DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-7, 11-18, and 21-24 appears below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-18, and 21-24 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10-18 and 25-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,007. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of patent anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 10-18, and 21 would be allowed with the filing of a terminal disclaimer and overcoming the 112 issues below.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach the limitations of claim 9 and all proceeding claims.
The closest prior art of record is Park US 20160175060.
Park teaches a robotic surgical system that has an adaptor 120 attached to a robotic arm 113. The adaptor 120 is attached to a shaft 130 and coupled to the other end of the shaft is an end effector 105. The end effector is disposable and has a base to release the end effector from the shaft (par. [0040]). However, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach the locking channels, alignment channels, lip, lock protrusions, and stop protrusions in relation to one another as required by the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-17, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10, 11, 23 and 24 recite the limitation “the drive structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 12-17 are rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park US 20160175060.
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a base (Fig. 2 tip interface 245) configured to attach to a distal end of a shaft (Fig. 2 main tube 230); and a disposable distal portion configured to removably attach to the base to be disposed of after use (par. [0066]), wherein the base is configured to directly removably mechanically engage the blades or jaws to actuate the blades or jaws (Fig. 4B socket 447 of 245).
Regarding claim 23, Park teaches a base (Fig. 2 tip interface 245) configured to attach to a distal end of a shaft (Fig. 2 main tube 230); and a disposable distal portion configured to removably attach to the base to be disposed of after use (par. [0066]), wherein the distal portion includes: a mount portion configured to abut the base (Fig. 4B socket 447); and a clevis connected to the mount portion (Fig. 4B ball 409), wherein the blades or jaws are mounted to the clevis to pivot about a pivot joint of the clevis (Fig. 4B), and wherein the clevis further comprises a non-conductive material (par. [0092] tip interface is made of insulating material) , and the mount portion further comprises a non-conductive center post configured to mechanically connect the blades or jaws to the drive structure to actuate the blades or jaws between an open and a closed position (Fig. 4B locking device 412).
Regarding claim 24, Park teaches a base (Fig. 2 tip interface 245) configured to attach to a distal end of a shaft (Fig. 2 main tube 230); and a disposable distal portion configured to removably attach to the base to be disposed of after use (par. [0066]), wherein the base includes a base clevis (Fig. 4B ball 409) and an actuation assembly (Fig. 8 drive tendon 452 and Fig. 11 pulley) connected to the base clevis and the drive structure (Fig. 4B socket 447) to actuate the drive structure relative to the base clevis (Figs. 8 and 9 movement of 452 and socket to move the blades), and wherein the actuation assembly includes: an actuator housing connected to the drive structure (Fig. 11 lever 1175); and a pulley assembly (Fig. 11 pully 1174) within the actuator housing (Fig. 11 pulley between arms 1162 and 1165 of lever 1175) and configured to move the actuator housing relative to the base clevis (par. [0144]).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794