DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a method or system, which are statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 19 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to method Claim 1 and system Claim 12.
Claim 19 recites the limitations of (Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity):
A method, comprising:
generating a clinical trial data model from data of a clinical trial extracted from a database of clinical trials;
generating a plurality of patient data models from patient data of a respective plurality of patients extracted from a hospital database;
comparing the clinical trial data model with each patient data model of the plurality of patient data models to determine a set of patients that match the clinical trial; and
displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial on a display device.
These above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. The claim recites elements, highlighted in bold above, which covers performance of the limitation as a managing personal behavior and relationships between people. Generating a plurality of patient data models, comparing a clinical trial data model with each patient data model to determine a set of patients that match the clinical trial (managing relationships between people by following rules), and displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial (managing personal behavior by teaching which set of patients match the clinical trial) is managing personal behavior and relationships between people. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a personal behavior or managing relationships between people, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. Claims 1 and 12 are also abstract for similar reasons. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
Claim 19 recites the limitations of (Mental Processes):
A method, comprising:
generating a clinical trial data model from data of a clinical trial extracted from a database of clinical trials;
generating a plurality of patient data models from patient data of a respective plurality of patients extracted from a hospital database;
comparing the clinical trial data model with each patient data model of the plurality of patient data models to determine a set of patients that match the clinical trial; and
displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial on a display device.
In that the claims can be performed in the mind of a person, with pen and paper, the claims are also abstract under Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. A person can generate (write down with pen and paper) a clinical trial model from a database, generate patient data models from a hospital database, compare the clinical trial data model each patient model to determine a match (analyze in their mind), and display (write down) the patients that match. Further it’s noted that a generic computer can perform the abstract steps, even though a computer is not claimed. (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C).
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite: Electronic health record, display device (Claim 1); processor, memory, display device (Claim 12); display device (Claim 19). The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The large language model (LLM) in claim 12 is being used at a high level of generality and could be using an existing LLM (see para. [0030] and use of commercial, open source LLM’s such as OpenAI GPT). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claims 1, 12, and 19 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus claims 1, 12, and 19 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 12, and 19 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and Mental Processes and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Claims 8 and 20 further recites a display device at a high level of generality. Claims 13-16 further recite processor to store or display data which is using generic computer components at a high level of generality. Claims 2, 5, 17, and 18 recite large language models at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or §112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2020/0381087 to Ozeran et al. in view of Wong et al. (Wong et al., “Scaling Clinical Trial Matching Using Large Language Models: A Case Study in Oncology,” Aug. 18, 2023, Proceedings of Machine Learning Research 219:1-18, pp. 1-24)
Regarding claim 1
A method, comprising:
generating a patient data model from data of a patient extracted from an electronic health record (EHR);
{
From Applicant’s specification on “patient data model”…
“Patient data model generation block 201 and clinical trial data model generation block 221 may both include a series of similar steps, during which raw data in various formats is extracted and expanded to generate an emiched data model including structured data to facilitate a direct comparison. In other words, patient data model generation block 201 describes a first process for extracting patient data from medical records of the patient and constructing a patient data model, and clinical trial data model generation block 221 describes a second, similar process for extracting clinical trial data from one or more lists of clinical trials and constructing a clinical trial data model.” [0038]
Therefore, the patient data model appears to be structured patient data.
}
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Fig. 1, ref. 126 and patient records (patient data model)…
Extraction of data within patient records…
“The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for facilitating the extraction and analysis of data embedded within clinical trial information and patient records. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to systems and methods for matching patients with clinical trials and validating clinical trial site capabilities.” [0003]
Standardize (generate) patient health information (patient data model)…
“At 4908, the process 4900 can determine data elements in the patient health information. In some embodiments, the patient health information can be unstructured and/or include free-text. The process 4900 can determine the data elements in order to standardize the patient health information. In some embodiments, the data elements can include at least a portion of the features and/or other data elements in the patient data store 3202.” [0322]
determining a disease state of the patient, based on the patient data model and clinical guidelines;
Capturing (determining) a disease/condition (state) data….
“Thus, what is needed is a system that is capable of efficiently capturing all relevant clinical trial and patient data, including disease/condition data, trial eligibility criteria, trial site features and constraints, and/or clinical trial status (recruiting, active, closed, etc.). Further, what is needed is a system capable of structuring that data to optimally drive different system activities including one or more of efficiently matching patients to clinical trials, activating new sites for an existing clinical trial, and updating site information, among other things. In addition, the system should be highly and rapidly adaptable so that it can be modified to absorb new data types and new clinical trial information, as well as to enable development of new user applications and interfaces optimized to specific user activities.” [0022]
Example of disease state with patient diagnosed (patient data) and stage 1 (clinical guidelines)…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
See Clinical Guideline below.
generating a clinical trial data model from data of a clinical trial extracted from a database of clinical trials;
Utilizes database of clinical trials…
“The present disclosure is described in the context of a system that utilizes an established database of clinical trials (e.g., clinicaltrials.gov, as provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). Nevertheless, it should be appreciated that the present disclosure is intended to teach concepts, features, and aspects that can be useful with any information source relating to clinical trials, including, for example, independently documented clinical trials, internally/privately developed clinical trials, a plurality of clinical trial databases, and the like.” [0004]
Capture, ingest (extract), structure (generating a clinical trial model) clinical trial information…
“In one example, the present disclosure includes a system, other class of device, and/or method to help a medical provider make clinical decisions based on a combination of molecular and clinical data, which may include comparing the molecular and clinical data of a patient to an aggregated data set of molecular and/or clinical data from multiple patients, a knowledge database (KDB) of clinico-genomic data, and/or a database of clinical trial information. Additionally, the present disclosure may be used to capture, ingest, cleanse, structure, and combine robust clinical data, detailed molecular data, and clinical trial information to determine the significance of correlations, to generate reports for physicians, recommend or discourage specific treatments for a patient (including clinical trial participation), bolster clinical research efforts, expand indications of use for treatments currently in market and clinical trials, and/or expedite federal or regulatory body approval of treatment compounds.” [0114]
comparing the patient data model with the clinical trial data model to determine whether the patient is a match for the clinical trial, based on the disease state, and inclusion and exclusion criteria of the clinical trial; and
Matching patients with clinical trials…
“The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for facilitating the extraction and analysis of data embedded within clinical trial information and patient records. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to systems and methods for matching patients with clinical trials and validating clinical trial site capabilities.” [0003]
Inclusion and exclusion criteria…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can compare individual patient data to clinical trial data, and subsequently generate a report of recommended clinical trials that the patient may be eligible for. The patient's physician may review the report and use the information to enroll the patient in a well-suited clinical trial. Accordingly, physicians and/or patients do not need to manually sort and review all clinical trials within a database. Rather, a customized list of clinical trials is efficiently generated, based on the specific needs of the patient. In addition, the specific source of the patient data can easily be traced to each trial's inclusion and exclusion criteria to highlight the rationale for identifying that trial as well-suited. This generation can significantly decrease the time for a patient to find and enroll in a clinical trial, thus improving treatment outcomes for certain diseases and conditions.” [0117]
in response to determining that the patient is a match for the clinical trial, displaying one of the matching patient or the matching clinical trial on a display device.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “…displaying one of the matching patient or the matching clinical trial…”]
GUI (displaying) patient selected for (matching) clinical trial…
“FIG. 42 is shown to include a graphical user interface (GUI) 4200. In some embodiments, GUI 4200 can be implemented by the system 100 in FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the GUI 4200 can include a patient report 4202 corresponding to a patient selected and/or applying for a clinical trial.” [0311]
Clinical Guideline
Ozeran et al. teaches clinical trials and patients. They do not specifically teach clinical guideline.
Wong et al. also in the business of clinical trials and patients teaches:
Standard of care (clinical guideline)…
“Note: For participants to be eligible for enrollment they must have failed at least one line of standard of care systemic therapy (ie, not treatment naïve), with the exception of CRC participants who must have failed at least 2 lines of standard of care systemic therapy, as per CRC specific eligibility criteria. Participants must not have melanoma or NSCLC.” (pg. 9, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Ozeran et al. the ability to determine a standard of care (clinical guideline) as taught by Wong et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wong et al. who teaches the benefits of evaluating patients based on standards of care for trial enrollment.
Regarding claim 2
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the patient data model further comprises using a first large language model (LLM) to extract entities, make assertions about entities, and recognize relationships between entities in unstructured patient data extracted from the EHR.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Reviewing (extracting) unstructured data with disease type of breast cancer (extract entities) and patient diagnosed with breast cancer (make assertion cancer is present), and stage 1 breast cancer (recognize relationship) …
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
Using AI…
“In some embodiments, the AI classification system 3280 can include at least one trained model that can receive inclusion criteria and/or exclusion criteria in the inclusion and exclusion criteria module 3272 and features in the patient data store 3202, and output at least one indication of whether or not at least one criteria is met or not met. In some embodiments, the trained model can be a neural network or other appropriate machine learning model trained on a training data set. For a data-criteria concept mapping classifier, an exemplary training data set may include patient information (e.g., features that may be included in the patient data store 3202), clinical trial information including inclusion and exclusion criteria (e.g., criteria that may be included in the inclusion and exclusion criteria module 3272), and resulting line-by-line classification results for whether the inclusion or exclusion criteria were met (e.g., ground truths).” [0276]
LLM
The combined references teach unstructured data. They also teach extraction, assertions and relationships. They do not teach large language models.
Wong et al. also in the business of unstructured data teaches:
Using large language models…
“To the best of our knowledge, we are the first to explore using the emergent in-context learning capability of LLMs (Brown et al., 2020) for clinical trial matching. Out of box and with no more than three examples, cutting-edge LLMs, such as GPT-4, can already structure trial eligibility criteria with reasonable performance, outperforming strong baselines from prior systems such as Criteria2Query. We also show preliminary results in applying LLMs to end-to-end clinical trial matching.” (pg. 5, para. 1)
PubMedBERT (first large language model) for patients…
“Structured Patient Information To facilitate simulated end-to-end matching evaluation, we leverage the component for structuring patient information in the expert system at our collaborating health network (see Section 3.3). Briefly, this component system uses the Read OCR model in Azure Form Recognizer7 to convert any scanned images and PDF documents into free text, and then appends such text to digitized medical records. It then applies a series of state-of-the-art biomedical NLP models to extract relevant patient attributes from the medical records. For example, it uses self-supervised PubMedBERT models (Preston et al., 2023) to extract the tumor site, histology, and staging information, as well as additional information extraction modules to extract other attributes such as health status, PD-L1 IHC result, and medications. Information available in structured EMRs is added directly, such as date of birth and gender. Other structured data fields such as lab tests and medications are normalized to the same units and NCI Thesaurus, respectively.” (pg. 10, para. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use large language models as taught by Wong et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wong et al. who teaches the benefits of using large language models for unstructured data analysis of both patients and clinical trial information.
Regarding claim 3
The method of claim 2, wherein the unstructured patient data includes textual descriptions of one or more of a diagnosis, a disease state, written results of tests, labs, imaging studies, a treatment, and a care provider comment.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Example of unstructured data and breast cancer (disease state)…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
Regarding claim 5
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the clinical trial data model further comprises using a second large language model (LLM) to extract entities from unstructured clinical trial data and identify beginnings and endings of inclusion and exclusion sections of eligibly criteria in the unstructured clinical trial data.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Inclusion and exclusion criteria…
“As shown, outputs from analytics module 136 can be provided to display device 116 via communication network 118. Further, provider 112 can input additional data via display device 116, and the data can be transmitted to server 120. In some embodiments, provider 112 can input clinical trial information via display device 116, and the data can be transmitted to server 120. The clinical trial information can include inclusion and exclusion criteria, site information, trial status (e.g., recruiting, active, closed, etc.), among other things.” [0135]
Example of free-text (unstructured data)…
“As an example, the first element shown within the inclusion criteria 511 is “histologically confirmed newly diagnosed stage I-II HER2/neu positive breast cancer.” Accordingly, within the trial details 504, “newly diagnosed” may be selected (e.g., checked), the disease criteria 513 may be selected (or otherwise input) as “breast,” and the stage/grade criteria may include “stage II, stage I, stage IIA, IIB, IA, IB.” Using GUI 500, the free-text within the inclusion criteria 511 may be mapped/associated with existing structured data fields. In some aspects, the existing structured data fields (e.g., disease criteria 513, etc.) can align with the structured data fields that may be used to capture patient data. In some situations, it may be desirable to have very granular information. Therefore, the various matching criteria fields may be fairly granular. The specificity of the matching criteria fields can enable accurate comparisons between patient data and clinical trial eligibility data, for example.” [0155]
Example of inclusion/exclusion criteria and greater than (beginning) criteria (Table 7) and less than (ending) criteria (Table 8)…
“Example data elements or fields that an abstractor may find in a respective template may be mapped to respective inclusion/exclusion criteria according the below tables.” [0286]
“TABLE-US-00008 TABLE 7 Inclusion Criteria Mapping Total bilirubin >= 1.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) Bilirubin Count (bCnt) Greater than equal to (GTET) 1.5 Institution ID (HD) Physician ID (pID) Institutional ULN (iULN) Physician ULN (pULN) Inclusion Expression(s): Binary (T/F) = bCnt >= 1.5 × (iULN(iID)) Binary (T/F) = bCnt >= 1.5 × (pULN(pID)) Binary (T/F) = bCnt >= 1.5 × (iULN(iID,pID))” (Table 7)
“TABLE-US-00009 TABLE 8 Inclusion Criteria Mapping Aspartate Aminotransferase (AST)/Serum Glutamic-Oxaloacetic Transaminase (SGOT) >= 1.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) AST Count (astCnt) SGOT Count (sgotCnt) Less than equal to (LTET) 2.5 Institution ID (HD) Physician ID (pID) Institutional ULN (iULN) Physician ULN (pULN) Inclusion Expression(s): Binary (T/F) = astCnt <= 2.5 × (iULN(iID)) Binary (T/F) = astCnt <= 2.5 × (pULN(pID)) Binary (T/F) = astCnt <= 2.5 × (iULN(iID,pID))” (Table 8)
LLM
The combined references teach unstructured data. They also teach extraction, assertions and relationships. They do not teach large language models.
Wong et al. also in the business of unstructured data teaches:
Using large language models…
“To the best of our knowledge, we are the first to explore using the emergent in-context learning capability of LLMs (Brown et al., 2020) for clinical trial matching. Out of box and with no more than three examples, cutting-edge LLMs, such as GPT-4, can already structure trial eligibility criteria with reasonable performance, outperforming strong baselines from prior systems such as Criteria2Query. We also show preliminary results in applying LLMs to end-to-end clinical trial matching.” (pg. 5, para. 1)
GPT-4 (second large language model) for trial…
“To transform the trial XML into a structured representation, we employ a prompt template that guides GPT-4 (same for GPT-3.5) to extract and structure relevant criteria from each trial. Specifically, we focus on four types of criteria: trial cohort, disease state, tumor histology, and biomarkers. The prompt directs GPT-4 to output the structured representation in JSON format and provides instructions on how to handle unclear or missing information. In addition, the prompt may include few-shot example (input, output) pairs for in-context learning (Brown et al., 2020). Our prompt template can be found in Figures 6 to 9 in Appendix. For inference, we replace the placeholder {input trial} in the prompt template with the input trial text and prompt GPT-4 to output the structured representation in JSON format. As shown in Figure 9, the output organizes the criteria into five categories: disease state, histology inclusion, biomarker inclusion, histology exclusion, and biomarker exclusion. The criteria logical expression is in disjunctive normal form (DNF). Our prompt instructs GPT-4 to assign a cohort name for each clause if possible.” (pg. 11, para. 1)
Fig. 2 and example of inclusion criteria…
Appendix A teaches Templates with inclusion and exclusion trial criteria (pp. 18-24)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use large language models as taught by Wong et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wong et al. who teaches the benefits of using large language models for inclusion and exclusion criteria.
The combined references teach inclusion and exclusion. They do not explicitly teach beginning and ending. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that inclusion and exclusion criteria could have a beginning and an ending.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that inclusion and exclusion criteria set ranges for meeting criteria and could have a beginning and an ending. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of inclusion and exclusion criteria and would provide predictable results.
Regarding claim 6
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the disease state of the patient based on the patient data model and the clinical guidelines further comprises comparing a longitudinal journey of the patient through various diagnosis and treatment phases to a standard clinical guideline.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Longitudinal data and multiple points during course of treatment (various treatment phases)…
“Referring again to FIG. 1, server 120 is shown to receive data from several sources. According to some aspects, clinical trial data can be provided to server 120 from database 132. Further, patient data can be provided to server 120. As shown, patient 114 has corresponding data from multiple sources (such as lab results 126 will be furnished from a laboratory or technician, imaging data 128 will be furnished from a radiologist, etc.). For simplicity, this is representatively shown in FIG. 1 as individual patient data 122. In some aspects, individual patient data 122 includes clinical record(s) 124, lab results 126, and/or imaging data 128. In some aspects, clinical record(s) 124 can include physician notes (for example, handwritten notes). The clinical record(s) 124 may include longitudinal data, which is data collected at multiple time points during the course of the patient's treatment.” [0130]
The combined references teach longitudinal data. They don’t teach diagnosis and treatment.
Wong et al. also in the business of longitudinal data teaches:
Applying LLMs to help triage (diagnose and treat) longitudinal medical records in clinical matching…
“While still far from perfect, LLMs substantially outperform prior strong baselines and may serve as a preliminary solution to help triage patient-trial candidates with humans in the loop. Our study also reveals a few significant growth areas for applying LLMs to end-to-end clinical trial matching, such as context limitation and accuracy, especially in structuring patient information from longitudinal medical records.” (Abstract)
Example of fail standard of care (standard clinical guideline)…
“Note: For participants to be eligible for enrollment they must have failed at least one line of standard of care systemic therapy (ie, not treatment naïve), with the exception of CRC participants who must have failed at least 2 lines of standard of care systemic therapy, as per CRC specific eligibility criteria. Participants must not have melanoma or NSCLC.” (pg. 9, Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use longitudinal data as taught by Wong et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wong et al. who teaches the benefits of using longitudinal data with LLM models.
Regarding claim 7
The method of claim 1, wherein comparing the patient data model with the clinical trial data model to determine whether the patient is a match for the clinical trial further comprises calculating a match score based on a similarity between the patient data model and the clinical trial data model, and determine that the patient is a match for the clinical trial in response to the match score being greater than a threshold match score.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Example of match with score…
“As shown, additional details (e.g., the clinical trial description 1558) relating to the clinical trial may be displayed upon selection. The additional details can include the score 1560 that corresponds to the specific patient being matched. In some aspects, information about the inclusion and exclusion criteria can be displayed as matched to the patient. As an example, the GUI 1500 can color code and highlight (e.g., with green and red) the inclusion criteria 1561 and exclusion criteria 1562, based on data that has been successfully matched to the criteria that the trial has defined.” [0190] Inherent with include the score is calculating the score.
Patient meet threshold amount…
“At 4920, the process 4900 can determine the eligibility of the patient for each of the at least one clinical trial. In some embodiments, the process 4900 can determine that the patient is eligible for each trial for which the patient does not meet any of the exclusion criteria and does meet at least a portion of the inclusion criteria. In some embodiments, the process may require that the patient meets at least a threshold amount (e.g., 60%) of the inclusion criteria to be eligible for a given clinical trial. The process 4900 can then determine any number of the at least one clinical trial for which the patient is eligible. The trials the patient is eligible for can be referred to as the at least one eligible clinical trial.” [0325]
Regarding claim 8
The method of claim 7, wherein displaying the matching clinical trial on the display device further comprises displaying a plurality of matching clinical trials on the display device, the plurality of matching clinical trials ranked based on the match score of each clinical trial of the plurality of matching clinical trials.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
“FIG. 43 is shown to include a graphical user interface (GUI) 4300. In some embodiments, GUI 4300 can be implemented by the system 100 in FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the GUI 4300 can include a patient report 4302 corresponding to a patient selected and/or applying for a clinical trial. The patient report 4302 can include a number of therapies 4304 (e.g., drug therapies) that have been matched to the patient based on DNA and/or RNA data. The patient report 4302 can include a number of clinical trials 4306 that have been matched to the patient.” [0312]
GUI (displaying) and final group of top four (ranked) scoring trials…
“FIG. 44 is shown to include a graphical user interface (GUI) 4400. In some embodiments, GUI 4400 can be implemented by the system 100 in FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the GUI 4400 can include a clinical trial report 4402 including information about a selected clinical trial from the search results. In some embodiments, the selected clinical trial can be included in a final group (e.g., the top four scoring clinical trials) from the search results. The clinical trial report 4402 can include information about the clinical trial, such as a molecular match 4404 (e.g., a copy number gain required by the clinical trial that the patient possesses).” [0313]
Regarding claim 9
The method of claim 8, further comprising displaying the plurality of matching clinical trials in a graphical user interface (GUI), wherein the GUI includes a display of an explanation of how a criterion of a clinical trial matches with the patient data, the explanation referencing a first textual description of a patient condition extracted from the data of the patient, and a second textual description of the criterion, and explaining how the first textual description was mapped to the second textual description.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “displaying the plurality of matching clinical trials in a graphical user interface (GUI), wherein the GUI includes a display of an explanation of how a criterion of a clinical trial matches with the patient data, the explanation referencing a first textual description of a patient condition extracted from the data of the patient, and a second textual description of the criterion, and explaining how the first textual description was mapped to the second textual description.]
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Matching (mapping) text-based patient criteria to clinical trial and including a match indication…
“One implementation of the present disclosure is a method of matching a patient to a clinical trial. The method includes receiving text-based criteria for the clinical trial, including a molecular marker, associating at least a portion of the text-based criteria to one or more pre-defined data fields containing molecular marker information, comparing a molecular marker of the patient to the one or more pre-defined data fields, and generating a report for a provider, the report based on the comparison and including a match indication of the patient to the clinical trial.” [0023]
Mapping patient data to clinical trials…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
Regarding claim 10
The method of claim 1, wherein the method is applied to generate a list of clinical trials for which a selected patient is eligible.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
List of clinical trials that match patient’s specific data…
“As shown, the table 1044 can include a list of clinical trials that match the patient's specific data (as indicated on the left side of GUI 1000). System 100 can be configured to analyze and compare patient data to the clinical trial data. Further, system 100 can provide the table 1044 based on clinical trials that substantially align with patient data. Each clinical trial within the table 1044 can include a trial selector 1045, a trial name, a disease site, histology data, disease stage, DNA data, RNA data, distance 1046 (e.g., from the physician's zip code), and/or a “score” 1047. In some aspects, the table 1044 can be sorted based on user-specified criteria (e.g., by distance, by score, etc.).” [0178]
Regarding claim 11
The method of claim 1, wherein the method is applied to generate a list of patients that may be eligible for a selected clinical trial.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
List of patients eligible for trial…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can compare an individual clinical trial data to patient data at an organization, and subsequently generate a report of patients that may be eligible for that particular clinical trial. A physician, principal investigator, or clinical research administrator may review the report and use the information to enroll patients into that specific clinical trial. Accordingly, physicians and/or patients do not need to manually sort and review all patients' data to assess eligibility for a specific trial. Rather, a customized list of patients eligible for that trial is efficiently generated, based on the specific needs of the trial. This generation can significantly decrease the time for a physician, principal investigator, clinical research administrator, or other similar stakeholder to identify patients for a specific clinical trial, in part, due to the ability to reference individual source documentation for each patient's eligibility for each inclusion and exclusion criteria of the trial. Overall, the system allows for healthcare providers to track patient-level management of pre-screening, notification, consent, and enrollment into their clinical trials. Ultimately, this generation is intended to find and enroll patients in a clinical trial, thus improving treatment outcomes for certain diseases and conditions.” [0118]
Regarding claim 12
A clinical trial matching system, comprising:
one or more large language models (LLM);
See LLM below.
a processor, and a memory storing instructions that when executed, cause the processor to:
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Processor and memory with programming (instructions)…
“Furthermore, the disclosed subject matter may be implemented as a system, method, apparatus, or article of manufacture using programming and/or engineering techniques to produce software, firmware, hardware, or any combination thereof to control a computer or processor based device to implement aspects detailed herein. The term “article of manufacture” (or alternatively, “computer program product”) as used herein is intended to encompass a computer program accessible from any computer-readable device, carrier, or media. For example, computer readable media can include but are not limited to magnetic storage devices (such as hard disk, floppy disk, magnetic strips), optical disks (such as compact disk (CD), digital versatile disk (DVD)), smart cards, and flash memory devices (such as card, stick). Additionally it should be appreciated that a carrier wave can be employed to carry computer-readable electronic data such as those used in transmitting and receiving electronic mail or in accessing a network such as the Internet or a local area network (LAN). Transitory computer-readable media (carrier wave and signal based) should be considered separately from non-transitory computer-readable media such as those described above. Of course, those skilled in the art will recognize many modifications may be made to this configuration without departing from the scope or spirit of the claimed subject matter.” [0112]
determine whether a clinical trial is a match for a patient by comparing a first patient data model of the patient with a second clinical trial data model of the clinical trial, the first patient data model generated from patient data using a first LLM of the one or more LLMs, the second clinical trial data model generated from clinical trial data retrieved from a clinical trials database using a second LLM of the one or more LLMs; and
Standardize (generate) patient health information (patient data model)…
“At 4908, the process 4900 can determine data elements in the patient health information. In some embodiments, the patient health information can be unstructured and/or include free-text. The process 4900 can determine the data elements in order to standardize the patient health information. In some embodiments, the data elements can include at least a portion of the features and/or other data elements in the patient data store 3202.” [0322]
Utilizes database of clinical trials…
“The present disclosure is described in the context of a system that utilizes an established database of clinical trials (e.g., clinicaltrials.gov, as provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). Nevertheless, it should be appreciated that the present disclosure is intended to teach concepts, features, and aspects that can be useful with any information source relating to clinical trials, including, for example, independently documented clinical trials, internally/privately developed clinical trials, a plurality of clinical trial databases, and the like.” [0004]
Capture, ingest (extract), structure (generating a clinical trial model) clinical trial information…
“In one example, the present disclosure includes a system, other class of device, and/or method to help a medical provider make clinical decisions based on a combination of molecular and clinical data, which may include comparing the molecular and clinical data of a patient to an aggregated data set of molecular and/or clinical data from multiple patients, a knowledge database (KDB) of clinico-genomic data, and/or a database of clinical trial information. Additionally, the present disclosure may be used to capture, ingest, cleanse, structure, and combine robust clinical data, detailed molecular data, and clinical trial information to determine the significance of correlations, to generate reports for physicians, recommend or discourage specific treatments for a patient (including clinical trial participation), bolster clinical research efforts, expand indications of use for treatments currently in market and clinical trials, and/or expedite federal or regulatory body approval of treatment compounds.” [0114]
Matching patients with clinical trials…
“The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for facilitating the extraction and analysis of data embedded within clinical trial information and patient records. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to systems and methods for matching patients with clinical trials and validating clinical trial site capabilities.” [0003]
in response to determining that the clinical trial is a match for the patient:
indicate that the clinical trial is a match for the patient on a display device; and
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “indicate that the clinical trial is a match for the patient on a display device”]
GUI (displaying) patient selected for (matching) clinical trial…
“FIG. 42 is shown to include a graphical user interface (GUI) 4200. In some embodiments, GUI 4200 can be implemented by the system 100 in FIG. 1. In some embodiments, the GUI 4200 can include a patient report 4202 corresponding to a patient selected and/or applying for a clinical trial.” [0311]
display data elements of the first patient data model that match with clinical trial criteria of the second clinical trial data model in a graphical user interface (GUI) on the display device.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “display data elements of the first patient data model that match with clinical trial criteria of the second clinical trial data model in a graphical user interface (GUI) on the display device.”]
GUI to structure clinical trial data…
“FIGS. 2-9 generally provide graphical user interfaces (GUIs) that can be implemented in system 100 to structure data (e.g., clinical trial data). In some aspects, reports that flow for clinical patients can rely on recommendations and suggestions on which clinical trials the patient is eligible for, as well as clinical and molecular insights. In order to do that effectively, unstructured clinical trial data can be structured using free-text (unstructured data) sourced from clinical trial databases and/or websites (e.g., clinicaltrials.gov). Notably, many clinical trial databases and websites contain clinical trials that are available to the public. Some clinical trials and/or clinical trial information remain private, and can be protocol-specific from various sponsors (e.g., pharma sponsors). Regardless of public or private status, structured clinical trial data can be used in a variety of ways, including to match patients to appropriate clinical trials.” [0143]
LLM
Ozeran et al. teaches artificial intelligence. They do not specifically teach large language models.
Wong et al. also in the business of artificial intelligence teaches:
Matching using large language models…
“… Recently, large language models (LLMs), such as GPT-4, have demonstrated impressive zero-shot and few-shot capabilities in both general domains (OpenAI, 2023; Bubeck et al., 2023) and health applications (Lee et al., 2023a,b; Nori et al., 2023). In this paper, we conduct a systematic study on scaling clinical trial matching with LLMs by leveraging emergent in-context learning capabilities (Brown et al., 2020).” (pg. 2, para. 3)
“To the best of our knowledge, we are the first to explore using the emergent in-context learning capability of LLMs (Brown et al., 2020) for clinical trial matching. Out of box and with no more than three examples, cutting-edge LLMs, such as GPT-4, can already structure trial eligibility criteria with reasonable performance, outperforming strong baselines from prior systems such as Criteria2Query. We also show preliminary results in applying LLMs to end-to-end clinical trial matching.” (pg. 5, para. 2)
Semi-structured text for clinical trial Tspec (clinical trial data model) and free-text for patient information (PEMR, patient data model) and matching…
“Given a clinical trial T and a patient P, clinical trial matching determines if P satisfies all eligibility criteria specified by T. The specification Tspec generally comprises semi-structured text (see Figure 3 “Match logic”). Similarly, the patient information from electronic medical records (EMRs) PEMR also contains many free-text clinical documents, such as pathology reports, radiology reports, and encounter notes. To determine the match, there are two approaches:..” (pg. 5, last para. - pg. 6, para 1).
PubMedBERT (first large language model) for patients…
“Structured Patient Information To facilitate simulated end-to-end matching evaluation, we leverage the component for structuring patient information in the expert system at our collaborating health network (see Section 3.3). Briefly, this component system uses the Read OCR model in Azure Form Recognizer7 to convert any scanned images and PDF documents into free text, and then appends such text to digitized medical records. It then applies a series of state-of-the-art biomedical NLP models to extract relevant patient attributes from the medical records. For example, it uses self-supervised PubMedBERT models (Preston et al., 2023) to extract the tumor site, histology, and staging information, as well as additional information extraction modules to extract other attributes such as health status, PD-L1 IHC result, and medications. Information available in structured EMRs is added directly, such as date of birth and gender. Other structured data fields such as lab tests and medications are normalized to the same units and NCI Thesaurus, respectively.” (pg. 10, para. 2)
GPT-4 (second large language model) for trial…
“To transform the trial XML into a structured representation, we employ a prompt template that guides GPT-4 (same for GPT-3.5) to extract and structure relevant criteria from each trial. Specifically, we focus on four types of criteria: trial cohort, disease state, tumor histology, and biomarkers. The prompt directs GPT-4 to output the structured representation in JSON format and provides instructions on how to handle unclear or missing information. In addition, the prompt may include few-shot example (input, output) pairs for in-context learning (Brown et al., 2020). Our prompt template can be found in Figures 6 to 9 in Appendix. For inference, we replace the placeholder {input trial} in the prompt template with the input trial text and prompt GPT-4 to output the structured representation in JSON format. As shown in Figure 9, the output organizes the criteria into five categories: disease state, histology inclusion, biomarker inclusion, histology exclusion, and biomarker exclusion. The criteria logical expression is in disjunctive normal form (DNF). Our prompt instructs GPT-4 to assign a cohort name for each clause if possible.” (pg. 11, para. 1)
Matching patient with trial…
“Given structured trial eligibility criteria and structured patient information, matching can be done by evaluating for each criterion component, where the patient information is compatible (thus eligible). This check is more elaborate than it may appear at first, since a criterion may specify a set of values (e.g., EGFR mutations without specifying which ones) or a more abstract concept than that in the patient information. Therefore, matching relies on a hierarchical representation of medical terms to check if a criterion entity subsumes the corresponding patient attribute. For histology matching, we convert both clinical trial criteria entities and patient tumor site/histology into OncoTree codes (Kundra et al., 2021), which are a standard hierarchical representation for cancer types. (pg. 12, last para. – pg. 13, first para.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Ozeran et al. the ability to use large language models as taught by Wong et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wong et al. who teaches the benefits of using large language models for unstructured data analysis of both patients and clinical trial information. Ozeran et al. benefits as they also use artificial intelligence for unstructured data.
Regarding claim 16
The clinical trial matching system of claim 12, wherein further instructions are stored in the memory that when executed, cause the processor to display in the GUI, for a data element of the first patient data model that matches a criterion of the second clinical trial data model, an explanation of how the criterion matches the data element, the explanation including a mapping of a first textual description of the data element extracted from the data of the patient with a second textual description of the criterion extracted from the clinical trial data.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “display in the GUI, … an explanation of how the criterion matches the data element, the explanation including a mapping of a first textual description of the data element extracted from the data of the patient with a second textual description of the criterion extracted from the clinical trial data.”]
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Matching (mapping) text-based patient criteria to clinical trial and including a match indication…
“One implementation of the present disclosure is a method of matching a patient to a clinical trial. The method includes receiving text-based criteria for the clinical trial, including a molecular marker, associating at least a portion of the text-based criteria to one or more pre-defined data fields containing molecular marker information, comparing a molecular marker of the patient to the one or more pre-defined data fields, and generating a report for a provider, the report based on the comparison and including a match indication of the patient to the clinical trial.” [0023]
Mapping patient data to clinical trials…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
Claims 4, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (5) above in further view of Peikos et al. (Peikos et al., “Utilizing ChatGPT to Enhance Clinical Trial Enrollment,” June 3, 2023, pp. 1-39)
Regarding claim 4
The method of claim 2, wherein generating the patient data model further comprises expanding entities extracted from the patient data to include synonyms, non-abbreviated forms, and broader concepts, using a clinical ontology.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Example of normalizing (expanding) with ontological graph database and synonyms…
“FIG. 10 is an exemplary ontological graph database 122 for viewing links between different dictionaries (databases of concepts) that may be interlinked through a universal dictionary lookup in order to carry out the normalizing stage 70 in FIG. 5. Conventional ontological graph databases may include GraphT, Neo4j, ArangoDB, Orient, Titan, or Flockdb. The following references to dictionaries and databases are for illustrative purposes only and may not reflect accurately the concepts/synonyms, entities, or links represented therein. Links between two concepts may represent specific known relationships between those two concepts. For example, “Tylenol” may be linked to “acetaminophen” by a “trade name” marker, and may be linked to “Tylenol 50 mg” by a “dosage of” marker. There may also be markers to identify taxonomic “is a” relationships between concepts. “Is a” markers provide relationships between over some clinical dictionaries (such as SNOMEDCT_US, Campbell W S, Pederson J, etc.) to establish relationships between each database with the others. For example, we can follow “is a” relationships from “Tylenol”, “Tylenol 50 mg”, or “acetaminophen” to the concept for a generic drug. Such a relationship may not be available for another concept, for example, a match to the dictionary for UMLS to “the patient” or “patient” may not have a relationship to a medication dictionary due to the conceptually distinct natures of each entity. Relationships may be found between drugs that have the same ingredients or are used to treat the same illnesses.” [0271]
“Other relationships between concepts may also be represented. For example, treatments in a treatment dictionary may be related to other treatments of a separate treatment database through relationships describing the drugs administered or the illness treated. Entities (such as MMSL#3826, C0711228, RXNORM#. . . , etc.) are each linked to their respective synonyms, (such as Tylenol 50 mg, Acetaminophen, Mapap, Ofirmev, etc.). Links between concepts (synonyms), may be explored to effectively normalize any matched candidate concept to an RXNORM entity.” [0272]
Expand
The combined references teach synonyms. They do not literally teach expand.
Peikos et al. also in the business of synonyms teaches:
Expand patient’s information with related medical concepts or synonyms (clinical ontology)…
“As described in Section 7, our findings indicate that when instructing ChatGPT to expand a list of keywords or refine generated queries using synonyms, it has a tendency to introduce terms with broader semantic meanings, resulting in topical drift and a subsequent decline in performance. To address this, we conducted experiments with a prompting approach that involved providing ChatGPT with a domainspecific role, a comprehensive task description, and explicit instructions for keyword expansion (within a single system interaction). Specifically, the model was directed to first extract all keywords describing the patient’s information and then expand each keyword by incorporating two related medical concepts or synonyms.” (pg. 36, bottom para. – pg. 39, top para)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to expand information as taught by Peikos et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Peikos et al. who teaches the benefits of expanding terms to incorporate medical concepts.
Regarding claim 13
The clinical trial matching system of claim 12, wherein further instructions are stored in the memory that when executed, cause the processor to expand concepts included in the first patient data model and/or the second clinical trial data model using one or more clinical ontologies.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Example of normalizing (expanding) with ontological graph database and synonyms…
“FIG. 10 is an exemplary ontological graph database 122 for viewing links between different dictionaries (databases of concepts) that may be interlinked through a universal dictionary lookup in order to carry out the normalizing stage 70 in FIG. 5. Conventional ontological graph databases may include GraphT, Neo4j, ArangoDB, Orient, Titan, or Flockdb. The following references to dictionaries and databases are for illustrative purposes only and may not reflect accurately the concepts/synonyms, entities, or links represented therein. Links between two concepts may represent specific known relationships between those two concepts. For example, “Tylenol” may be linked to “acetaminophen” by a “trade name” marker, and may be linked to “Tylenol 50 mg” by a “dosage of” marker. There may also be markers to identify taxonomic “is a” relationships between concepts. “Is a” markers provide relationships between over some clinical dictionaries (such as SNOMEDCT_US, Campbell W S, Pederson J, etc.) to establish relationships between each database with the others. For example, we can follow “is a” relationships from “Tylenol”, “Tylenol 50 mg”, or “acetaminophen” to the concept for a generic drug. Such a relationship may not be available for another concept, for example, a match to the dictionary for UMLS to “the patient” or “patient” may not have a relationship to a medication dictionary due to the conceptually distinct natures of each entity. Relationships may be found between drugs that have the same ingredients or are used to treat the same illnesses.” [0271]
“Other relationships between concepts may also be represented. For example, treatments in a treatment dictionary may be related to other treatments of a separate treatment database through relationships describing the drugs administered or the illness treated. Entities (such as MMSL#3826, C0711228, RXNORM#. . . , etc.) are each linked to their respective synonyms, (such as Tylenol 50 mg, Acetaminophen, Mapap, Ofirmev, etc.). Links between concepts (synonyms), may be explored to effectively normalize any matched candidate concept to an RXNORM entity.” [0272]
Expand
The combined references teach synonyms. They do not literally teach expand.
Peikos et al. also in the business of synonyms teaches:
Expand patient’s information with related medical concepts or synonyms (clinical ontology)…
“As described in Section 7, our findings indicate that when instructing ChatGPT to expand a list of keywords or refine generated queries using synonyms, it has a tendency to introduce terms with broader semantic meanings, resulting in topical drift and a subsequent decline in performance. To address this, we conducted experiments with a prompting approach that involved providing ChatGPT with a domainspecific role, a comprehensive task description, and explicit instructions for keyword expansion (within a single system interaction). Specifically, the model was directed to first extract all keywords describing the patient’s information and then expand each keyword by incorporating two related medical concepts or synonyms.” (pg. 36, bottom para. – pg. 39, top para)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to expand information as taught by Peikos et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Peikos et al. who teaches the benefits of expanding terms to incorporate medical concepts.
Regarding claim 17
The clinical trial matching system of claim 12, wherein the first LLM is the same as the second LLM.
Wong et al. teaches:
Using GPT-4, same as GPT-3.5 (second large language model) for trial LLM…
“To transform the trial XML into a structured representation, we employ a prompt template that guides GPT-4 (same for GPT-3.5) to extract and structure relevant criteria from each trial. Specifically, we focus on four types of criteria: trial cohort, disease state, tumor histology, and biomarkers. The prompt directs GPT-4 to output the structured representation in JSON format and provides instructions on how to handle unclear or missing information. In addition, the prompt may include few-shot example (input, output) pairs for in-context learning (Brown et al., 2020). Our prompt template can be found in Figures 6 to 9 in Appendix. For inference, we replace the placeholder {input trial} in the prompt template with the input trial text and prompt GPT-4 to output the structured representation in JSON format. As shown in Figure 9, the output organizes the criteria into five categories: disease state, histology inclusion, biomarker inclusion, histology exclusion, and biomarker exclusion. The criteria logical expression is in disjunctive normal form (DNF). Our prompt instructs GPT-4 to assign a cohort name for each clause if possible.” (pg. 11, para. 1)
They do not teach using GPT-3.5 for patients.
Peikos et al. also in the business of using GPT-3.5 teaches:
Use GPT-3.5 to extract patient-related information…
“Our work focuses on the initial step of the workflow presented above, where healthcare providers actively search for eligible clinical trials by leveraging a patient’s EHR. We propose the usage of a large language model, namely the GPT-3.5 model, commonly referred to as ChatGPT1, to extract patient-related information from clinical narratives. In our approach, a clinical note that contains various patient-related information (e.g. underline medical problem, family history, patient’s demographics) is processed through ChatGPT aiming to automatically synthesize queries for searching eligible clinical trials for the considered patient. Therefore, our approach has the potential to fully automate this workflow step or, at least, significantly reduce the required human effort.” (pg. 2, para. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use the same LLM as taught by Peikos et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Peikos et al. who teaches the benefits of using GPT-3.5 to extract patient information and the combined references benefit by using the same GPT method as this simplifies the process.
Regarding claim 18
The clinical trial matching system of claim 12, wherein:
the first LLM is a clinical LLM trained to extract information from unstructured patient data including textual descriptions of one or more of a patient’s diagnosis, disease state, written results of tests, labs, imaging studies, interventions, and/or treatments, and care provider comments, and perform inferences based on the extracted information; and
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Fig. 1, ref. 121-124 including lab results and images…
Extraction of data within patient records…
“The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for facilitating the extraction and analysis of data embedded within clinical trial information and patient records. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to systems and methods for matching patients with clinical trials and validating clinical trial site capabilities.” [0003]
Reviewing (extracting) unstructured data with disease type of breast cancer (extract entities) and patient diagnosed with breast cancer (make assertion cancer is present), and stage 1 breast cancer (recognize relationship) …
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
See LLM and Inference below.
the second LLM is trained to extract information from unstructured clinical trial data, the extracted information including a beginning and an end of an inclusion section of eligibility criteria of the unstructured clinical trial data, and a beginning and an end of an exclusion section of the eligibility criteria.
Inclusion and exclusion criteria…
“As shown, outputs from analytics module 136 can be provided to display device 116 via communication network 118. Further, provider 112 can input additional data via display device 116, and the data can be transmitted to server 120. In some embodiments, provider 112 can input clinical trial information via display device 116, and the data can be transmitted to server 120. The clinical trial information can include inclusion and exclusion criteria, site information, trial status (e.g., recruiting, active, closed, etc.), among other things.” [0135]
Example of free-text (unstructured data)…
“As an example, the first element shown within the inclusion criteria 511 is “histologically confirmed newly diagnosed stage I-II HER2/neu positive breast cancer.” Accordingly, within the trial details 504, “newly diagnosed” may be selected (e.g., checked), the disease criteria 513 may be selected (or otherwise input) as “breast,” and the stage/grade criteria may include “stage II, stage I, stage IIA, IIB, IA, IB.” Using GUI 500, the free-text within the inclusion criteria 511 may be mapped/associated with existing structured data fields. In some aspects, the existing structured data fields (e.g., disease criteria 513, etc.) can align with the structured data fields that may be used to capture patient data. In some situations, it may be desirable to have very granular information. Therefore, the various matching criteria fields may be fairly granular. The specificity of the matching criteria fields can enable accurate comparisons between patient data and clinical trial eligibility data, for example.” [0155]
Example of inclusion/exclusion criteria and greater than (beginning) criteria (Table 7) and less than (ending) criteria (Table 8)…
“Example data elements or fields that an abstractor may find in a respective template may be mapped to respective inclusion/exclusion criteria according the below tables.” [0286]
“TABLE-US-00008 TABLE 7 Inclusion Criteria Mapping Total bilirubin >= 1.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) Bilirubin Count (bCnt) Greater than equal to (GTET) 1.5 Institution ID (HD) Physician ID (pID) Institutional ULN (iULN) Physician ULN (pULN) Inclusion Expression(s): Binary (T/F) = bCnt >= 1.5 × (iULN(iID)) Binary (T/F) = bCnt >= 1.5 × (pULN(pID)) Binary (T/F) = bCnt >= 1.5 × (iULN(iID,pID))” (Table 7)
“TABLE-US-00009 TABLE 8 Inclusion Criteria Mapping Aspartate Aminotransferase (AST)/Serum Glutamic-Oxaloacetic Transaminase (SGOT) >= 1.5 × institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) AST Count (astCnt) SGOT Count (sgotCnt) Less than equal to (LTET) 2.5 Institution ID (HD) Physician ID (pID) Institutional ULN (iULN) Physician ULN (pULN) Inclusion Expression(s): Binary (T/F) = astCnt <= 2.5 × (iULN(iID)) Binary (T/F) = astCnt <= 2.5 × (pULN(pID)) Binary (T/F) = astCnt <= 2.5 × (iULN(iID,pID))” (Table 8)
LLM and Inference
The combined references teach LLM. They do not teach LLM and inference.
Peikos et al. also in the business of LLM teaches:
LLM and inference…
“All in all, the previous studies showed that ChatGPT and GPT-3, two general-purposed LLMs, have the potential to perform accurate IE in the clinical domain (occasionally even outperforming domain-specific LMs) and highlighted some potential issues related to models’ response behaviour (strong dependence on the created prompts) and their evaluation (mainly due to token-level miss-match). Yang et al. [104] developed a large clinical language model from scratch, namely GatorTron. The model has adopted the BERT architecture with three different settings varying from the base model with 345M parameters to the large model with 8.9B parameters. The model has been evaluated across five clinical NLP tasks: clinical concept extraction, medical relation extraction, semantic textual similarity, natural language inference, and medical question answering. Empirical findings show that GatorTron outperforms previous transformer models, such as BioBERT and ClinicalBERT, across all NLP tasks. However, as the authors mention, GatorTron achieved remarkable improvements for complex NLP tasks such as natural language inference and medical question answering, but shows only marginal improvements in simpler tasks such as clinical concept extraction and medical relation extraction.” ((pg. 8, top para.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use LLM and inference as taught by Peikos et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Peikos et al. who teaches the benefits of using LLM and inference.
The combined references teach inclusion and exclusion. They do not explicitly teach beginning and ending. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that inclusion and exclusion criteria could have a beginning and an ending.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the combined references with the knowledge available to such an artisan that inclusion and exclusion criteria set ranges for meeting criteria and could have a beginning and an ending. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of inclusion and exclusion criteria and would provide predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (6) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2020/0234801 to Mao et al.
Regarding claim 14
The clinical trial matching system of claim 13, wherein further instructions are stored in the memory that when executed, cause the processor to store the expanded concepts in a relational database, and compare the first patient data model with the second clinical trial data model by executing Structured Query Language (SQL) queries on the stored concepts, wherein portions of the SQL queries are filled in using corresponding values of the patient data model.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Ontological (sematic) graph database…
“FIG. 10 is an exemplary ontological graph database 122 for viewing links between different dictionaries (databases of concepts) that may be interlinked through a universal dictionary lookup in order to carry out the normalizing stage 70 in FIG. 5. Conventional ontological graph databases may include GraphT, Neo4j, ArangoDB, Orient, Titan, or Flockdb. The following references to dictionaries and databases are for illustrative purposes only and may not reflect accurately the concepts/synonyms, entities, or links represented therein. Links between two concepts may represent specific known relationships between those two concepts. For example, “Tylenol” may be linked to “acetaminophen” by a “trade name” marker, and may be linked to “Tylenol 50 mg” by a “dosage of” marker. There may also be markers to identify taxonomic “is a” relationships between concepts. “Is a” markers provide relationships between over some clinical dictionaries (such as SNOMEDCT_US, Campbell W S, Pederson J, etc.) to establish relationships between each database with the others. For example, we can follow “is a” relationships from “Tylenol”, “Tylenol 50 mg”, or “acetaminophen” to the concept for a generic drug. Such a relationship may not be available for another concept, for example, a match to the dictionary for UMLS to “the patient” or “patient” may not have a relationship to a medication dictionary due to the conceptually distinct natures of each entity. Relationships may be found between drugs that have the same ingredients or are used to treat the same illnesses.” [0271]
Expand
The combined references teach synonyms. They do not literally teach expand.
Peikos et al. also in the business of synonyms teaches:
Expand patient’s information with related medical concepts or synonyms…
“As described in Section 7, our findings indicate that when instructing ChatGPT to expand a list of keywords or refine generated queries using synonyms, it has a tendency to introduce terms with broader semantic meanings, resulting in topical drift and a subsequent decline in performance. To address this, we conducted experiments with a prompting approach that involved providing ChatGPT with a domainspecific role, a comprehensive task description, and explicit instructions for keyword expansion (within a single system interaction). Specifically, the model was directed to first extract all keywords describing the patient’s information and then expand each keyword by incorporating two related medical concepts or synonyms.” (pg. 36, bottom para. – pg. 39, top para)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to expand information as taught by Peikos et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Peikos et al. who teaches the benefits of expanding terms to incorporate medical concepts.
The combined references teach clinical trials. They also teach expanded concepts. They do not teach store in relational database and using structured language queries.
Mao et al. also int the business of clinical trials teaches:
SQL queries of relational databases…
“To identify one or more patients for a target clinical trial, eligibility criteria from the target clinical trial are extracted and standardized using the structured clinical trial mark-up language, as described or otherwise envisioned herein. The standardized eligibility criteria can then be utilized to query the patient-specific data database using any of the methods described or otherwise envisioned herein. For example, to use structuralized patient data to answer questions proposed in some eligibility criteria for patient trial matching and recruitment, each criterion may be further translated into SQL queries. SQL queries may be used in a relational database protocol to determine suitable recruitment and/or matching of a specific patient to a specific clinical trial.” [0078]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use SQL for relational database as taught by Mao et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Mao et al. who teaches the benefits of using relational databases to search for data.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined references in section (7) above in further view of Pub. No. US 2017/0286456 to Wenzel et al.
Regarding claim 15
The clinical trial matching system of claim 14, wherein further instructions are stored in the memory that when executed, cause the processor to store the expanded concepts in a semantic knowledge-graph database, and compare the first patient data model with the second clinical trial data model by executing SPARQL Protocol and RDF Query Language (SPARQL) queries on the stored expanded concepts, wherein portions of the SPARQL queries are filled in using corresponding values of the patient data model.
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Ontological (sematic) graph database…
“FIG. 10 is an exemplary ontological graph database 122 for viewing links between different dictionaries (databases of concepts) that may be interlinked through a universal dictionary lookup in order to carry out the normalizing stage 70 in FIG. 5. Conventional ontological graph databases may include GraphT, Neo4j, ArangoDB, Orient, Titan, or Flockdb. The following references to dictionaries and databases are for illustrative purposes only and may not reflect accurately the concepts/synonyms, entities, or links represented therein. Links between two concepts may represent specific known relationships between those two concepts. For example, “Tylenol” may be linked to “acetaminophen” by a “trade name” marker, and may be linked to “Tylenol 50 mg” by a “dosage of” marker. There may also be markers to identify taxonomic “is a” relationships between concepts. “Is a” markers provide relationships between over some clinical dictionaries (such as SNOMEDCT_US, Campbell W S, Pederson J, etc.) to establish relationships between each database with the others. For example, we can follow “is a” relationships from “Tylenol”, “Tylenol 50 mg”, or “acetaminophen” to the concept for a generic drug. Such a relationship may not be available for another concept, for example, a match to the dictionary for UMLS to “the patient” or “patient” may not have a relationship to a medication dictionary due to the conceptually distinct natures of each entity. Relationships may be found between drugs that have the same ingredients or are used to treat the same illnesses.” [0271]
The combined references teach ontology graph database. They do not teach SPARQL and RDF.
Wenzel et al. also in the business of ontology teaches:
“In general, users 23 interact with standards specification and management system 18 of sponsor 14 to automatically generate and manage the metadata related to one or more of the data standards associated with managing clinical trials or studies, in this example. For example, standards specification and management system 18 may manage metadata that is included in part a data collection standard, a data tabulation standard, and/or a data submission standard. The metadata for a data standard forms a data model that is included in models 22.” [0051]
SPARQL queries with RDF…
“In some examples, all or part of standards specification and management system 18 may be implemented as an Apache project called JENA, which is a java framework for building Semantic Web applications. In such examples, API libraries for developers may be provided that handle RDF, RDF Schema (RDFS), RDF in attributes (RDFa), OWL, SPARQL Protocol, and RDF Query Language (SPARQL) queries. These libraries may be used to transform semantic information from assets into a dynamically generated ontology in one file and ontology instance data in another. Instance data may represent an asset in its current form with some or all of the metadata. The ontology may allow the user the ability to verify metadata knowledge types (e.g. classifiers, artifacts, and relationships) contained within assets and the consistency of the instance data.” [0108]
“Using an RDF format may provide one or more advantages. For example, using an RDF format may provide the ability to integrate with operational business processes via RDF schemas and data. As another example, using an RDF format may provide the ability to query the instance data with SPARQL. As a further example, using an RDF format may allow RDF XML class instance data to be created once and referenced in other parts of the document. This may be, in some examples, contrary to XML whose schema may require XML sub-elements for each instance.” [0185]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use SPARQL for RDF as taught by Wenzel et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Wenzel et al. who teaches the benefits of using such queries with graph databases..
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2020/0381087 to Ozeran et al. in view of Pub. No. US 2020/0234801 to Mao et al.
Regarding claim 19
A method, comprising:
generating a clinical trial data model from data of a clinical trial extracted from a database of clinical trials;
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Utilizes database of clinical trials…
“The present disclosure is described in the context of a system that utilizes an established database of clinical trials (e.g., clinicaltrials.gov, as provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine). Nevertheless, it should be appreciated that the present disclosure is intended to teach concepts, features, and aspects that can be useful with any information source relating to clinical trials, including, for example, independently documented clinical trials, internally/privately developed clinical trials, a plurality of clinical trial databases, and the like.” [0004]
Capture, ingest (extract), structure (generating a clinical trial model) clinical trial information…
“In one example, the present disclosure includes a system, other class of device, and/or method to help a medical provider make clinical decisions based on a combination of molecular and clinical data, which may include comparing the molecular and clinical data of a patient to an aggregated data set of molecular and/or clinical data from multiple patients, a knowledge database (KDB) of clinico-genomic data, and/or a database of clinical trial information. Additionally, the present disclosure may be used to capture, ingest, cleanse, structure, and combine robust clinical data, detailed molecular data, and clinical trial information to determine the significance of correlations, to generate reports for physicians, recommend or discourage specific treatments for a patient (including clinical trial participation), bolster clinical research efforts, expand indications of use for treatments currently in market and clinical trials, and/or expedite federal or regulatory body approval of treatment compounds.” [0114]
generating a plurality of patient data models from patient data of a respective plurality of patients extracted from a hospital database;
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Fig. 1, ref. 126 and patient records (patient data model)…
Extraction of data within patient records…
“The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for facilitating the extraction and analysis of data embedded within clinical trial information and patient records. More particularly, the present disclosure relates to systems and methods for matching patients with clinical trials and validating clinical trial site capabilities.” [0003]
Patients’ (plurality) data and standardize (patient data model) with hospital EHR…
“A diagnosis indication may be based on any portion of individual patient data 122 or aggregated data from multiple patients, including clinical data and molecular data. In one example, individual patient data 122 is normalized, de-identified, and stored collectively in database 134 to facilitate easy query access to the dataset in aggregate to enable a medical provider to use system 100 to compare patients' data. Clinical data may include physician notes and imaging data, and may be generated from clinical records, hospital EMR systems, researchers, patients, and community physician practices. To generate standardized data to support internal precision medicine initiatives, clinical data, including free form text, scanned documents, and/or handwritten notes, may be processed and structured into phenotypic, therapeutic, and outcomes or patient response data by methods including optical character recognition (OCR), natural language processing (NLP), and manual curation methods that may check for completeness of data, interpolate missing information, use manual and/or automated quality assurance protocols, and store data in FHIR compliant data structures using industry standard vocabularies for medical providers to access through the system 100. Molecular data may include variants or other genetic alterations, DNA sequences, RNA sequences and expression levels, miRNA sequences, epigenetic data, protein levels, metabolite levels, etc. Molecular markers specific variants or other genetic alterations, DNA sequences, RNA sequences and expression levels, miRNA sequences, epigenetic data, protein levels, metabolite levels, etc. that can indicate disruption in a patient.” [0134]
Standardize (generate) patient health information (patient data model)…
“At 4908, the process 4900 can determine data elements in the patient health information. In some embodiments, the patient health information can be unstructured and/or include free-text. The process 4900 can determine the data elements in order to standardize the patient health information. In some embodiments, the data elements can include at least a portion of the features and/or other data elements in the patient data store 3202.” [0322]
comparing the clinical trial data model with each patient data model of the plurality of patient data models to determine a set of patients that match the clinical trial; and
List of patients eligible (match) for trial…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can compare an individual clinical trial data to patient data at an organization, and subsequently generate a report of patients that may be eligible for that particular clinical trial. A physician, principal investigator, or clinical research administrator may review the report and use the information to enroll patients into that specific clinical trial. Accordingly, physicians and/or patients do not need to manually sort and review all patients' data to assess eligibility for a specific trial. Rather, a customized list of patients eligible for that trial is efficiently generated, based on the specific needs of the trial. This generation can significantly decrease the time for a physician, principal investigator, clinical research administrator, or other similar stakeholder to identify patients for a specific clinical trial, in part, due to the ability to reference individual source documentation for each patient's eligibility for each inclusion and exclusion criteria of the trial. Overall, the system allows for healthcare providers to track patient-level management of pre-screening, notification, consent, and enrollment into their clinical trials. Ultimately, this generation is intended to find and enroll patients in a clinical trial, thus improving treatment outcomes for certain diseases and conditions.” [0118]
displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial on a display device.
No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial on a display device.”]
Allows providers to track (therefore display) patient pre-screening, notification, and enrollment…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can compare an individual clinical trial data to patient data at an organization, and subsequently generate a report of patients that may be eligible for that particular clinical trial. A physician, principal investigator, or clinical research administrator may review the report and use the information to enroll patients into that specific clinical trial. Accordingly, physicians and/or patients do not need to manually sort and review all patients' data to assess eligibility for a specific trial. Rather, a customized list of patients eligible for that trial is efficiently generated, based on the specific needs of the trial. This generation can significantly decrease the time for a physician, principal investigator, clinical research administrator, or other similar stakeholder to identify patients for a specific clinical trial, in part, due to the ability to reference individual source documentation for each patient's eligibility for each inclusion and exclusion criteria of the trial. Overall, the system allows for healthcare providers to track patient-level management of pre-screening, notification, consent, and enrollment into their clinical trials. Ultimately, this generation is intended to find and enroll patients in a clinical trial, thus improving treatment outcomes for certain diseases and conditions.” [0118]
Ozeran et al. teaches patients for a trial. They do not specifically teach display a set of patients.
Mao et al. also in the business of patients for a trial teaches:
Displaying a list (set) of patients matched to a clinical trial…
“The system and method can be used for providing efficient recruitment of patients for clinical trials. A method is described for providing interoperability between clinical trial document and patient clinical data residing in medical records. The method includes steps for providing a dataset of textual documents from a clinical trial, the documents containing obscured and non-obscured patient eligibility criteria, storing the documents on a server, formatting the documents in a natural language with patient eligibility criteria, translating the formatted patient eligibility criteria into a series of structured query language queries, inputting patient-specific data values, performing at least one query search of the patient eligibility criteria, and recruiting at least one patient for the clinical trial so that at least one patient-specific data value matches a patient eligibility criteria of the clinical trial, as well as displaying a list of patients matched to the clinical trial. Various embodiments provide a system and method for providing a list of pertinent patient-specific clinical trials based on selected searching, structuralizing and matching criteria selected by a user of the system and method.” [0007]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the Ozeran et al. the ability to display a set of patients as taught by Mao et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Mao et al. who teaches the benefits of displaying a list of patientsfor recruiting purposes.
Regarding claim 20
The method of claim 19, wherein displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial on the display device further comprises displaying, in a graphical user interface (GUI), for a patient of the set of patients, an explanation of how the patient data of the patient matches an eligibility criterion of the clinical trial, the explanation including a mapping of a first textual description of an element of the patient data to a second textual description of the criterion extracted from the clinical trial data model.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive claim language of “displaying the set of patients that match the clinical trial on the display device further comprises displaying, in a graphical user interface (GUI), for a patient of the set of patients, an explanation of how the patient data of the patient matches an eligibility criterion of the clinical trial, the explanation including a mapping of a first textual description of an element of the patient data to a second textual description of the criterion extracted from the clinical trial data model.”]
Ozeran et al. teaches:
Matching (mapping) text-based patient criteria to clinical trial and including a match indication…
“One implementation of the present disclosure is a method of matching a patient to a clinical trial. The method includes receiving text-based criteria for the clinical trial, including a molecular marker, associating at least a portion of the text-based criteria to one or more pre-defined data fields containing molecular marker information, comparing a molecular marker of the patient to the one or more pre-defined data fields, and generating a report for a provider, the report based on the comparison and including a match indication of the patient to the clinical trial.” [0023]
Mapping patient data to clinical trials…
“In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the system can create structure around clinical trial data. This can include reviewing free text (i.e., unstructured data), determining relevant information, and populating corresponding structured data field with the information. As an example, a clinical trial description may specify that only patients diagnosed with stage I breast cancer may enroll. A structured data field corresponding to “stage/grade” may then be populated with “stage I,” and a structured data field corresponding to “disease type” may then be populated with “breast” or “breast cancer.” The ability of the system to create structured clinical trial data can aid in the matching of patients to an appropriate clinical trial. In particular, a patient's structured health data can be mapped to the structured clinical trial data to determine which clinical trials may be optimal for the specific patient.” [0116]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following prior art teaches at least clinical trials:
US-20190311787-A1; US-20220208305-A1; US-20220344008-A1; US-20040078216-A1; US-20050203776-A1; US-20200335188-A1; US-20220036978-A1; US-20140310015-A1; US-20160196411-A1; US-20180301205-A1; US-20210335457-A1; US-20220068443-A1; US-20180046780-A1; US-20240112765-A1; US-20250124224-A1; US-11158402-B2; US-11302423-B2
/KENNETH BARTLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684