DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 13 recite limitations that been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it they use a generic placeholders “app” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, the claim have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D11 in view of D22 and further in view of D33 or in view of D4.4
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach method of gathering and classifying wound images (see abstract, fig. 4), comprising: receiving a patient image from a personal device, the patient image containing an image of a wound under care, the image of the wound under care gathered with an ambient lighting, angle and distance of the personal device relative to the wound under care (see abstract, fig. 4, § 3.1 ¶ 1, § 3.5 ¶ 1: wound image taken under different lighting conditions, distances, and angles using a smartphone); normalizing, see § 5.2 ¶ 1: color calibration to ensure wound images have similar color shades; see § 3.6.3: wound images are evaluated using trained algorithms, which necessarily compare the wound image with other wound images used in training); analyzing the reconstructed image for rendering a recommendation including the wound score and the additional care (see abstract, § 1 ¶ 5, § 4.4 ¶ 1, fig. 10, § 5.3: analyzing the image to evaluate the wound and recommend care, wound score or size).
D1 fails to explicitly teach evaluating a sufficiency of a patient image for analysis, the patient image depicting a wound under care and normalizing, if the patient image is sufficient for analysis, a shading of the patient image for comparison with other wound images, the shading based on the ambient lighting, however D2 teach the missing features (see ¶¶ 50, 66: image is evaluated to determine if it is of sufficient quality, and if it is then color balancing is performed to compensate for different lighting conditions).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to incorporate known teachings of evaluating quality of image to check if it is sufficient prior to performing color correction as taught by D2 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results. The motivation would have been to first evaluate the quality of the image before performing time and resource consuming color correction and discard the image if it is not of sufficient quality.
D1 and D2 fail to explicitly teach reconstructing the patient image for accommodating variations in the angle and the distance, however D3 teach the missing features (see ¶¶ 60, 65: normalization of scaling, correction for pose or orientation). See also D4 ¶¶ 325, 345-356: adjust color, brightness, scale, orientation).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to incorporate known teachings of normalizing scale or orientation of images as taught by D3 and D4 into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results. The motivation for correcting the scale and orientation would have been to enhance recognition and analysis of wound by comparing with similar images captured at similar distance and angle.
With regard to claim 2, D2 teach if the patient image is insufficient for analysis, discarding the patient image; and rendering an indication, via the personal device, that the image is insufficient for analysis and indicating a need for a subsequent image gathering (see ¶ 44: if image quality is not sufficient, image is discarded and user alerted to capture another image). The motivation for combining the references is the same as stated above.
With regard to claim 8, D3 teach identifying a perspective distortion in the patient image;
identifying a scale distortion in the patient image; correcting the perspective distortion and the scale distortion for computing the reconstructed image configured for classification with a model of healing progress (see ¶¶ 60, 65: scale and orientation correction, implicit that the scale and perspective distortion is first calculated before performing the correction).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teach wherein the model of healing progress includes at least one of a wound healing model indicative of healing progress and a wound care model indicative of a need for subsequent care of the wound (see abstract, § 5.1 ¶ 1: AI model to track the progress of wound healing).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teach generating a wound score based on the reconstructed image, the score indicative of a healing progress of the wound under care (see abstract, § 1 ¶ 5, § 4.4 ¶ 1, fig. 10, § 5.3: analyzing the image to evaluate the wound and recommend care, wound score or size, see § 5.1 ¶ 1: AI assisted wound assessment tool to track the progress of wound healing); computing, based on a comparison of images of other wounds with the reconstructed image, whether additional care is needed for the wound under care (see § 3.6.3: wound images are evaluated using trained algorithms, which necessarily compare the wound image with other wound images used in training; see abstract, § 1 ¶¶ 3-5: wound care and plan treatment); and rendering a recommendation including the wound score and the additional care (see abstract, § 1 ¶¶ 3-5: wound care and plan treatment).
With regard to claim 13, see discussion of claim 1. D1 teach using a smartphone and smartphone application (see abstract, § 1 ¶ 8: mobile application). D1 teach a wireless link coupling the personal device to a server (see abstract, § 3.1 ¶ 1: smartphone implicitly has a wireless link). D1 fails to explicitly teach engaging the server to perform image analysis, however Examiner takes Official Notice to the fact that it is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date to perform computationally expensive processing on the server side and transmitting the results back to the mobile device and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhance results.
With regard to claim 14, see discussion of claim 1.
Claims 3-7, 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Art
Nguyen et al.5 is related to machine learning models for synthesizing actionable care
decisions on lower extremity wounds.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Chairat, Sawrawit, et al. "AI-assisted assessment of wound tissue with automatic color and measurement calibration on images taken with a smartphone." Healthcare. Vol. 11. No. 2. MDPI, 2023.
2 US Publication No. 2015/0359459.
3 US Publication No. 2008/0294017.
4 US Publication No. 2020/0160980.
5 Nguyen, Holly, et al. "Machine learning models for synthesizing actionable care decisions on lower extremity wounds." Smart Health 18 (2020): 100139.