DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2025/0218350) in view of Nelson et al. (US 2018/0090645).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device comprising: a first subpixel connected to a first data line and a first emission control line, and comprising a first light emitting element (abstract, figs. 1-2, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62, e.g., red sub-pixel; see also ¶ 68-73);
a second subpixel connected to a second data line and a second emission control line and comprising a second light emitting element (figs. 1-2, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62, e.g., green sub-pixel; see also ¶ 68-73);
a third subpixel connected to a third data line and a third emission control line and comprising a third light emitting element (figs. 1-2, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62, e.g., blue sub-pixel; see also ¶ 68-73);
a data driver configured to output data voltages of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel to the first data line, the second data line, and the third data line, respectively (figs. 1-2, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62, data driver 110; see also ¶ 68-73);
and a scan driver configured to output a first emission control signal of a first width, a second emission control signal of a second width, and a third emission control signal of a third width to the first emission control line, the second emission control line, and the third emission control line, respectively (figs. 1-2, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62, gate driver 120; see also ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 99-103, emission pulse widths different for R, G, and B),
wherein the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel are configured to emit light during different times in response to the first emission control signal, the second emission control signal, and the third emission control signal, respectively (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 94, ¶ 99-103, emission pulse widths different for R, G, and B; see also figs. 17-19),
and wherein each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements are electrically connected to a common electrode of the corresponding subpixel through a connection electrode (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73, e.g., see fig. 2C, cathodes connected to VSS).
Lee fails to disclose wherein each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements comprises a conductive layer, a first semiconductor layer on the conductive layer, an active layer on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer on the active layer sequentially disposed along a first direction, wherein a hole is formed to pass through the conductive layer, the first semiconductor layer, and the active layer of each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements and expose the second semiconductor layer, and wherein each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements further comprises a contact electrode in electrical contact with the second semiconductor layer through the hole.
Nelson teaches wherein each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements comprises a conductive layer, a first semiconductor layer on the conductive layer, an active layer on the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer on the active layer sequentially disposed along a first direction (fig. 6, ¶ 44-46, p-type contact 630, p-type region 625, active region 620, and n-type region 615),
wherein a hole is formed to pass through the conductive layer, the first semiconductor layer, and the active layer of each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements and expose the second semiconductor layer (fig. 6, ¶ 44-46, portion of layers 630, 625, and 620 are removed to expose layer 615),
and wherein each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements further comprises a contact electrode in electrical contact with the second semiconductor layer through the hole (fig. 6, ¶ 44-46, n-type contact 635).
Lee and Nelson are both directed to semiconductor light-emitting devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Lee with the device of Nelson since such a modification provides an efficient light source (Nelson, ¶ 3) and provides a via for contacts that are sufficiently thick to support the semiconductor structure (Nelson, ¶ 46).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the data driver is configured to output the data voltages of different magnitudes to the first data line, the second data line, and the third data line, in response to each grey scale of video data (figs. 2-6, ¶ 58-62, ¶ 68-73, dynamic ranges, maximum and minimum voltages may be different for sub-pixels, see also ¶ 83-92).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel comprise respective pixel circuits configured to generate a first driving current, a second driving current, and a third driving current, respectively, in response to the data voltages (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62; see also ¶ 68-73, ¶ 83-94).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the pixel circuit of the first subpixel is configured to supply the first driving current to the first light emitting element during a first emission period corresponding to the first width (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103, e.g., W1; see also figs. 17-19),
wherein the pixel circuit of the second subpixel is configured to supply the second driving current to the second light emitting element during a second emission period corresponding to the second width (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103, e.g., W2; see also figs. 17-19),
and wherein the pixel circuit of the third subpixel is configured to supply the third driving current to the third light emitting element during a third emission period corresponding to the third width (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103, e.g., W3; see also figs. 17-19).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the first driving current is greater than the second driving current and the third driving current (figs. 4-5, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103),
and wherein the first emission period is shorter than the second emission period and the third emission period (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103, e.g., W1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses wherein the second driving current is smaller than the first driving current and the third driving current (figs. 4-5, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103),
and wherein the second emission period is longer than the first emission period and the third emission period (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 83-94, ¶ 99-103, e.g., W2).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, and the third light emitting element are configured to emit light of different colors and have different current efficiency (figs. 4-5, ¶ 68-73, ¶ 83-94).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the first light emitting element is configured to emit first light of red color, wherein the second light emitting element is configured to emit second light of green color, and wherein the third light emitting element is configured to emit third light of blue color (figs. 4-5, ¶ 68-73, ¶ 83-94).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claims 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claims 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses wherein the first driving current is N times the second driving current, and wherein the first emission period is 1/N times the second emission period (figs. 4-7, ¶ 58-62, ¶ 68-73, dynamic ranges, maximum and minimum voltages may be different for sub-pixels, see also ¶ 83-94; see also ¶ 110, as voltage is increased to drive red LED at max luminous efficiency, emission time is reduced to adjust color coordinates and white balance to ideal target values).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses a pixel comprising the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel, wherein the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel are on a same horizontal line in a display area in which the pixel is located (figs. 1-2, ¶ 51-53, pixels divided into sub-pixels; see also figs. 8-9, ¶ 102-107).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses at least one scan line connected to the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel (figs. 1-2, figs. 6-7, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 98-100; see also figs. 8-9, ¶ 102-107).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses wherein the scan driver comprises: at least one scan signal output unit configured to output at least one scan signal to at least the one scan line (figs. 1-2, figs. 6-7, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 98-100; see also figs. 8-9, ¶ 102-107);
and an emission control signal output unit configured to output the first emission control signal, the second emission control signal, and the third emission control signal to the first emission control line, the second emission control line, and the third emission control line, respectively (figs. 1-2, figs. 6-7, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 98-107, see figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a method of driving a display device, the method comprising: driving a first subpixel, a second subpixel, and a third subpixel with driving currents of different magnitudes in response to each grey scale of video data (figs. 2-6, ¶ 58-62, ¶ 68-73, dynamic ranges, maximum and minimum voltages may be different for sub-pixels, see also ¶ 83-92);
and controlling emission periods of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel to be different depending on the driving currents of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel, respectively (figs. 1-2, ¶ 68-73; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 94, ¶ 99-103, emission pulse widths different for R, G, and B; see also figs. 17-19).
The remaining limitations of claim 18 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses wherein the driving the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel with the driving currents of different magnitudes comprises: setting the driving currents of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel as a first driving current, a second driving current, and a third driving current in accordance with efficiency of each of the first, second, and third light emitting elements in the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel (figs. 4-6, ¶ 68-73, ¶ 83-94, dynamic ranges, maximum and minimum voltages may be different for sub-pixels);
and supplying data voltages of magnitudes corresponding to the first driving current, the second driving current, and the third driving current to the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel, respectively (figs. 1-2, fig. 6, ¶ 58-62; see also ¶ 68-73, ¶ 83-94).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses wherein the controlling the emission periods of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel to be different comprises: setting the emission periods of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel to be different so that the emission periods decreases as magnitude of the driving current corresponding to each grey scale of the video data increases (figs. 2-6, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 58-62; see also ¶ 68-73, dynamic ranges, maximum and minimum voltages may be different for sub-pixels; see also figs. 7-8, ¶ 99-103, emission pulse widths different for R, G, and B);
and supplying the emission control signals corresponding to each of the emission periods of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel to the first subpixel, the second subpixel, and the third subpixel (figs. 1-2, figs. 6-7, ¶ 51-53, ¶ 98-107, see figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 21, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Nelson as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Far et al. (US 10,283,037).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Nelson fails to disclose wherein the first light emitting element is configured to exhibit maximum efficiency at a current range of 100 μA to 300 μA, and wherein the first driving current corresponding to a maximum gray level of the video data is in a range of 100 μA to 300 μA.
Far teaches wherein the first light emitting element is configured to exhibit maximum efficiency at a current range of 100 μA to 300 μA, and wherein the first driving current corresponding to a maximum gray level of the video data is in a range of 100 μA to 300 μA (figs. 1-3, col. 6, l. 49-col. 7, l. 12, red micro LEDs have a maximum efficiency range between 10 and 200 μA).
Lee in view of Nelson and Far are both directed to light emitting diode displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Lee in view of Nelson with the LEDs of Far since such a modification improves power consumption (Far, col. 6, l. 49-col. 7, l. 12).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Nelson fails to disclose wherein the second light emitting element is configured to exhibit maximum efficiency at a current range of 10 μA to 20 μA, and wherein the second driving current corresponding to a maximum gray level of the video data is in a range of 10 μA to 20 μA.
Far teaches wherein the second light emitting element is configured to exhibit maximum efficiency at a current range of 10 μA to 20 μA, and wherein the second driving current corresponding to a maximum gray level of the video data is in a range of 10 μA to 20 μA (figs. 1-3, col. 6, l. 49-col. 7, l. 12, green and blue micro LEDs have a maximum efficiency range between 0.1 and 20 μA).
Lee in view of Nelson and Far are both directed to light emitting diode displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Lee in view of Nelson with the LEDs of Far since such a modification improves power consumption (Far, col. 6, l. 49-col. 7, l. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Nelson fails to disclose wherein the third light emitting element is configured to exhibit maximum efficiency at a current range of 20 μA to 40 μA, and wherein the third driving current corresponding to a maximum gray level of the video data is in a range of 20 μA to 40 μA.
Far teaches wherein the third light emitting element is configured to exhibit maximum efficiency at a current range of 20 μA to 40 μA, and wherein the third driving current corresponding to a maximum gray level of the video data is in a range of 20 μA to 40 μA (figs. 1-3, col. 6, l. 49-col. 7, l. 12, green and blue micro LEDs have a maximum efficiency range between 0.1 and 20 μA).
Lee in view of Nelson and Far are both directed to light emitting diode displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Lee in view of Nelson with the LEDs of Far since such a modification improves power consumption (Far, col. 6, l. 49-col. 7, l. 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 18, and 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626