Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed September 28, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s reply filed 09/28/2026 to the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 07/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant elected without traverse Invention I, claims 1-6, 12-18, drawn to a method of treating a disease characterized by expanded microsatellite repeats by administration of a composition that impedes or inhibits transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats.
As acknowledged in the previous Office action, Applicant further elected, without traverse, the gRNA spacer sequence of (CAG)6 gRNA according to SEQ ID NO: 1, the disease of myotonic dystrophy type 1 (DM1), and the small molecule therapeutic of actinomycin D, in the reply filed on 07/13/2026. See, the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 05/11/2026.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the replies filed on 07/13/2026 and 09/28/2026.
Claim Listing
The instantly pending claims was filed on 07/13/2026.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-6 and 12-18 are under examination.
Priority
The instant application 18/952,458 was filed on 11/19/2024. This application is a divisional (DIV) of U.S. Application No. 16/346,163 filed 04/30/2019 (now, U.S. Patent No. 12,180,499), which is a national stage of international application PCT/US2017/059324 filed 10/31/2017, claiming priority based on U.S. Provisional Patent Application 62/415,353 filed 10/31/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, the term “mythramycin” should be “mithramycin” instead.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siboni et al. (2015) “Actinomycin D specifically reduces expanded CUG repeat RNA in myotonic dystrophy models” Cell reports, 13(11), 2386-2394.
Siboni teaches a method of treating myotonic dystrophy type 1 (DM1) by administration of actinomycin D (ActD), thereby reducing transcription of CTG repeats. See, Abstract.
For these reasons, Siboni anticipates claims 1-2 and 5-6.
Regarding dependent claims 16-17, the claims further recite that impeding or inhibiting of transcription is repeat length-dependent, such that transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats is inhibited to a greater degree than transcription of non-expanded microsatellite repeats of the same sequence (claim 16), and treating myotonic dystrophy type 1 comprises reducing nuclear RNA foci in muscle cells of the subject, rescuing aberrant splicing of MBNL1-dependent transcripts, restoring chloride channel 1 (Clcn1) protein expression, reducing myotonia, or a combination thereof (claim 17).
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See, MPEP 2112.
In this case, the limitation wherein the tissue culture contains endogenous immune cells, mesenchymal cells, and stromal cells describes an intended result or functional property of performing the process steps (manipulative actions) positively recited in claim 1. A recitation of an intended result or functional property of the claimed process must result in a manipulative difference between the claimed process and the cited prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed process from the cited prior art. If the prior art process is capable of performing the intended result, or if the functional property naturally flows from the prior art process, then the prior art reads on the intended result or functional property recitation. There is no requirement that the cited prior art expressly teach or suggest the intended result or functional property recitation, but only that the subject matter is, in fact, present in the cited prior art. As outlined above, the manipulative actions positively recited by the claims are anticipated the cited prior art. In particular, Siboni teaches the process steps of administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a composition that impedes or inhibits transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats, as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, the intended results or functional properties described in dependent claims 16-17 would have naturally flowed from performing the process steps taught by Siboni. Accordingly, absent evidence to the contrary, the intended result or functional property recitations are not found to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior art.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Siboni discloses the subject expresses 220 CTG repeats. See, page 2389.
Claims 1-4, 6, 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015/173436 A1 to Vandendriessche et al.
Vandendriessche teaches a method of reducing or eliminating the expression of expanded repeat RNA (CUGexp) of the dystrophy myotonic-protein kinase (DMPK) gene in a cell of a DM-1 patient by administration of a polynucleotide, wherein the polynucleotide encodes a site-specific nuclease targeting the DMPK gene locus, wherein the site-specific is a CRISPR system comprising a guide RNA (gRNA) and a Cas9 endonuclease, wherein the gRNA specifically binds CTG repeats. See, Abstract and pages 1-6.
Exemplary gRNAs include those comprising the target sequence of SEQ ID NO: 51 (gctgctgctgctgctgctgc). See, pages 7 and 32. The sequence of SEQ ID NO: 51 (gctgctgctgctgctgctgc) hybridizes to the sequence (CAG)6.
The Cas9 nuclease may contain a D10A mutation that results in the inactivation of the nuclease catalytic activity and converts the Cas9 nuclease to a nickase enzyme that makes single-stranded breaks at the target site. See, pages 25-26. A Cas9 nickase, as found in Vandendriessche, is considered distinct from a catalytically dead or deactivated Cas9 (dCas9), as found in the present application, because dCas9 contains two mutations, typically D10A and H840A, that completely eliminate nuclease activity.
Delivery vehicles include adeno-associated vectors (AAV). See, page 46.
For these reasons, Vandendriessche anticipates claims 1-4 and 6.
Regarding dependent claim 12, delivery routes include intramuscular injection and intravenous injection. See, page 51.
Regarding dependent claims 16-17, the claims further recite that impeding or inhibiting of transcription is repeat length-dependent, such that transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats is inhibited to a greater degree than transcription of non-expanded microsatellite repeats of the same sequence (claim 16), and treating myotonic dystrophy type 1 comprises reducing nuclear RNA foci in muscle cells of the subject, rescuing aberrant splicing of MBNL1-dependent transcripts, restoring chloride channel 1 (Clcn1) protein expression, reducing myotonia, or a combination thereof (claim 17).
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See, MPEP 2112.
In this case, the limitation wherein the tissue culture contains endogenous immune cells, mesenchymal cells, and stromal cells describes an intended result or functional property of performing the process steps (manipulative actions) positively recited in claim 1. A recitation of an intended result or functional property of the claimed process must result in a manipulative difference between the claimed process and the cited prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed process from the cited prior art. If the prior art process is capable of performing the intended result, or if the functional property naturally flows from the prior art process, then the prior art reads on the intended result or functional property recitation. There is no requirement that the cited prior art expressly teach or suggest the intended result or functional property recitation, but only that the subject matter is, in fact, present in the cited prior art. As outlined above, the manipulative actions positively recited by the claims are anticipated the cited prior art. In particular, Vandendriessche teaches the process steps of administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a composition that impedes or inhibits transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats, as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, the intended results or functional properties described in dependent claims 16-17 would have naturally flowed from performing the process steps taught by Vandendriessche. Accordingly, absent evidence to the contrary, the intended result or functional property recitations are not found to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior art.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Patients suffering from DM1 typically have CTG repeat expansions ranging from 50 to more than 2500. See, page 13.
Claims 1-4, 6, 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015/171932 Al to Froelich et al.
Froelich discloses a CRISPR/Cas-TF system used for repressing a mutant Htt allele comprising a defective Cas9 protein fused to a transcriptional repressor. The composition is administrated to a subject in need thereof. The nuclease domains in the Cas protein have been inactivated such that the protein no longer cleaves DNA. See, Abstract and paragraphs 19 and 179.
The gRNA for use in the CRISPR/Cas system is designed to target a sequence in the mutant Htt allele. The gRNA has the sequence 5'-GCAGCAGCAGCAGCAGCAG-3' (SEQ ID NO: 125). See, paragraph 178. This sequence reads on a CTG repeat-targeting gRNA comprising the nucleic acid sequence (CAG)6.
The CRISPR/Cas-TF system is delivered to a neuron using an adeno-associated viral (AAV) vector. See, paragraphs 20 and 123.
The composition is administered intravenously or intramuscularly. See, paragraph 127.
The AAV vector has an AAV6 capsid. See, paragraph 123.
The Cas9 protein is derived from S. pyogenes. See, paragraph 76-77 and 83.
For these reasons, Froelich anticipates claims 1-4, 6 and 12-14.
Regarding dependent claims 16-17, the claims further recite that impeding or inhibiting of transcription is repeat length-dependent, such that transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats is inhibited to a greater degree than transcription of non-expanded microsatellite repeats of the same sequence (claim 16), and treating myotonic dystrophy type 1 comprises reducing nuclear RNA foci in muscle cells of the subject, rescuing aberrant splicing of MBNL1-dependent transcripts, restoring chloride channel 1 (Clcn1) protein expression, reducing myotonia, or a combination thereof (claim 17).
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See, MPEP 2112.
In this case, the limitation wherein the tissue culture contains endogenous immune cells, mesenchymal cells, and stromal cells describes an intended result or functional property of performing the process steps (manipulative actions) positively recited in claim 1. A recitation of an intended result or functional property of the claimed process must result in a manipulative difference between the claimed process and the cited prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed process from the cited prior art. If the prior art process is capable of performing the intended result, or if the functional property naturally flows from the prior art process, then the prior art reads on the intended result or functional property recitation. There is no requirement that the cited prior art expressly teach or suggest the intended result or functional property recitation, but only that the subject matter is, in fact, present in the cited prior art. As outlined above, the manipulative actions positively recited by the claims are anticipated the cited prior art. In particular, Froelich teaches the process steps of administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a composition that impedes or inhibits transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats, as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, the intended results or functional properties described in dependent claims 16-17 would have naturally flowed from performing the process steps taught by Froelich. Accordingly, absent evidence to the contrary, the intended result or functional property recitations are not found to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior art.
Claims 1-2, 6, 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0247519 A1 to Mark Isalan, claiming priority to 11/05/2015 based on U.K. patent application GB1519584.5.
Isalan teaches methods for treating polyglutamine diseases by administration of poly-zinc finger therapeutic molecules or nucleic acid encoding thereof, such as AAV vectors, wherein the zinc finger peptides bind both DNA strands of a stretch of CAG repeats by recognizing both poly-GCA and poly-GCT triplets. See, e.g., Abstract and paragraphs 17 and 421. See also, pages 5, 8-9 and 105-106 of the priority document.
Isalan further teaches that naked zinc finger peptide, i.e., lacking additional effector domains, can be highly efficient inhibitors of target gene expression, particularly when the number of CAG-repeats is equal to or greater than 35, which is significant because the number of CAG-repeats in wild-type genes in the human genome is less than 35. The mechanism of repression in these cases is likely due to steric hindrance of the RNA polymerase complex progression. See, paragraph 422. See also, page 106 of the priority document.
Diseases include Huntington's disease (poly-CAG), spinocerebellar ataxias (poly-CAG), dentatorubropallidoluysian atrophy (poly-CAG), juvenile myoclonic epilepsy (dodecamer repeats; poly-CCCCGCCCCGCG), Friedreich's ataxia (poly-GAA), fragile-X syndrome (poly-CGG), fragile X-E syndrome (poly-CCG) and myotonic dystrophy (poly-CTG). See, paragraph 162. See also, pages 45-46 of the priority document.
For these reasons, Isalan anticipates claims 1-2 and 6.
Regarding dependent claim 12, Isalan teaches intravenous injection and intramuscular injection. See, e.g., paragraph 166. See also, page 47 of the priority document.
Regarding dependent claims 16-17, the claims further recite that impeding or inhibiting of transcription is repeat length-dependent, such that transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats is inhibited to a greater degree than transcription of non-expanded microsatellite repeats of the same sequence (claim 16), and treating myotonic dystrophy type 1 comprises reducing nuclear RNA foci in muscle cells of the subject, rescuing aberrant splicing of MBNL1-dependent transcripts, restoring chloride channel 1 (Clcn1) protein expression, reducing myotonia, or a combination thereof (claim 17).
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See, MPEP 2112.
In this case, the limitation wherein the tissue culture contains endogenous immune cells, mesenchymal cells, and stromal cells describes an intended result or functional property of performing the process steps (manipulative actions) positively recited in claim 1. A recitation of an intended result or functional property of the claimed process must result in a manipulative difference between the claimed process and the cited prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed process from the cited prior art. If the prior art process is capable of performing the intended result, or if the functional property naturally flows from the prior art process, then the prior art reads on the intended result or functional property recitation. There is no requirement that the cited prior art expressly teach or suggest the intended result or functional property recitation, but only that the subject matter is, in fact, present in the cited prior art. As outlined above, the manipulative actions positively recited by the claims are anticipated the cited prior art. In particular, Isalan teaches the process steps of administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a composition that impedes or inhibits transcription of expanded microsatellite repeats, as claimed in claim 1. Therefore, the intended results or functional properties described in dependent claims 16-17 would have naturally flowed from performing the process steps taught by Isalan. Accordingly, absent evidence to the contrary, the intended result or functional property recitations are not found to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the cited prior art.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Isalan that target sites may have at least 104 contiguous CAG or CTG repeats or at least 111 contiguous CAG or CTG repeats. See, paragraph 102. See also, pages 28-29 of the priority document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isalan, as applied to the claims above; in further view of Qi et al. (2013) “Repurposing CRISPR as an RNA-guided platform for sequence-specific control of gene expression” Cell, 152(5), 1173-1183; and Larson et al. (2013) “CRISPR interference (CRISPRi) for sequence-specific control of gene expression” Nature protocols, 8(11), 2180-2196.
As discussed above, Isalan teaches naked zinc finger molecules, i.e., lacking additional effector domains, inhibit target gene expression, by steric hindrance of the RNA polymerase complex progression. See, paragraph 422. See also, page 106 of the priority document.
Isalan does not teach that the naked zinc finger molecule is alternatively a dead or deactivated Cas9 (dCas9) molecule instead, as instantly claimed.
Qi is relevant prior art for showing that catalytically dead Cas9, i.e., lacking endonuclease activity, when coexpressed with a guide RNA (gRNA), generates a recognition complex that specifically interferes with transcriptional elongation and efficiently represses expression of target genes in Escherichia coli. The system, called CRISPR interference (CRISPRi), can also be adapted for gene repression in mammalian cells. See, Abstract and Figure 7. The subject was further discussed in the Larson disclosure, where the CRISPRi system is described as using a catalytically inactive Cas9 protein complexed with a customizable single guide RNA (sgRNA) that binds to elements complementary to the sgRNA and causes a steric block that halts transcript elongation by polymerase, resulting in the repression of the target gene. See, Abstract.
Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that either (1) naked zinger finger molecules, as found in Isalan, or (2) dCas9-gRNA complexes, as found in Qi and Larson, may be designed to repress target gene expression by sterically impeding RNA polymerase elongation, without the need for additional effector domains. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a naked zinger finger molecule, as found in Isalan, with a dCas9-gRNA complex, as found in Qi and Larson, with a reasonable expectation of success because the use of CRISPR systems is less complex and more efficient than zinc fingers, and the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
For these reasons, dependent claims 3 and 15 would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Regarding dependent claim 4, as discussed above, Isalan teaches zinc finger peptides that bind both DNA strands of a stretch of CAG repeats by recognizing both poly-GCA and poly-GCT triplets. Accordingly, in adapting the invention of Isalan to the CRISPRi system of Qi and Larson, it would have been prima facie obvious to design a gRNA comprising the spacer sequence (CAG)6 with a reasonable expectation of success because such a (CAG)6 gRNA would be perfectly complementary to and hybridize with the target sequence.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Qi and Larson teach S. pyogenes Cas9. See, page 1174 of Qi. See also, Abstract of Larson.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isalan, as applied to the claims above; in further view of Swain et al. (2014) “Adeno-associated virus serotypes 9 and rh10 mediate strong neuronal transduction of the dog brain” Gene Therapy, 21(1), 28-36.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Isalan discloses that the AAV vector is an AAV2/1 or AAV2/9 vector in the US 2019/0247519 A1 publication (par. 150), but description of the AAV2/9 vector is not support by the priority document GB1519584.5.
Dayton is relevant prior art for comparing AAV2/1 and AAV2/9 subtypes in transducing the brain and found AAV2/9 to be significantly more efficient than AAV2/1 at transducing cerebral cortex, caudate nucleus, thalamus and internal capsule. See, Abstract.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the invention of Isalan by using an AAV2/9 vector, in view of Swain, with a reasonable expectation of success because AAV2/9 is significantly more efficient than AAV2/1 at transducing cerebral cortex, caudate nucleus, thalamus and internal capsule.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Vora et al. (June 2016) “Next stop for the CRISPR revolution: RNA‐guided epigenetic regulators” The FEBS journal, 283(17), 3181-3193, is a review article describing the CRISPR interference (CRISPRi) technology, as initially developed by Qi and Larson (of record), and subsequent studies improving thereupon by fusing repressor domains (e.g., the Kruppel-associated box (KRAB) domain of Kox1) to dCas9, thereby enhancing the repressive effective. See, pages 3184-3186 and Figure 2.
Go et al. (May 2016) “The impact of CRISPR/Cas9-based genomic engineering on biomedical research and medicine” Current Molecular Medicine, 16(4), 343-352, discloses that past efforts to generate targeted double stranded DNA cleavage have fused DNA-targeting elements such as zinc fingers and DNA-binding proteins to endonucleases. However, these approaches are limited by both design complexity and inefficient, cost-ineffective operation. The discovery of CRISPR/Cas9, a branch of the bacterial adaptive immune system, as a potential genomic editing tool holds the promise of facile targeted cleavage. Its novelty lies in its RNA-guided endonuclease activity, which enhances its efficiency, scalability, and ease of use. The only necessary components are a Cas9 endonuclease protein and an RNA molecule tailored to the gene of interest. This low-barrier of adoption has facilitated a plethora of advances in just the past three years since its discovery. See, Abstract.
/JAMES JOSEPH GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631