DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Figs. 3, 6A-7B), claims 1-3, 6, 8, 9, 14, 15 and 21-23 in the reply filed on 7/23/2026 is acknowledged.
However, claims 6 and 8 depend on claim 5, which is not the elected species. Thus, claims 6 and 8 are considered withdrawn. Thus, the corrected elected claims are 1-3, 9, 14, 15 and 21-23.
Claims 4-8, 10-13, 16-20 and 24-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/23/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a top surface of each of the sidewall portions is in contact with the printing layer” in claim 15. However, Figs. 7A and 7B shows printing layer BM is on AD1 instead of sidewall portions.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US 2021/0116964; hereinafter “Moon”) in view of Lee et al. (US 9,817,261; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Moon teaches an electronic apparatus (Figs. 1-13) comprising:
a display module (130, Fig. 1; also 430 and/or 432, Fig. 5, 6A, 6B, 8B 13) comprising a folding area (131c, Fig. 1), which is foldable around a folding axis (see folding axis A in Fig. 1) extending in a first direction (y-direction in Fig. 1), and a first non-folding area (such as 131b, Fig. 1) and a second non-folding area (such as 131a, Fig. 1), which are spaced apart from each other with the folding area therebetween in a second direction (x-direction in Fig. 1) crossing the first direction;
a window (412, Figs. 5, 13) disposed on the display module;
a protective layer (411, Figs. 5, 13) disposed on the window;
a support plate (450, Fig. 13) disposed below the display module; and
a housing (610, 620, Figs. 12-13) in which the display module and the support plate are accommodated,
wherein the support plate (450, Fig. 13) comprises:
a bottom portion (bottom of 450, Fig. 13) facing a lower portion of the housing (450 facing 6231 in Fig. 13); and
a sidewall portion (same as 4513) is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of the housing (lateral of 620 as shown in Fig. 13),
wherein the sidewall portion is disposed between a side surface (side surface of 430 in Fig. 13) of the display module and the lateral portion of the housing (as shown in Fig. 13).
Moon does not teach a plurality of sidewall portions, each of which is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of the housing, wherein each of the sidewall portions is disposed between a side surface of the display module and the lateral portion of the housing. However, Lee teaches a plurality of sidewall portions (sidewall portions of 230, Figs. 9, 10), each of which is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of a housing (500, Figs. 9, 10), wherein each of the sidewall portions is disposed between a side surface of a display module (100, 131, and/or 150, Figs. 9, 10) and a lateral portion (lateral portion of 230) of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of sidewall portions, each of which is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of the housing, wherein each of the sidewall portions is disposed between a side surface of the display module and the lateral portion of the housing in Moon, as taught by Lee, in order to protect the display module on different sides using more than one side wall portion.
Regarding claim 2, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1. Moon does not teach wherein the support plate comprises: a matrix comprising a filler; and a reinforced fiber composite material disposed inside the matrix and comprising at least one of a reinforced fiber or a carbon fiber. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the support plate comprises: a matrix comprising a filler; and a reinforced fiber composite material disposed inside the matrix and comprising at least one of a reinforced fiber or a carbon fiber in Moon in view of Lee, since selecting a known compound to meet requirements is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (citing Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). In this case, choosing other material, i.e. matrix with reinforced fiber composite material, allows better durability for repeated folding of the electronic apparatus, and this yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein the sidewall portions are bent from the bottom portion with predetermined curvature (see curvature between bottom of 450 and 4513 in Fig. 13 of Moon).
Regarding claim 21, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, and Moon further teaches wherein the display module (430 and/or 432) comprises a first area (main area of 430) comprising the first non-folding area, the folding area, and the second non-folding area, a bending area (bend area of 432, see Fig. 8B), and a second area (bottom flat area of 432, see Fig. 8B), which are arranged in the second direction,
wherein the bending area is bent around a bending axis extending in the first direction such that the second area overlaps the first area in a plan view (as shown in Fig. 8B),
wherein a width of the first area is greater than a width of each of the bending area and the second area in the first direction (width of 430 is much greater than width of 432, can refer to Figs. 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 22, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 21. Moon does not teach wherein the sidewall portions are spaced apart from each other with the bending area therebetween in a state in which the bending area is bent. However, Lee teaches the sidewall portions (230, Fig. 10) are spaced apart from each other with a bending area (bending area of 131 in Fig. 10) therebetween in a state in which the bending area is bent (as shown in Fig. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the sidewall portions are spaced apart from each other with the bending area therebetween in a state in which the bending area is bent in Moon in view of Lee, as taught by Lee, in order to provide signal transmission in and out of the display module without interfering with the sidewall portions.
Regarding claim 23, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 21, and Moon further teaches a support part (P4, Fig. 8B) disposed on the lower portion of the housing (P4 is disposed on the lower portion of housing 320 in Fig. 8 B), which is adjacent to the bending area.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Lee, and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 9,128,314; hereinafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claim 9, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1. Moon does not teach further comprising a cushion layer disposed between the side surface of the display module and each of the sidewall portions, wherein the cushion layer is in contact with the sidewall portions. However, Yoon teaches a cushion layer (238, Fig. 2) disposed between a side surface of a display module (side of 100, Fig. 2) and each of sidewall portions (four sides of 234, Fig. 2), wherein the cushion layer is in contact with the sidewall portions (as shown in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cushion layer disposed between the side surface of the display module and each of the sidewall portions, wherein the cushion layer is in contact with the sidewall portions in Moon in view of Lee, as taught by Yoon, in order to cushion sides of the display module.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Lee, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 8,711,308; hereinafter “Kwak”).
Regarding claim 14, Moon in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1. Moon does not teach a printing layer disposed along an edge of the protective layer and having a predetermined color. However, Kwak teaches a printing layer (same as black matrix 550, Figs. 4, 5) disposed along an edge of a protective layer (same as 600, Fig. 5) and having a predetermined color (black color). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a printing layer disposed along an edge of the protective layer and having a predetermined color in Moon in view of Lee, as taught by Kwak, in order to block light and improve contrast ratio of the display module.
Claims 1, 9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2023/0397355; hereinafter “Bae”) in view of Lee et al. (US 9,817,261; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Bae teaches an electronic apparatus (Figs. 4A, 4B, 15, 16) comprising:
a display module (250, Figs. 4A, 4B; 650 and/or 671, Figs. 15, 16) comprising a folding area (253), which is foldable around a folding axis (y-axis) extending in a first direction (y-axis direction, Figs. 4A, 4B), and a first non-folding area (such as 251) and a second non-folding area (such as 252), which are spaced apart from each other with the folding area therebetween in a second direction (x-axis direction) crossing the first direction;
a window (660, Figs. 15, 16) disposed on the display module;
a protective layer (672, Figs. 15, 16) disposed on the window;
a support plate (680, Figs. 15, 16) disposed below the display module; and
a housing (601, Figs. 15, 16) in which the display module and the support plate are accommodated, wherein the support plate comprises:
a bottom portion (bottom portion of 680, Figs. 15, 16) facing a lower portion of the housing (lower portion of 601); and
a sidewall portion (sidewall of 680) is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of the housing (lateral portion of 601 in Figs. 15, 16),
wherein the sidewall portion is disposed between a side surface (side of 650 and/or 671 as shown in Fig. 16) of the display module and the lateral portion of the housing;
Bae does not teach a plurality of sidewall portions, each of which is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of the housing, wherein each of the sidewall portions is disposed between a side surface of the display module and the lateral portion of the housing. However, Lee teaches a plurality of sidewall portions (sidewall portions of 230, Figs. 9, 10), each of which is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of a housing (500, Figs. 9, 10), wherein each of the sidewall portions is disposed between a side surface of a display module (100, 131, and/or 150, Figs. 9, 10) and a lateral portion (lateral portion of 230) of the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of sidewall portions, each of which is bent from the bottom portion to face a lateral portion of the housing, wherein each of the sidewall portions is disposed between a side surface of the display module and the lateral portion of the housing in Bae, as taught by Lee, in order to protect the display module on different sides using more than one side wall portion.
Regarding claim 9, Bae in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, and Bae further teaches a cushion layer (same as 690, Figs. 15, 16) disposed between the side surface of the display module and each of the sidewall portions, wherein the cushion layer is in contact with the sidewall portions (690 contacting 680 as shown in Figs. 15, 16).
Regarding claims 14-15, Bae in view of Lee teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 1, and Bae further teaches a printing layer (same as top layer of 690, Fig. 16) disposed along an edge of the protective layer (edge of 672, Fig. 16) and having a predetermined color (inherent since 690 can be light blocking member; see [0145]); wherein a top surface of each of the sidewall portions is in contact with the printing layer (top surface of 680 contacting 702 of 690 as shown in Fig. 16).
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841