Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/956,017 filed on November 22, 2024 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being unpatentable over Kim et al (USPGPub 20240170445).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method, comprising: providing a first electronic component (D1); providing a second electronic component (D2); performing a bonding process (using 60) to bond the first electronic component and the second electronic component (abstract discloses bonding the first and second dies to each other); and performing an inspection process (using 10) during or after the bonding process (par 41 discloses inspections after each bonding process), wherein the inspection process comprises a contactless inspection process (par 33-35 and par 40 discloses the inspection process using camera 40 in combination with heater 30 to contactless inspect the components).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (USPGPub 20240170445).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a method, comprising: providing a first electronic component (D1); providing a second electronic component (D2); performing a bonding process (using 60) to bond the first electronic component and the second electronic component(abstract discloses bonding the first and second dies to each other); and performing an inspection process (using 10) in a low-pressure environment during or after the bonding process(par 41 discloses inspections after each bonding process). Kim does not fully disclose wherein a gas pressure in the low-pressure environment is less than or approximately equal to 100Pa.
However, It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention taught by Kim to be limited to a gas pressure in the low-pressure environment is less than or approximately equal to 100Pa because it is known in semiconductors for contamination control and equipment protection).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (USPGPub 20240170445) in view of Yamamoto et al (USPGPub 20030129497).
Regarding claim 12, Kim does not fully disclose wherein the inspection process is performed by an electronic beam inspection system.
However, Yamamoto discloses wherein the inspection process is performed by an electronic beam inspection system (par 70 discloses electron beam inspection).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim in view of Yamamoto in order to determine properties of the electronic component.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (USPGPub 20240170445) in view of Li et al (USPGPub 20260005186).
Regarding claim 15, Kim does not fully disclose wherein performing an inspection process to the first electronic component before performing the bonding process in the low-pressure environment.
However, Li discloses performing an inspection process to the first electronic component before performing the bonding process in the low-pressure environment (par 43 discloses inspection and par 59 discloses bonding after inspection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim in view of Li in order to determine properties of the electronic component.
Regarding claim 16, Kim does not fully disclose wherein performing an inspection process to the second electronic component before performing the bonding process in the low-pressure environment.
However, Li discloses performing an inspection process to the second electronic component before performing the bonding process in the low-pressure environment (par 43 discloses inspection and par 59 discloses bonding after inspection. Therefore, it inspects the second electronic before the bonding). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim in view of Li in order to determine properties of the electronic component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a method, comprising: wherein: the first electronic component and the second electronic component are disposed face to face for performing the bonding process; the first electronic component comprises a first exposed conductor for the inspection process; and a distance between the first exposed conductor of the first electronic component and an edge of the second electronic component closest to the first exposed conductor is larger than or approximately equal to 200 µm in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a method, comprising: wherein the first electronic component comprises a plurality of first exposed conductors and a plurality of second exposed conductors, wherein: the second electronic component is disposed on at least two of the plurality of second exposed conductors for performing the bonding process; and the inspection process is performed by at least one of the plurality of first exposed conductors non-overlapped to the second electronic component in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 4-10 are also objected as they depend on objected claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a method, comprising: wherein the inspection process comprises directing an electron beam toward at least one conductive portion of the first electronic component or the second electronic component in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claim 14 is also objected as it depends on objected claim 13.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest a method, comprising: wherein the inspection process comprises determining an electrical property between a first conductor and a second conductor of the first electronic component or the second electronic component by an inspecting image corresponding to the second conductor in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 18-20 are also allowed as they depend on allowed claim 17.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan et al (USPGPub 20260123527): discloses multiple semiconductors and bonding them to a substrate).
Guo et al (USPGPub 20250076184): discloses inspecting the package after a bonding process.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858