DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0272310 (hereinafter “Lazur”).Regarding claim 1 Lazur teaches an article (surface formed of ceramic matrix composites (CMC)) comprising a substrate (weaved CMC fibers) defining an outer surface, a plurality of joint conduits formed in the outer surface of the substrate (weaved CMC fibers), wherein each conduit of the plurality of joint conduits exhibits an undercut configuration, and a coating (bond coat) formed on the outer surface (applied to the upper surfaces) of the substrate (weaved CMC fibers), wherein the coating substantially fills the plurality of joint conduits formed in the surface of the substrate (abstract). Lazur teaches the substrate (weaved CMC fibers) 110 comprises a ceramic matrix composite (CMC) material (paragraphs [0005] and [0020]) including a reinforcement material of multifilament weave comprising carbon, silicon carbide, aluminum, boron silicide, and the like (paragraphs [0020] and [0022]), which corresponds to weaved CMC fibers. Lazur teaches the coating (bond coat) 120 is applied to the upper surfaces of the substrate (weaved CMC fibers) 110 to form the article/component 100, 210, 220, 300, 600 (Figures 1-3; abstract; and paragraphs [0018] and [0030] – [0032]). Lazur teaches the article/component 100, 210, 220, 300, 600, including the substrate (weaved CMC fibers) 110 and the coating (bond coat) 120, has a macroscopic contour (Figure 6 and paragraph [0039]) and a microscopic undulating contour (Figure 5D; and paragraphs [0033] and [0037]) comprising locally smoothed sections (paragraph [0026]).Regarding claims 2 and 3 In addition, Lazur teaches the article/component 100 includes an air flow component of a gas engine turbine (surface of an aerodynamic component), such as a blade, vane, blade track, combustion liner or airfoil (paragraph [0018]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2014/0271161 teaches a CMC comprising a preform of woven ceramic fibers and a coating for an aerodynamic component (abstract and paragraphs [0016] – [0017] and [0039] – [0043]).
US 2016/0102022 teaches a CMC comprising a preform of woven ceramic fibers and a coating for an aerodynamic component (abstract and paragraphs [0030] – [0033]
US 2016/0136925 teaches a fiber architecture for a CMC comprising a preform of woven ceramic fibers and a coating for an aerodynamic component (abstract and paragraphs [0007], [0019] – [0025] and [0038]).
US 2021/0001511 teaches a CMC comprising a preform of woven ceramic fibers and a bond coat for an aerodynamic component (paragraphs [0011], [0013] and [0017]).
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783