Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 11/20/2024 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an execution unit,” “an event detection unit,” “an in-vehicle reduction unit,” “an upload unit,” “a server reduction unit,” “a terminal transmission unit” in claim 1; “a first management reduction unit,” “a first transmission unit,” “a second management unit,” “a reception unit,” in claim 2; and “a deletion unit” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 10, the claim limitations ““an execution unit,” “an event detection unit,” “an in-vehicle reduction unit,” “an upload unit,” “a server reduction unit,” “a terminal transmission unit” in claim 1; “a first management reduction unit,” “a first transmission unit,” “a second management unit,” “a reception unit,” in claim 2; and “a deletion unit” in claim 10 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “reduction criterion,” and “an event related to the application program.” The specification does not define what a “reduction criterion” is, nor does it define what constitute an “event.” Therefore, the scope is unclear.
Dependent claims 2-11 do not define “reduction criterion,” or “event.” Therefore, they are also rejected for their dependencies.
Claims 1 and 12 recite in part: “a management server configured to collect and store data from in-vehicle devices mounted on vehicles including the vehicle.” If there are multiple vehicles, it is unclear as to which vehicle the claims refer to. The claims are therefore unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al., (US 20200177841, hereinafter referred to as “Yin”) in view of Karino (US 20100240299).
Regarding claim 1, Yin teaches a mobility service system comprising:
an in-vehicle device mounted on a vehicle (figure 4; [0055] the cameras 422 can include cameras built into the vehicle and/or dashboard cameras disposed in the vehicle 420) including an acquisition device configured to acquire a content including a video or an audio as an acquired content (abstract - obtaining video captured by a camera in a vehicle; [0055] The cameras 422 are in communication with the processor 428 which is configured to receive video from the cameras 422 and to store the video in the video database 426); and
a management server (figure 4: traffic video server 410) configured to collect and store data (figure 4: video database 412) from in-vehicle devices mounted on vehicles including the vehicle ([0055] The cameras 422 are in communication with the processor 428 which is configured to receive video from the cameras 422 and to store the video in the video database 426. The processor 428 is further configured to obtain data from the vehicle diagnostics system 424 and to store the data in the video database 426), wherein the in-vehicle device includes
an execution unit configured to execute an application program corresponding to a service (abstract – video captured by camera. NOTE: in order to capture a video, there must be some kind of program corresponds to a service, therefore this feature is implied),
an event detection unit configured to detect an event related to the application program during execution of the application program by the execution unit ([0052] obtaining videos from vehicles that may have captured video of a desired event includes requests data from vehicles that may have captured relevant videos and analyzing the data received from the vehicles to determine which vehicle likely captured relevant video of the traffic violation or accident),
an in-vehicle reduction unit configured to generate an in-vehicle partial content by reducing a data amount of the acquired content using an in-vehicle reduction criterion corresponding to the application program based on the event detection unit detecting the event ([0051] obtaining video captured by a camera in a vehicle are provided. In exemplary embodiments, vehicles that have onboard cameras are configured to record and store video captured by the cameras along with data regarding the state and location of the vehicle at the time the videos are captured. The videos and corresponding data are stored on a local database in the vehicle for a predetermined time period and are then deleted.), and
an upload unit configured to upload the in-vehicle partial content generated by the in-vehicle reduction unit to the management server ([0058] the communications device 404 is configured to obtain the requested video from the video database 426 and to transmit the video to the traffic video server 410, which saves the videos in the video database 412).
However, Yin does not explicitly teach the management server includes a server reduction unit configured to generate a server partial content by reducing a data amount of the in-vehicle partial content uploaded by the upload unit using a server reduction criterion corresponding to information related to the in-vehicle device, and a terminal transmission unit configured to transmit a terminal content to a terminal device of an end user of the service based on the server partial content generated by the server reduction unit.
In an analogous art, Karino teaches the management server includes a server reduction unit configured to generate a server partial content by reducing a data amount of the in-vehicle partial content uploaded by the upload unit using a server reduction criterion corresponding to information related to the in-vehicle device (abstract - A content data acquisition system is disclosed. The content data acquisition system includes a broadcasting center for providing content data divided into partial data by distributing the partial data in one-way communication; and multiple data acquisition apparatuses each mounted to a vehicle and each capable of individually acquiring the partial data from the broadcasting center. One data acquisition apparatus mounted to one vehicle determines whether an amount of the already acquired partial data is enough to reconstruct the content data. When the amount of the already acquired partial data is determined to be not enough to reconstruct the content data, the one data acquisition apparatus acquires a remaining part of the partial data from another data acquisition apparatus mounted to another vehicle in inter-vehicle communication.), and
a terminal transmission unit configured to transmit a terminal content to a terminal device of an end user of the service based on the server partial content generated by the server reduction unit ([0077] A data acquisition apparatus applied to a portable communication terminal may includes the same components as the data acquisition apparatus 1 or 1a mounted to the vehicle includes, and the data acquisition apparatus applied to the portable communication terminal may use a communication device for data transmission between multiple portable communication terminals (i.e., inter-portable-device communication) in place of the inter-vehicle communication device 12, and may complement the partial data by using wireless communication between the multiple portable communication terminals. The portable communication terminal can act as a portable device, and the communication device can act as an inter-portable-device communication device.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teaching of Karino into teaching of Yin in order to trigger recording based on vehicle events and reduce unnecessary data capture, and further apply the server-side data processing techniques in order to manage and optimize storage and transmission of the captured data, thus improving efficiency of vehicle monitoring.
Regarding claim 2, Yin teaches the mobility service system according to claim 1, wherein the management server includes a first management unit and a second management unit (figure 2: management units 81-85), the server reduction criterion includes a first management reduction criterion determined based on grouping of the in-vehicle devices (figure 4: video data received from multiple vehicles within server system).
However, Yin does not explicitly teach: the first management unit includes a first management reduction unit included in the server reduction unit and configured to generate a first management partial content by reducing the data amount of the in-vehicle partial content uploaded by the upload unit using the first management reduction criterion, a storage unit configured to store first management partial contents generated by the first management reduction unit, and a first transmission unit configured to transmit a first management partial content to the second management unit in response to a request received from the second management unit, the first management partial content transmitted corresponding to the request among the first management partial contents stored in the storage unit, the second management unit includes a reception unit configured to receive the first management partial content transmitted by the first transmission unit, and the terminal transmission unit, and the terminal transmission unit is configured to transmit the terminal content to the terminal device based on the first management partial content.
In an analogous art, Karino teaches:
the first management unit includes a first management reduction unit included in the server reduction unit and configured to generate a first management partial content by reducing the data amount of the in-vehicle partial content uploaded by the upload unit using the first management reduction criterion (abstract - A content data acquisition system is disclosed. The content data acquisition system includes a broadcasting center for providing content data divided into partial data by distributing the partial data in one-way communication; and multiple data acquisition apparatuses each mounted to a vehicle and each capable of individually acquiring the partial data from the broadcasting center. One data acquisition apparatus mounted to one vehicle determines whether an amount of the already acquired partial data is enough to reconstruct the content data. When the amount of the already acquired partial data is determined to be not enough to reconstruct the content data, the one data acquisition apparatus acquires a remaining part of the partial data from another data acquisition apparatus mounted to another vehicle in inter-vehicle communication.),
a storage unit configured to store first management partial contents generated by the first management reduction unit (figure 2: controller 16 store tables associated with partial data), and
a first transmission unit configured to transmit a first management partial content to the second management unit in response to a request received from the second management unit (figure 2: satellite radio tuner 11 and inter-vehicle communication 12 for communicating the partial data),
the first management partial content transmitted corresponding to the request among the first management partial contents stored in the storage unit ([0063] The controller 16a of the subject data acquisition apparatus 1a performs the data request complement process when the controller 16a determines that an amount of the partial data already acquired by the subject data acquisition apparatus 1a is not enough to reconstruct the target content data, and when the operation input device 15 receives an operation input (also referred to as a content quick acquisition request) that instructs to acquire a remaining part of the partial data from the content server 4.),
the second management unit includes a reception unit configured to receive the first management partial content transmitted by the first transmission unit ([0025] The artificial satellite 3 receives the content data (more specifically the partial data) from the broadcasting center 2), and
the terminal transmission unit, and the terminal transmission unit is configured to transmit the terminal content to the terminal device based on the first management partial content ([0077] The above embodiments illustrate an exemplary configuration in which a data acquisition apparatus is applied to an apparatus mounted to a vehicle. Alternatively, a data acquisition apparatus may be applied to a portable communication terminal such as a cellular phone, a PDA (personal digital assistant) and like, which can be carried by a user. A data acquisition apparatus applied to a portable communication terminal may includes the same components as the data acquisition apparatus 1 or 1a mounted to the vehicle includes, and the data acquisition apparatus applied to the portable communication terminal may use a communication device for data transmission between multiple portable communication terminals (i.e., inter-portable-device communication) in place of the inter-vehicle communication device 12, and may complement the partial data by using wireless communication between the multiple portable communication terminals. The portable communication terminal can act as a portable device, and the communication device can act as an inter-portable-device communication device.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teaching of Karino by implementing group-based data processing and multi-stage server management in order to efficiently manage data from large number of vehicles.
Regarding claim 9, Yin does not explicitly teach the mobility service system according to claim 1, wherein the acquired content includes a video, and the reducing of the data amounts by the in-vehicle reduction unit and the server reduction unit corresponds to one of shortening of video time, reducing image quality, or decimating frames.
In an analogous art, Karino teaches wherein the acquired content includes a video, and the reducing of the data amounts by the in-vehicle reduction unit and the server reduction unit corresponds to one of shortening of video time, reducing image quality, or decimating frames ([0082] the reduction is to reduce the information amount of the content itself, in other words, to irreversibly reduce the information amount of the content. That is, in the present embodiment, the reduction does not include compression of the information amount of the content that can return the information amount to the original amount. Specifically, in the present embodiment, the reduction corresponds to cutting out a part of content information or thinning out content information. Cutting out a part of the information of the content includes cutting out (or extracting) a part of the image, and cutting the beginning and the end of the video to extract an intermediate portion. Decimating the information includes reducing resolution/image quality and decimating frames of the video (for example, one frame is extracted for every five frames) into continuous still images.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce the amount of data in order to manage and optimize storage and transmission of the captured data, thus improving efficiency of vehicle monitoring.
Regarding claim 10, Yin teaches the mobility service system according to claim 2, wherein the first management unit further includes a deletion unit configured to delete the first management partial content from the storage unit based on elapse of a set period from the first management partial content being stored in the storage unit ([0051] obtaining video captured by a camera in a vehicle are provided. In exemplary embodiments, vehicles that have onboard cameras are configured to record and store video captured by the cameras along with data regarding the state and location of the vehicle at the time the videos are captured. The videos and corresponding data are stored on a local database in the vehicle for a predetermined time period and are then deleted.).
Regarding claim 11, Yin teaches the mobility service system according to claim 2, wherein the first management unit includes a deletion unit configured to delete the first management partial content from the storage unit based on a number of times the first transmission unit transmits the first management partial content to the second management unit exceeding a set number of times ([0051] obtaining video captured by a camera in a vehicle are provided. In exemplary embodiments, vehicles that have onboard cameras are configured to record and store video captured by the cameras along with data regarding the state and location of the vehicle at the time the videos are captured. The videos and corresponding data are stored on a local database in the vehicle for a predetermined time period and are then deleted.).
Claim 12 is similar to claim 1, therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al., (US 20200177841, hereinafter referred to as “Yin”) in view of Karino (US 20100240299) in further view of Lambert et al. (US 9098956, hereinafter referred to as “Lambert”).
Regarding claim 3, Yin does not explicitly teach the mobility service system according to claim 1, wherein the management server includes a first management unit and a second management unit, the server reduction criterion includes a second management criterion determined based on identification information related to the in-vehicle device, the first management unit includes a storage unit configured to store first management partial contents based on in-vehicle partial contents uploaded by the upload unit, and a first transmission unit configured to transmit a first management partial content to the second management unit in response to a request received from the second management unit, the first management partial content transmitted corresponding to the request among the first management partial contents stored in the storage unit, the second management unit includes a reception unit configured to receive the first management partial content transmitted by the first transmission unit, a second management reduction unit included in the server reduction unit and configured to generate a second management partial content by reducing a data amount of the first management partial content received by the reception unit using the second management criterion, and the terminal transmission unit, and the terminal transmission unit is configured to transmit the terminal content to the terminal device based on the second management partial content.
In an analogous art, Karino teaches wherein the management server includes
the first management unit includes a storage unit configured to store first management partial contents based on in-vehicle partial contents uploaded by the upload unit (figure 2: controller 16 store tables associated with partial data), and
a first transmission unit configured to transmit a first management partial content to the second management unit in response to a request received from the second management unit (figure 2: satellite radio tuner 11 and inter-vehicle communication 12 for communicating the partial data),
the first management partial content transmitted corresponding to the request among the first management partial contents stored in the storage unit ([0063] The controller 16a of the subject data acquisition apparatus 1a performs the data request complement process when the controller 16a determines that an amount of the partial data already acquired by the subject data acquisition apparatus 1a is not enough to reconstruct the target content data, and when the operation input device 15 receives an operation input (also referred to as a content quick acquisition request) that instructs to acquire a remaining part of the partial data from the content server 4.),
the second management unit includes a reception unit configured to receive the first management partial content transmitted by the first transmission unit, a second management reduction unit included in the server reduction unit and configured to generate a second management partial content by reducing a data amount of the first management partial content received by the reception unit using the second management criterion ([0025] The artificial satellite 3 receives the content data (more specifically the partial data) from the broadcasting center 2), and
the terminal transmission unit, and the terminal transmission unit is configured to transmit the terminal content to the terminal device based on the second management partial content ([0077] The above embodiments illustrate an exemplary configuration in which a data acquisition apparatus is applied to an apparatus mounted to a vehicle. Alternatively, a data acquisition apparatus may be applied to a portable communication terminal such as a cellular phone, a PDA (personal digital assistant) and like, which can be carried by a user. A data acquisition apparatus applied to a portable communication terminal may includes the same components as the data acquisition apparatus 1 or 1a mounted to the vehicle includes, and the data acquisition apparatus applied to the portable communication terminal may use a communication device for data transmission between multiple portable communication terminals (i.e., inter-portable-device communication) in place of the inter-vehicle communication device 12, and may complement the partial data by using wireless communication between the multiple portable communication terminals. The portable communication terminal can act as a portable device, and the communication device can act as an inter-portable-device communication device.).
In another analogous art, Lambert teaches a first management unit and a second management unit, the server reduction criterion includes a second management criterion determined based on identification information related to the in-vehicle device (figure 4: associating event data with vehicle information).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further incorporate the teaching of Lambert into the teachings of Yin and Karino by adjusting reduction criterion based on identifiers since systems routinely manage data based on originating device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record does not teach the mobility service system according to claim 2, wherein the server reduction criterion includes a second management criterion determined based on identification information related to the in-vehicle device, the second management unit further includes a second management reduction unit included in the server reduction unit and configured to generate a second management partial content by reducing a data amount of the first management partial content received by the reception unit using the second management criterion, and the terminal transmission unit is configured to transmit terminal content to the terminal device based on the second management partial content.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not teach the mobility service system according to claim 3, wherein the server reduction criterion includes a first management reduction criterion determined based on grouping of the in-vehicle devices, and the first management unit includes a first management reduction unit included in the server reduction unit and configured to generate a first management partial content by reducing of a data amount of the in-vehicle partial content uploaded by the upload unit using the first management reduction criterion.
Claims 6-8 depend on potentially allowed claim 4, therefore are potentially allowed for their dependencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mimar, US 9491420 - a vehicle telematics device with one or more cameras embedded in the same package for evidentiary surround audio-video recording.
Burke et al., 20140302774 - sharing information between a group of vehicles.
Cooper et al., US 20140222971 - processing data generated in a vehicle group
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458