DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application No. 18/952,913 filed on 11/19/2024 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 5, 9-10, 12-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US20060025905A1).
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 19, Zhao discloses A method for controlling a vehicle torque, comprising: acquiring, by a vehicle controller, a wheel speed of a wheel corresponding to a vehicle drive shaft, and calculating an equivalent rotating speed of a motor based on the wheel speed of the wheel (“An average wheel speed of the drive wheels is calculated by dividing the sum of the sensed speeds of each of the drive wheels by the number of drive wheels sensed.” (Zhao, ¶[0021]) “a rotational speed of the motor at the wheels is calculated by dividing the sensed motor speed by a predefined gear ratio that exists between the motor and the drive wheels.” (Zhao, ¶[0020])
acquiring, by the vehicle controller, an actual rotating speed of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft, and calculating, based on the equivalent rotating speed of the motor and the actual rotating speed of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft, an equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft (“The rotational speed of the motor 26 is sensed by the motor speed sensor 66, and the wheel speeds Wh1, Wh2 of each of the drive wheels 18, 20 are sensed by the wheel speed sensors 62, 64, respectively.” (Zhao, ¶[0069])“A speed error SE is calculated (step 92) to determine a difference between the AWS and the MSw.” (Zhao, ¶[0089])
acquiring, by the vehicle controller, a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft (“A torque commanded value TCV is calculated (step 94) by multiplying the speed error by the Pgain of the proportional controller.” (Zhao, ¶[0090])
adjusting, by the vehicle controller, an output torque of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft based on the correction torque value (“the traction motor is controlled to provide a motor output torque signal which is based on the difference between average wheel speed and the traction motor speed at the wheels” (Zhao, ¶[0023])
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the calculating, based on the equivalent rotating speed of the motor and the actual rotating speed of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft, an equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: calculating a difference between the equivalent rotating speed of the motor and the actual rotating speed of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to obtain the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft (“A speed error SE is calculated (step 92) to determine a difference between the AWS and the MSw.” (Zhao, ¶[0089])
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the adjusting an output torque of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft based on the correction torque value comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to reduce the output torque based on the correction torque value (“the motor damping torque may be limited within positive and negative limits” (Zhao, ¶[0076])
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the calculating an equivalent rotating speed of a motor based on the wheel speed of the wheel comprises: acquiring a transmission ratio of the wheel to the motor corresponding to the drive shaft; and calculating the equivalent rotating speed of the motor based on the wheel speed of the wheel and the corresponding transmission ratio of the wheel (“a rotational speed of the motor at the wheels is calculated by dividing the sensed motor speed by a predefined gear ratio that exists between the motor and the drive wheels.” (Zhao, ¶[0020])
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring a correction torque value comprises: calculating the correction torque value based on a formula: ΔT_f1 = k1 * Δω_f1 + k2 * (Δω_f1 - D1), wherein k1 and k2 are a proportional coefficient and a differential coefficient respectively, D1 is an equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft at a previous sampling time, Δω_f1 is an equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft at a current time, and ΔT_f1 is the correction torque value (“the proportional part of the TCV value is calculated step 148 by both multiplying the speed error by a predefined proportional gain, Pgain, of the proportional part of the proportional derivative controller and then summing the result with a predefined derivative gain, Dgain, of the derivative portion of the proportional derivative controller multiplied by at least one of the following DMSw, DWS, and [DWS−DMSw].” (Zhao, ¶[0107])
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the adjusting an output torque of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft based on the correction torque value comprises: determining a torque value lower limit; and after a current output torque of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is reduced by the correction torque value, in response to that the reduced current output torque is less than or equal to the torque value lower limit, setting the output torque of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to be the torque value lower limit (“an active motor damping limit (AMDL) may be selected from at least one of a positive or upper AMDL and a negative or lower AMDL … Then, at least one of the positive AMDL or negative AMDL may be optionally applied to the calculated torque to control or limit amplitude of the output torque signal.” (Zhao, ¶[0027])
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 12, wherein the determining a torque value lower limit comprises: in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than a third threshold and less than a fourth threshold, determining that the torque value lower limit is 0, wherein the fourth threshold is greater than the third threshold; and in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than the fourth threshold, determining a torque limit value of motor reversal as the torque value lower limit (“The motor damping torque may be limited within positive and negative limits to limit the time required for motor torque to change between the highest positive torque and the most negative torque.” (Zhao, ¶[0076])
Regarding claim 20, Zhao discloses A vehicle, comprising a front motor, a rear motor, and a controller, the controller being configured to implement the method for controlling a vehicle torque according to claim 1 (“The motor controller 68 can receive input from various vehicle component sensors, including, but not limited to: at least one wheel speed sensor selected from at least one of the two driven wheel speed sensors 62, 64 (in a front-wheel or four-wheel drive configuration) or wheel speed sensors 218, 229 (in a rear-wheel or four wheel drive configuration), traction motor speed sensor 66 and ABS operation data.” Zhao, ¶[0058] and “The traction motor can apply torque corrections in accordance with a control method to suppress or cancel the torque oscillations occurring in the driveline due to motor inertia of the traction motor.” [0061])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Ono et al. (US8706376B2) hereinafter referred to as Zhao and Ono respectively.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1,
Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than a first threshold, acquiring the correction torque value
However, Ono does teach wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than a first threshold, acquiring the correction torque value (“when the over-braking correction value is equal to or greater than a certain threshold value (parameter), the calculated correction value is added …” [Example 3 Col.7-8 ln 66-67 & 1]). Both Zhao and Ono teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Ono explicitly teaches wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than a first threshold, acquiring the correction torque value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than a first threshold, acquiring the correction torque value, as taught by Ono, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Ono, Example 3]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 3,
Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: acquiring a wheel acceleration change rate of the wheel and in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than the first threshold and the wheel acceleration change rate is greater than a second threshold, acquiring the correction torque value
However, Ono does teach wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: acquiring a wheel acceleration change rate of the wheel and in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than the first threshold and the wheel acceleration change rate is greater than a second threshold, acquiring the correction torque value (“The over-braking correction value is usually obtained from the wheel acceleration a, the differential a′ thereof, and the control cycle T_cycle. That is, it is calculated by correction value OBR_Factor =f (a, a′, T_cycle).” [Example 3 Col. 7 ln 59-61]). Both Zhao and Ono teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Ono explicitly teaches wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: acquiring a wheel acceleration change rate of the wheel and in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than the first threshold and the wheel acceleration change rate is greater than a second threshold, acquiring the correction torque value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include wherein the acquiring a correction torque value based on the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft comprises: acquiring a wheel acceleration change rate of the wheel and in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the drive shaft is greater than the first threshold and the wheel acceleration change rate is greater than a second threshold, acquiring the correction torque value, as taught by Ono, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Ono, Example 3]).
Claims 6, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Lida et al. (US6497301B2) and in further view of Tang (US20100222953A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhao, Lida and Tang respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 5,
Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein the drive shaft comprises a front axle and a rear axle; and the controlling the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to reduce the output torque based on the correction torque value comprises: in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than a first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed differences of motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle are greater than the first threshold, controlling the motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle to reduce torques based on the correction torque value
However, Iida does teach wherein the drive shaft comprises a front axle and a rear axle; and the controlling the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to reduce the output torque based on the correction torque value comprises: in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than a first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed differences of motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle are greater than the first threshold, controlling the motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle to reduce torques based on the correction torque value (“when the vehicle makes a normal running with different-diameter tires mounted thereon, a front/rear wheel distribution torque caused by a front/rear wheel rotation speed difference owing to the different-diameter tires is limited by switching a torque gain depending on a degree of a diameter difference.” [Abstract]). Both Zhao and Iida teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Iida explicitly teaches wherein the drive shaft comprises a front axle and a rear axle; and the controlling the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to reduce the output torque based on the correction torque value comprises: in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than a first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed differences of motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle are greater than the first threshold, controlling the motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle to reduce torques based on the correction torque value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include wherein the drive shaft comprises a front axle and a rear axle; and the controlling the motor corresponding to the drive shaft to reduce the output torque based on the correction torque value comprises: in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than a first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed difference of a motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce a torque based on the correction torque value, or in response to that an equivalent rotating speed differences of motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle are greater than the first threshold, controlling the motors corresponding to the front axle and the rear axle to reduce torques based on the correction torque value, as taught by Iida, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Iida, Abstract]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 6,
Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value, comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a rear axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the rear axle
However, Iida does teach wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value, comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a rear axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the rear axle (“when the vehicle makes a normal running with different-diameter tires mounted thereon, a front/rear wheel distribution torque caused by a front/rear wheel rotation speed difference owing to the different-diameter tires is limited by switching a torque gain depending on a degree of a diameter difference.” [Abstract]). Both Zhao and Iida teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Iida explicitly teaches wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value, comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a rear axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the rear axle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the front axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value, comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a rear axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the rear axle, as taught by Iida, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Iida, Abstract]).
Zhao does not explicitly teach in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque based on the rear axle torque incremental value
However, Tang does teach in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque based on the rear axle torque incremental value (“Preferably in such an instance the control commands sent to the non-affected motor are sufficiently increased to insure that the total requested torque, C_torque, is met.” (Tang, ¶[0081]). Both Zhao and Tang teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Tang explicitly teaches in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque based on the rear axle torque incremental value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the rear axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to increase the torque based on the rear axle torque incremental value, as taught by Tang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Tang, 0081]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 6,
Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a front axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the front axle
However, Iida does teach wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a front axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the front axle (“when the vehicle makes a normal running with different-diameter tires mounted thereon, a front/rear wheel distribution torque caused by a front/rear wheel rotation speed difference owing to the different-diameter tires is limited by switching a torque gain depending on a degree of a diameter difference.” [Abstract]). Both Zhao and Iida teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Iida explicitly teaches wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a front axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the front axle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include wherein in response to that the equivalent rotating speed difference of the motor corresponding to the rear axle is greater than the first threshold, the controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque based on the correction torque value comprises: controlling the motor corresponding to the rear axle to reduce the torque by the correction torque value, and determining a front axle torque incremental value for the motor corresponding to the front axle, as taught by Iida, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Iida, Abstract]).
Zhao does not explicitly teach in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque based on the front axle torque incremental value
However, Tang does teach in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque based on the front axle torque incremental value (“Preferably in such an instance the control commands sent to the non-affected motor are sufficiently increased to insure that the total requested torque, C_torque, is met.” (Tang, ¶[0081]). Both Zhao and Tang teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Tang explicitly teaches in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque based on the front axle torque incremental value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is great than or equal to the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque by the correction torque value, or in response to that the front axle torque incremental value is less than the correction torque value, controlling the motor corresponding to the front axle to increase the torque based on the front axle torque incremental value, as taught by Tang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Tang, 0081]).
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Tang (US20100222953A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhao and Tang respectively.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses The method according to claim 1,
Zhao does not explicitly teach wherein the acquiring a correction torque value comprises: acquiring a correction left wheel torque value corresponding to a left wheel connected to the drive shaft, and acquiring a correction right wheel torque value corresponding to a right wheel connected to the drive shaft; and determining a larger one of the correction left wheel torque value and the correction right wheel torque value as the correction torque value
However, Tang does teach wherein the acquiring a correction torque value comprises: acquiring a correction left wheel torque value corresponding to a left wheel connected to the drive shaft, and acquiring a correction right wheel torque value corresponding to a right wheel connected to the drive shaft; and determining a larger one of the correction left wheel torque value and the correction right wheel torque value as the correction torque value (“preferably the higher of the two wheel slip ratios is taken as the wheel slip ratio for that axle.” (Tang, ¶[0076]). Both Zhao and Tang teach methods for controlling a vehicle torque. However, Tang explicitly teaches wherein the acquiring a correction torque value comprises: acquiring a correction left wheel torque value corresponding to a left wheel connected to the drive shaft, and acquiring a correction right wheel torque value corresponding to a right wheel connected to the drive shaft; and determining a larger one of the correction left wheel torque value and the correction right wheel torque value as the correction torque value.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stability monitoring method of Zhao to also include wherein the acquiring a correction torque value comprises: acquiring a correction left wheel torque value corresponding to a left wheel connected to the drive shaft, and acquiring a correction right wheel torque value corresponding to a right wheel connected to the drive shaft; and determining a larger one of the correction left wheel torque value and the correction right wheel torque value as the correction torque value, as taught by Tang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves safety and comfort of new energy vehicles (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Tang, 0081]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668