DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the term “the auxiliary traces” and “the second readout probing pads”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takasu, US 20070290709
Regarding claim 17, Takasu discloses a shift detection pattern for operating with a probe card having shift detection needles, and the shift detection pattern comprising: a target probing pattern (Fig. 4; conductor 501 considered a pattern); and an auxiliary pattern distributed in proximity to and electrically insulated from the target probing pattern (Fig. 4; conductor pattern 502), wherein a minimum spacing between the target probing pattern and the auxiliary pattern is less than a lateral dimension of the shift detection needles (¶[0031]; distance between 501 and 503 designed to be smaller than the size of the point of a probe needle).
Regarding claim 19, Takasu teaches wherein the target probing pattern comprises a target probing pad (Fig. 4; Conductor 501).
Regarding claim 20, Takasu teaches wherein the auxiliary traces comprise ring-shaped auxiliary traces, strip auxiliary traces or L-shaped auxiliary traces disposed around the target probing pad (Fig. 4; conductors 502), and each of the auxiliary traces is connected to one of the second readout probing pads respectively (¶[0032]; electrical characteristic measured by a readout circuit using probe needles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 7, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20070090851 in view of Kim, KR 20140128620
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a chip probing apparatus, adapted to perform a chip probing process of a wafer, the wafer comprising integrated circuit regions (Fig. 16-17; chip region 2102), scribe line regions (Fig. 16-17; scribe lanes 2104) and at least one shift detection pattern distributed in the scribe line regions (Fig. 16-17; pad 2010), and the chip probing apparatus comprising: a probe card comprising electrical measurement needles and shift detection needles (Fig. 28-29; probe cards have multiple needles 2150), wherein the electrical measurement needles are adapted to be pressed onto the integrated circuit regions (Figs 28-29; Channel 1-3 pressed onto first pads 2110 in chip region), and the shift detection needles are adapted to be pressed onto the shift detection pattern (Fig. 17, 28; channel 4 on pad 2010), wherein the at least one shift detection pattern comprises a target probing section (Fig. 29; area 2010a) and an auxiliary pattern distributed in proximity to the target probing section (Fig. 29; sensing region 2010b having pattern in proximity to the target probing section), and one of the shift detection needles is pressed onto the target probing pattern and the auxiliary pattern simultaneously when the probe card is misaligned with the wafer (Fig. 29; ¶[0165], [0168]; probe needle 2150 contact with 2010b and 2010a deemed to be an abnormal alignment).
Kim is silent in wherein the target probing section comprises a target probing pattern. Kim ‘620 teaches a target probing section comprises a target probing pattern (Fig. 3; stripe pattern 1510). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 2, Kim is silent in wherein the target probing pattern comprises a first target probing trace, a second target probing trace and first readout probing pads connected to first ends of the first and second target probing traces, the auxiliary pattern comprises a first auxiliary trace, a second auxiliary trace and second readout probing pads connected to first ends of the first and second auxiliary traces, and wherein second ends of the first and second target probing traces as well as second ends of the first and second auxiliary traces are in a probing region of the at least one shift detection pattern (Fig. 3-5; guard patterns 1570a, 1570b with a readout pad pertaining to the change in power supply 130; guard pattern 1560a, 1560b connected to power supply 110 which changes during misalignment and is therefore considered a readout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the first target probing trace, the second target probing trace, the first auxiliary trace and second auxiliary trace extend vertically in the probing region (Fig. 3; patterns extend in x and y direction and therefore one of those directions is considered a vertical direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the first target probing trace, the second target probing trace, the first auxiliary trace and second auxiliary trace extend horizontally in the probing region (Fig. 3; patterns extend in x and y direction and therefore one of those directions is considered a horizontal direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Reading claim 5, Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the target probing pattern comprises a target probing pad and a first readout probing pad connected to the target probing pad, and wherein the auxiliary pattern comprises auxiliary traces surrounding the target probing pad and second readout probing pads connected to the auxiliary traces (Fig. 3-5 1560a, 1560b considered target probing pad with a readout pad pertaining to the change in power supply 110; guard pattern 1570a, 1570b connected to power supply 110 which changes during misalignment and is therefore considered a readout and surround 1560). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the auxiliary traces comprise strip auxiliary traces disposed around the target probing pad, and each of the strip auxiliary traces is connected to one of the second readout probing pads respectively (Fig. 4; 1570a, 1570b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches wherein a lateral dimension of the shift detection needles is greater than a minimum spacing between the target probing section and the auxiliary pattern (Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a chip probing method, comprising: providing a wafer comprising integrated circuit regions (Fig. 16-17; chip region 2102), scribe line regions (Fig. 16-17; scribe lanes 2104) and at least one shift detection pattern distributed in the scribe line regions (Fig. 16-17; pad 2010), wherein the at least one shift detection pattern comprises a target probing section (Fig. 29; area 2010a) and an auxiliary pattern distributed in proximity to the target probing pattern (Fig. 29; sensing region 2010b having pattern in proximity to the target probing section); providing a probe card over the wafer, the probe card comprising electrical measurement needles and shift detection needles (Fig. 28-29; probe cards have multiple needles 2150); and pressing the electrical measurement needles onto the integrated circuit regions (Figs 28-29; Channel 1-3 pressed onto first pads 2110 in chip region) and pressing the shift detection needles onto the shift detection pattern (Fig. 17, 28; channel 4 on pad 2010); applying a first testing signal to the shift detection pattern through the shift detection needles to obtain a probing shift information (Fig. 28; ¶[0165]-[0167]; probe needle 2150 deemed to be a normal or abnormal alignment); and applying a second testing signal to the integrated circuit regions through the electrical measurement needles to obtain a chip probing information when the probing shift information shows that the probe card is aligned with the wafer (¶[0167]; first test on semiconductor device is carried out after normal alignment).
Kim is silent in wherein the target probing section comprises a target probing pattern. Kim teaches a target probing section comprises a target probing pattern (Fig. 3; stripe pattern 1510). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the probing shift information comprises a shift amount between the shift detection pattern and the shift detection needles as well as a shift direction between the shift detection pattern and the shift detection needles (¶[0165]-[0167]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the first testing signal is applied to the shift detection pattern through the shift detection needles to identify whether one of the shift detection needles is pressed onto the target probing section and the auxiliary pattern simultaneously (Fig. 29; needle is pressed onto both target probing section and aux pattern). Kim is silent in wherein the target probing section comprises a target probing pattern. Kim teaches a target probing section comprises a target probing pattern (Fig. 3; stripe pattern 1510). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches and wherein the first testing signal is applied to the shift detection pattern through the shift detection needles to identify whether one of the shift detection needles is pressed onto the first target probing section and the first auxiliary trace simultaneously (Fig. 29). Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the target probing pattern comprises a first target probing trace, a second target probing trace and first readout probing pads connected to first ends of the first and second target probing traces, the auxiliary pattern comprises a first auxiliary trace, a second auxiliary trace and second readout probing pads connected to first ends of the first and second auxiliary traces, wherein second ends of the first and second target probing traces as well as second ends of the first and second auxiliary traces are in a probing region of at least one shift detection pattern (Fig. 3-5; guard patterns 1570a, 1570b with a readout pad pertaining to the change in power supply 130; guard pattern 1560a, 1560b connected to power supply 110 which changes during misalignment and is therefore considered a readout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches wherein the first testing signal is applied to the shift detection pattern through the shift detection needles to identify whether one of the shift detection needles is pressed onto the target probing section and the auxiliary traces simultaneously (Fig. 29). Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the target probing pattern comprises a target probing pad and a first readout probing pad connected to the target probing pad, wherein the auxiliary pattern comprises auxiliary traces surrounding the target probing pad and second readout probing pads connected to the auxiliary traces (Fig. 3-5 1560a, 1560b considered target probing pad with a readout pad pertaining to the change in power supply 110; guard pattern 1570a, 1570b connected to power supply 110 which changes during misalignment and is therefore considered a readout and surround 1560). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches wherein a first testing signal is applied to a shift detection pattern through the shift detection needles to identify which one of the auxiliary traces is pressed by the shift detection needles (Fig. 32; first to the fourth sensing regions 104a, 106a, 108a and 110a are identified based on needle position). Kim ‘620 teaches wherein the target probing pattern comprises a target probing pad and a first readout probing pad connected to the target probing pad, wherein the auxiliary pattern comprises auxiliary traces surrounding the target probing pad and second readout probing pads connected to the auxiliary traces (Fig. 3-5 1560a, 1560b considered target probing pad with a readout pad pertaining to the change in power supply 110; guard pattern 1570a, 1570b connected to power supply 110 which changes during misalignment and is therefore considered a readout and surround 1560). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Kim for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches further comprising: re-aligning the probe card and the wafer when the probing shift information shows that the probe card and the wafer are misaligned (¶[0168]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20070090851 in view of Kim, KR 20140128620 in view of Takasu, US 20070290709
Regarding claim 6, Kim is silent in wherein the auxiliary traces comprise ring-shaped auxiliary traces surrounding the target probing pad, and each of the ring-shaped auxiliary traces is connected to one of the second readout probing pads respectively. Takasu teaches wherein the auxiliary traces comprise ring-shaped auxiliary traces surrounding the target probing pad, and each of the ring-shaped auxiliary traces is connected to one of the second readout probing pads respectively (Fig. 4; conductors 502, 501). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Takasu into Kim since the substitution would produce predictable result of receiving the readout signals.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20070090851 in view of Kim, KR 20140128620 in view of Sawai et al., JP 2003142539
Regarding claim 8, Kim is silent in wherein the auxiliary traces comprise L-shaped auxiliary traces disposed around the target probing pad, and each of the L-shaped auxiliary traces is connected to one of the second readout probing pads respectively. Sawai teaches auxiliary traces comprise L-shaped auxiliary traces disposed around a target pad, and each of the L-shaped auxiliary traces is connected to a second readout probing pad (Fig. 5; inspection terminals 10a-d in the shape of an “L” and connected to a measurement circuit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to provide a desired shaped pattern as taught by Sawai into the invention Kim since it would provide the predictable result of detecting whether the needles are displaced from the desired location.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takasu, US 20070290709 in view of Kim, KR 20140128620
Regarding claim 18, Takasu teaches wherein the target probing pattern comprises a target probing trace, and the auxiliary pattern comprise comprises auxiliary traces disposed at opposite sides of the target probing trace (Fig. 4; conductor 501, conductors 502 at opposing sides of 501). Takasu is silent in the target probing pattern comprises a pair of traces. Kim teaches a target probing pattern comprising a pair of traces (Fig. 3; stripe pattern 1510). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into Takasu for the benefit of providing are more precise location or alignment of the probe needle and probe card.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858