Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed October 1, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s reply filed 10/01/2026 to the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 08/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant elected without traverse a vector encoding gasdermin D.
Claim Listing
The instant claim listing was filed 10/01/2026. No amendment has been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims.
Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Priority
The instant application 18/953,275 was filed on 11/20/2024. This application is a divisional (DIV) of U.S. Application No. 16/466,336 filed 06/04/2019 (now, U.S. Patent No. 12,178,845), which is a national stage of international application PCT/US2017/064809 filed 12/06/2017, claiming priority based on U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/431,037 filed 12/07/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 have been considered. Applicant states that paper copies may be found in the file wrapper of the parent application, U.S. Application No. 16/466,336.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the phrase “Apoptosis-associated Speck-like protein comprising a CARD” should be “Apoptosis-associated Speck-like protein containing a CARD” instead. See, e.g., paragraph 9 of the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a nucleic acid encoding “a cell-type specific promoter, neoplasm cell-specific promoter, and/or tumor cell-specific promoter Schwann cell-specific promoter.” The recitation is found to be indefinite. In this case, the meaning of the phrase “tumor cell-specific promoter Schwann cell-specific promoter” is unclear. It appears there should be a conjunction between the phrase “tumor cell-specific promoter” and the phrase “Schwann cell-specific promote.”
For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Dependent claims are included in the basis of the rejection because they do not correct the deficiencies of the claim upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/131981 A1 to Petit et al.; in view of Saukkonen et al. (2004) “Tissue-specific promoters for cancer gene therapy” Expert opinion on biological therapy, 4(5), 683-696.
Petit is relevant prior art for disclosing the use of gasdermin, wherein the gasdermin is gasdermin D (GSDMD). See, Abstract.
Petit further discloses vectors encoding gasdermin D for in vivo administration, wherein the vector is a viral vector, wherein the viral vector is an adeno-associated viral (AAV) vector, wherein the AAV vector is an AAV1 or AAV9 vector. See, pages 22-24.
The gasdermin D is human gasdermin D or mouse gasdermin D. See, page 12.
In a working example, an AAV vector was constructed, comprising a CAG promoter operably linked to a gasdermin coding sequence (Dfnb59), wherein the promoter is located upstream of the coding sequence, wherein a PolyA sequence is located downstream of the coding sequence, wherein the vector is flanked by ITR sequences. See, page 55.
Petit also discloses pharmaceutical compositions containing the vector encoding gasdermin D and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See, pages 29-30.
Petit also discloses kits comprising, in one or more containers in a single package, the vector and/or viral particle and/or pharmaceutical composition. See, page 81.
The vector encoding gasdermin D is used to treat cancer, including brain tumors. See, pages 20-21, 23 and 30.
Petit does not teach that the promoter is a cell-type specific promoter, neoplasm cell-specific promoter, and/or tumor cell-specific promoter, as claimed in claim 1.
Saukkonen is relevant prior art for teaching tissue-specific promoters for cancer gene therapy. Tissue-specific promoters represent a powerful tool for decreasing the toxicity of cancer gene therapy to normal tissues and have previously been utilized for specific mutation compensation or delivery of prodrug-converting enzymes. See, Abstract.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vector of Petit to contain a tissue-specific promoter for cancer gene therapy, as taught by Saukkonen, with a reasonable expectation of success because Petit’s vector is used for treating cancer, and tissue-specific promoters decrease the toxicity of cancer gene therapy to normal tissues.
For these reasons, claims 1-4, 9-10, 14 and 17-20 would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Saukkonen discloses human tissue-specific promoters. See, pages 686-688.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Petit does not teach the polyadenylation signal is a bovine growth hormone polyadenylation signal, as claimed.
However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, bovine growth hormone polyadenylation signal was a known in the art and routinely used in recombinant protein expression. Official Notice taken, if necessary.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a polyadenylation signal, as found in Petit, with a bovine growth hormone polyadenylation signal, as previously known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding dependent claim 15, AAV vectors, as found in Petit, are single-stranded vectors.
For these reasons, dependent claims 8, 11 and 15 also would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petit and Saukkonen, as applied to the claims above; in further view of McCarty, D. M. (2008) “Self-complementary AAV vectors; advances and applications” Molecular therapy, 16(10), 1648-1656.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Petit does not teach the AAV vector is a self-complementary AAV vector, as claimed.
McCarty is relevant prior art for teaching that the efficiency of recombinant AAV vectors, in terms of the number of genome-containing particles required for transduction, is hindered by the need to convert the single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) genome into double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) prior to expression. This step can be entirely circumvented through the use of self-complementary vectors, which package an inverted repeat genome that can fold into dsDNA without the requirement for DNA synthesis or base-pairing between multiple vector genomes. The increases in efficiency gained with self-complementary AAV (scAAV) vectors have ranged from modest to stunning, depending on the tissue, cell type, and route of administration. See, Abstract.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vector of Petit by using a self-complementary AAV vector, as taught by McCarty, with a reasonable expectation of success because self-complementary AAV vectors circumvent the step of convert the single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) genome into double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) prior to expression, thereby significantly increasing transduction efficiency.
McCarty further teaches that the scAAV vector comprises a deletion of a terminal resolution site in the first or second AAV inverted terminal repeat. See, pages 1649-1650 and Figure 1.
Claims 5-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petit Saukkonen, as applied to the claims above; in further view of Prabhakar et al. (2013) “Regression of schwannomas induced by adeno-associated virus-mediated delivery of caspase-1” Human gene therapy, 24(2), 152-162.
Regarding dependent claims 5, 7 and 12, Petit and Saukkonen do not teach the promoter is a Schwann cell-specific promoter.
Prabhakar is relevant prior art for teaching gene therapy for schwannomas using an AAV1 vector encoding caspase-1 (ICE) under the Schwann-cell specific promoter P0. See, e.g., Abstract and Figure 1.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vector of Petit to contain a Schwann-cell specific promoter, in view of Prabhakar, with a reasonable expectation of success because tissue-specific promoters decrease the toxicity of cancer gene therapy to normal tissues, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to alleviate the suffering of subjects having a cancer or tumor of Schwann-cells using gene therapy vectors, as found in Petit.
For these reasons, dependent claims 5, 7 and 12 also would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art
Regarding dependent claim 6, Prabhakar teaches the Schwann cell-specific promoter is the myelin basic protein (P0) promoter. See, Abstract and Figure 1.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petit, Saukkonen and Prabhakar, as applied to the claims above; in further view of McCarty, D. M. (2008) “Self-complementary AAV vectors; advances and applications” Molecular therapy, 16(10), 1648-1656.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Petit does not teach the AAV vector comprises a deletion of a terminal resolution site in the first or second inverted terminal repeat, as claimed.
McCarty is relevant prior art for teaching that the efficiency of recombinant AAV vectors, in terms of the number of genome-containing particles required for transduction, is hindered by the need to convert the single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) genome into double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) prior to expression. This step can be entirely circumvented through the use of self-complementary vectors, which package an inverted repeat genome that can fold into dsDNA without the requirement for DNA synthesis or base-pairing between multiple vector genomes. The increases in efficiency gained with self-complementary AAV (scAAV) vectors have ranged from modest to stunning, depending on the tissue, cell type, and route of administration. See, Abstract.
McCarty further teaches that the scAAV vector comprises a deletion of a terminal resolution site in the first or second AAV inverted terminal repeat. See, pages 1649-1650 and Figure 1.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vector of Petit by introducing a deletion of a terminal resolution site in the first or second AAV inverted terminal repeat, as taught by McCarty, with a reasonable expectation of success because such a modification is made to generate a self-complementary AAV vector, and self-complementary AAV vectors circumvent the step of convert the single-stranded DNA (ssDNA) genome into double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) prior to expression, thereby significantly increasing transduction efficiency.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2018/0311343 A1 to Huang et al., which claims priority based on U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/412,933 filed 10/26/2016, discloses therapeutic mRNAs encoding gasdermin D (GSDMD) to include pyroptosis and treat cancer. See, e.g., Abstract and paragraph 512 of the publication. See also, pages 1-2 of the provisional application.
/JAMES JOSEPH GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631