DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
At least claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12176585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least claim 16 of the present application is anticipated by at least claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12176585.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: "air the fuel cell stack" --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: "--. Appropriate correction is required.
Any similar recited informalities in the claims should be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oglesby (US 20020163200) as evidenced by Osborne (US 8158291).
Regarding claim 16,
Referring to Fig. 1, Oglesby teaches a management system 10 for a fuel cell mobility vehicle 14, the management system comprising: a hydrogen tank 16 configured to store hydrogen supplied to a fuel cell stack 12; a first turbine 18 fluidically connected to the hydrogen tank and rotated by a pressure (e.g. a pressure of hydrogen supplied from tank 16); a blower 20 configured to pressurize ambient air 48 using rotation force of the at least one of the first turbine, and an electric motor 76 and to supply the pressurized ambient air the fuel cell stack (e.g. via line 50).
Please note that for evidentiary purposes, Osborne teaches a management system 10 for a fuel cell mobility vehicle (see col 2, lines 30-37), wherein element 20 is referred to as a blower (e.g. a compressor/blower). As such, Osborne evidences that element 20 of Oglesby may also be referred to as a blower.
Regarding claim 20,
A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is".
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board' s finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971);In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original).
It appears that the language of claim 20 is a recitation of what the apparatus is configured to do and not what the apparatus is as there are no structural attributes of the interrelated components except for the requirement that the blower is operated by either the first turbine or the motor, depending on certain conditions. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, see MPEP 2114 [R-1]. Since the blower of Oglesby is capable of the recited requirements of claim 20, the device of Oglesby meets the claimed limitations of being configured to do so. There is no structural difference between the device of Lunde and the device of Applicant' s claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18-19, 21-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 17, 21-30,
Oglesby does not teach a refrigerant circulation line comprising a compressor, etc.… or a second turbine, and although it would be obvious to duplicate said first turbine, it would not be obvious to specifically mount said second turbine in the refrigerant circulation line and wherein the blower is connected to the first or second turbines or the motor as defined by claim 17 and dependent claims of 17. Regarding claims 18-19,
Oglesby does not teach wherein the ambient air supply line branches off into a fuel cell line and an air conditioning line as defined by claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rehg, Kusano, Agnew and Haag teach management systems for fuel cell mobility vehicles.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763