DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The first paragraph of the specification should reflect that the parent application was granted to USPN 12,150,465.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 19, 20, 22-27, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melvik (USPA 2006/0159823) in view of Gaserod (USPA 2005/0137272) and Sexton et al. (USPA 2014/0037830), all made of record by Applicant.
Regarding amended Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 19, 20, 22-27, and new Claim 32, Melvik teaches an alginate hydrogel, said hydrogel consisting of 0.1-5% alginate, as Melvik teaches a gels from soluble and insoluble alginate at a concentration level ranging from 0.5-10% by weight (Paragraph 39), therefore teaching and rendering obvious the claimed amount and ranges of alginate as recited in Claim 1 and dependent claims indicated. Melvik teaches that the alginate is present in a solvent and is gelled by a gelling ion which can be calcium, where the gelling ion solution can be combined with sodium alginate solution (Paragraphs 45-51), and where the solvent can be water, sugar solution or nucleic acid solution, among others (Paragraph 57). Melvik teaches the % of the gelling ions present affect gel strength and the degree of bioavailability of the gel and teach an example where the calcium is at 50% saturation (Example 20). Melvik is seen to teach the hydrogel consisting of alginate within the claimed range, calcium ions and teaches where the solvent can include sugar solution, therefore teaching an aqueous solution comprising active ingredients which can be sugars. Melvik teaches cross-linking to form the alginate gels (Paragraphs 4, 5). Melvik teaches the insoluble alginate is present in the solution of soluble alginate and forms a slurry which can be poured, injected or can otherwise self-gel within a mold or cavity to form the shape of such a mold or cavity and where the gel can also be used in pharmaceutical and food applications (Paragraphs 53, 57 and 61). However, Melvik does not specifically teach motivation to change the calcium saturation in the alginate gel to be in the claimed ranges, or where the gel is a nutritional supplement.
Gaserod teaches a nutritional supplement including an alginate hydrogel, said hydrogel comprising: a) alginate in an amount of 0.5 wt% to about 10 wt% alginate in an aqueous dispersion (Paragraphs 32-40). Gaserod teaches the gelling agent comprises a polyvalent cation, preferably calcium (Paragraph 35), where the invention is a dried gelled foam comprising a gel-forming polymer crosslinked with polyvalent cation and a water soluble plasticizer (Paragraph 20), and teaches the gel saturation is dependent on the application on the dried gelled foam, and that for applications where it is desired for the dried gelled foam to disintegrate and/or dissolve in water or aqueous media, such as in certain food and pharmaceutical applications, the gel would be calcium saturated at a level of about 10% to 60% (Paragraph 40), where the disclosed range encompasses the % of calcium saturated recited in Claims 2-4, and 6. Therefore, at least Gaserod is seen to teach the limitation of the alginate is cross-linked with sub-saturating amounts of calcium in light of the claimed calcium saturation taught. Gaserod teaches higher saturation such as from 60-200% is suitable for other applications (Paragraph 40). Therefore, considering that Melvik teaches 50% calcium saturation which is within the wider suitable range taught by Gaserod for use in food and pharmaceutical applications where the gel is desired to disintegrate or dissolve in water or aqueous medium such as in certain food and pharmaceutical applications, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the alginate gel of Melvik for applications other than food and pharmaceutical, namely, for a nutritional supplement, and to have adjusted the calcium saturation of the alginate gel, within the parameters of the prior art, depending on the particular application of the gel.
Melvik in view of Gaserod do not specifically teach the aqueous solution comprising from 1-75% active ingredients or the amounts of the recited sugars. Melvik in view of Gaserod also do not teach the claimed method comprising consuming the nutritional supplement of Claim 1 before, during or after exercise.
Sexton teaches a nutritional supplement composition comprising carbohydrates, amino acids, vitamins and electrolytes (Paragraph 10), which comprises a hydrogel (Paragraph 13), where the composition may be delivered in a sustained and extended matter for peak athletic performance and recovery, where the composition may release the nutritional supplements so that absorption and oxidation rates of exogenous carbohydrates are increased during exercise (Paragraph 9), and teaches methods of improving athletic performance comprising administering to an individual a composition comprising nutritional supplements to increase exercise duration and cumulative power (Paragraph 27). Sexton teaches the hydrogels are prepared from alginate (Paragraph 16) and that the compositions can be formulated as a beverage, for example (Paragraph 27). Sexton teaches of various additives that can be added to the composition, including carbohydrates, preferably a combination of glucose and fructose in a preferable range of about 1:1 to about 100:1, and where preferably the composition comprises a range of about 15 to about 85%, or about 30-70% by weight carbohydrates/sugar content (Paragraphs 74-75). Sexton teaches that fructose and glucose are absorbed by different intestinal transport systems in the body and that generally, the ingestion of a mixture of carbohydrates that have different transport mechanisms for absorption into the blood stream, simultaneously increases carbohydrate and water absorption (Paragraph 70). Therefore, since Melvik teaches a calcium alginate hydrogel that can have a sugar solution solvent, where the gel can be molded for use in food and beverage applications, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the aqueous alginate gel composition of Melvik in view of Gaserod in a method of providing nutrition to an individual during exercise, and to have used the guidelines taught in Sexton in order to modify the amounts of sugars to be maximized for optimal athletic performance that can be released from a gel composition. Therefore, where the total sugar content of the composition is about 60%, and the ratio of glucose to fructose is 1:1, this would provide about 30% each of glucose and fructose as the carbohydrates, therefore rendering obvious the claimed amounts of carbohydrates as an effective means of providing carbohydrates in a nutritional composition.
Regarding Claims 24-27, Melvik in view of Gaserod and Sexton are taken as cited above. Sexton teaches various carbohydrates that can be added also include more complex edible carbohydrates such as maltodextrins (Paragraph 75), and teaches where preferably the composition comprises a range of about 15 to about 85%, or about 30-70% by weight carbohydrates/sugar content (Paragraphs 74-75). Sexton also teaches electrolytes can also be included, particularly sodium, potassium, magnesium, chloride, etc. (Paragraphs 10 and 28). Therefore, adding the claimed ranges of complex carbohydrates and electrolytes to the gel composition of Melvik in view of Gaserod would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, in light of the teachings of Sexton and the desire to prepare effective nutritional supplements for athletes that can be released from alginate-gel compositions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 11, 19, 20, 22-27, 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,465. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Applicant’s instant claims recite a nutritional supplement consisting of an alginate hydrogel, said hydrogel comprising the same amount of alginate and aqueous solution comprising the same active ingredients as recited in the claims of the prior granted patent. Additionally, while instant Claim 1 does not specifically recite that the alginate is 20-80% calcium saturated as is recited in the claims of the prior granted patent, Applicant’s instant claims 2-4 recite limitations of calcium saturated that render the above limitation obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The balance of Applicant’s instant dependent claims are the same as recited in the prior granted patent. Therefore, Applicant’s instant claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art over Claims 1-30 of the prior granted patent for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
JENNA A. WATTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1791
/JENNA A WATTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791 10/7/2026