DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN112907884A to Luo (Luo) in view of JP11064067A to Fueki et al. (Fueki) and US 2016/0038055 to Wheeler et al. (Wheeler).
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a housing (Luo, e.g., Fig. 5 and paragraphs 63-66, labyrinth structure of Fig. 5 implicitly defines a housing; see, e.g., paragraph 64 which references the upper cover and side wall of the labyrinth; the structures, together with the circuit board 4 define a housing);
a capacitance detection circuit comprising a capacitor within the housing (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62, humidity sensor detects the capacitance change between two wires; electrodes 1, 2 can be interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape; the overall appearance can be rectangular, circular or ring-shaped; electrodes 1, 2 can be embedded in the maze, surround the sensor, surround the maze, or be arranged on the smoke path to sense changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment; note that capacitive sensor can be placed above the labyrinth or in the air intake path);
a chamber within the housing (Luo, e.g., Fig. 5 and paragraphs 63-66, labyrinth structure of Fig. 5 implicitly defines a chamber within the housing, e.g., the chamber containing smoke collection space 5), the chamber comprising:
an air inlet to allow air to pass through the housing into the chamber (Luo, e.g., Fig. 5 and paragraphs 63-66, labyrinth structure of Fig. 5 implicitly defines a chamber within the housing, e.g., the chamber containing smoke collection space 5; it is implicit that Luo’s housing of Fig. 5 includes an air inlet to allow air/smoke to enter the housing; also see, e.g., paragraph 59, capacitive sensor can be placed in the air intake path);
an environmental sensor to detect an environmental characteristic (Luo, e.g., Fig. 5 and paragraphs 63-66, labyrinth structure of Fig. 5 includes environmental sensor in the form of transmitting tube 1 and one receiving tube 2 for detecting smoke in an environment);
a first structure at least partially covering the air inlet of the chamber (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62, humidity sensor detects the capacitance change between two wires; first structing comprising electrodes 1, 2 can be interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape; the overall appearance can be rectangular, circular or ring-shaped; electrodes 1, 2 can be embedded in the maze, surround the sensor, surround the maze, or be arranged on the smoke path to sense changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment; note that capacitive sensor can be placed above the labyrinth or in the air intake path);
a first metallic conductor comprising at least a first portion of the first structure (see Luo as applied above, Fig. 4, first metallic conductor in the form of any one of the interlaced conductor portions of electrode 1);
a second metallic conductor separated from the first metallic conductor by at least one dielectric material (see Luo as applied above, Fig. 4, second metallic conductor in the form of any one of the interlaced conductor portions of electrode 2);
a first electrical connection from the first metallic conductor to the capacitance detection circuit (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62, humidity sensor detects the capacitance change between two wires; electrodes 1, 2 can be interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape; the overall appearance can be rectangular, circular or ring-shaped; electrodes 1, 2 can be embedded in the maze, surround the sensor, surround the maze, or be arranged on the smoke path to sense changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment; note that capacitive sensor can be placed above the labyrinth or in the air intake path; first electrical conductor in the form of lead connection of electrode 1, which is necessarily coupled to a capacitance detection circuit in order to determine capacitance of humidity sensor); and
a second electrical connection from the second metallic conductor wherein the first metallic conductor and the second metallic conductor form the capacitor of the capacitance detection circuit (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62, humidity sensor detects the capacitance change between two wires; electrodes 1, 2 can be interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape; the overall appearance can be rectangular, circular or ring-shaped; electrodes 1, 2 can be embedded in the maze, surround the sensor, surround the maze, or be arranged on the smoke path to sense changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment; note that capacitive sensor can be placed above the labyrinth or in the air intake path; second electrical conductor in the form of lead connection of electrode 2, which is necessarily coupled to a capacitance detection circuit in order to determine capacitance of humidity sensor).
With reference to Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62 of Luo (particularly paragraphs 59 and 62), Luo’s capacitive humidity sensor is for sensing changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment, and it is clear from paragraph 59 that ε is the dielectric permittivity of the substance (water vapor/condensation) on which the sensed capacitance is dependent. The dielectric material of the capacitive humidity sensor therefore includes air containing water vapor. Although Luo discloses in Fig. 4 that the electrodes 1, 2 are in an interlaced, or meshed, relationship, Luo is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that either of the electrodes 1, 2 are in the form of a mesh (e.g., a grid, screen or lattice pattern). The use of mesh electrodes for capacitive sensors for detecting capacitive changes caused by the flow of air and other materials is known. For example, Fueki discloses a flow-through capacitive sensing arrangement that includes a first mesh structure at least partially covering an inlet and comprising a first metallic conductor (Fueki, e.g., Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 7, mesh-shaped first capacitance electrode 23) and a second metallic conductor separated from the first metallic conductor by at least one dielectric material (Fueki, e.g., Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 7, mesh-shaped second capacitance electrode 24). In Fueki’s sensing arrangement, the measured capacitance between the first and second capacitive electrodes 23, 24 is dependent on dielectric properties of the mixture between the first and second capacitive electrodes 23, 24, with the mixture including air and water.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Luo such that Luo’s humidity sensor for detecting capacitance change is implemented using mesh-shaped capacitive electrodes at least in view of Luo’s teaching that the capacitive humidity sensor can be placed in the air intake path (Luo, e.g., paragraph 59) and in view of Fueki’s teaching that mesh-shaped capacitive sensing electrodes are suitable for sensing capacitive variations in flow paths that include air and water.
Although Luo’s arrangement necessarily includes a capacitive detection circuit associated with the capacitive humidity sensor for measuring it capacitance, Luo is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the second electrical connection from the second metallic conductor is to a ground. The use of relaxation circuits for performing capacitance measurements is known (Wheeler, e.g., paragraphs 24, 64, 92). Wheeler discloses that such arrangements utilize repeated charging/discharging of the capacitance using a voltage source, which implicitly requires connection of a terminal of the capacitive sensor to a ground reference. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Luo such that the second electrical connection from the second metallic conductor is to a ground. In this way, in the manner disclosed by Wheeler, a relaxation circuit may be used to measure the capacitance of modified Luo’s humidity sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein the capacitance detection circuit comprises a relaxation oscillator circuit to provide a frequency output that corresponds to a cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitor (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1, e.g., Wheeler, paragraphs 64, 92, repeated charging/discharging of the capacitance using a voltage source, which may generate a signal output having a frequency corresponding to cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitance).
Regarding claim 3, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 2 discloses wherein the relaxation oscillator circuit comprises a Schmitt trigger and an analog-to-digital converter (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 2, e.g., Wheeler, paragraphs 64, 92).
Regarding claim 4, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein:
the capacitance detection circuit comprises a relaxation oscillator circuit (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1, Wheeler, e.g., paragraphs 24, 64, 92); and
the at least one dielectric material comprises air from the air inlet (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1, with reference to Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62 of Luo (particularly paragraphs 59 and 62), Luo’s capacitive humidity sensor is for sensing changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment, and it is clear from paragraph 59 that ε is the dielectric permittivity of the substance (water vapor/condensation) on which the sensed capacitance is dependent; the dielectric material of the capacitive humidity sensor therefore includes air containing water vapor).
Regarding claim 5, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 4 discloses wherein a frequency output of the relaxation oscillator circuit corresponds to a humidity level of the air from the air inlet (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 4, noting that the frequency output of Wheeler’s relaxation oscillator used in combination with the capacitive humidity sensor of modified Luo will generate a frequency output that corresponds to a humidity level of the air from the air inlet; see, e.g., Wheeler, paragraphs 64, 92, repeated charging/discharging of the capacitance using a voltage source, which may generate a signal output having a frequency corresponding to cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitance).
Regarding claim 6, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 5 discloses a logic circuit for a life safety device, the logic circuit to adjust an alarm limit for the life safety device based on the frequency output of the relaxation oscillator circuit to account for a change in the humidity level of the air from the air inlet (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 5, Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62; also see paragraph 66; also see paragraphs 67, 74; it is at least implicit that Luo includes a logic circuit (e.g., processing resources) for correlating the signal received from the capacitive humidity sensor to an amount of water vapor in air received by the smoke detection device and for performing subsequent analysis/processing based on this amount; also see Luo, e.g., paragraph 41, if smoke enters the detector maze, the detector enters the smoke type detection and false alarm suppression process; different from the traditional method, this method first considers the possibility of the combination of water vapor and condensation in the actual scene in the logic process, and then uses different algorithms for different situations to ensure the judgment of the type of smoke, so as to achieve the goal of water vapor; condense the requirement of low false positives or even no false positives; condensation may be generated before water vapor, or it may be generated by water vapor or a combination of them; these will affect the judgment of smoke; therefore, first remove or reduce the impact of condensation, water vapor or their combination to achieve low false alarms; also see paragraph 52, only after completing the above-mentioned background tracking and accurately judging whether there is condensation, can we judge the real smoke; the smoke here essentially includes water vapor, so one of the objectives of the invention is also to avoid water vapor alarms; also see paragraphs 54-55, 66; also see Fig. 2 and paragraph 74, if there is no condensation, enter instruction 13 and use the conventional ratio method and threshold method to determine fire smoke and water vapor; otherwise, use instruction 17 to determine the smoke using sliding window derivation method, and then give instruction 14 for processing).
Regarding claim 7, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein the second metallic conductor is formed from a second portion of the first mesh structure electrically insulated from the first portion of the first mesh structure (see Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1, noting that as modified Luo’s capacitive humidity sensor is implemented using mesh-shaped electrodes such as the mesh-shaped first and second capacitance electrodes 23, 24 disclosed by Fueki, in which case modified Luo’s second metallic conductor will be formed from a second portion of the first mesh structure (e.g., Fueki’s second capacitance electrode 24) which is electrically insulated from the first portion of the first mesh structure (e.g., Fueki’s first capacitance electrode 23)).
Regarding claim 11, Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler as applied to claim 1 discloses that the capacitive humidity sensor (and therefore the second metallic conductor) is within the housing, but is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the second metallic conductor comprises a metallic plate or a metallic foil. The examiner takes Official notice of the fact that use of thin metal layers (e.g., metallic foil) disposed on a supportive substrate (e.g., a PCB substrate) for implementing capacitive electrodes was well-known and conventional in the field of capacitive sensors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. The prior art therefore included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. For these reasons, the recitation that the second metallic conductor comprises a metallic plate or a metallic foil does not patentably define over Luo in view of Fueki and Wheeler when considered in light of the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 13-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Wheeler.
Regarding claim 13, Luo discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a power circuit to receive power from a power supply for a life safety device (Luo, e.g., Figs. 3-5 and paragraphs 57-66, it is implicit that Luo’s smoke detection device, including temperature sensing circuitry (Fig. 3), capacitor sensor (Fig. 4) and associated circuitry, transmitting/receiving tubes 1, 2 (Fig. 5) and associated circuitry and logic circuit (e.g., processing resources) for implementing the algorithms of Figs. 1-2 are powered by power circuitry that receives power from a power supply of the smoke detection device, which the examiner notes constitutes a life safety device; see, e.g., Fig. 3, VCC);
a capacitance detection circuit powered by the power circuit, the capacitance detection circuit comprising a capacitor formed from at least a portion of a structural element of the life safety device (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62, humidity sensor detects the capacitance change between two wires; electrodes 1, 2 can be interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape; the overall appearance can be rectangular, circular or ring-shaped; electrodes 1, 2 can be embedded in the maze, surround the sensor, surround the maze, or be arranged on the smoke path to sense changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment; note that capacitive sensor can be placed above the labyrinth or in the air intake path);
a logic circuit powered by the power circuit to:
receive a signal from the capacitance detection circuit and correlate the received signal to a characteristic of air in proximity to the life safety device (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62; also see paragraph 66; also see paragraphs 67, 74; it is at least implicit that Luo includes a logic circuit (e.g., processing resources) powered by the power circuit for correlating the signal received from the capacitive humidity sensor to an amount of water vapor in air received by the smoke detection device).
Luo is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the received signal from the capacitance detection circuit indicates a frequency corresponding to cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitor. The use of relaxation circuits for performing capacitance measurements is known (Wheeler, e.g., paragraphs 24, 64, 92). Wheeler discloses that such arrangements utilize repeated charging/discharging of the capacitance using a voltage source, which may generate a signal output having a frequency corresponding to cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitance (Wheeler, e.g., paragraphs 24, 64, 92). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Luo such that the received signal from the capacitance detection circuit indicates a frequency corresponding to cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitor. In this way, in the manner disclosed by Wheeler, a relaxation circuit may be used to measure the capacitance of Luo’s humidity sensor.
Regarding claim 14, Luo in view of Wheeler discloses wherein:
the characteristic of air is a humidity level (see Luo in view of Wheeler as applied to claim 13); and
the logic circuit to adjust an alarm limit of the life safety device based on the humidity level to reduce an occurrence of false alarms due to humidity (Luo, e.g., paragraph 41, if smoke enters the detector maze, the detector enters the smoke type detection and false alarm suppression process; different from the traditional method, this method first considers the possibility of the combination of water vapor and condensation in the actual scene in the logic process, and then uses different algorithms for different situations to ensure the judgment of the type of smoke, so as to achieve the goal of water vapor; condense the requirement of low false positives or even no false positives; condensation may be generated before water vapor, or it may be generated by water vapor or a combination of them; these will affect the judgment of smoke; therefore, first remove or reduce the impact of condensation, water vapor or their combination to achieve low false alarms; also see paragraph 52, only after completing the above-mentioned background tracking and accurately judging whether there is condensation, can we judge the real smoke; the smoke here essentially includes water vapor, so one of the objectives of the invention is also to avoid water vapor alarms; also see paragraphs 54-55, 66; also see Fig. 2 and paragraph 74, if there is no condensation, enter instruction 13 and use the conventional ratio method and threshold method to determine fire smoke and water vapor; otherwise, use instruction 17 to determine the smoke using sliding window derivation method, and then give instruction 14 for processing).
Regarding claim 16, Luo in view of Wheeler discloses wherein the capacitance detection circuit comprises relaxation oscillator circuit comprising a Schmitt trigger and an analog-to-digital converter (see Luo in view of Wheeler as applied to claim 13, e.g., Wheeler, paragraphs 64, 92).
Claim 17 recites a method comprising:
cyclically charging and discharging a capacitor, wherein:
the capacitor comprises a first metallic conductor and a second metallic conductor separated by at least one dielectric material;
the capacitor forms part of a capacitance detection circuit;
the first metallic conductor forms at least part of a first structural element of a life safety device;
receiving a signal by a logic circuit of the life safety device from the capacitance detection circuit;
determining a characteristic of the capacitor based on the received signal; and
correlating the characteristic of the capacitor to a characteristic of air in proximity to the life safety device,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Luo in view of Wheeler for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 13, recognizing that Luo’s capacitive humidity sensor includes a first metallic conductor and a second metallic conductor (e.g., electrodes 1, 2 interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape) separated by at least one dielectric material (dielectric material of Luo’s capacitive humidity sensor includes air containing water vapor) and that Luo’s processing resources determine a characteristic of the capacitive humidity sensor based on a signal received therefore that is correlated to humidity.
Claim 18 recites adjusting an alarm limit of the life safety device, wherein:
the capacitance detection circuit comprises a relaxation oscillator circuit;
the characteristic of the capacitor is a frequency indicated by the received signal;
the characteristic of air is a humidity level; and
the alarm limit is adjusted based on the humidity level to reduce an occurrence of false alarms due to humidity,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Luo in view of Wheeler for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claims 13-14.
Regarding claim 19 Luo in view of Wheeler discloses establishing a baseline frequency for an ambient humidity level of air in proximity to the life safety device (see Luo in view of Wheeler as applied to claim 18, e.g., Luo, paragraph 26, calibration of condensation characteristics, which includes determining a background value; note in the combination of Luo in view of Wheeler that a reading of the capacitive humidity sensor is determined as frequency corresponding to cyclic charging and discharging of the capacitor (relaxation oscillator), with the background signal of modified Luo therefore constituting a baseline frequency).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Wheeler, and further in view of Fueki.
Regarding claim 15, Luo in view of Wheeler as applied to claim 13 discloses wherein the structural element positioned around an air inlet to an environmental sensing chamber of the life safety device (Luo, e.g., Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62, humidity sensor detects the capacitance change between two wires; electrodes 1, 2 can be interlaced to form an F-shaped or comb-shaped shape; the overall appearance can be rectangular, circular or ring-shaped; electrodes 1, 2 can be embedded in the maze, surround the sensor, surround the maze, or be arranged on the smoke path to sense changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment; note that capacitive sensor can be placed above the labyrinth or in the air intake path).
With reference to Fig. 4 and paragraphs 59-62 of Luo (particularly paragraphs 59 and 62), Luo’s capacitive humidity sensor is for sensing changes in water vapor or condensation in the environment, and it is clear from paragraph 59 that ε is the dielectric permittivity of the substance (water vapor/condensation) on which the sensed capacitance is dependent. The dielectric material of the capacitive humidity sensor therefore includes air containing water vapor. Although Luo discloses in Fig. 4 that the electrodes 1, 2 are in an interlaced, or meshed, relationship, Luo is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that either of the electrodes 1, 2 are a structural element that comprises a metallic mesh structure (e.g., a grid, screen or lattice pattern). The use of mesh electrodes for capacitive sensors for detecting capacitive changes caused by the flow of air and other materials is known. For example, Fueki discloses a flow-through capacitive sensing arrangement that includes a first mesh structure at least partially covering an inlet and comprising a first metallic conductor (Fueki, e.g., Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 7, mesh-shaped first capacitance electrode 23) and a second metallic conductor separated from the first metallic conductor by at least one dielectric material (Fueki, e.g., Figs. 2-4 and paragraph 7, mesh-shaped second capacitance electrode 24). In Fueki’s sensing arrangement, the measured capacitance between the first and second capacitive electrodes 23, 24 is dependent on dielectric properties of the mixture between the first and second capacitive electrodes 23, 24, with the mixture including air and water.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Luo in view of Wheeler such that Luo’s humidity sensor for detecting capacitance change is implemented using a metallic mesh structure at least in view of Luo’s teaching that the capacitive humidity sensor can be placed in the air intake path (Luo, e.g., paragraph 59) and in view of Fueki’s teaching that mesh-shaped capacitive sensing electrodes are suitable for sensing capacitive variations in flow paths that include air and water.
Claim 20 recites wherein the first structural element comprises a metallic mesh structure positioned around an air inlet to an environmental sensing chamber of the life safety device and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Luo in view of Wheeler and Fueki for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 9-10 would be allowable by virtue of their dependence from claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7,307,485 to Snyder et al. relates to relaxation oscillators for use in a capacitive sensor.
US 2019/0086354 to Yoo et al. relates to a humidity sensor for detecting humidity with a change in capacitance according to humidity.
US 2023/0173217 to Seekup et al. relates to detecting moisture in a conduit; see, e.g., Fig. 25 and paragraph 276, an electrically conductive mesh can be used to determine a presence of condensation; condensate may be absorbed or diffused by the permeable dielectric material 2504, modifying the dielectric constant and thus the capacitance between the first and second meshes 2502, 2503.
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858