provision program (also referred to as a second-vehicle information provision program)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the limitation "a determination result by the positioning accuracy determination unit". It is unclear whether the determination result is an additional determination different of that from the previous step or is the same as the determination result of the previous step. For the purpose of prior art examination, examiner is interpreting the result as being different than the determination by the positioning accuracy determination unit in the previous step. Claims 2-5 and 8 are additionally rejected due to their dependence on the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by JP2016118493A (hereinafter, “Kawai”).
Regarding claim 1 Kawai discloses a vehicle positioning system (see at least [0001]; “The present invention relates to a GNSS positioning device, and more particularly to a technique for improving positioning accuracy”) comprising:
a first-vehicle information receiving unit configured to receive first-vehicle information transmitted by a first vehicle around a second vehicle (Examiner Note: applicant defines the first vehicle as the other vehicle and the second vehicle as the own vehicle in which the positioning system is located)(see at least [0015]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information 14 to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication” vehicles in the vicinity of one another may transmit vehicle information to one another, the vehicle reception information corresponds to first-vehicle information);
a surrounding information analysis unit configured to analyze the first-vehicle information to acquire a first positioning performance of the first vehicle (see at least [0015]; “The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100 that transmits the vehicle reception information 14. The C/N corresponds to the reception quality information in the claims,” the reception quality of the vehicle reception information corresponds to the first positioning performance);
a positioning unit configured to perform positioning of the second vehicle based on satellite information acquired by the second vehicle and the first positioning performance (see at least [0020]; “The positioning processing unit 105 is a computer equipped with a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc., and sequentially calculates coordinates representing the current position using information obtained from the wireless communication device 101, the GNSS receiver 102, the gyro sensor 103, and the vehicle speed sensor 104,” the information received by the GNSS receiver corresponds to the satellite information acquired by the own vehicle, and the information received by the wireless communication device corresponds to the information received by surrounding vehicles and would include the quality information, which corresponds to first positioning performance);
a positioning accuracy determination unit configured to determine accuracy of the positioning of the second vehicle based on the first positioning performance and a second positioning performance (see at least [0018]; “The GNSS receiver 102 receives the positioning signal 11…In addition, the C/N is determined for each positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> from which the positioning signal 11 is received”) of the second vehicle (see at least [0063-0064 ]; “by comparing the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles with the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 for the positioning signal 11 received from the same positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub>, it is possible to accurately determine whether the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath. If it is determined that the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath (S32: YES, S34: YES), the positioning signal 11 is excluded and positioning calculations are performed (S5, S6). Therefore, even in an environment where the positioning signal 11 may be affected by multipath, it is possible to suppress a decrease in positioning accuracy,” the accuracy of the positioning is determined based on a comparison of the reception quality of the own and surrounding vehicle);
a second-vehicle information generation unit configured to generate second-vehicle information based on a determination result by the positioning accuracy determination unit, the second-vehicle information including at least one of information indicating which satellite is used for the positioning of the second vehicle, information indicating which satellite is not used for the positioning of the second vehicle, ephemeris information, or pseudorange correction information (see at least [0115]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication. The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100” the vehicle is capable of transmitting its own vehicle information in addition to receiving vehicle information, where the signal is received from, G<sub> n </sub>, is the information indicating which satellite is used, this information may be transmitted to surrounding vehicles”); and
a second-vehicle information transmitting unit configured to transmit the second-vehicle information to the first vehicle (see at least [0115]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication. The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100” the vehicle is capable of transmitting its own vehicle information in addition to receiving vehicle information, where the signal is received from, G<sub> n </sub>, is the information indicating which satellite is used, this information may be transmitted to surrounding vehicles”).
Regarding claim 2 Kawai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kawai discloses wherein the positioning accuracy determination unit is configured to compare the first positioning performance with the second positioning performance by comparing information dependent on a positioning situation between the first vehicle and the second vehicle (see at least [0063-0064 ]; “by comparing the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles with the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 for the positioning signal 11 received from the same positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub>, it is possible to accurately determine whether the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath. If it is determined that the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath (S32: YES, S34: YES), the positioning signal 11 is excluded and positioning calculations are performed (S5, S6). Therefore, even in an environment where the positioning signal 11 may be affected by multipath, it is possible to suppress a decrease in positioning accuracy,” the accuracy of the positioning is determined based on a comparison of the reception quality of the own and surrounding vehicle).
Regarding claim 3 Kawai discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Kawai discloses wherein the information dependent on the positioning situation is at least one of information of a satellite used for the positioning or a reliability of the satellite used for the positioning (see at least [0025]; “the satellite ID received in step S1 is registered in a receiving satellite list, and the satellite ID and the C/N received in step S1 are registered in a satellite management database (hereinafter referred to as satellite management DB),” the quality of the satellite signal is equivalent to a reliability of a satellite and is used in determining positioning).
Regarding claim 4 Kawai discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Kawai discloses wherein the positioning accuracy determination unit is configured to compare the first positioning performance with the second positioning performance by comparing information independent of a positioning situation between the first vehicle and the second vehicle see at least [0063-0064 ]; “by comparing the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles with the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 for the positioning signal 11 received from the same positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub>, it is possible to accurately determine whether the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath. If it is determined that the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath (S32: YES, S34: YES), the positioning signal 11 is excluded and positioning calculations are performed (S5, S6). Therefore, even in an environment where the positioning signal 11 may be affected by multipath, it is possible to suppress a decrease in positioning accuracy,” the accuracy of the positioning is determined based on a comparison of the reception quality of the own and surrounding vehicle, and [0019]; “The gyro sensor 103 and the vehicle speed sensor 104 are sensors for performing inertial dead reckoning navigation when satellite positioning is not possible underground, under an overpass, or the like,” the sensors which are independent of the satellites are used in place of the satellites for positioning when satellites are unavailable).
Regarding claim 5 Kawai discloses all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Kawai discloses wherein the information independent of the positioning situation is at least one of antenna information, performance of positioning algorithm or a chip, a satellite system available for the positioning, or inertial sensor information (see at least [0019]; “The gyro sensor 103 and the vehicle speed sensor 104 are sensors for performing inertial dead reckoning navigation when satellite positioning is not possible underground, under an overpass, or the like,” the information provided by the gyro sensor and speed sensor are equivalent to inertial sensor information).
Regarding claim 6 Kawai discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising a second-vehicle information provision program (see at least [0020]; “The positioning processing unit 105 is a computer equipped with a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc., and sequentially calculates coordinates representing the current position using information obtained from the wireless communication device 101, the GNSS receiver 102, the gyro sensor 103, and the vehicle speed sensor 104”) configured to cause a vehicle positioning system to:
receive first-vehicle information transmitted by a first vehicle around a second vehicle (Examiner Note: applicant defines the first vehicle as the other vehicle and the second vehicle as the own vehicle in which the positioning system is located)(see at least [0015]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information 14 to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication” vehicles in the vicinity of one another may transmit vehicle information to one another, the vehicle reception information corresponds to first-vehicle information);
analyze the first-vehicle information to acquire a first positioning performance of the first vehicle (see at least [0015]; “The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100 that transmits the vehicle reception information 14. The C/N corresponds to the reception quality information in the claims,” the reception quality of the vehicle reception information corresponds to the first positioning performance);
perform positioning of the second vehicle based on satellite information acquired by the second vehicle and the first positioning performance (see at least [0020]; “The positioning processing unit 105 is a computer equipped with a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc., and sequentially calculates coordinates representing the current position using information obtained from the wireless communication device 101, the GNSS receiver 102, the gyro sensor 103, and the vehicle speed sensor 104,” the information received by the GNSS receiver corresponds to the satellite information acquired by the own vehicle, and the information received by the wireless communication device corresponds to the information received by surrounding vehicles and would include the quality information, which corresponds to first positioning performance );
determine accuracy of the positioning of the second vehicle based on the first positioning performance and a second positioning performance (see at least [0018]; “The GNSS receiver 102 receives the positioning signal 11…In addition, the C/N is determined for each positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> from which the positioning signal 11 is received”) of the second vehicle (see at least [0063-0064 ]; “by comparing the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles with the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 for the positioning signal 11 received from the same positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub>, it is possible to accurately determine whether the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath. If it is determined that the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath (S32: YES, S34: YES), the positioning signal 11 is excluded and positioning calculations are performed (S5, S6). Therefore, even in an environment where the positioning signal 11 may be affected by multipath, it is possible to suppress a decrease in positioning accuracy,” the accuracy of the positioning is determined based on a comparison of the reception quality of the own and surrounding vehicle);
generate second-vehicle information based on a determination result of the accuracy, the second-vehicle information including at least one of information indicating which satellite is used for the positioning of the second vehicle, information indicating which satellite is not used for the positioning of the second vehicle, ephemeris information, or pseudorange correction information (see at least [0115]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication. The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100” the vehicle is capable of transmitting its own vehicle information in addition to receiving vehicle information, where the signal is received from, G<sub> n </sub>, is the information indicating which satellite is used, this information may be transmitted to surrounding vehicles”); and
transmit the second-vehicle information to the first vehicle (see at least [0115]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication. The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100” the vehicle is capable of transmitting its own vehicle information in addition to receiving vehicle information, where the signal is received from, G<sub> n </sub>, is the information indicating which satellite is used, this information may be transmitted to surrounding vehicles”).
Regarding claim 7 Kawai discloses a vehicle positioning system (see at least [0001]; “The present invention relates to a GNSS positioning device, and more particularly to a technique for improving positioning accuracy”) comprising at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor having a memory storing computer program code (see at least [0020]; “The positioning processing unit 105 is a computer equipped with a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc., and sequentially calculates coordinates representing the current position using information obtained from the wireless communication device 101, the GNSS receiver 102, the gyro sensor 103, and the vehicle speed sensor 104”), wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor having the memory is configured to cause the vehicle positioning system to:
receive first-vehicle information transmitted by a first vehicle around a second vehicle (Examiner Note: applicant defines the first vehicle as the other vehicle and the second vehicle as the own vehicle in which the positioning system is located)(see at least [0015]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information 14 to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication” vehicles in the vicinity of one another may transmit vehicle information to one another, the vehicle reception information corresponds to first-vehicle information);
analyze the first-vehicle information to acquire a first positioning performance of the first vehicle (see at least [0015]; “The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100 that transmits the vehicle reception information 14. The C/N corresponds to the reception quality information in the claims,” the reception quality of the vehicle reception information corresponds to the first positioning performance);
perform positioning of the second vehicle based on satellite information acquired by the second vehicle and the first positioning performance (see at least [0020]; “The positioning processing unit 105 is a computer equipped with a CPU, ROM, RAM, etc., and sequentially calculates coordinates representing the current position using information obtained from the wireless communication device 101, the GNSS receiver 102, the gyro sensor 103, and the vehicle speed sensor 104,” the information received by the GNSS receiver corresponds to the satellite information acquired by the own vehicle, and the information received by the wireless communication device corresponds to the information received by surrounding vehicles and would include the quality information, which corresponds to first positioning performance);
determine accuracy of the positioning of the second vehicle based on the first positioning performance and a second positioning performance (see at least [0018]; “The GNSS receiver 102 receives the positioning signal 11…In addition, the C/N is determined for each positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> from which the positioning signal 11 is received”) of the second vehicle (see at least [0063-0064 ]; “by comparing the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles with the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 for the positioning signal 11 received from the same positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub>, it is possible to accurately determine whether the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath. If it is determined that the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath (S32: YES, S34: YES), the positioning signal 11 is excluded and positioning calculations are performed (S5, S6). Therefore, even in an environment where the positioning signal 11 may be affected by multipath, it is possible to suppress a decrease in positioning accuracy,” the accuracy of the positioning is determined based on a comparison of the reception quality of the own and surrounding vehicle);
generate second-vehicle information based on a determination result of the accuracy, the second-vehicle information including at least one of information indicating which satellite is used for the positioning of the second vehicle, information indicating which satellite is not used for the positioning of the second vehicle, ephemeris information, or pseudorange correction information (see at least [0115]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication. The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100” the vehicle is capable of transmitting its own vehicle information in addition to receiving vehicle information, where the signal is received from, G<sub> n </sub>, is the information indicating which satellite is used, this information may be transmitted to surrounding vehicles”); and
transmit the second-vehicle information to the first vehicle (see at least [0115]; “the in-vehicle devices 100 transmit and receive vehicle reception information to and from each other through inter-vehicle communication. The vehicle reception information 14 includes the C/N (dB) of the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> by the in-vehicle device 100” the vehicle is capable of transmitting its own vehicle information in addition to receiving vehicle information, where the signal is received from, G<sub> n </sub>, is the information indicating which satellite is used, this information may be transmitted to surrounding vehicles”).
Regarding claim 8 Kawai discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Kawai discloses wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor having the memory is further configured to cause the vehicle positioning system to:
compare the first positioning performance and the second positioning performance (see at least [0063-0064 ]; “by comparing the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles with the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 for the positioning signal 11 received from the same positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub>, it is possible to accurately determine whether the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath. If it is determined that the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is affected by multipath (S32: YES, S34: YES), the positioning signal 11 is excluded and positioning calculations are performed (S5, S6). Therefore, even in an environment where the positioning signal 11 may be affected by multipath, it is possible to suppress a decrease in positioning accuracy,” the accuracy of the positioning is determined based on a comparison of the reception quality of the own and surrounding vehicle);
perform the positioning of the second vehicle using the satellite information and the first-vehicle information when the first positioning performance is superior to the second positioning performance (see at least [0065]; “Two types of comparisons are made between the C/N included in the vehicle reception information received from the surrounding vehicles and the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the host vehicle C0. First, if the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is lower by a threshold value T1 or more than the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles, the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> being judged is excluded from the positioning calculation,” when the information of a vehicles own position is of lesser quality than the first vehicle information received, which is based on satellite signals received by that vehicle, the information included in the second positioning performance is excluded from the positioning calculation); and
perform the positioning of the second vehicle based on the satellite information without using the first-vehicle information when the first positioning performance is inferior to the second positioning performance (see at least [0065]; “Two types of comparisons are made between the C/N included in the vehicle reception information received from the surrounding vehicles and the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the host vehicle C0. First, if the C/N of the positioning signal 11 received by the GNSS receiver 102 of the vehicle C0 is lower by a threshold value T1 or more than the C/N contained in the vehicle reception information received from surrounding vehicles, the positioning signal 11 received from the positioning satellite G<sub> n </sub> being judged is excluded from the positioning calculation,” whichever information is of greater quality is used in the positioning calculation).
Conclusion
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666