DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant's communication filed on 11/20/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 filed on 11/20/2024 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure statement (IDS) form PTO-1449, filed on 11/20/2024 and 01/01/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 11/20/2024 have been reviewed by Examiner and they are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0147730), further in view of Yong Kim et al.( US 2021/0097255), hereinafter Yong.
As per claim 1, A display apparatus comprising: “a display panel including a plurality of display pixels in which light-emitting elements are arranged, and a plurality of sensor pixels in which light-receiving elements are arranged;”(Kim, ¶[0031] discloses display device having display panel and input or fingerprint sensing detector.¶[0032] discloses The display area AA includes a plurality of pixels PXL, Each of the pixels PXL may include at least one light emitting element. ¶[0038] discloses the display device includes a plurality of sensor pixels SPXL in the fingerprint sensing area. Each of the sensor pixels SPXL include a photo sensor PS for detecting light. the sensor pixels SPXL may detect the reflected light, ¶[0038] discloses the sensor pixels SPXL may overlap or be around the pixels PXL or lie between the pixels PXL. The relative size and/or arrangement between the sensor pixels SPXL and the pixels PXL may vary. ¶[0039] discloses the sensor pixels SPXL are adjacent to the pixels PXL or overlap at least some pixels PXL, the sensor pixels SPXL may use a light emitting element in the pixel PXL as a light source. The sensor pixel and light emitting elements may collectively form a photo-sensitive fingerprint sensor (that is, the photo sensor PS) integrated with the display. Further ¶[0040]. )
Although Kim discloses “a memory configured to store a correction value, for each of respective locations of the plurality of sensor pixels and a sensor controller configured to correct a plurality of fingerprint data obtained from the plurality of sensor pixels” (Kim, ¶[0100] disclose The memory 226 store calibration data and registered fingerprint data. The calibration data include data for calibrating (compensating) a deviation in the amount of light received according to the positions of one or more of the sensor pixels SPXL and may include calibration values corresponding to at least some individual sensor pixels. ¶[0102] discloses The fingerprint analyzer receives sensing data SD from the analog-to-digital converter and may receive the calibration data from the memory. It calibrates the sensing data SD using the calibration data to compensate for deviation caused by variation of received light amounts. the fingerprint analyzer may calibrate the sensing data SD by summing the calibration value corresponding to a sensor pixel SPXL. And further ¶[0142-0143].)
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Yong from similar filed of endeavor “a memory configured to store a compensation coefficient for each of respective locations of the plurality of sensor pixels;” (Yong, ¶[0007] discloses the display apparatus further includes a memory configured to store information including the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function of each pixel .¶[0103] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may generate the compensation characteristic function of each pixel of the fingerprint sensor, and extract the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function. ¶[0104] discloses The fingerprint sensor controller may subtract a coefficient of the initial characteristic function of the pixel from an average value of coefficients of the initial characteristic function of all pixels of the fingerprint sensor FS to determine a coefficient of a compensation characteristic function. ¶[0114] discloses the memory may store the first coefficient compensation values and the second coefficient compensation values of all of the pixels of the fingerprint sensor.)
“and a sensor controller configured to correct a plurality of fingerprint data obtained from the plurality of sensor pixels, by using the compensation coefficient stored for each of the respective locations, to calculate a plurality of correction data.” (Yong, ¶[0081] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may compensate the fingerprint sensing data using the compensation data stored in the memory. ¶[0103] discloses The fingerprint sensing data may be compensated using the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function. ¶[0115] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may generate a second characteristic function by adding the coefficient compensation values to the coefficients of the first characteristic function. The fingerprint sensor controller may obtain compensated fingerprint sensing data using the second characteristic function.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Yong technique of compensating fingerprint sensing data into Kim technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Yong technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Yong into Kim in order to enhance the reliability of the fingerprint recognition, and increase a capacity of a memory for storing the compensation data. (Refer to Yong paragraph [0005].)
As per claim 6, The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sensor controller comprises: “a data obtainer configured to generate the fingerprint data by using electrical signals input from the respective light-receiving elements of the plurality of sensor pixels;”(Kim,¶[0037] discloses each photo sensor pixel detecting finger-light reflected light and outputs a corresponding electrical signal to the fingerprint detector. ¶[0099] discloses the fingerprint detector 220 may include the controller 223, an analog-to-digital converter 224, a memory 226, and a fingerprint analyzer 228. The analog-to-digital converter 224 may convert an analog sensing signal SS to a digital sensing data SD. )
“and a data processor configured to correct the fingerprint data by using the compensation coefficient to calculate the correction data.” (Yong, ¶[0081] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may compensate the fingerprint sensing data using the compensation data stored in the memory. ¶[0103] discloses The fingerprint sensing data may be compensated using the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function. ¶[0115] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may generate a second characteristic function by adding the coefficient compensation values to the coefficients of the first characteristic function. The fingerprint sensor controller may obtain compensated fingerprint sensing data using the second characteristic function.)
As per claim 7, The display apparatus of claim 6, “wherein the sensor controller further comprises a fingerprint detector configured to detect a user's fingerprint based on the correction data.” (Yong ¶ [0085] discloses the fingerprint sensing data is normally compensated, a fingerprint image of a user may be accurately recognized.)
Claim 20 has been analyzed and is rejected for the reasons indicated in claim 7 above.
As per claim 11, “A fingerprint detecting method using a display apparatus including a plurality of display pixels in which light-emitting elements are arranged, and a plurality of sensor pixels in which light-receiving elements are arranged, the fingerprint detecting method comprising:” (Kim, ¶[0031] discloses display device having display panel and input or fingerprint sensing detector.¶[0032] discloses The display area AA includes a plurality of pixels PXL, Each of the pixels PXL may include at least one light emitting element. ¶[0038] discloses the display device includes a plurality of sensor pixels SPXL in the fingerprint sensing area. Each of the sensor pixels SPXL include a photo sensor PS for detecting light. the sensor pixels SPXL may detect the reflected light, ¶[0038] discloses the sensor pixels SPXL may overlap or be around the pixels PXL or lie between the pixels PXL. The relative size and/or arrangement between the sensor pixels SPXL and the pixels PXL may vary. ¶[0039] discloses the sensor pixels SPXL are adjacent to the pixels PXL or overlap at least some pixels PXL, the sensor pixels SPXL may use a light emitting element in the pixel PXL as a light source. The sensor pixel and light emitting elements may collectively form a photo-sensitive fingerprint sensor (that is, the photo sensor PS) integrated with the display. Further ¶[0040]. )
Although Kim discloses “storing, by the display apparatus, correction data, generating, by the display apparatus, fingerprint data”(Kim, ¶[0100] disclose The memory 226 store calibration data and registered fingerprint data. ¶[0102] and ¶[0142-0143].)
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Yong from similar filed of endeavor “calculating, by the display apparatus, a compensation coefficient for each of respective locations of the plurality of sensor pixels;”(Yong, ¶[0103] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may generate the compensation characteristic function of each pixel of the fingerprint sensor, and extract the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function. ¶[0104] discloses The fingerprint sensor controller may subtract a coefficient of the initial characteristic function of the pixel from an average value of coefficients of the initial characteristic function of all pixels of the fingerprint sensor FS to determine a coefficient of a compensation characteristic function.)
“storing, by the display apparatus, the compensation coefficient in a memory;” (Yong, ¶[0007] discloses the display apparatus further includes a memory configured to store information including the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function of each pixel.¶[0114] discloses the memory may store the first coefficient compensation values and the second coefficient compensation values of all of the pixels of the fingerprint sensor.) “generating, by the display apparatus, fingerprint data for each of the plurality of sensor pixels in a use mode;” (Yong, ¶[0058] discloses the fingerprint sensor FS may capture a fingerprint image of a user's fingerprint pressed on the display panel to generate fingerprint sensing data.¶[0075] discloses the fingerprint sensor FS may capture the fingerprint image of a user's fingerprinted provided on the display panel to generate the fingerprint sensing data. ¶[0115] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may generate a first characteristic function of measured fingerprint sensing data which are measured by the fingerprint sensor FS through the display panel and obtaining compensated fingerprint sensing data using coefficient compensation values.)
“and correcting, by the display apparatus, the fingerprint data by using the compensation coefficient to calculate correction data for each of the respective locations of the plurality of sensor pixels.” (Yong, ¶[0081] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may compensate the fingerprint sensing data using the compensation data stored in the memory. ¶[0103] discloses The fingerprint sensing data may be compensated using the coefficient of the compensation characteristic function. ¶[0115] discloses the fingerprint sensor controller may generate a second characteristic function by adding the coefficient compensation values to the coefficients of the first characteristic function. The fingerprint sensor controller may obtain compensated fingerprint sensing data using the second characteristic function.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Yong technique of compensating fingerprint sensing data into Kim technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Yong technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Yong into Kim in order to enhance the reliability of the fingerprint recognition, and increase a capacity of a memory for storing the compensation data. (Refer to Yong paragraph [0005].)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0147730), in view of Yong Kim et al.( US 2021/0097255), hereinafter Yong , further in view of Choi et al. (US 2021/0397814).
As per claim 2, The display apparatus of claim 1, however Kim as modified by Yong does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Choi form similar filed of endeavor “wherein the plurality of fingerprint data are current values measured by the light-receiving elements respectively arranged in the plurality of sensor pixels that have detected light reflected by a user's fingerprint.” (Choi, ¶[0040] discloses The optical sensor included in the display panel convert received light into an electrical signal. The received light vary depending on whether a user touches the display panel or according to the pattern of a fingerprint of the user. The electrical signal generated based on the received light may be transmitted to the processor. ¶[0041] discloses The processor 120 identify the fingerprint of the user on the basis of the signal received from the display panel and obtain information on a position touched on the display panel by the user on the basis of the signal received from the display panel. ¶[0043] discloses display panel include one or more pixels. The pixel include at least one subpixel and at least one optical sensor.¶[0044] discloses the subpixel emit light. optical sensor receive light and generate a second signal, For example, the optical sensor may receive light reflected from the fingerprint and generate the second signal. the processor obtain information on a position touched on the display panel by the user on the basis of the signal received from the optical sensor and identify the fingerprint of the user on the basis of the signal received from the optical sensor. ¶[0073] discloses the optical sensor operates within the touch region. A time period during which the optical sensor operates within the touch region may be multiple frame times. optical sensor generates a photocurrent, and the photocurrent subsequently produces an output voltage through the fingerprint detection circuit. ¶[0075] discloses The processors perform an analog-digital conversion of the second signal received from the optical sensor and then generate a digital signal. The processors identify a fingerprint on the basis of the digital signal and fingerprint data received from the memory. The fingerprint data received from the memory by the processors and a fingerprint data previously registered by a specific user.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Choi technique of using optical type sensor for fingerprint recognition into Kim as modified by Yong technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Choi technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim as modified by Yong . The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Choi into Kim as modified by Yong in order to enhancing security in order to protect confidential data. (Refer to Choi paragraph [0003].)
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0147730), in view of Yong Kim et al.( US 2021/0097255), hereinafter Yong , further in view of Deroo et al. (EP4068759A1).
As per claim 8, The display apparatus of claim 6, however Kim as modified by Yong does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Deroo from similar field of endeavor “wherein the compensation coefficient is a value calculated using high sensor data measured for each sensor pixel in a bright environment and low sensor data measured for each sensor pixel in a dark environment.”(Deroo,¶[0042] discloses providing the PRNU correction factor for each pixel of the image sensor comprises providing one or more light images by capturing one or more images of a uniform light source with the image sensor, providing one or more dark images by capturing one or more images in the dark with the image sensor, or by capturing one or more images of a uniform light source at a different light level than the light images, determining a difference image from the one or more light images and the one or more dark images or from the one or more light images and the one or more images at a different light level than the light images, and determining the PRNU correction factor for each pixel of the image sensor from the difference image. ¶[0045] discloses the average light image and the average dark image are used to determine the difference image by subtracting the average dark image from the average light image.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Deroo compensating dark signal technique of using optical type sensor for fingerprint recognition into Kim as modified by Yong technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Deroo technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Deroo into Kim as modified by Yong in order to reduce non-uniformity and dark signal in images. (Refer to Choi paragraph [0008].)
As per claim 9, The display apparatus of claim 8, wherein, “a value obtained by subtracting the low sensor data from the high sensor data is referred to as variation data, and the compensation coefficient of a specific sensor pixel among the plurality of sensor pixels is a value obtained by dividing an average value of respective variation data of the plurality of sensor pixels by the variation data of the specific sensor pixel.” (Deroo, ¶[0043] discloses the difference image is used to determine the PRNU correction factor for each pixel. Preferably, the PRNU correction factor αi,j for pixel at array position i,j is determined by:
with Δ being an average over all the pixels in the difference image and Δ i,j being the pixel at array position ij of the difference image. )
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0147730), in view of Yong Kim et al.( US 2021/0097255), hereinafter Yong , further in view of Deroo et al. (EP4068759A1), further in view of Zeng et al. (US 2018/0137337).
As per claim 10, The display apparatus of claim 8, however Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Deroo does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Zeng from similar field of endeavor “wherein the data processor is configured to calculate the correction data by using the compensation coefficient and a specific function,” (Zeng, ¶[0049] discloses the fingerprint recognition unit performs calibration according to a calibration formula (1) to raw fingerprint data to obtain a calibrated fingerprint recognition data image.¶[0052] discloses applying store bright screen and dark screen calibration data to raw fingerprint data.)
“and the specific function obtains the correction data by multiplying a value obtained by subtracting the low sensor data from the fingerprint data by the compensation coefficient.” (Zeng, ¶[0050] discloses acquiring dark screen calibration data used by the calibration formula, ¶[0051] discloses formula (1A):
. )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Zeng technique of using optical type sensor for fingerprint recognition into Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Deroo technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Zeng technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Deroo. The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Zeng into Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Deroo in order to improve the fingerprint recognition accuracy. (Refer to Zeng paragraph [0004].)
Claim(s) 12-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0147730), in view of Yong Kim et al.( US 2021/0097255), hereinafter Yong , further in view of Zeng et al. (US 2018/0137337).
As per claim 12, The fingerprint detecting method of claim 11, however Kim as modified by Yong does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Zeng from similar filed of endeavor “wherein calculating, by the display apparatus, the compensation coefficient and the storing of the compensation coefficient in the memory comprises obtaining high sensor data for a location of each of the plurality of sensor pixels in a first inspection mode and obtaining low sensor data for each of the respective locations of the plurality of sensor pixels in a second inspection mode”(Zeng, ¶[0040] discloses performing calibration method for each fingerprint recognition unit.¶[0041] discloses obtaining bright screen calibration data while displaying a first image, and dark screen calibration fingerprint data while displaying no image. ¶[0045] discloses the acquiring and storing the bright screen and dark screen calibration data prior to shipment.)
“and in the first inspection mode, an inspection is performed in a bright environment,” (Zeng, ¶[0043] discloses the display device is lightened, a touch body having a smooth surface touches the touch display device, and then the fingerprint recognition unit in the display device acquires the fingerprint recognition light signal reflected by the touch body.)
“and in the second inspection mode, an inspection is performed in a dark environment.” (Zeng, ¶[0044] discloses the display device is not lightened, the light-shielding substrate shields the display surface of the display device to prevent the display surface from being irradiated by external light. )
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Zeng technique of using optical type sensor for fingerprint recognition into Kim as modified by Yong technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Zeng technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim as modified by Yong . The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Zeng into Kim as modified by Yong in order to improve the fingerprint recognition accuracy. (Refer to Zeng paragraph [0004].)
As per claim 13, The fingerprint detecting method of claim 12, “wherein the high sensor data is measured with a reflector being placed on the display apparatus, which is to be inspected,” (Zeng, ¶[0088] discloses acquires the fingerprint data when the display surface of the display device is provided with a reflection substrate (like mirror), and the fingerprint data is taken as the reflection calibration fingerprint data light. ¶[0090] discloses the reflection substrate is in direct contact with the display surface of the display device when the fingerprint recognition unit acquires the reflection calibration fingerprint data light.)
“and green light being turned on.”(Zeng, ¶[0088] discloses the first image is any bright image. the first image may be a green image. ¶[0088] discloses displaying the first image while obtaining the reflection calibration data.)
As per claim 14, The fingerprint detecting method of claim 12, “wherein the low sensor data is measured with a light-absorbing plate or a black box being placed on the display apparatus, which is to be inspected, and external light being blocked.” (Zeng, ¶[0044] discloses the fingerprint recognition unit acquires the dark screen calibration fingerprint data dark′. At this time, the display device is not lightened, the light-shielding substrate shields the display surface of the display device to prevent the display surface from being irradiated by external light. ¶[0072] discloses the fingerprint recognition unit acquires the fingerprint data when the display surface of the display panel is provided with a light-shielding substrate, and the fingerprint data is taken as the dark screen calibration fingerprint data dark. ¶[0089] discloses the display panel displays the first image, the fingerprint recognition unit acquires the fingerprint data when the display surface of the display device is provided with a black substrate, and the fingerprint data is taken as the black calibration fingerprint data light. )
As per claim 18, The fingerprint detecting method of claim 12, “wherein calculating the correction data comprises correcting the fingerprint data by using the compensation coefficient and a specific function,”(Zeng, ¶[0049] discloses the fingerprint recognition unit performs calibration according to a calibration formula (1) to raw fingerprint data to obtain a calibrated fingerprint recognition data image.¶[0052] discloses applying store bright screen and dark screen calibration data to raw fingerprint data.)
“and the specific function obtains the correction data by multiplying a value obtained by subtracting the low sensor data from the fingerprint data by the compensation coefficient.” (Zeng, ¶[0050] discloses acquiring dark screen calibration data used by the calibration formula, ¶[0051] discloses formula (1A):
.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0147730), in view of Yong Kim et al.( US 2021/0097255), hereinafter Yong , in view of Zeng et al. (US 2018/0137337), in view of Van Beek (US 2012/0075506).
As per claim 16, The fingerprint detecting method of claim 12, Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Zeng does not explicitly disclose the following which would have been obvious in view of Van Beek from similar filed of endeavor “wherein calculating, by the display apparatus, the compensation coefficient further comprises: calculating variation data by subtracting the low sensor data from the high sensor data, for each of the respective locations of the plurality of sensor pixels; and calculating an average value of pieces of variation data of all of the plurality of sensor pixels.” (Van Beek, ¶[0033] discloses The system may use a spatially uniform light source aimed at the camera and capture multiple images of this uniform field ("flat field"). ¶[0035] discloses repeat capture with no light ¶[0037] discloses subtracting the second average image from the first image, pixel by pixel, as illustrated in equation 9: pixel wise subtraction of the averaged dark from averaged illuminated .)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Van Beek technique of noise reduction into Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Zeng technique to provide the known and expected uses and benefits of Van Beek technique over fingerprint sensing compensation technique of Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Zeng . The proposed combination would have constituted a mere arrangement of old elements with each performing their known function, the combination yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Van Beek into Kim as modified by Yong as modified by Zeng in order to accurately identifying the underlying image content. (Refer to Van Beek paragraph [0006].)
As per claim 17, The fingerprint detecting method of claim 16, “wherein calculating, by the display apparatus, the compensation coefficient further comprises dividing the average value of the variation data by the variation data of each of the plurality of sensor pixels to calculate the compensation coefficient of each of the plurality of sensor pixels.” (Van Beek, ¶[0043], see equation 11.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and on the pending conditions of the rejected and objected matter set forth in this action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the limitations set forth by each of claims 3-5, 15 and 19.
Contact
/SHAGHAYEGH AZIMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2671