Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “coupling protrusion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the locking body" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20160029871) in view of Kwon (US20070272284).
Regarding claims 1, 6-9, 12, Kim teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) comprising: a tub 13 having a washing chamber (see figure 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0039]), the tub 13 includes a bottom wall 15b including: an upper bottom wall (see uppermost portion of 15b, as shown in figures 11 and 13); a lower bottom wall (see horizontal lowermost portion of 15b, as shown in figures 11 and 13) having an opening 15a formed therein; and a connecting sidewall (see central portion of 15b connecting the uppermost and lowermost portions, as shown in figures 11 and 13) extending vertically to connect the upper bottom wall and the lower bottom wall (see figures 2, 3, 11, 13, paragraphs [0040]-[0046], [0052], [0056]-[0057]); a sump housing 30, 31 coupled to the bottom wall 15b of the tub 13, the sump housing 30, 31 including: a guide wall 35 radially extending to guide a movement of wash water discharged from the opening 15a (see paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0054], [0067], figures 3, 4, 11, 13); an inner flange 33b protruding from the guide wall 35 toward the upper bottom wall of the tub 13 (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0042], [0048], [0062]); an outer flange 33a disposed at an outside of the inner flange 33b and spaced apart from the inner flange 33b to form a locking groove (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0042], [0048], [0055]); and a sealer 40 configured to seal between the bottom wall 15b of the tub 13 and the sump housing 30, 31 (see figures 3, 11, 12, paragraphs [0045]-[0050]), the sealer 40 including: a sealing body 41, 43, 42a, 42b including: an inner portion 41, 43 that contacts and seals the connecting sidewall of the tub 13; and an outer portion 42a that contacts and seals an inner peripheral surface of the inner flange 33b (reads on claim 9); and a locking body 45 inserted into the locking groove of the sump housing 30 such that the sealer 40 is fixed to the sump housing 30; the sealer 40 is fixed and secured by the locking body 45 being inserted into the locking groove so that an additional fastener is excluded between an upper surface of the outer flange 33a and a lower surface of the bottom wall 15b of the tub 13 facing the upper surface of the outer flange 33a (reads on claim 12) (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0047], [0048], [0055], [0056], [0062], [0067]). Kim does not teach a first coupling portion on the guide wall at an inside of the inner flange and a second coupling portion disposed between the inner flange and the bottom wall of the tub and coupled to the first coupling portion. Kwon teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and a first coupling portion 140 comprising a coupling protrusion 140 extending along a circumference of the guide wall (see bottom wall of 30, as shown in figure 5) at an inside of the inner flange (see upward protrusion of 30 that is radially spaced apart to the left of the groove in 30, as shown in figure 5), and a second coupling portion disposed between the inner flange and the bottom wall 60 of the tub 18 comprising a coupling groove (see groove formed in bottom wall of 30 in which 140 is received, as shown in figure 5) formed to correspond to the coupling protrusion 140 (reads on claim 8), a lower end of the locking body (see portion of 100 that is disposed between the inner and outer flanges of 30, as shown in figure 5) contacts an upper surface of the guide wall (reads on claim 7); and the outer flange contacts (see contact via 110, as shown in figure 5) the locking body to support the locking body inserted into the locking groove (reads on claim 6), thereby allowing for greater attachment strength (see abstract, paragraphs [0026], [0040]-[0051], figures 1-5). Since both Kim and Kwon teach dishwashers with sumps it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the system by Kim may include a coupling protrusion protruding downward along a circumference of the guide wall, and coupled with a coupling groove of the guide wall, so as to allow for greater attachment strength, as shown to be known and conventional by Kwon.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Kim and Kwon together teach the limitations of claim 9. Kim also teaches in figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0047], [0048], [0055], [0056], [0062], [0067] that the inner portion 41, 43 includes a plurality of inner ribs 41, 43 protruding toward the connecting sidewall of the tub 13 and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (reads on claim 10); the outer portion 42a includes a plurality of outer ribs 42a protruding toward the inner peripheral surface of the inner flange 33b and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (reads on claim 11).
Claims 2-5, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20160029871) in view of Kwon (US20070272284) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Woo (KR20180060506A).
Regarding claims 2-5, Kim and Kwon together teach the limitations of claim 1. Kim does not teach that the locking body includes a hook inserted into the locking groove. Woo teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that a hook 110/320 may protrude toward an outer peripheral surface of the inner flange 233 to fix the sealing body 100/300, the hook 110/320 includes: an insertion portion extending in a vertical direction; and a protrusion portion protruding from the insertion portion toward an outer peripheral surface of the inner flange 233 (reads on claim 3), the inner flange 233 includes a locking step provided on an upper portion of the inner flange and protruding toward the locking body (reads on claim 4); wherein a length by which the locking step protrudes and extends from the outer peripheral surface of the inner flange 233 corresponds to a length by which the protrusion portion of the hook 320 protrudes and extends from the insertion portion (see figure 16) (reads on claim 5), providing an increased coupling force (see figures 14, 16, pages 7-8 of the translation). Since both Kim and Woo teach dishwashers it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the locking body in the system by Kim may include a hook inserted into the locking groove so as to provide an increased coupling force, as shown to be known and conventional by Woo.
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Kwon together teach the limitations of claim 1. Kim does not teach that the sealer includes a silicone or an ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) material. Woo teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that silicone material may be used so as to provide flexibility and resilience (see page 9 of the translation). Since both Kim and Woo teach dishwashers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the sealer may include a silicone material so as to provide flexibility and resilience, as shown to be known and conventional by Woo. Furthermore, it has been determined that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claims 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20160029871) in view of Woo (KR20180060506A).
Regarding claims 16, 18 and 19, Kim teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) including: a tub 13 having a washing chamber (see figure 1, paragraphs [0036]-[0039]), the tub 13 including: an upper bottom wall (see uppermost portion of 15b, as shown in figures 11 and 13); a lower bottom wall (see horizontal lowermost portion of 15b, as shown in figures 11 and 13) having an opening 15a formed therein; and a connecting sidewall (see central portion of 15b connecting the uppermost and lowermost portions, as shown in figures 11 and 13) extending vertically to connect the upper bottom wall and the lower bottom wall (see figures 2, 3, 11, 13, paragraphs [0040]-[0046], [0052], [0056]-[0057]); a sump housing 30, 31 coupled to the tub 13, the sump housing 30, 31 including: a guide wall 35 radially extending to guide a movement of wash water discharged from the opening 15a (see paragraphs [0042]-[0043], [0054], [0067], figures 3, 4, 11, 13); an inner flange 33b protruding from the guide wall 35 toward the upper bottom wall of the tub 13 (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0042], [0048], [0062]); and an outer flange 33a disposed at an outside of the inner flange 33b and spaced apart from the inner flange 33b to form a locking groove (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0042], [0048], [0055]); and a sealer 40 configured to seal between the tub 13 and the sump housing 30, 31 (see figures 3, 11, 12, paragraphs [0045]-[0050]), the sealer 40 including: a sealing body 41/43 disposed between the connecting sidewall of the tub 13 and an inner peripheral surface of the inner flange 33b (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0047], [0056]); the sealer is fixed and secured by a locking body 45 being inserted into the locking groove so that an additional fastening member is excluded between an upper surface of the outer flange 33a and a lower surface of the bottom wall of the tub 13 facing the upper surface of the outer flange 33a (see figures 11, 13, paragraphs [0048], [0055], [0062], [0067]) (reads on claim 18); an upper surface of the sealer 40 is in contact with a lower surface of the upper bottom wall of the tub 13 (see figures 11, 13) (reads on claim 19). Kim does not teach a hook inserted into the locking groove that protrudes toward an outer peripheral surface of the inner flange to fix the sealing body. Woo teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that a hook 110/320 may protrude toward an outer peripheral surface of the inner flange 233 to fix the sealing body 100/300, providing an increased coupling force (see figures 14, 16, pages 7-8 of the translation). Since both Kim and Woo teach dishwashers it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the hook in the system by Kim may protrude toward an outer peripheral surface of the inner flange to fix the sealing body so as to provide an increased coupling force, as shown to be known and conventional by Woo.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20160029871) in view of Woo (KR20180060506A) as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Kwon (US20070272284).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Woo together teach the limitations of claim 16. Kim does not teach that the sealing body includes a coupling protrusion protruding downward along a circumference of the guide wall, and the guide wall includes a coupling groove recessed downward to correspond to the coupling protrusion. Kwon teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that the sealing body 100 includes a coupling protrusion 140 protruding downward along a circumference of the guide wall (see bottom wall of 30, as shown in figure 5), and the guide wall includes a coupling groove recessed downward to correspond to the coupling protrusion 140, thereby allowing for greater attachment strength (see abstract, paragraphs [0047]-[0048], figures 1-5). Since both Kim and Kwon teach dishwashers with sumps it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the system by Kim may include a coupling protrusion protruding downward along a circumference of the guide wall, and coupled with a coupling groove of the guide wall, so as to allow for greater attachment strength, as shown to be known and conventional by Kwon.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Kim (US20160029871). Kim fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of claim 13. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part along with the requisite motivation for combination to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711