DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 21, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
(Step 1)
Independent claim 1 recite(s) a method (a process).
Independent claim 8 recite(s) an electronic device (a machine).
Independent claim 15 recite(s) a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (a machine).
(Step 2A: Prong 1)
The limitation of claim 1 of performing the steps of receiving, establishing and preparing; the limitations of claim 8 of performing the steps of receive, establish and transmit; the limitations of claim 15 of performing the steps of receive, establish and transmit as drafted, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitations in the mind. That is, other than reciting “a processing circuitry” for claims 1, 8 and 15, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “a processing circuitry” language, the steps of claims 1, 8 and 15 encompasses a user to mentally (or with aid of pen and paper) to receive a shared key, establish a connection and transmit/prepare a sample request. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, claims 1, 8 and 15 recite an abstract idea.
(Step 2A: Prong 2)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claims 1, 8 and 15 do not contain any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of a smart meter and a processing circuitry to perform the steps of claim 1. Claim 8 recites the additional elements of a transmitter, a receiver, a smart meter and a processing circuitry to perform the steps of claim 8. Claim 15 recites the additional elements of a transmitter, a smart meter and a processing circuitry to perform the steps of claim 15. The transmitter, receiver, smart meter and processing circuitry are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor or computer components performing generic computer functions of receiving, establishing and preparing/transmitting) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claims 1, 8 and 15 are directed to an abstract idea.
(Step 2B)
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above (see Step 2A: Prong 2), claims 1, 8 and 15 do contain any additional elements. The additional elements of a transmitter, a receiver, a smart meter and processing circuitry provide no indication that the additional elements are anything other than a generic computer component or process used in a well-understood, routing, and conventional function, recognized by one skilled in the art, when claimed in a generic manner. The additional element of a processing circuitry to perform the steps of claims 1, 8 and 15 amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, this claim further adds an additional element of a second electronic device. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 1 above) and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor or computer components performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 3, this claim further adds to the receiving step of claim 1. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 1 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 4, this claim further adds an authenticating step performed by processing circuitry. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 1 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 5, this claim further adds to the preparing step of claim 1. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 1 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 6, this claim further adds a receiving step performed by the processing circuitry. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 1 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 7, this claim further adds to the receiving step of claim 6. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 1 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 9, this claim further adds an additional element of an additional electronic device. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 8 above) and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor or computer components performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 10, this claim further adds an authenticating step. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 8 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 11, this claim further adds a receiving step performed by the processing circuitry. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 8 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 12, this claim further adds to the receiving step of claim 11. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 8 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 13, this claim further adds an additional element of a storage device. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 8 above) and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor or computer components performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 14, this claim further adds to the transmit step of claim 8. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 8 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 16, this claim further adds to the transmit step of claim 15. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 15 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 17, this claim further adds an additional element of an electronic device. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 15 above) and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor or computer components performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 18, this claim further adds an additional element of a plurality of additional electronic devices. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 15 above) and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor or computer components performing generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 19, this claim further adds a receiving step performed by the processing circuitry. This claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 15 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 20, this claim further adds to the receiving step of claim 19. Thus, this claim still falls under the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (for similar reasons as disclosed for claim 15 above) and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis et al. US2017/0134182 (called Davis hereinafter).
Regarding independent claim 1, Davis teaches a method (Abstract) to be performed by processing circuitry of an electronic device (Figs. 3-4; access administrator 200), comprising:
receiving a shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; security keys and certificates) associated with a smart meter (Figs. 3-4; para [0137]; electricity management unit 300) based on a user profile (Figs. 3-4; para [0104-0105]; user association with smartphone 10, access administrator 200, electricity management unit 300 and utility/provider);
establishing a connection with the smart meter based on the shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; communication link between access administrator 200 and electricity management unit 300); and
preparing a sample request for transmission to the smart meter via the connection (Figs. 3-4; para [0164 and 0166]; electricity consumption).
Regarding claim 2, Davis teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the shared key is configured to enable a second electronic device to access the smart meter (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 3, Davis teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the second electronic device is configured to associate the shared key with the user profile (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0105]; user associated with the smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 4, Davis teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches comprising authenticating the electronic device based on a set of access credentials associated with the user profile prior to receiving the shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0097 and 0103-0104]; user accessing the access administrator 200 through a product app then receiving security keys and certificates once connection is established).
Regarding claim 5, Davis teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sample request comprises a request for energy data associated with the smart meter (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption data).
Regarding claim 6, Davis teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches comprising receiving the energy data associated with the smart meter based on the sample request (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption data requested from electricity management unit 300 to the access administrator 200 and smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 7, Davis teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches wherein the energy data comprises a power consumption associated with the smart meter, a pricing associated with the power consumption, or a total cost associated with past power consumption (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption metrics provided).
Regarding independent claim 8, Davis teaches an electronic device (Figs. 3-4; access administrator 200) comprising:
a transmitter (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; communication between access administrator 200 and electricity management unit 300);
a receiver (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; communication between access administrator 200 and electricity management unit 300);
processing circuitry coupled to the transmitter and receiver, the processing circuitry configured to:
receive, via the receiver, a shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; security keys and certificates) associated with a smart meter (Figs. 3-4; para [0137]; electricity management unit 300) based on a user profile (Figs. 3-4; para [0104-0105]; user association with smartphone 10, access administrator 200, electricity management unit 300 and utility/provider);
establish a connection with the smart meter based on the shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; communication link between access administrator 200 and electricity management unit 300); and
transmit, via the transmitter, a sample request to the smart meter based on the connection (Figs. 3-4; para [0164 and 0166]; electricity consumption).
Regarding claim 9, Davis teaches the electronic device of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the shared key is configured to permit access to the smart meter for an additional electronic device (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; smartphone 10) based on the additional electronic device being authenticated with the user profile (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0105]; user associated with the smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 10, Davis teaches the electronic device of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to authenticate the electronic device based on a set of access credentials associated with the user profile prior to receiving the shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0097 and 0103-0104]; user accessing the access administrator 200 through a product app then receiving security keys and certificates once connection is established).
Regarding claim 11, Davis teaches the electronic device of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive energy data associated with the smart meter based on the sample request (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption data requested from electricity management unit 300 to the access administrator 200 and smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 12, Davis teaches the electronic device of claim 11, and further teaches wherein the energy data comprises a daily power consumption associated with the smart meter, an hourly power consumption associated with the smart meter, or an instantaneous power consumption associated with the smart meter (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption metrics provided).
Regarding claim 13, Davis teaches the electronic device of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive, via the receiver, the shared key from a storage device (para [0098 and 0103-0104]; security keys and certificates are exchanged and stored in non-volatile memory) configured to provide the shared key to one or more additional electronic devices (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 14, Davis teaches the electronic device of claim 8, and further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transmit, via the transmitter, access credentials associated with the user profile for authentication (Figs. 3-4; para [0097 and 0103-0104]; user accessing the access administrator 200 through a product app then receiving security keys and certificates once connection is established).
Regarding independent claim 15, Davis teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions (Figs. 3-4), that when executed by processing circuitry (Figs. 3-4; access administrator 200), cause the processing circuitry to:
receive a shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; security keys and certificates) associated with a smart meter (Figs. 3-4; para [0137]; electricity management unit 300) based on a user profile (Figs. 3-4; para [0104-0105]; user association with smartphone 10, access administrator 200, electricity management unit 300 and utility/provider);
establish, via a transmitter (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; communication between access administrator 200 and electricity management unit 300), a connection with the smart meter based on the shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; communication link between access administrator 200 and electricity management unit 300); and
transmit a sample request to the smart meter based on the connection (Figs. 3-4; para [0164 and 0166]; electricity consumption).
Regarding claim 16, Davis teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to transmit, via the transmitter, a set of access credentials associated with the user profile (Figs. 3-4; para [0097 and 0103-0104]; user accessing the access administrator 200 through a product app then receiving security keys and certificates once connection is established).
Regarding claim 17, Davis teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to authenticate an electronic device (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104]; smartphone 10) based on the set of access credentials associated with the user profile prior to receiving the shared key (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0105]; user associated with the smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 18, Davis teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the shared key is configured to permit access to the smart meter for a plurality of additional electronic devices (Figs. 3-4; para [0103-0104 and 0197]; smartphones 10 and 22).
Regarding claim 19, Davis teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to receive energy data associated with the smart meter based on the sample request (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption data requested from electricity management unit 300 to the access administrator 200 and smartphone 10).
Regarding claim 20, Davis teaches the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 19, and further teaches wherein the energy data comprises a power consumption associated with the smart meter, a pricing associated with the power consumption, a total cost associated with past power consumption, or any combination thereof (Figs. 3-4; para [0164, 0166 and 0192]; energy consumption metrics provided).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Girdhar et al. discloses “Data collection device and method to support multiple profiles in a utility meter system” (see US2016/0282139)
Venkatraman et al. discloses “Method and apparatus for determining location using a smart meter as a location reference” (see US2014/0232553)
Yamane discloses “Power management system, relay apparatus, and power management method” (see US2017/0331570)
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858