DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 1
“map generator” element 211 of image processing apparatus 200 of Fig 4 and described in at least ¶ [0074]-[0083] and evaluation of the image data to generate the map described in Fig 6A, 6B and ¶ [0084]-[0086], Fig 12, 13 and ¶ [0109]-[0116] and further described in with flow chart of Fig 15, 16 and ¶ [0123]-[0130].
Claim 11
“temperature controller” is identified as element 85 of Fig 4, 10 and described to heat and cool the fluid upstream of the fluid flow occurring in the storage space, described in at least ¶ [0087]-[0091], [0105]-[0106].
Claim 13
“additive supply” is identified as the additive unit 86 of Fig 4, 10 and described as an additive that changes the refractive index made of organic solvent (acetone vaporized) and can also be considered the gas supply 78, described in at least ¶ [0091]-[0092], [0110].
Claim 16
“coefficient modifier” is identified as the coefficient modification unit 222 of Fig 12 and described to reduce the coefficient of the map data, such as reducing image data components through filtering to better identify a patter, such as the vertical and horizontal stripe pattern identified in the image data by means of a two-dimensional polynomial, described in at least ¶ [0111]-[0116].
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, each are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amano et al (US 2017/0287703).
Regarding Claim 22, Amano et al teach a substrate processing apparatus (substrate processing system 1; Fig 1 and ¶ [0045]); comprising:
a storage space where a substrate is accommodated (the wafer holding unit 210 contains a storage to accommodate a plurality of substrates; Fig 2, 4 and ¶ [0046], [0057], [0068]);
a camera directed toward the storage space (an imaging device 270 (camera imaging functional unit 501) is used to image the wafers directed toward the storage unit 604; Fig 6 and ¶ [0070]); and
a pattern provided to extend within a field of view of the camera, captured by the camera via the storage space, and configured to change the image to be captured by the camera, according to a change in refractive index of the fluid in the storage space (the measurement processing device 601 measures a cut width (pattern) of the wafer from the image using operation process and wafer pattern measurements can be based on refractive indexes and measured by luminance (¶ [0187]); Fig 6, 10, 11 and ¶ [0080]-[0084], [0105]-[0109], [0122]-[0126]).
Regarding Claim 23, Amano et al teach a method of visualizing a fluid flow distribution in a storage space of a substrate processing apparatus where a substrate is accommodated (method of visualizing and measuring a processing fluid on a wafer in a substrate processing system 1; Fig 1-6 and ¶ [0045], [0056], [0083]-[0085]), the method comprising:
acquiring an image of a pattern provided to extend within a field of view of the camera and configure to be captured by a camera through the storage space, the camera being directed toward the storage space (the measurement processing device 601 measures a cut width (pattern) of the wafer from the image using operation process (¶ [0105]-[0109], [0122]-[0126]) and wafer pattern measurements can be based on refractive indexes and measured by luminance (¶ [0187]); Fig 6, 11 and ¶ [0080]-[0084]); and
generating map data indicating the fluid flow distribution in the storage space based on a change of the image acquired in the acquiring (the wafer is chemically and thermally processed to create the substrate pattern (¶ [0087]-[0095]) and image data is then taken and analyzed to quantify the wafer film pattern processing, including the chemical fluid flow during manufacturing; Fig 10, 11 and ¶ [0105]-[0109]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-21 allowed.
Regarding Claim 1, prior art was not found to teach all of the limitations as claimed by the applicant when interpreting the claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) including the map generation unit 211 that analyzes the fluid flow distribution which is based on flow velocity, flow rate and flow direction with image fluctuations analyzed using a Schlieren effect analysis and determining differences in the pixel values between a reference and evaluation image based on evaluation of functional blocks of data and identification of partial fluctuations in pattern data determined based on the refractive index of the fluid based on an optical angle axis of the light emitted from the projection device and associated camera vibration which image data may then be used to generate matrix data while accounting for the Schlieren effect, as claimed by the applicant as described in prose in the specification and shown with at least flow charts 15, 16, as cited above under the 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) interpretation. Claims 2-21 are dependent on claim 1 and therefore allowable for similar reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ye et al (A flow feature detection method for modeling pressure distribution around a cylinder in nonuniform flows by using a convolutional neural network) teach a method and system for analyzing fluid flow based on computational fluid dynamics with consideration of inlet flow profiles to model the pressure distribution in a cylinder.
Low et al (Computational Fluid dynamics Modelling of Microfluidic Channel for Dielectrophoretic BioMEMS Application) teach a method and system for analyzing a microfluidic channel to determine flow distribution including analysis of the flow velocity over the multiple fluidic channels
Kitamura et al (US 2017/0116721) teach a substrate displacement system and method based on identification of wafer not correctly located in a predetermined reference position based on correlative data between a first image and a reference image to determine object positioning accuracy.
Amano et al (US 2026/0215211, application 19/181,762) is from the same applicant and teaches a measurement processing process to measure a width of a film based on imaging unit data to determine a substrate film width determined by a measurement system but does not teach the entirety of the applicant’s claimed invention as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) including determining the Schieren effect associated with the refractive index of the fluid and the optical angle of the light emitted to determine the image fluctuations as associated with the fluidic flow, velocity and rate.
/KATHLEEN M BROUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661