DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s amendment submitted on 12/16/2025. Claims 1, 3, 7 and 13 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled. No claim has been newly added. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims and added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments are believed to be answered by and therefore moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection presented below. In view of amendment, the reference Kwon (US Pub. No. 2009/0184896) has been used for new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0090624, hereinafter “Kwon ‘624”) in view of Kwon et al. (US. Pub. No. 2009/0184896, hereinafter “Kwon ‘896”).
As to claims 1 and 13, (Currently Amended) Kwon ‘624 discloses a display device [figure 2, display device], associated with its method of driving the display device [abstract], comprising:
a display panel [figure 2, display panel 100] including a plurality of subpixels [paragraph 66, The TFT array substrate may include a plurality of subpixels which are arranged in a lattice type]; and
a data driver [figure 2, data driver 700 connected to 100] connected to the display panel,
wherein the data driver, in operation, outputs a plurality of data voltages for displaying an image based on the subpixels during a driving period of the display panel [figure 5, 700 output a plurality of data voltages Vdata for displaying an image during driving period DP], and outputs a first data voltage, a second data voltage, and a third data voltage during a sensing period of the display panel [figure 5, output a first data voltage, a second data voltage and a third data voltage TDS during sensing period TP],
wherein a level of the first data voltage is different from a level of the second data voltage [figure 5, a level of the first data voltage is different from a level of the second data voltage], and
wherein the level of the second data voltage is different from a level of the third data voltage [figure 5, a level of the second data voltage is different from a level of the third data voltage].
Kwon ‘624 does not disclose in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of the plurality of subpixels is sensed.
Kwon ‘896 teaches to output multiple data voltages during a sensing period of a display panel in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of a plurality of subpixels is sensed [figure 4, multiple data voltages output in sensing period, abstract, a current source unit for supplying predetermined current to organic light emitting diodes (OLED) in a sensing period for grasping deterioration information on the OLEDs included in the sub pixels, paragraph 49, the sensing period is a period in which the deterioration of the OLEDs included in the sub pixels 140 is measured].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Kwon ‘624 to output multiple data voltages during a sensing period of a display panel in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of a plurality of subpixels is sensed, as taught by Kwon ‘896, in order to be capable of compensating for the deterioration of OLED (Kwon ‘896, paragraph 3).
As to claim 2, (Original) Kwon ‘624 discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the level of the second data voltage is equal to or higher than a level of a display data voltage applied to a sensing target subpixel during a previous frame [figure 5, the level of the second data voltage (the one on the right side of RT) is higher than a level of a display data voltage (RT) applied to a sensing target subpixel during a previous frame].
As to claim 3, (Currently Amended) Kwon ‘624 discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the level of the third data voltage is between the level of the second data voltage and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to a sensing target subpixel during a next frame [figure 5, level of the third data voltage (2nd to the right of RT) is between the level of second data voltage and level of a display data voltage to be applied to sensing target subpixel during a next frame (3rd to the right of RT)].
As to claims 5 and 14, (Original) Kwon ‘624 discloses the display device of claim 1, associated with its method of driving the display device, wherein the first data voltage, the second data voltage, and the third data voltage form a step voltage having a level that gradually increases in a step shape [figure 5, first, second and third data voltages form a step voltage having a level that gradually increases in a step shape during TDS].
As to claims 6 and 15, (Original) Kwon ‘624 discloses the display device of claim 1, associated with its method of driving the display device, wherein the third data voltage varies in response to a level of a display data voltage to be applied to a sensing target subpixel [figure 5, third data voltage in response to a level of display data, paragraph 85, During the touch sensing period TP, in response to the touch presence signal TSES corresponding to the touch nonexistence signal supplied from the touch controller 400, the touch driving signal generator 500 may generate the first and second touch driving signals TDS and TDS′ including a plurality of driving pulses having a voltage level different from the reference voltage level according to the pulse level selection signal PLSS having the variable level data value and may simultaneously supply the first and second touch driving signals TDS and TDS′ to the touch driving circuit unit 300, the gate driving circuit unit 600, and the data driving circuit unit 700].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon ‘624 in view of Kwon ‘896, further in view of Tsai et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0052552, hereinafter “Tsai”).
As to claim 4, (Original) Kwon ‘624 discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first data voltage is a sensing data voltage for sensing a sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel [figure 5, first data voltage is sensing data voltage during the sensing period TP, paragraph 76, During the touch sensing period TP, the touch driving circuit unit 300 according to an embodiment may individually supply a touch driving signal TDS, supplied from the touch driving signal generator 500].
Kwon ‘624 does not disclose wherein the second data voltage is a recovery data voltage that compensates for a decrease in luminance of the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel, and
wherein the third data voltage is a buffering data voltage that reduces a difference between a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during a next frame.
Tsai teaches wherein a second data voltage is a recovery data voltage that compensates for a decrease in luminance of a sensing target subpixel during a sensing period of a display panel [paragraph 47, In order to compensate the reduced lighting during the sensing period ST, in some embodiments, the light emitting element 12 is driven by a overdrive mode (increasing the cross voltage) during the display period DT, so that the light emitting element 12 can have a higher brightness], and
wherein a third data voltage is a buffering data voltage that reduces a difference between a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during a next frame [paragraph 47, Utilizing the overdrive method to compensate the reduced lighting of the light emitting element 12 during the sensing period ST makes the average brightness in this frame time FT to be the same as the average brightness of the normal frame with the light emitting element to be lighted for entire frame time. Thus, the entire display effect is not interfered].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Kwon ‘624 to wherein the second data voltage is a recovery data voltage that compensates for a decrease in luminance of the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel, and wherein the third data voltage is a buffering data voltage that reduces a difference between a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during a next frame, as taught by Tsai, in order to not interfere the entire display effect (Tsai, paragraph 47).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0169872, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Kwon ‘624, further in view of Kwon ‘896.
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) Kim discloses a display device [figure 1, display device 10], comprising:
a display panel [figure 1, display panel 14 including a plurality of subpixels PXij] including a plurality of subpixels; and
a data driver [figure 1, data driver 12 connected to display panel 14] connected to the display panel,
wherein the data driver, in operation, sequentially outputs a first data voltage, a second data voltage through a data line connected to the display panel during a blank period [figure 13, data driver sequentially outputs a first data voltage, a second data voltage through a data line Dm connected to display panel during a blank period S2011B, paragraph 138, during blank periods S2011B, S2012B].
Kim does not disclose wherein the data driver, in operation, sequentially outputs a first data voltage, a second data voltage, and a third data voltage through a data line connected to the display panel during a period in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of the plurality of subpixels is sensed,
wherein a level of the first data voltage is different from a level of the second data voltage, and
wherein the level of the second data voltage is different from a level of the third data voltage.
Kwon ‘624 teaches wherein a data driver, in operation, sequentially outputs a first data voltage, a second data voltage, and a third data voltage through a data line connected to a display panel [figure 5, output a first data voltage, a second data voltage and a third data voltage TDS during sensing period TP],
wherein a level of the first data voltage is different from a level of the second data voltage [figure 5, a level of the first data voltage is different from a level of the second data voltage], and
wherein the level of the second data voltage is different from a level of the third data voltage [figure 5, a level of the second data voltage is different from a level of the third data voltage].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Kwon to wherein the data driver, in operation, sequentially outputs a first data voltage, a second data voltage, and a third data voltage through a data line connected to the display panel, wherein a level of the first data voltage is different from a level of the second data voltage, and wherein the level of the second data voltage is different from a level of the third data voltage, as taught by Kwon ‘624, in order to provide a display device capable of more quickly sensing an abnormal state of a display device (Kwon ‘624, paragraph 5).
Kim as modified by Kwon ‘624 does not disclose in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of the plurality of subpixels is sensed.
Kwon ‘896 teaches to output multiple data voltages during a sensing period of a display panel in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of a plurality of subpixels is sensed [figure 4, multiple data voltages output in sensing period, abstract, a current source unit for supplying predetermined current to organic light emitting diodes (OLED) in a sensing period for grasping deterioration information on the OLEDs included in the sub pixels, paragraph 49, the sensing period is a period in which the deterioration of the OLEDs included in the sub pixels 140 is measured].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Kim to output multiple data voltages during a sensing period of a display panel in which deterioration of at least one element included in at least one of a plurality of subpixels is sensed, as taught by Kwon ‘896, in order to be capable of compensating for the deterioration of OLED (Kwon ‘896, paragraph 3).
As to claim 8, (Original) Kim, as modified by Kwon ‘624 and Kwon ‘896, discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the level of the second data voltage is equal to or higher than a level of a display data voltage applied to a sensing target subpixel during a previous frame [Kwon ‘624, figure 5, the level of the second data voltage (the one on the right side of RT) is higher than a level of a display data voltage (RT) applied to a sensing target subpixel during a previous frame]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 7.
As to claim 9, (Original) Kim, as modified by Kwon ‘624 and Kwon ‘896, discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the level of the third data voltage is between the level of the second data voltage and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to a sensing target subpixel during a next frame [Kwon ‘624, figure 5, level of the third data voltage (2nd to the right of RT) is between the level of second data voltage and level of a display data voltage to be applied to sensing target subpixel during a next frame (3rd to the right of RT)]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 7.
As to claim 11, (Original) Kim, as modified by Kwon ‘624 and Kwon ‘896, discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the first data voltage, the second data voltage, and the third data voltage form a step voltage having a level that gradually increases in a step shape [Kwon ‘624, figure 5, first, second and third data voltages form a step voltage having a level that gradually increases in a step shape during TDS]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 7.
As to claim 12, (Original) Kim, as modified by Kwon ‘624 and Kwon ‘896, discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the level of the third data voltage varies in response to a level of a display data voltage to be applied to a sensing target subpixel [Kwon ‘624, figure 5, third data voltage in response to a level of display data, paragraph 85, During the touch sensing period TP, in response to the touch presence signal TSES corresponding to the touch nonexistence signal supplied from the touch controller 400, the touch driving signal generator 500 may generate the first and second touch driving signals TDS and TDS′ including a plurality of driving pulses having a voltage level different from the reference voltage level according to the pulse level selection signal PLSS having the variable level data value and may simultaneously supply the first and second touch driving signals TDS and TDS′ to the touch driving circuit unit 300, the gate driving circuit unit 600, and the data driving circuit unit 700]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 7.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kwon ‘624, further in view of Kwon ‘896, as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Tsai.
As to claim 10, Kim, as modified by Kwon ‘624 and Kwon ‘896, discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the first data voltage is a sensing data voltage for sensing a sensing target subpixel during a sensing period of the display panel [Kwon ‘624, figure 5, first data voltage is sensing data voltage during the sensing period TP, paragraph 76, During the touch sensing period TP, the touch driving circuit unit 300 according to an embodiment may individually supply a touch driving signal TDS, supplied from the touch driving signal generator 500].
Kim, as modified by Kwon ‘624 and Kwon ‘896, does not disclose the second data voltage is a recovery data voltage that compensates for a decrease in luminance of the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel, and
the third data voltage is a buffering data voltage that reduces a difference between a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during a next frame.
Tsai teaches wherein a second data voltage is a recovery data voltage that compensates for a decrease in luminance of a sensing target subpixel during a sensing period of a display panel [paragraph 47, In order to compensate the reduced lighting during the sensing period ST, in some embodiments, the light emitting element 12 is driven by a overdrive mode (increasing the cross voltage) during the display period DT, so that the light emitting element 12 can have a higher brightness], and
wherein a third data voltage is a buffering data voltage that reduces a difference between a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during a next frame [paragraph 47, Utilizing the overdrive method to compensate the reduced lighting of the light emitting element 12 during the sensing period ST makes the average brightness in this frame time FT to be the same as the average brightness of the normal frame with the light emitting element to be lighted for entire frame time. Thus, the entire display effect is not interfered].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the display device of Kim to wherein the second data voltage is a recovery data voltage that compensates for a decrease in luminance of the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel, and wherein the third data voltage is a buffering data voltage that reduces a difference between a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during the sensing period of the display panel and a level of a display data voltage to be applied to the sensing target subpixel during a next frame, as taught by Tsai, in order to not interfere the entire display effect (Tsai, paragraph 47).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAN-YING YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629