DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on November 20, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohori et al (US 10,102,944; hereinafter Kohori)
Regarding claim 1, Kohori discloses a multi-core cable (1) comprising: a core (see figure 1) including a plurality of sheathed electrical wires twisted together (see figure 1); a tape member (51) disposed outside the core and wound spirally around the core along a longitudinal direction of the core (see figure 1); and an outer sheath (40) disposed outside the tape member (51, see figure 1); wherein: the tape member (51) has a water absorption amount (column 7 lines 33-44; polyester, which has a very low water absorption; based on the specification “The smaller the water absorption amount of the tape, the more preferable”; paragraph 0049); but Kohori lacks the tape member having a water absorption amount of 4 mm/10 minutes or less, and the water absorption amount is a length of a region in which absorbed water is distributed in a state where one end of the multi-core cable along a longitudinal direction of the tape member is immersed in water. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was make the tape member having a water absorption amount of 4 mm/10 minutes or less to provide a means from preventing water from entering and damaging the cable. Furthermore, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Regarding claim 2, Kohori discloses the multi-core cable (1), wherein: the core (see figure 1) includes two first electrical wires (10), and a twisted pair wire (30 or 20) that are twisted together, the twisted pair wire (30 or 20) includes two second electrical wires (31 or 21) that are twisted together (see figure 1), and an outer diameter of each of the two second electrical wires (31 or 21), is smaller than an outer diameter of the each of the two first electrical wires (10).
Regarding claim 3, Kohori discloses the multi-core cable (1), wherein: each of the two first electrical wires (10) includes a first conductor (12) and a first insulator (13) covering an outer surface of the first conductor (see figure 1), and each of the two second electrical wires (30 or 20) includes a second conductor (22, 32) and a second insulator (see figure 1) covering an outer surface of the second conductor (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kohori discloses the multi-core cable (1), wherein an outer diameter of the twisted pair wire (30 or 20) approximately coincides with the outer diameter of each of the two first electrical wires (10, see figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kohori discloses the multi-core cable (1), wherein a winding direction of the tape member (51) coincides with a twisting direction of the plurality of sheathed electrical wires included in the core (column 7 lines 33-55) .
Regarding claim 6, Kohori discloses the multi-core cable (1), wherein a winding direction of the tape member (51) is opposite to a twisting direction of the plurality of sheathed electrical wires included in the core (column 7 lines 33-55).
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hashimoto et al (US 9,905,338), Medling (US 7,411,132), Ooshima et al (US 11,410,792), Kobayashi et al (US 11,133,121 and US 11, 338,746) disclose a shield cable.
July 23, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841