Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 11/20/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 and 10/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
4. Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 15 recite “a state of charge (SOC) of the cell falls within a range”.. it is not clear what is meant by falls within a range. Since the range is not defined, it is not clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art, what is meant by this recitation and renders the claim Indefinite. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
Claim 1 and 17 recites “estimating a state of a graphite interface”. It is not clear what is meant by estimating a state of a graphite interface and the specification does not provide any guidance as to what is meant by state of a graphite interface. It is not clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art, what is meant by this recitation and renders the claim Indefinite. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
Claim 6, 7 and 19 recite “ wherein the charge or the discharge of the cell is performed at a constant rate” and “wherein the constant rate is equal to or greater than a threshold”. It is not clear what is meant by “a constant rate” and “threshold”. Since the claims do not recite what is a constant rate and threshold, It is not clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art, what is meant by this recitation and renders the claim Indefinite. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
Claim 11 recites “in response to the cell being determined to be defective, performing a re-formation process on the cell”. The specification does not teach what and how a formation process or re-formation process is performed on the cell. It is not clear to one of the ordinary skill in the art , what is meant by this recitation and renders the claim Indefinite. Appropriate correction to the claim language is required.
Examiner interprets this limitation of “performing a re-formation process on the cell” as forming a fresh battery cell, as taught by Yazami et al (paragraph [0209]).
Claims 2-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches, A defective cell detection method comprising: performing at least one of a charge or a discharge of a cell so that a state of charge (SOC) of the cell falls within a range (figure 1, paragraphs [0042], [0196], [0200]); obtaining first charge/discharge data including voltage and temperature information during the charge or the discharge of the cell (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); calculating an entropy value of the cell based on the first charge/discharge data (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); estimating a state of a graphite interface of the cell based on the calculated entropy value (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); and determining whether or not the cell is defective based on the estimated state of the graphite interface of the cell (paragraphs [0196]-[0201], [0211], [0226], also see [0045], [0047], [0048][0052] [0061] [0065], [0067]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, further comprising: in response to the cell being determined to be defective, outputting information associated with the cell (paragraphs [0169]-[0170]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the state of the graphite interface of the cell indicates an interface deterioration of a graphite anode of the cell (Paragraphs [0039], [0042], [0078]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the range is associated with the state of the graphite interface of the cell (paragraphs [0211], [0226]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 4.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the range is a SOC range of 22% to 50% (figure 15).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the charge or the discharge of the cell is performed at a constant rate. (paragraph [0198]-[0207], figures 19, 20, 28).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 6.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the constant rate is equal to or greater than a threshold (paragraphs [0198], [0202]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the estimating comprises comparing the calculated entropy value with a reference entropy value to estimate the state of the graphite interface of the cell (paragraphs [0045], [0047], [0048][0052] [0061] [0064]-[0067]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 8.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the reference entropy value is determined based on entropy values of a plurality of normal cells (paragraphs [0045], [0047], [0048][0052] [0061] [0064]-[0067]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the cell has undergone a formation process (paragraphs [0005] [0008] [0039], [0042]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 10.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, further comprising: in response to the cell being determined to be defective, performing a re-formation process on the cell (paragraph [0209]).
The specification does not teach what and how a formation process or re-formation process is performed on the cell.
Examiner interprets this as forming a fresh battery cell, as taught by Yazami et al (paragraph [0209]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 11.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, further comprising: obtaining second charge/discharge data after the re-formation process is performed on the cell; re-estimating the state of the graphite interface of the cell based on the second charge/discharge data (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); and based on the re-estimated state of the graphite interface, determining whether or not the cell is defective (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the entropy value is associated with an arrangement of lithium layers in the cell (paragraphs [0149]-[0150], [0179]-[0185]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions for performing the method as claimed in claim 1 on a computer (paragraphs [0093],[169]-[0170], [0187]- [0189]).
Regarding independent claim 15, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches, An apparatus, comprising: memory (figure 1, [0093], [0169], [0170]); and one or more processors coupled to the memory, and configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to (figure 4, paragraph [0093],[169]-[0170], [0187]- [0189]): perform at least one of a charge or a discharge of a cell so that a state of charge of the cell falls within a range (paragraphs [0042], [0196],
[0200]); obtain first charge/discharge data including voltage and temperature information during the charge or the discharge of the cell (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); calculate an entropy value of the cell based on the first charge/discharge data (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); estimate a state of a graphite interface of the cell based on the calculated entropy value (paragraphs [0196]-[0201]); and determine whether or not the cell is defective based on the estimated state of the graphite interface of the cell (paragraphs [0196]-[0201], [0211], [0226], also see [0045], [0047], [0048][0052] [0061] [0065], [0067]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 15.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: in response to the cell being determined to be defective, output information associated with the cell (paragraphs [0169]-[0170]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 15.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the range is associated with the state of the graphite interface of the cell (paragraph [0211]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 17.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the range is a SOC range of 22% to 50% (figure 15).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 15.
Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) further teaches, wherein the charge or the discharge of the cell is performed at a constant rate (paragraph [0198]-[0207], figures 19, 20, 28).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Yazami et al (US 2013/0322488 A1) teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 15.
Yazami et al (US 20130322488 A1) further teaches, wherein to estimate, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: compare the calculated entropy value with a reference entropy value to estimate the state of the graphite interface of the cell (paragraphs [0042] [0045], [0064]-[0066]).
Closest Prior art
6. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Lee et al (US 2017/0146608 A1) teaches, a method of dynamically extracting entropy of battery. At every measurement of a SOC of a battery estimated in a BMS, a temperature of the battery is measured and an OCV of the battery is estimated and then stored. Entropy of the current state of the battery can be obtained through calculation using the temperature value and the OCV value newly stored. SOH and SOC of the battery are updated based on the entropy value newly calculated. The conventional BMS estimates SOH through internal resistance of the battery without using the entropy, but the method allows thermodynamically and analytically understanding the internal state of the battery by using the entropy, and conceiving precisely the battery state by monitoring SOH as well as SOS.
Driemeyer-Franco (US 2014/0203813 A1) teaches, A method of estimating a state of charge of an electric battery including a plurality of electric accumulators as cells. The method includes: a) determining a state of charge of each cell of the battery, b) determining a range of use of the battery equal to a maximum predetermined value of the state of charge of a cell minus deviation between the state of charge of a most charged cell and the state of charge of a least charged cell which are determined in a), c) determining the state of charge of the battery as equal to the ratio between the state of charge of the least charged cell determined in a) and the range of use of the battery determined in b).
Sugiyama et al (US 2020/0217901 A1) teaches, an internal state estimation apparatus includes a capacity estimator, a charge amount estimator, and a SOC estimator. The capacity estimator calculates an estimate capacity of the electrode based on an estimate capacity of the electrode at the first time point, a coefficient that is dependent at least on a SOC of the electrode at the first time point, and the time difference. The charge amount estimator calculates an estimate initial charge amount of the electrode based on an estimate initial charge amount and capacity of the electrode, and the estimate battery charge amount at the first time point, the coefficient, and the time difference. The SOC estimator calculates a SOC estimate of the electrode based on the estimate battery charge amount, and the estimate initial charge amount and capacity of the electrode.
Yazami et al (US 9551759 B2) teaches, a device for testing a battery may be provided. The device for testing a battery may include: a determination circuit configured to determine at least one of a differential enthalpy of the battery and a differential entropy of the battery; and an evaluation circuit configured to evaluate a health state of the battery based on the determined at least one of the differential enthalpy and the differential entropy.
Reynier et al (US 7595611 B2) teaches, systems and methods for accurately characterizing thermodynamic and materials properties of electrodes and electrochemical energy storage and conversion systems. Systems and methods of the present invention are configured for simultaneously collecting a suite of measurements characterizing a plurality of interconnected electrochemical and thermodynamic parameters relating to the electrode reaction state of advancement, voltage and temperature. Enhanced sensitivity provided by the present methods and systems combined with measurement conditions that reflect thermodynamically stabilized electrode conditions allow very accurate measurement of thermodynamic parameters, including state functions such as the Gibbs free energy, enthalpy and entropy of electrode/electrochemical cell reactions, that enable prediction of important performance attributes of electrode materials and electrochemical systems, such as the energy, power density, current rate and the cycle life of an electrochemical cell.
Morita et al (US 2016/0380313 A1) teaches, a battery pack includes an initial state estimation unit, a temperature estimation unit, and a determination unit. The internal state estimation unit estimates an internal state of a secondary battery based on measurement data. The temperature estimation unit estimates the temperature of the secondary battery based on the measurement data and the estimation parameter. The determination unit compares an absolute value of a temperature difference between a measured temperature of the secondary battery contained in the measurement data and the estimated temperature with one or more temperature threshold levels, and determines a temperature state of the secondary battery in accordance with a comparison result.
Yazami et al (US 2021/0208208 A1) teaches, A method for detecting internal short circuit within an electrochemical cell, from on-line measuring and processing thermodynamics data and kinetics data on the electrochemical cell. The thermodynamics data comprises open-circuit voltage data, entropy variations and/or enthalpy variations data, and combinations thereof. The kinetics data comprises cell voltage, cell temperature, cell internal resistance and current, and combinations thereof.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 6/30/2026