DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-4, 7 and 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2010/0117414) (“Hwang”) in view of Yamaki et al. (US 2011/0298267) (“Yamaki”) and further in view of Andres et al. (US 5280997) (“Andres”). Hwang discloses a vehicle seat comprising: a seat back (fig. 2: 11), wherein the seat back includes a seat back frame (shown) that forms a framework of the seat back and a shoulder support portion (fig. 2: “shoulder” inflatable cushion) configured to support each of the shoulders of the seat passenger, the shoulder support portion includes a bag that expands by supply of fluid into the bag (all the supports are inflatable cushions).
Hwang does not teach a headrest support and wherein the bag expands such that one end portion of the shoulder support portion positioned on an outside in a width direction of the vehicle seat moves more forward than another end portion of the shoulder support portion positioned on an inside in the width direction, the seat back frame includes an upper frame disposed at an upper end portion of the seat back frame, and a pillar support portion configured to support a head rest pillar of the head rest extending from a lower portion of the head rest, a holding member holding the pillar support portion is attached to the upper frame, and the holding member extends in the width direction to connect side portions of the upper frame, and support the bag from the rear.
However, Yamaki teaches a seat back including a headrest (Yamaki, fig. 1: 4), a seatback frame including an upper frame (fig. 1: 13a) disposed at an upper end portion of the seat back frame and a pillar support portion (fig. 3: 44) configured to support a head rest pillar of the head rest extending from a lower portion of the head rest, a holding member (fig. 3: 15) holding the pillar support portion is attached to the upper frame, and the holding member extends in the width direction to connect side portions of the upper frame in the shoulder receiving area of the seat back. Further, Andres teaches a shoulder support portion having an inflatable shoulder bag (fig. 2: 28) wherein the bag expands such that one end portion of the shoulder support portion positioned on an outside in a width direction of the vehicle seat moves more forward than another end portion of the shoulder support portion positioned on an inside in the width direction (as shown in Andres, fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a framework having a headrest support pillar and additional crossbar to support the shoulder and head of a user, as well as to allow the shoulder support bags to push in the shoulders inward in order to provide the desired comfort and support to a user.
As concerns claim 2, Hwang, as modified, teaches a pillar position adjuster configured to vertically move the head rest to adjust a height of the head rest, wherein the pillar position adjuster is attached to the holding member (paragraph 0043: The supporting pipe 44 supports a head rest 4 so that the head rest 4 may be elevated and lowered).
As concerns claim 3, Hwang, as modified, teaches wherein the pillar position adjuster is disposed at a lower portion of the head rest pillar (the headrest is adjusted along the lower end of the pillar where it sleeves the supporting pipe).
As concerns claim 4, Hwang, as modified, teaches wherein the bag comprises two bag elements arranged in the width direction, and a clearance is formed between the two bag elements (as shown in Hwang, fig. 2).
As concerns claim 7, Hwang, as modified, teaches wherein the holding member (Yamaki, fig. 2: 15) includes a support plate on a front face of the holding member (it is a support plate), the support plate being elongated in the width direction and configured to support the bag from the rear (15 extends in the width direction and is capable of supporting the shoulder portion from behind).
As concerns claim 19, Hwang, as modified, teaches the method of manufacturing the vehicle seat of claim 1 including the steps of preparing a seat back frame that includes an upper frame disposed at an upper end portion of the seat back frame and a pillar support portion configured to support a head rest pillar of the head rest, the seat back frame forming a framework of the seat back; disposing the head rest above the upper frame; preparing a holding member configured to hold the pillar support portion and extending in the width direction; attaching the holding member to the upper frame to connect side portions of the upper frame; and attaching the bag to the holding member such that the bag is supported by the holding member from the rear (as discussed with respect to claim 1 and would be considered the normal and logical assembly of the combination provided.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hwang, as modified, in view of Massara (US 5772281). Hwang, as modified, teaches a seat cushion configured to support buttocks of the seated passenger (shown in Hwang, fig. 2); and a cushion frame that forms the seat cushion (shown in fig. 5c), wherein the seat back and the seat cushion are configured such that a pad material is placed in the seat back frame and the cushion frame, respectively, and is covered with a cover material (paragraph 0005), , a side support configured to restrict movement of an upper body of the seated passenger in the width direction is provided at each end portion of the seat back in the width direction (fig. 2: “side support”), wherein the side support includes a side air cell, a lumbar support (fig. 2: “lumbar support”) is provided at a portion of the seat back configured to contact a waist of the seated passenger, wherein the lumbar support includes a waist air cell, a side cushion support (fig. 2: “side support” on cushion) is provided at each end portion of the seat cushion in the width direction, wherein the side cushion support includes a side air cell for cushion.
Hwang, as modified, does not expressly teach wherein the head rest is configured such that a head rest pad material is disposed on a core material and is covered with a head rest cover material. However, Massara teaches wherein the head rest is configured such that a head rest pad material (fig. 3: 82) is disposed on a core material (fig. 2: 80) and is covered with a head rest cover material (fig. 2: 18), as is considered old and well known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide the headrest of Hwang, as modified, with a pad, core and cover in order to provide the desired comfort and support to the occupant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 8, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 12-18 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references of Hwang, Yamaki and Andres fail to teach:
wherein each side end portion of the holding member in the width direction extends to an outside of a corresponding one of side ends of the upper frame in the width direction;
wherein each side end portion of the holding member in the width direction extends to reach a corresponding one of side ends of the upper frame, and bends backward;
wherein the seat back frame includes a side frame provided at a side portion of the seat back frame and connected to the upper frame, and the support plate is positioned above a joint portion between the upper frame and the side frame in a seat up to down direction;
a controller; a movable portion that is mounted in the vehicle seat and includes an air cell; and a drive mechanism configured to drive the movable portion, wherein the drive mechanism includes a compressor, an air supply line connected to the compressor, and a solenoid valve provided at the air supply line, the controller is configured to control ON/OFF of the compressor and opening/closing of the solenoid valve to control a degree of expansion of the air cell of the movable portion, and the movable portion includes at least one of the side support, the lumbar support and the side cushion support.
a pressure receiving member is disposed between the side frames in the width direction and attached to the seat frame,the pressure receiving member includes a wide portion having a first width in the width direction and a narrow portion having a second width that is smaller than the first width in the width direction, andthe bag is disposed at an upper end portion of the pressure receiving member and at the wide portion of the pressure receiving member (claim 12).
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636