DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stover (US 2006/0260036).
Regarding claim 1, Stover discloses a vehicle washer connector comprising:
a main body part (12) connecting washer hoses to each other (The main body part connects 22 and 20 to each other);
a heating part (14) mounted on the main body part (Figure 2), wherein the heating part has a heating wire (50) connected thereto (Figure 2) and disposed on an inner side of the main body part (Figure 2) and is configured to supply power to heat the heating wire (Paragraph 21);
a temperature sensor (32) coupled to the main body part (Figure 2) and configured to measure a temperature of washer fluid flowing through the main body part (Paragraph 23); and
a controller (30) connected to the heating part and the temperature sensor (Figure 2 and Paragraph 23), wherein the controller selectively controls operation of the heating part by comparing the temperature of the washer fluid measured by the temperature sensor and a set temperature (Paragraph 23); and
a pressure sensor (70) mounted in the main body part (Figure 2) and configured to measure pressure of the washer fluid flowing through the main body part (Paragraph 24),
wherein the temperature is mounted in the main body part (Figure 2), and
wherein the pressure sensor (70) is disposed in the main body part spaced apart from the temperature sensor (Figure 2) and the pressure sensor and temperature sensor are mounted to the body part in the same manner (Both elements are mounted to protrude from the flow line), but is silent as to whether the sensor is detachable from the main body part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the sensor detachable (with the heater), since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177,179.
Regarding claim 2, Stover discloses the vehicle washer connector of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the heating part is inclined relative to the main body part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incline the heating part since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 3, Stover discloses the vehicle washer connector of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the heating part is integrally mounted on the main body part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the elements integral since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has been formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Regarding claim 5, Stover discloses the vehicle washer connector of claim 1, wherein the temperature sensor is mounted in a mounting area formed in the main body part (Figure 2) and is disposed in the mounting area spaced apart from the heating wire that is disposed on the inner side of the main body part (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Stover discloses the vehicle washer connector of claim 1, wherein the controller, upon determining that the temperature of the washer fluid measured by the temperature sensor is below the set temperature, performs a control operation to supply the power to the heating part (Paragraph 10, the heater may be shut off until the temperature falls below a specified amount).
Regarding claim 7, Stover discloses, the vehicle washer connector of claim 1, wherein the controller, upon determining that the temperature of the washer fluid measured by the temperature sensor is equal to or higher than the set temperature, performs a control operation to cut off the power supplied to the heating part (Paragraph 10, the heater may shut off when the specified temperature of water is reached).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a quick-connect mechanism) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As to Applicant’s position that the sensors are not on the same line, the sensors are on the line created by the joining of the constituent parts of the flow line of the device. As such, the sensors are on the same line.
Examiner notes that the limitations are broadly recited. Examiner recommends identifying the quick-connect mechanism in the claim limitations to overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752