Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosselmann (US 5,656,934).
Regarding claim 1, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses a signal processing circuit that processes a detection signal [output of 3, such as S1, S2], output from a sensor 3, and including a direct-current component and an alternating-current component [see Abstract], the signal processing circuit comprising: a low-pass filter [10/20 filter outD1/D2] that extracts the direct-current component from the detection signal; and a high-pass filter [11/21 filter out A1/A2] that extracts the alternating-current component from the detection signal.
Regarding claim 2, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 1, further comprising: a signal addition unit 32/40 that adds up the direct-current component extracted by the low-pass filter and the alternating-current component extracted by the high-pass filter [The angular alternating component BETA of the measuring angle ALPHA is corrected by the angular direct component GAMMA in a correcting unit 32 that is electrically connected to the two computing units 30 and 31. This is done in order to compensate for the interfering operating-point drift resulting from the temperature-dependent linear birefringence in the Faraday element 3 and the transmission paths. The corrected angular alternating component BETA corresponds to the temperature-compensated measuring signal SA for the measured current IA, which can be tapped off at one output of the correcting unit 32. Preferably, the computing units 30 and 31 and the correcting unit 32 are combined in the evaluator unit 40.].
Regarding claim 3, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 2, further comprising: a signal correction unit 32/40 that applies a correction value calculated on the basis of the direct-current component to an addition signal, which is an output signal from the signal addition unit, to correct the addition signal [combined output of 30/31 for 32/40, see “The measuring signal SA is then proportional to the product of the angular alternating component BETA and the reciprocal value of the effective Verdet constant V.sub.eff. The measuring signal SA can, however, also be derived directly from the angular alternating component BETA and from the angular direct component GAMMA on the basis of a theoretically approximated or experimentally determined calibration curve.”].
Regarding claim 4, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 1, further comprising: a first signal processing unit 30 that performs first signal processing on the direct-current component; and a second signal processing unit 31 that performs second signal processing on the alternating-current component.
Regarding claim 5, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 4, further comprising: a signal addition unit 32/40 that adds up a first output signal, which is an output signal from the first signal processing unit 30, and a second output signal, which is an output signal from the second signal processing unit 31.
Regarding claim 6, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 5, further comprising: a signal correction unit 40/32 that applies a correction value [using calibrated curve] calculated on the basis of the direct-current component to an addition signal, which is an output signal from the signal addition unit 32/40, to correct the addition signal.
Regarding claim 7, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is a magnetic sensor 3.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (US 5,200,709) hereafter Saito.
Regarding claim 1, Saito at fig. 3 discloses an amplifying circuit of the invention comprises: a high frequency amplifying circuit to amplify a high frequency component of a reproduction signal having frequency components in a range from a low frequency to a high frequency; a low frequency amplifying circuit to amplify a low frequency component of the reproduction signal; an input filter provided on the input side of each of the amplifying circuits so as to pass the frequency component of each amplifying circuit; an output filter which is provided on the output side of each of the amplifying circuits and has the same characteristics as those of the input filter; and an adding circuit to add outputs of the output filters, wherein the amplified reproduction signal, including the frequency components in a range from a low frequency to high frequency which have been added by the adding circuit, is directly added to an electro-acoustic converter. Saito therefore a signal processing circuit that processes a detection signal [reproduction signal Mi at terminal 1], output from a sensor [an audio reproducing apparatus or the like], and including a direct-current component and an alternating-current component [“a reproduction signal Mi including frequency components from a high frequency to a low frequency within a range of a dynamic range Di of the circuit as shown in FIG. 5A has been supplied to the input terminal 1,”], the signal processing circuit comprising: a low-pass filter 8 that extracts the direct-current component [implicit to low-frequency filter 8] from the detection signal; and a high-pass filter 6 that extracts the alternating-current component [implicit to high-frequency filter 6] from the detection signal.
Regarding claim 2, Saito at fig. 3 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 1, further comprising: a signal addition unit 5 that adds up the direct-current component extracted by the low-pass filter and the alternating-current component extracted by the high-pass filter [as shown].
Regarding claim 3, Saito at fig. 3 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 2, further comprising: a signal correction unit 5 that applies a correction value calculated on the basis of the direct-current component to an addition signal [based on ML and MH] which is an output signal Ma from the signal addition unit, to correct the addition signal [“a reproduction signal Mi including frequency components from a high frequency to a low frequency within a range of a dynamic range Di of the circuit as shown in FIG. 5A has been supplied to the input terminal 1, the amplifying circuits 3 and 4 of the amplifying circuit systems H and L can amplify a high frequency band signal MH and a low frequency band signal ML as shown in FIGS. 5B and 5C until dynamic ranges DH and DL of the operating voltages of the amplifying circuits 3 and 4 on the basis of the frequency characteristics shown in FIG. 4 mentioned above, respectively. After the signals were amplified, by adding the amplified signals by the adding circuit 5, an output signal Ma can obtain a large amplitude in a range of an output dynamic range Da of the sum of the dynamic ranges of both of the amplifying circuits as shown in FIG. 5D. Since the high amplitude portion does not reach the upper limit or the lower limit of the dynamic range Da, the output signal is not distorted. A load such as a speaker or the like can be driven by such an output signal.”].
Regarding claim 4, Saito at fig. 3 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 1, further comprising: a first signal processing unit 9 that performs first signal processing on the direct-current component; and a second signal processing unit 7 that performs second signal processing on the alternating-current component.
Regarding claim 5, Saito at fig. 3 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 4, further comprising: a signal addition unit 5 that adds up a first output signal, which is an output signal from the first signal processing unit 9, and a second output signal, which is an output signal from the second signal processing unit 7.
Regarding claim 6, Saito at fig. 3 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 5, further comprising: a signal correction unit 5 that applies a correction value calculated on the basis of the direct-current component to an addition signal [based on ML and MH] which is an output signal Ma from the signal addition unit, to correct [see Da] the addition signal [see “a reproduction signal Mi including frequency components from a high frequency to a low frequency within a range of a dynamic range Di of the circuit as shown in FIG. 5A has been supplied to the input terminal 1, the amplifying circuits 3 and 4 of the amplifying circuit systems H and L can amplify a high frequency band signal MH and a low frequency band signal ML as shown in FIGS. 5B and 5C until dynamic ranges DH and DL of the operating voltages of the amplifying circuits 3 and 4 on the basis of the frequency characteristics shown in FIG. 4 mentioned above, respectively. After the signals were amplified, by adding the amplified signals by the adding circuit 5, an output signal Ma can obtain a large amplitude in a range of an output dynamic range Da of the sum of the dynamic ranges of both of the amplifying circuits as shown in FIG. 5D. Since the high amplitude portion does not reach the upper limit or the lower limit of the dynamic range Da, the output signal is not distorted. A load such as a speaker or the like can be driven by such an output signal.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosselmann (US 5,656,934) in view of Tran et al. (WO 2023/061952 A1, using US 2024/0407693 A1 for rejection) hereafter Tran.
Regarding claim 8, Bosselmann at figure shown discloses all the elements including a signal processing circuit that processes a detection signal [output of 3, such as S1, S2], output from a sensor 3, and including a direct-current component and an alternating-current component [see Abstract], the signal processing circuit comprising: a low-pass filter [10/20 filter outD1/D2] that extracts the direct-current component from the detection signal; and a high-pass filter [11/21 filter out A1/A2] that extracts the alternating-current component from the detection signal. Bosselmann is silent about a sensor unit comprising: the sensor; and the signal processing circuit according to claim 1, which is formed integrally with the sensor. Tran at fig. 1, ¶0021, ¶0100-0101 and at claim 5 discloses the magnetic sensor 10 and the electronic processing circuit 12 are integrated on a same substrate, such as an embedded application-specific integrated circuit system on a chip or an embedded system in a package to take an advantages of packaging solution (see ¶0102 and ¶0007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bosselmann as taught by Tran in order to obtain claim invention for taking advantages that Tran have to offer.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 5,200,709) hereafter Saito.
Regarding claims 7-8, Saito at fig. 3 and 5A-5D discloses a signal processing circuit that processes a detection signal [reproduction signal Mi at terminal 1], output from a sensor [an audio reproducing apparatus or the like], and including a direct-current component and an alternating-current component [“a reproduction signal Mi including frequency components from a high frequency to a low frequency within a range of a dynamic range Di of the circuit as shown in FIG. 5A has been supplied to the input terminal 1,”], the signal processing circuit comprising: a low-pass filter 8 that extracts the direct-current component [implicit to low-frequency filter 8] from the detection signal; and a high-pass filter 6 that extracts the alternating-current component [implicit to high-frequency filter 6] from the detection signal. Saito is silent about wherein the sensor is a magnetic sensor and a sensor unit comprising: the signal processing circuit formed integrally with the sensor. Tran disclose magnetic sensor 10 with signal processing circuit 12 at fig. 1. Tran also ¶0021, ¶0100-0101 and at claim 5 discloses said magnetic sensor 10 and the electronic processing circuit 12 are integrated on a same substrate, such as an embedded application-specific integrated circuit system on a chip or an embedded system in a package to take an advantages of packaging solution (see ¶0102 and ¶0007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Saito as taught by Tran so modified Saito obtains claim invention for taking advantages that Tran have to offer.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. V. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Conclusion
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
June 17, 2026