DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1 and 9 recite limitation “in contact” and “contacts”, which render claims indefinite, since it’s not clear what kind of contact (i.e., physical, thermal, electrical, etc.) the claims are referring to.
Furthermore, in claims 1, 6, and 10-14, the limitation “thermal interface material” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Furthermore, in claim 8, the limitation “heat spreader layer” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Furthermore, claim 3 recites the limitations: “there is a plurality of electrical components connected to the printed circuit board of varying sizes”. It’s not clear where the limitations “various sizes” refer to the “electrical components” or to the “circuit board”. As best understood by the Office, the claim will be interpreted as reciting electrical components of various sizes.
Furthermore, there is an inconsistency present between claim 1 and claim 4. Claim 4 sets forth “a first heat spreader layer”, which appears to be the same heat spreader layer as the previously introduced “heat spreader layer” in the parent claim 1. As such, there are two different names present for the same component.
Furthermore, there is an inconsistency present between claim 1 and claim 6. First, claim 6 recites “thermal interface material” limitation (l. 2) which lacks proper antecedent basis. Second, claim 1 sets forth the “thermal interface material” which is “disposed between the heat spreader layer and the outer housing”, and then dependent claim 6 recites the “thermal interface material” that is “disposed between the printed circuit board and a cover member”.
Applicant must carefully review all claims for consistency in relation to all remaining recited components of the device structure. All alternative components must be properly positively set forth in the claims.
Since remaining dependent claims inherit the aforementioned problems of the independent claims 1 and 9, they have been also rejected along with said claims 1 and 9.
The Office requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting all remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-12, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being clearly anticipated by US 5, 323, 292 to Brzezinski.
Regarding claim 1, Brzezinski discloses (Fig. 2) an electronic control unit (64), comprising: an outer housing (66); a printed circuit board (76) ; at least one electrical component (78, 80, 82, 84, 86 and 88) connected to the printed circuit board, a heat spreader layer (92) disposed between the electrical component and the outer housing and including at least a portion in contact with the outer housing (Fig. 2); and thermal interface material (94) disposed between the heat spreader layer (92) and the outer housing (66).
Regarding claim 9, Brzezinski discloses (Figs. 2, 3) an electronic control unit (10, 64) comprising: an outer housing member (12, 66) and a cover member (14); a printed circuit board (26, 76); a plurality of electrical components (28-38, 106) connected to a top and bottom surface of the printed circuit board, wherein the electrical components are of varying sizes (col. 7, ll. 58-60); a first heat spreader layer (56, 92) disposed between the electrical components disposed on the top surface of the printed circuit board and the outer housing and including at least a portion in contact with the outer housing (Figs. 2, 3); and a second heat spreader layer (108) disposed between the electrical components (106) disposed on the bottom surface of the printed circuit board and the cover member (14), wherein a portion of the second heat spreader layer (108) contacts the cover member (14), (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Brzezinski discloses that there is a plurality of electrical components connected to the printed circuit board of varying sizes (col. 7, ll. 58-60).
Regarding claim 4, Brzezinski discloses (Figs. 2, 3) that there is a second heat spreader layer (108) provided such that a first heat spreader layer (56, 92) is disposed on one side of the printed circuit board (26, 76) and the second heat spreader layer (108) is provided on an opposite side of the printed circuit board (Figs. 2, 3).
Regarding claim 5, Brzezinski discloses (Figs. 2, 3) that there are one or more electrical components (106) connected to a bottom surface of the printed circuit board (26, 76), and wherein the second heat spreader layer (108) is disposed between the electrical components (106) connected to the bottom surface of the printed circuit board and a cover member (14).
Regarding claim 6, Brzezinski discloses (Figs. 2, 3) a cover member (14) disposed below the printed circuit board (26, 76), wherein thermal interface material (108) is disposed between the printed circuit board (26, 76) and a cover member (14).
Regarding claim 7, Brzezinski discloses that the outer housing is constructed of aluminum (col. 3, ll. 66-68; col. 5, l. 52; col. 6, ll. 51-53, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Brzezinski discloses (Figs. 2, 3) a cover member (14) that operatively connects to the outer housing (12, 66) to define a space in which the printed circuit board (26, 76), electrical components (28-38, 78, 80, 82, 84, 86, 88, and 106) and heat spreader layer (58, 92, 108) are disposed.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Brzezinski discloses (Figs. 2, 3) thermal interface material (58, 94) disposed between the first heat spreader layer (58, 94) and the outer housing (12, 66) and thermal interface material (110) disposed between the second heat spreader layer (108) and the cover member (14).
Regarding claim 12, Brzezinski discloses (Fig. 3) thermal interface material (18) disposed on an outside surface of the cover (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 13, 14, and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brzezinski taken alone.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Brzezinski discloses in relation to the embodiment of Fig. 1 that thermal interface material is disposed between the electrical components (28-38) disposed on the top surface of the printed circuit board (26) and the first heat spreader layer (56) in order to enhance thermal conduction (col. 6, ll. 25-30), but does not specifically mentions similar approach in relation to the embodiments of Figs, 2 and 3, i.e., that thermal interface material disposed between the electrical components disposed on the top surface of the printed circuit board and the first heat spreader layer and between the electrical components disposed on the bottom surface of the printed circuit board and the second heat spreader layer.
However, it would have been obvious thing to do to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in relation to said embodiments of Figs 2 and 3 as well, in order to analogously enhance thermal conduction and overall cooling efficiency (col. 6, ll. 25-30). Also, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined / modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Brzezinski does not disclose that the heat spreader layers are constructed of copper.
However, Brzezinski teaches that the heat spreader layers (i.e., metallic membrane(s)) should be “be thin, chemically stable and thermally conductive” (col. 5, ll. 12-14).
The Official Notice is taken by the Office of the facts outside of the current record that copper was well known in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for its very good thermal conduction and mechanical properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected copper for forming the heat spreader layers of Brzezinski in order to predictably achieve desired heat dissipation and cooling efficiency, while not exceeding targeted production costs of the device, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The additional prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, because of the teaching of various cooling arrangements for electronic devices with thermal conduction through component housing(s).
Furthermore, the Office would like to direct the Applicant’s attention to some references of record that could have been also used for statutory rejection of the at least independent claim 1, e.g., see US 2021/0315132 (Fig. 1c), US 11, 682, 605 (Fig. 1), etc.
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841