DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2025 and 05/14/2025, are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 11/20/2024 is acknowledge, however, foreign documents KP 1020050096555 and KP2019960001851 are not considered by the examiner because the country codes are not correct. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar teaches a heat press (fig. 2A, apparatus 100) comprising:
a body (fig. 2A, body of the apparatus 100) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end;
a heat plate (fig. 2B, ironing bottom) located at the first end of the body; and
a handle (fig. 2A, handle of the apparatus 100) forming a portion of the second end of the body, the second end of the body defining a concave depression over and across which the handle extends (fig. 2A);
wherein;
a perimeter of the concave depression comprises a first lateral edge, a second lateral edge opposite the first lateral edge, a front edge, and a rear edge opposite the front edge (annotated fig. 2C below);
the perimeter of the concave depression comprises the first lateral edge connected to the front edge connected to the second lateral edge connected to the rear edge connected to the first lateral edge (fig. 2C);
the handle extends in a lateral direction between the first lateral edge of the perimeter of the concave depression and the second lateral edge of the perimeter of the concave depression (figs. 2B-2C); and
at least one of a display and controls (fig. 2A, display interface 131; fig. 2C, input interface 129) is situated adjacent the front edge of the perimeter of the concave depression (figs. 2A, 2C).
Regarding claim 2, Kumar teaches the concave depression comprises a curved surface that extends downward from the perimeter of the concave depression toward the first end of the body (fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Kumar teaches the curved surface is curved about more than a single axis (annotated fig. 2A and fig. 2C below).
Regarding claim 4, Kumar teaches the at least one of the display and the controls face away from the first end of the body (fig. 2C, input interface 129 faces away from the first end).
Regarding claim 7, Kumar teaches a control compartment within the body (fig. 2A, control unit 103 is positioned in the control compartment within the body), wherein the at least one of the display and the controls are coupled to the control compartment (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kumar teaches the control compartment and the at least one of the display and the controls coupled to the control compartment are not located on the handle and are not located in the concave depression (fig. 2A, 2C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (US 2018/0030646), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Whitney (US 2015/0225889).
Regarding claim 5, Kumar does not clearly teach an insulation portion positioned between the first end of the body and the concave depression.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Whitney teaches an insulation portion (fig. 1, insulating shell 16) positioned between the first end of the body (fig. 1, plate 20) and the concave depression (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kumar with an insulation portion positioned between the first end of the body and the concave depression as taught by Whitney for the benefit of providing user from burning when the components heat up during operation of the iron (Whitney, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Kumar-Whitney does not clearly teach the insulation portion is positioned within the body between the heat plate and the concave depression.
However, Whitney teaches the insulation portion is positioned within the body between the heat plate and the concave depression (fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Kumar with the insulation portion positioned within the body between the first end of the body and the concave depression as taught by Whitney for the benefit of providing user from burning when the components heat up during operation of the iron (Whitney, para. [0042]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for instance, the difference between the patented claim 4 and the instant claim 1 are minor and obvious from each other. The instant claim 1 is a broader version of the patented claim (i.e. the instant claim 1 does not include the limitations “the heat plate comprising a plurality of pressure receiving points”, and “when a downward force is applied to the handle forming the portion of the second end of the body, the downward force transfers through the plurality of pressure receiving points to the heat plate” as in the patented claim. Therefore, the patented claim 4 would read on the instant claim 1. Furthermore, in the instant claim 1, the claimed limitations can be found in the patented claim 4. Any infringement over the patented claim 4 would also infringe over the instant claim 1. Hence, the instant claim does not differ from the scope of the patented claim 4
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 for the same reason.
Claims 1, 3-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Regarding claim 1, the patented claim 1 teaches all the limitations except wherein a perimeter of the concave depression comprises a first lateral edge, a second lateral edge opposite the first lateral edge, a front edge, and a rear edge opposite the front edge; the perimeter of the concave depression comprises the first lateral edge connected to the front edge connected to the second lateral edge connected to the rear edge connected to the first lateral edge; the handle extends in a lateral direction between the first lateral edge of the perimeter of the concave depression and the second lateral edge of the perimeter of the concave depression. However, Kumar teaches a perimeter of the concave depression comprises a first lateral edge, a second lateral edge opposite the first lateral edge, a front edge, and a rear edge opposite the front edge; the perimeter of the concave depression comprises the first lateral edge connected to the front edge connected to the second lateral edge connected to the rear edge connected to the first lateral edge; the handle extends in a lateral direction between the first lateral edge of the perimeter of the concave depression and the second lateral edge of the perimeter of the concave depression (annotated figs. 2A, 2C above). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the patented claim 1 with a shape of the concave depression as taught by Kumar for the benefit of providing aesthetic pleasing features to the device, saving material and making device lighter in use.
For the same reason, the claims more specifically correlate as below:
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12152338 in view of Kumar (US 2018/0030646).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732