DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation “wherein the substantially planar first inductive coil has an annular spiral shape wherein an inner radius of the substantially planar first inductive coil is 5/26 or more of an outer radius of the substantially planar first inductive coil” in the application as filed. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for the analogous reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claims 2, 6-7, 9, 16-19 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by US 2013/0043833 to Katz et al. (Katz).
Regarding claim 2, Katz discloses a mobile device comprising:
a rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, electrochemical cell 340 of a dual-mode inductive power pack 300'; also see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 27-32 disclosing an induction enabled power pack 300; the examiner notes that dual-mode inductive power pack 300' of Fig. 2b corresponds to a dual-mode inductive and wired inductive charging system variation of power pack 300 of Fig. 1),
a wired connector for receiving wired power from a wired charger for charging the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, wired charger connector 204 for receiving wired power from wired charger unit 202);
an inductive charging receiver circuit electrically coupled to a substantially planar first inductive coil and configured for receiving inductive power from an inductive charger for charging the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, inductive charging receiver circuit in the form of electrical connection between substantially planar first inductive coil in the form of secondary inductor 320 and charger selection unit 102 taken alone or in combination with the sub-circuitry of interface 100 that performs rectification of alternating current (AC) generated by the secondary inductor 320 into direct current (DC) for charging the electrochemical cell 340; also see Fig. 1 which shows planar first inductive coil 320; also see paragraph 35 disclosing rectification functionality of interface module 100); and
a communication and control circuit (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, charger selection unit 102 in combination with sub-circuitry of interface 100 other than sub-circuitry performing rectification as disclosed in paragraph 35) configured to:
select a battery charging power between received wired power and received inductive power to charge the rechargeable battery when the received wired power is received through the wired connector while the received inductive power is received through the substantially planar first inductive coil (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, charger selection unit 102 configured to switch between wired and inductive charging modes), and
electrically couple power from the selected battery charging power to the rechargeable battery to charge the rechargeable battery (see Katz as applied above, charger selection unit 102 electrically couples power from secondary inductor 320 or wired charging connector 204 to electrochemical cell 340 to charge the electrochemical cell 340).
Regarding claim 6, Katz discloses wherein the communication and control circuit comprises a thermal sensor and is further configured to sense an over temperature condition during charging of the rechargeable battery and decouple the battery charging power from the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., paragraph 55; also see paragraph 13, disconnecting the charging current in response to excessive temperature).
Regarding claim 7, Katz discloses wherein the mobile device is configured to display a visual signal to notify a user about the over temperature condition (Katz, e.g., paragraphs 15, 71).
Regarding claim 9, Katz discloses a charge management circuit for charging the rechargeable battery, wherein the charge management circuit is configured to select the battery charging power and couples the power from the selected battery charging power to charge the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., paragraph 35, note functionality of interface module 100 other than rectification functionality).
Regarding claim 16, Katz discloses a mobile device comprising:
a rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, electrochemical cell 340 of a dual-mode inductive power pack 300'; also see Fig. 1 and paragraphs 27-32 disclosing an induction enabled power pack 300; the examiner notes that dual-mode inductive power pack 300' of Fig. 2b corresponds to a dual-mode inductive and wired inductive charging system variation of power pack 300 of Fig. 1),
a wired connector for receiving wired power from a wired charger for charging the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, wired charger connector 204 for receiving wired power from wired charger unit 202);
an inductive charging receiver circuit electrically coupled to a substantially planar first inductive coil and configured for receiving inductive power from an inductive charger for charging the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, inductive charging receiver circuit in the form of electrical connection between substantially planar first inductive coil in the form of secondary inductor 320 and charger selection unit 102 taken alone or in combination with the sub-circuitry of interface 100 that performs rectification of alternating current (AC) generated by the secondary inductor 320 into direct current (DC) for charging the electrochemical cell 340; also see Fig. 1 which shows planar first inductive coil 320; also see paragraph 35 disclosing rectification functionality of interface module 100); and
a communication and control circuit (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, charger selection unit 102 in combination with sub-circuitry of interface 100 other than sub-circuitry performing rectification as disclosed in paragraph 35) configured to:
select wired power as a battery charging power when received wired power is received through the wired connector while received inductive power is received through the substantially planar first inductive coil (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, charger selection unit 102 configured to switch between wired and inductive charging modes; see paragraph 58 in particular, the charger selection unit 102 may be configured to disconnect one charger type in the presence of the other; for example when a wired charger 202 is connected, the charger selection unit 102 may be configured to disconnect the secondary inductor 320 in order to prevent double charging); and
electrically couple power from the received wired power to the rechargeable battery to charge the rechargeable battery (see Katz as applied above, when wired charger 202 is connected, charger selection unit 102 electrically couples power from wired charging connector 204 to electrochemical cell 340 to charge the electrochemical cell 340).
Regarding claim 17, Katz discloses wherein the communication and control circuit is further configured to transmit a message to the inductive charger to cause the inductive charger to shut off supply of power to the mobile device for charging the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., paragraph 54, interface circuit 100 is configured to send a signal to deactivate a primary inductor 220 of inductive charger 200 coupled to the secondary inductor 320).
Claim 18 recites wherein the communication and control circuit further comprises a thermal sensor and is further configured to sense an over temperature condition during charging of the rechargeable battery and decouple the wired power from the rechargeable battery and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Katz for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 6.
Claim 19 recites wherein the mobile device is further configured to display a visual signal to notify a user about the over temperature condition and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Katz for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 7.
Claim 21 recites a charge management circuit for charging the rechargeable battery, wherein the charge management circuit is configured to select the battery charging power and couples the power from the selected battery charging power to charge the rechargeable battery and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Katz for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2013/0043833 to Katz et al. (Katz).
Regarding claim 3, Katz discloses wherein the communication and control circuit is further configured to transmit a message to cause said charger that is not selected to shut off supply of power to the mobile device for charging the rechargeable battery (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2b and paragraphs 57-58, the charger selection unit 102 may be configured to disconnect one charger type in the presence of the other; for example when a wired charger 202 is connected, the charger selection unit 102 may be configured to disconnect the secondary inductor 320 in order to prevent double charging; in other embodiments the charger selection unit 102 may be configured to disconnect the wired charger connector 204 when an inductive charger 200 is coupled to the inductive power pack 300'; the examiner notes that in the case of either disconnection of the secondary inductor 320 or disconnection of the wired charger connector 204, the supply of power from the inductive charger 200 or wired charger unit 202 will be shut off, i.e., the inductive charger 200 or wired charger unit 202 will not be transmitting power to the inductive power pack 300').
Although Katz as discussed above in connection with Fig. 2b is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that a message is provided to the wired charger or the inductive charger that is not selected in order to bring about the shut off of power flow to the mobile device, Katz nonetheless does disclose that the interface circuit 100 of the inductive power pack is functionally able to transmit a message to a charger to cause the charger to shut off supply of power to the inductive power pack (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2a and paragraph 54, once the charging current is cut off, the interface circuit 100 is configured to send a signal to deactivate a primary inductor 220 coupled to the secondary inductor 320 of the power pack 300). The examiner notes in paragraph 54 that charging current is cut off by the inductive power pack in order to prevent large currents in excess of rated currents, while in the embodiment of Fig. 2b the charger selection unit 102 of the inductive power pack cuts off charging current from one of the power sources 200, 202 to prevent double charging. In either case, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that once charging current from a power source 200, 202 is cut off by the inductive power pack, the power source 200, 202 is no longer needed and should be turned off to minimize power losses, e.g., parasitic power losses. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz such that Katz’s charger selection unit 102 and/or interface circuit 100 is further configured to transmit a message to the inductive charger 200 or wired charger unit 202 that is not selected as the battery charging power to cause the unselected power resource to shut down. In this way, internal/parasitic power losses in the inductive charger 200 or wired charger unit 202 can be reduced when it is not selected as the battery charging power.
Regarding claim 4, Katz discloses wherein the communication and control circuit is further configured to communicate with the wired charger and the inductive charger (Katz, e.g., Fig. 2a and paragraph 54, once the charging current is cut off, the interface circuit 100 is configured to send a signal to deactivate a primary inductor 220 coupled to the secondary inductor 320 of the power pack 300), and wherein the selection between the received wired power and the received inductive power is based on a determination based on which of the two received powers can provide faster charging for charging the rechargeable battery, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would nonetheless appreciate that minimizing charging time is generally desirable when possible. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz such that the determination is based on which of the two received powers can provide faster charging for charging the rechargeable battery. In this way, a reduced charging time can be obtained.
Claim 5 recites wherein the communication and control circuit is further configured to select the received wired power and to transmit a message to the inductive charger to cause the inductive charger to shut off supply of power to the mobile device for charging the rechargeable battery and is rejected over Katz for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 3, recognizing that Katz discloses by way of example selecting wired charging instead of inductive charging when the wired charger unit 202 is connected.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Katz in view of US 2007/0004168 to Zips (Zips) and US 6,178,353 to Griffith et al. (Griffith).
Regarding claim 8, Katz as applied to claim 2 is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing a permanent magnet structure for creating a separable magnetic attachment between the mobile device and the inductive charger,
wherein the permanent magnet structure is positioned around an outer perimeter of the substantially planar first inductive coil to align the substantially planar first inductive coil with a second inductive coil in the inductive charger for inductive power transfer to the mobile device, and
wherein the permanent magnet structure forms a full ring that includes a gap or a partial ring that includes a gap,
wherein the permanent magnet structure comprises one or more arc-shaped permanent magnets, and
wherein the permanent magnet structure is configured such that the mobile device can be rotated across a continuous range of rotational angles with respect to the inductive charger while keeping the alignment between the substantially planar first inductive coil and the second inductive coil during receiving of the inductive power.
Zips discloses an annular permanent magnet for creating a separable magnetic attachment between an inductive power supply and an associated electronic device, with the permanent magnet being arc-shaped and in the form of a full ring surrounding an outer circumference of the inductive power supply coil to align the inductive power supply coil with an inductive receiver coil in the electronic device for inductive power transfer (Zips, e.g., Fig. 2, ring magnet 27 surrounding inductive transformers 25 and 26). Zip’s annular permanent magnet (e.g., ring magnet 27 in Fig. 2) is rotationally symmetric (paragraph 19), and one of ordinary skill in the art would understand as a result of this symmetry that the annular permanent magnet is configured such that it can be rotated across a continuous range of rotational angles with respect to the field device coupling piece while maintaining alignment between the inductive power supply and receiver coils. Griffith discloses sectionalizing a magnet used in connection with inductive charging in order to suppress eddy currents (Griffith, e.g., Fig. 6B and col. 8, line 64 to col. 9, line 9).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz to include a permanent magnet structure for creating a separable magnetic attachment between the mobile device and the inductive charger, wherein the permanent magnet structure is positioned around an outer perimeter of the substantially planar first inductive coil to align the substantially planar first inductive coil with a second inductive coil in the inductive charger for inductive power transfer to the mobile device, and wherein the permanent magnet structure forms a full ring that includes a gap or a partial ring that includes a gap, wherein the permanent magnet structure comprises one or more arc-shaped permanent magnets, and wherein the permanent magnet structure is configured such that the mobile device can be rotated across a continuous range of rotational angles with respect to the inductive charger while keeping the alignment between the substantially planar first inductive coil and the second inductive coil during receiving of the inductive power. In this way, the primary and secondary inductors 220, 320 of Fig. 2 of Katz can be removably retained in a proper orientation for inductive power transfer using a magnet in the manner disclosed by Zips while at the same time suppressing the creation of eddy currents in the magnet in the manner disclosed by Griffith.
Claim 20 recites a permanent magnet structure for creating a separable magnetic attachment between the mobile device and the inductive charger,
wherein the permanent magnet structure is positioned around an outer perimeter of the substantially planar first inductive coil to align the substantially planar first inductive coil with a second inductive coil in the inductive charger for inductive power transfer to the mobile device, and
wherein the permanent magnet structure forms a full ring that includes a gap or a partial ring that includes a gap,
wherein the permanent magnet structure comprises one or more arc-shaped permanent magnets, and
wherein the permanent magnet structure is configured such that the mobile device can be rotated across a continuous range of rotational angles with respect to the inductive charger while keeping the alignment between the substantially planar first inductive coil and the second inductive coil during receiving of the inductive power,
and is rejected over Katz in view of Zips and Griffith for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 8.
Claims 10-11 and 22-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Katz in view of US 6,501,364 to Hui et al. (Hui).
Regarding claim 10, Katz is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing a metal layer substantially coplanar with the substantially planar first inductive coil and positioned outside an outer perimeter of the substantially planar first inductive coil. In the context of coreless printed circuit board transformers designed for operation in power transfer applications, Hui discloses a metal layer substantially coplanar with a substantially planar inductive coil and positioned outside an outer perimeter of the substantially planar inductive coil (Hui, e.g., Figs. 3a and col. 4, lines 37-44, a PCB transformer using ferrite plates coated with copper sheets as a shielding; note in Fig. 3a that metal layer in the form of copper sheet is substantially coplanar with planar primary winding and positioned at least partially outside of an outer diameter of the planar primary winding). It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz to include a metal layer substantially coplanar with the substantially planar first inductive coil and positioned outside an outer perimeter of the substantially planar first inductive coil. In this way, in the manner disclosed by Hui, minimizing the eddy current flowing in the z-direction can be obtained.
Regarding claim 11, Katz is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing a thermal conductive layer in thermal contact with the substantially planar first inductive coil to conduct heat generated during inductive power transfer. In the context of coreless printed circuit board transformers designed for operation in power transfer applications, Hui discloses a thermal conductive layer in thermal contact with a substantially planar first inductive coil to conduct heat generated during inductive power transfer (Hui, e.g., Figs. 3a, thermally conductive insulating layers; also see col. 1, lines 40-61, insulating layers between the copper windings and the ferrite plates should have high thermal conductivity in order to facilitate heat transfer from the transformer windings to the ferrite plates and the ambient). It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz to include a thermal conductive layer in thermal contact with the substantially planar first inductive coil to conduct heat generated during inductive power transfer. In this way, in the manner disclosed by Hui, heat transfer from the transformer windings can be facilitated.
Claim 22 recites a metal layer substantially coplanar with the substantially planar first inductive coil and positioned outside an outer perimeter of the substantially planar first inductive coil and is rejected over Katz in view of Hui for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 10.
Claim 23 recites a thermal conductive layer in thermal contact with the substantially planar first inductive coil to conduct heat generated during inductive power transfer and is rejected over Katz in view of Hui for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 11.
Claims 12-13 and 24-25 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Katz in view of US 6,389,318 to Zarinetchi et al. (Zarinetchi) and US 3,761,641 to Mlinaric (Mlinaric).
Regarding claim 12, Katz is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing an electrically conductive shield layer comprising metal,
wherein the shield layer is positioned proximate to and substantially parallel to the substantially planar first inductive coil to cover a surface of the substantially planar first inductive coil,
wherein the shield layer comprises multiple substantially concentric metallic rings, with each of the metallic rings comprising multiple sections, wherein radially adjacent sections of the metallic rings are electrically isolated from one another, and
wherein the sections of each of the metallic rings are separated by gaps such that each metallic ring is electrically discontinuous to impede eddy current generation in the metallic rings and the shield layer and to impede heating of the shield layer by the alternating magnetic field during inductive power transfer.
Zarinetchi discloses a shield layer positioned proximate to and substantially parallel to a substantially planar first inductive coil to cover a surface of the substantially planar first inductive coil (Zarinetchi, Fig. 1 and col. 3, line 65 to col. 6, line 7, primary coil 10 facing electronic device associated with secondary coil 12 for inductive power transfer to the electronic device). Zarinetchi discloses that the shield layer includes multiple substantially concentric rings, with each of the rings comprising multiple sections, with the sections of each of the rings being separated by gaps such that each ring is discontinuous (in Zarinetchi’s arrangement, magnetic shield 16 can be implemented using any of the shields shown in Figs. 2-6B; see Fig. 6A and col. 6 and lines 8-56 in particular; note in Fig. 6B the magnetic shield layer comprises multiple substantially concentric rings of low loss magnetic material (ferrite)).
Zarinetchi is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the magnetic shield layer is a metallic magnetic shield layer. Zarinetchi instead discloses the use of ferrite for the magnetic shield layer. Mlinaric discloses that mu-metal, a soft magnetic material, provided greater magnetic shielding than a ferrite material of the same thickness (Mlinari, e.g., col. 5, lines 3-21).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz to include an electrically conductive shield layer comprising metal, wherein the shield layer is positioned proximate to and substantially parallel to the substantially planar first inductive coil to cover a surface of the substantially planar first inductive coil, with the shield layer comprises including substantially concentric metallic rings, with each of the metallic rings including multiple sections, and with the sections of each of the metallic rings being separated by gaps. In this way, magnetic shielding for enhancing the energy transfer efficiency can be obtained as taught by Zarinetchi (e.g., col. 1, lines 47-53) using materials that provide a greater degree of magnetic shielding as taught by Mlinaric.
Regarding the claim recitations that radially adjacent sections of the metallic rings are electrically isolated from one another and that each metallic ring is electrically discontinuous to impede eddy current generation in the metallic rings and the shield layer and to impede heating of the shield layer by the alternating magnetic field during inductive power transfer, the examiner notes that in the combination of Katz, Zarinetchi and Mlinaric set forth above that adjacent sections of each concentric metallic ring (e.g., segments 602 in Fig. 6A of Zarinetchi implemented using mu-metal instead of ferrite) will be electrically isolated from one another and electrically discontinuous, thus providing the recited effects of impeding eddy current generation in the metallic rings and the shield layer and impeding heating of the shield layer by the alternating magnetic field during inductive power transfer.
Regarding claim 13, Katz in view of Zarinetchi and Mlinaric at least suggests wherein the shield layer comprises metal of thickness equal to or less than 100 micrometers (Zarinetchi, e.g., col. 2, lines 26-41, col. 4, lines 41-48, thickness of shield should be much greater than X/µ, where X is major dimension of shield and µ is magnetic permeability of shield material; for X= 5.5” and for µ values in the range of 80,000-100,000 for mu-metal, X/µ yields 0.00006875”, or 1.7 micrometers, for µ=80,000; a thickness of 100 micrometers is much greater than 1.7 micrometers).
Claim 24 recites an electrically conductive shield layer comprising metal,
wherein the shield layer is positioned proximate to and substantially parallel to the substantially planar first inductive coil to cover a surface of the substantially planar first inductive coil,
wherein the shield layer comprises multiple substantially concentric metallic rings, with each of the metallic rings comprising multiple sections, wherein radially adjacent sections of the metallic rings are electrically isolated from one another, and
wherein the sections of each of the metallic rings are separated by gaps such that each metallic ring is electrically discontinuous to impede eddy current generation in the metallic rings and the shield layer and to impede heating of the shield layer by the alternating magnetic field during inductive power transfer,
and is rejected over Katz in view of Zarinetchi and Mlinaric for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 12.
Claim 25 recites wherein the shield layer comprises metal of thickness equal to or less than 100 micrometers,
and is rejected over Katz in view of Zarinetchi and Mlinaric for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 13.
Claims 14 and 26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Katz in view of JP2000068892A to Takamiya et al. (Takamiya) and applicant-admitted prior art (AAPA) at paragraphs 139-141 of the specification as filed.
Regarding claim 14, Katz is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing:
a Near Field Communication (NFC) coil separate from the substantially planar first inductive coil positioned substantially parallel to a surface of the mobile device for receiving inductive power, and
a magnetic material having a thickness between 0.2 mm and 1 mm positioned proximate the substantially planar first inductive coil and the NFC coil and facing away from the surface of the mobile device to provide low-loss magnetic field guidance for the substantially planar first inductive coil at an inductive power transfer operating frequency and the NFC coil at an NFC operating frequency.
Takamiya discloses a Near Field Communication (NFC) coil separate from an inductive charging coil positioned substantially parallel to the top surface of the inductive charger (Takamiya, e.g., Fig. 2, data transmitting / receiving coil antenna 21 and a power / clock transmitting coil antenna 22). One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that Takamiya’s arrangement provides the advantage of inductive power delivery via a first coil and data communication via a second coil. AAPA discloses the use of a magnetic material having the claimed features in the form of the FSF-200 material available from Maruwa Corporation at the time the invention was made for reducing the EM fields to minimize interference with an electronic device operation (AAPA, paragraphs 139-141 of the specification as filed).
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to modify Katz to include a Near Field Communication (NFC) coil separate from the substantially planar first inductive coil positioned substantially parallel to a surface of the mobile device for receiving inductive power, and a magnetic material having a thickness between 0.2 mm and 1 mm positioned proximate the substantially planar first inductive coil and the NFC coil and facing away from the surface of the mobile device to provide low-loss magnetic field guidance for the substantially planar first inductive coil at an inductive power transfer operating frequency and the NFC coil at an NFC operating frequency. In this way, both data communication and inductive power transfer can be implemented in the manner disclosed by Takamiya, while at the same time reducing the EM fields to minimize interference with an electronic device operation in the manner disclosed by AAPA.
Claim 26 recites:
a Near Field Communication (NFC) coil separate from the substantially planar first inductive coil positioned substantially parallel to a surface of the mobile device for receiving inductive power, and
a magnetic material having a thickness between 0.2 mm and 1 mm positioned proximate the substantially planar first inductive coil and the NFC coil and facing away from the surface of the mobile device to provide low-loss magnetic field guidance for the substantially planar first inductive coil at an inductive power transfer operating frequency and the NFC coil at an NFC operating frequency,
and is rejected over Katz in view of Takamiya and AAPA for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with claim 14.
Conclusion
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858