DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application no. 18/951,291 for a SLIDE LOCK STRUCTURE FOR SLIDE RAIL DEVICE filed on 11/18/2024. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Fig. 9, RNs 64, 66, 66, etc. (the list is not exhaustive, applicant needs to find every instance). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 10, 12-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokai (JP 63-192138).
Regarding claim 1, Tokai teaches a slide lock structure (Figs. 8-9) for a vehicle slide rail device including a linear rail (26) extending in a lengthwise direction, and having a channel cross section including a first side wall and a second side wall that are separated from and oppose each other in a lateral direction, each side wall being provided with a plurality of slots (38) arranged along the lengthwise direction thereof, and a slider (36) slidably engaging the linear rail, the slide lock structure, comprising: a casing attached to the slider and including a part located between the first side wall and the second side wall; a first lock member provided on the casing, and provided with at least one engagement projection projecting laterally outward, the at least one engagement projection being laterally movable between an engaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is received in one of the slots, and a disengaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is dislodged from the slots; a first biasing member urging the first lock member toward the engaged position; and an operating member provided on the casing in a movable manner such that the first lock member is moved to the disengaged position against a biasing force of the first biasing member as the operating member is moved in a prescribed direction, but does not specifically teach that the operating member projects higher than an upper surface of the casing and an upper wall of the linear rail. Tokai, however, teaches a slide lock structure (Fig. 3) wherein the operating member (50B) projects higher than an upper surface of the casing (50) and an upper wall of the linear rail (at 26c) in order to allow the user to activate the operating member to move and/or lock the vehicle seat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the operating member of Tokai (Figs. 8-9) projecting higher than an upper surface of the casing and an upper wall of the linear rail in order to provide easy access to the mechanism for operation of the slide lock structure for quick application, in view of Tokai (Fig. 3).
[AltContent: textbox (2nd biasing member )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd lock member)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st lock member)]
[AltContent: textbox (projection)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (slot)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd side wall)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (1st side wall)][AltContent: textbox (projection)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Center of casing)][AltContent: textbox (1st biasing member)]
[AltContent: textbox (operating member)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Contact part (outer surface))][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Casing including a part)]
Regarding claim 3, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the structure of claim 1, wherein the first biasing member is fitted on the first lock member (Fig. 8), but does not teach that the first biasing member is fitted in the first lock member. Tokai, however, teaches a slide lock structure (Fig. 2) wherein the first biasing member (62) is fitted in the first lock member (54) in order to secure the first biasing member to the first lock member while allowing for translational movement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the first biasing member fitted in the first lock member in order to prevent the first biasing member from disconnecting from the first lock member, in view of Tokai (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the structure of claim 1, further comprising: a second lock member provided on the casing, and provided with at least one engagement projection projecting laterally outward, the at least one engagement projection being laterally movable between an engaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is received in one of the slots, and a disengaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is dislodged from the slots; and a second biasing member urging the second lock member toward the engaged position, wherein the operating member has a contact part that contacts the first and second lock members to move the first and second lock members, and the contact part is positioned closer to a center of the casing (center of contact part is located at the center of the casing) with respect to the lengthwise direction than the first and second biasing members are.
Regarding claim 5, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the structure of claim 4, wherein each of the first and second biasing members urges both the first and second lock members.
Regarding claim 9, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the structure of claim 1, wherein the casing is provided with a recess and the first lock member is received in the recess (interior of casing is a recess that houses the first lock member, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Tokai teaches a method for manufacturing a slide lock structure for a vehicle slide rail device (Figs. 8, 9; see figure above) including a linear rail (26) extending in a lengthwise direction, and having a channel cross section including a first side wall and a second side wall that are separated from and oppose each other in a lateral direction, each side wall being provided with a plurality of slots (38) arranged along the lengthwise direction thereof, and a slider (36) slidably engaging the linear rail, the method comprising: attaching a casing to the slider such that the casing includes a part located between the first side wall and the second side wall; providing a first lock member on the casing, such that the first lock member is provided with at least one engagement projection projecting laterally outward, the at least one engagement projection being laterally movable between an engaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is received in one of the slots, and a disengaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is dislodged from the slots; providing a first biasing member urging the first lock member toward the engaged position; and providing an operating member on the casing in a movable manner such that the first lock member is moved to the disengaged position against a biasing force of the first biasing member as the operating member is moved in a prescribed direction, but does not specifically teach that the operating member projects higher than an upper surface of the casing and an upper wall of the linear rail. Tokai, however, teaches a slide lock structure (Fig. 3) wherein the operating member (50B) projects higher than an upper surface of the casing (50) and an upper wall of the linear rail (at 26c) in order to allow the user to activate the operating member to lock the vehicle seat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the operating member of Tokai (Figs. 8-9) projecting higher than an upper surface of the casing and an upper wall of the linear rail in order to provide easy access to the mechanism for operation of the slide lock structure for quick application, in view of Tokai (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the method of claim 10, wherein the first biasing member is fitted on the first lock member (Fig. 8), but does not teach that the first biasing member is fitted in the first lock member. Tokai, however, teaches a slide lock structure (Fig. 2) wherein the first biasing member (62) is fitted in the first lock member (54) in order to secure the first biasing member to the first lock member while allowing for translational movement. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to construct the first biasing member fitted in the first lock member in order to prevent the first biasing member from disconnecting from the first lock member, in view of Tokai (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the method of claim 10, further comprising: providing a second lock member on the casing, such that the second lock member is provided with at least one engagement projection projecting laterally outward, the at least one engagement projection being laterally movable between an engaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is received in one of the slots, and a disengaged position in which the at least one engagement projection is dislodged from the slots; and a second biasing member urging the second lock member toward the engaged position, wherein the operating member has a contact part that contacts the first and second lock members to move the first and second lock members, and the contact part is positioned closer to a center of the casing (center of contact part is located at the center of the casing) with respect to the lengthwise direction than the first and second biasing members are.
Regarding claim 14, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the method of claim 13, wherein each of the first and second biasing members urges both the first and second lock members.
Regarding claim 18, Tokai (Figs. 8-9) and Tokai (Fig. 3) teach the method of claim 10, wherein the casing is provided with a recess and the first lock member is received in the recess (interior of casing is a recess that houses the first lock member, Fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-8, 11 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPub 2018/0272899, 2017/0305305, 2016/0039314; USP 11161431 (vehicle seat sliding structure)
/NKEISHA SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 February 6, 2026