DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the structure with designation, “30” in Fig. 1 is designated “42” in Fig. 3 and 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. (Chiu) (2024/0160116) in view of Chu et al. (2021/0351052).
Regarding claim 1, Chiu discloses an inflation holder (604, Fig. 26A-27A, para 0214-0218) for a photomask carrier (100, Fig. 5A-5C, para 0134-0138) configured to be mounted on a carrying stand (para 0217, stacked on a storage rack) and capable of holding a photomask carrier (Fig. 27A, para 0218); the inflation holder comprising: a plate body (Fig. 26A) configured to be mounted on the carrying stand (para 0217, connection arms 2612 for stacking on the storage rack) and comprising: a loading area formed on a top of the plate body (Fig. 26A); the loading area configured to hold the photomask carrier (para 0216, supporting the bottom portion of the reticle storage pod and Fig. 27A); the loading area being rectangular (Fig. 26A); and a picking side (2600) formed on a side of the plate body corresponding to a lengthwise side of the loading area (Fig. 26A); a picking notch (para 0215, notch at the front end to provide space for the mechanical arm) formed on the plate body and extending from the picking side of the plate body toward the loading area (Fig. 26A); multiple inflation connectors (2606, Fig. 26A) mounted through the plate body and located in the loading area of the plate body (para 0215, Fig. 29, para 0226). Chiu discloses that sensors on the storage rack detects whether the photomask carrier (100) is on the storage rack to start flow of gas to the rack and to the photomask carrier (para 0226, 0227). However, Chiu does not disclose a detecting assembly comprising: a detector mounted on a periphery of the loading area of the plate body; and at least one press-switch mounted in the loading area of the plate body; the detector and the at least one press-switch being capable of controlling the inflation connectors. Chu discloses a holder (body 10 of load port, Fig. 6A, para 0037-0039) for a wafer cassette (90A, Fig. 4, para 0051). Chu discloses a detector (40) mounted on a periphery of the loading area of the plate body (Fig. 1-6, detector 40 is mounted at the edge of the loading area of the plate body, para 0041); and at least one press-switch (30) mounted in the loading area of the plate body (Fig. 6A, press sensors 31-39, para 0040, 0045, 0055, press-sensor “can tell” when the wafer cassette 90A is loaded, which means it acts as a press-switch). Since Chiu discloses that sensors on the storage rack detects whether the photomask carrier (100) is on the storage rack to start flow of gas to the rack and to the photomask carrier (para 0226, 0227), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide, as taught by Chu, the detector (40) at the periphery and the press-switch (30) located on the surface of the holder (10) to instantly determine that the photomask carrier is loaded and the providing of the gas to the photomask and start.
Regarding claim 2, Chiu does not disclose a plurality of press-switches. Chu discloses in Fig. 6A, a plurality of press-switches (30 and 39) the multiple press-switches are respectively mounted at diagonal positions of the loading area of the plate body (see Fig. 6A), and the multiple press-switches and the detector (40) are misaligned in position (Fig. 1-6A, the detector assemblies 41 and 42, para 0041 are located outer periphery of the holder body and are not aligned with press-switched 30 and 39).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, although Chiu does not disclose wherein a distance between a top of each one of the inflation connectors and a bottom of the plate body is greater than 1 millimeter(mm), it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to provide the inflation connectors (2606) with height of greater than 1 mm so that the distance between a top of each one of the inflation connectors and a bottom of the plate body is greater than 1 mm since it has been held that merely changing the location of the parts and changing the size of the parts requires only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Chiu discloses wherein the inflation holder comprises multiple locating blockers; the locating blockers are formed on the plate body and located around the loading area (see below, large arrows in annotated Fig. 26A).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, although Chiu does not disclose wherein a distance between a top of each one of the locating blockers and a bottom of the plate body is greater than 5 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the locating blocker having a height greater than 5 mm, so that the distance between a top of each one of the locating blockers and a bottom of the plate body is greater than 5 mm so that the locating blockers of Chiu have enough height to provide assistance in positioning and ensure that the photomask carrier stays on the holder since changing the size of the parts requires only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, although Chiu does not disclose wherein the inflation holder comprises: multiple locking holes formed on the plate body and located on other three sides of the plate body relative to the picking side; and multiple locking units respectively mounted through the locking holes; the plate body of the inflation holder configured to be locked on the carrying stand by passing the locking units through the locking holes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide multiple locking holes located on the three sides of the plate body and multiple locking units to attach the inflation holder to the storage rack since such means to fasten a photomask carrier or pod is well known in the art selecting known material and method on the basis of the suitability for the intended use is within the general skill of a worker in the art.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Chiu discloses wherein the inflation holder comprises multiple protrusions (2608, Fig. 26A); the protrusions are mounted around the picking notch of the plate body (Fig. 26A, para 0216).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Chiu discloses wherein the inflation holder comprises multiple supporting boards (2612, Fig. 26B); the supporting boards are mounted on a bottom of the plate body and are capable of being locked with the carrying stand (para 0217).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phillips et al. (2009/0027639) discloses EUV reticle handling system with a photomask carrier or clean filter pod (Fig. 3) which allows gas to flow in to the carrier (para 0091). However, Phillips et al. does not disclose the inflation holder which provides the air as claimed.
Yang et al. (CN 223291476, translation provided with Office Action) discloses an inflation holder (Fig. 3) comprising inflation connectors (41) and at least one press-switch (44). However, Yang et al. has publication date of Sept. 2, 2025 and is not available as a prior art.
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 June 26, 2026