Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 11/22/2024.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
3. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
It is not clear how a transceiver module which is collecting the reflected wave is also collecting the wave transmitting through the to-be-detected material.
Appropriate correction is required to bring clarity to the claim language.
Claim 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112 (a) due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-12, 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Moslehi (US 5049816 A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches, A detection apparatus (non-invasive sensor system 50, figure 2) , comprising: a transmitting module, configured to transmit a measurement electromagnetic wave (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2) to a surface of a side of a to-be-detected material (face down wafer as shown in figure 20); and a receiving and processing module (figure 2), configured to receive a first electromagnetic wave and a second electromagnetic wave (collecting waveguide arm 1 element 84, and collecting waveguide arm 2 element 85, as shown in figure 2), and obtain, based on the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave, an electrical characteristic parameter of the surface and/or a body of the to-be-detected material that are irradiated by the measurement electromagnetic wave (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13), wherein the first electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave reflected from the surface of the to-be-detected material, and the second electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave transmitting through the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, wherein the to-be-detected material comprises at least one doped surface of the to-be-detected material; the transmitting module is configured to transmit the measurement electromagnetic wave to the doped surface of the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13); the first electromagnetic wave comprises at least one reflected electromagnetic wave, the second electromagnetic wave comprises at least one transmitted electromagnetic wave (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13), the reflected electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave reflected from the doped surface of the to-be-detected material, and the transmitted electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave transmitting through the doped surface of the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13); and the receiving and processing module is configured to receive the reflected electromagnetic wave and the transmitted electromagnetic wave, and obtain, based on the reflected electromagnetic wave, an electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material, and obtain, based on the transmitted electromagnetic wave and the electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material, the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 2.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, wherein the to-be-detected material comprises a first doped surface and a second doped surface, and the first doped surface and the second doped surface are two opposite surfaces of the to-be-detected material (figures 1 and 2; lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10); the first electromagnetic wave comprises a first reflected electromagnetic wave and a second reflected electromagnetic wave; the first reflected electromagnetic wave is the measurement electromagnetic wave reflected from the first doped surface, and the second reflected electromagnetic wave is the measurement electromagnetic wave reflected from the second doped surface (figures 1 and 2; lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10); and the receiving and processing module is configured to obtain an electrical characteristic parameter of the first doped surface based on the first reflected electromagnetic wave, obtain an electrical characteristic parameter of the second doped surface based on the second reflected electromagnetic wave (figures 1 and 2; lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10), and obtain the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material based on the transmitted electromagnetic wave, the electrical characteristic parameter of the first doped surface and the electrical characteristic parameter of the second doped surface (line 66, col 15- line 17, col 16).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, further comprising: a first optical module, wherein the first optical module is configured to adjust an emission angle, a reflection angle and a transmission angle of the measurement electromagnetic wave (line 67, col 6 – line 22, col 7).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi et further teaches, an excitation light source, wherein the excitation light source is configured to focus on a measurement region of the to-be-detected material, and excite the to-be-detected material to detect the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material (A photon energy source (102) intermittently emits photon energy in the direction of the semiconductor wafer (20). Based on the differing microwave reflectance measurements following the injection and removal of photon energy, process control computer (76) calculates semiconductor substrate physical characteristics. These physical characteristics include semiconductor minority-carrier lifetime, electrical conductivity, doping level, and temperature(abstract). Also lines 32-51, column 6).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 9.
Moslehi et further teaches, wherein the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material comprises a carrier lifetime, and the excitation light source is configured to excite a carrier of the to-be-detected material to detect the carrier lifetime (abstract; lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10; line 66, col 15- line 17, col 16).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi et further teaches, wherein the transmitting module comprises a first transmitter, the receiving and processing module comprises a first receiver and a second receiver (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13), the first receiver is configured to receive the first electromagnetic wave, and the second receiver is configured to receive the second electromagnetic wave, and the receiving and processing module is configured to obtain the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material based on the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13), and obtain a type of the to-be-detected material based on the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material (lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10; line 66, col 15- line 17, col 16).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi et further teaches, wherein the transmitting module comprises a transmitter, the receiving and processing module comprises a receiver and a processor, and the receiver is connected to the processor, or the processor is integrated into the receiver (process control computer 76, Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding independent claim 16, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches, a detection method (figure 2), comprising: transmitting a measurement electromagnetic wave (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2) to a surface of a side of a to-be-detected material (face down wafer as shown in figure 20); and receiving a first electromagnetic wave and a second electromagnetic wave (collecting waveguide arm 1 element 84, and collecting waveguide arm 2 element 85, as shown in figure 2), and obtaining, based on the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave, an electrical characteristic parameter of the surface and/or a body of the to-be-detected material that are irradiated by the measurement electromagnetic wave (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13), wherein the first electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave reflected by the surface of the to-be-detected material, and the second electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave transmitting through the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection method according to claim 16.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches , wherein the to-be-detected material comprises at least one doped surface of the to-be-detected material; the transmitting a measurement electromagnetic wave to a surface of a side of a to-be-detected material, comprises: transmitting the measurement electromagnetic wave to the doped surface of the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13); the first electromagnetic wave comprises at least one reflected electromagnetic wave, the second electromagnetic wave comprises at least one transmitted electromagnetic wave, the reflected electromagnetic wave
comprises a first part of the measurement electromagnetic wave reflected from the doped surface of the to-be-detected material, and the transmitted electromagnetic wave comprises a second part of the measurement electromagnetic wave transmitting through the doped surface of the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13); and the receiving a first electromagnetic wave and a second electromagnetic wave, and obtaining, based on the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave, an electrical characteristic parameter of the surface and/or a body of the to-be-detected material that are irradiated by the measurement electromagnetic wave (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13), comprises: receiving the reflected electromagnetic wave and the transmitted electromagnetic wave, and obtaining, based on the reflected electromagnetic wave, an electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material, and obtaining, based on the transmitted electromagnetic wave and the electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material, the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection method according to claim 16,
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches , wherein the transmitting a measurement electromagnetic wave to a surface of a side of a to-be-detected material, comprises: transmitting, by a transmitting module, the measurement electromagnetic wave to the surface of a side of the to-be-detected material, wherein the transmitting module comprises a transmitter (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2, face down wafer as shown in figure 20, collecting waveguide arm 1 element 84, and collecting waveguide arm 2 element 85, as shown in figure 2).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection method according to claim 16,
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, wherein the receiving a first electromagnetic wave and a second electromagnetic wave, and obtaining, based on the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave (figures 1 and 2), an electrical characteristic parameter of the surface and/or a body of the to-be-detected material that are irradiated by the measurement electromagnetic wave, comprises: receiving, by a receiving and processing module, the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave, and obtaining, by the receiving and processing module based on the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2, face down wafer as shown in figure 20, collecting waveguide arm 1 element 84, and collecting waveguide arm 2 element 85, as shown in figure 2), the electrical characteristic parameter of each of the surface and the body of the to-be-detected material that are irradiated by the measurement electromagnetic wave, wherein the receiving and processing module comprises a receiver and a processor, and the receiver is connected to the processor, or the processor is integrated into the receiver (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2, face down wafer as shown in figure 20, collecting waveguide arm 1 element 84, and collecting waveguide arm 2 element 85, as shown in figure 2, lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10; line 66, col 15- line 17, col 16).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claims 3, 6-8, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moslehi (US 5049816 A) and in view of Klingenbeck et al (US 4805627 A).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 2.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, wherein the receiving and processing module is configured to obtain an electrical characteristic of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material based on the reflected electromagnetic wave, and calculate the electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material based on a value of the electrical characteristic (microwave frequency source has the ability to vary or scan frequencies. Ability to scan electromagnetic signal frequencies increases the flexibility of sensor system 50. By frequency scanning within the microwave source the microwave energy can penetrate different silicon substrate depths, thereby permitting semiconductor substrate conductivity and lifetime profiling. Frequency scanning, for example, is useful in determining physical properties such as substrate lifetime or dopant levels versus depth. Semiconductor substrate profiling in this manner permits the user to identify varying regions of substrate purity, lifetime, and other physical characteristics. process control computer 76 converts measured signals corresponding to the incident power, reflected power, and collected power values into substrate lifetime and substrate temperature and/or conductivity measurements. Process control computer 76 may, for example, contain look-up tables that translate the collected microwave reflectance transient lifetime data (or, more precisely, the ratio of collected microwave power in the receiving waveguide to the transmitted microwave power in the emitter
waveguide) to substrate doping level or impurity concentration characteristics. Process control computer 76 may, for example, include a program that uses look-up tables by correlating measured microwave reflectance values with known values of semiconductor wafer conductivity and substrate temperature values. These tables are also useful to determine values for substrate sheet resistance or to detect process end-point time during semiconductor wafer cleaning processes. The thermal equilibrium substrate conductivity (light source off) measurement can be used to extract substrate temperature and/or doping. Moreover, the transient conductivity measurements with chopped light source allow substrate lifetime measurements (lines 21, col 9 -line 57, col 10); and the receiving and processing module is further configured to calculate an intermediate parameter based on the transmitted electromagnetic wave, and use a difference between the intermediate parameter and the electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material as the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material (Generally, the semiconductor substrate surface layer generates the electron-hole pairs at the semiconductor wafer surface closest to light source 102, but the excess photo-generated pairs diffuse throughout the rest of the substrate. As the pairs diffuse through the semiconductor substrate, gradients of electrons and holes appear within the substrate. Thus, at the semiconductor wafer 20 surface closest to light source 102, an electron-hole pair generation region exists; at the semiconductor wafer 20 surface opposite the light source 102 an electron-hole pair recombination region exits. Moving from the generation region to the recombination region decreasing levels of photo-generated carriers appear. By scanning the microwave frequency between 10-30 GHz, sensor system 50 of the present invention may disclose these gradients and be used for lifetime profiling. Higher frequencies reveal the surface characteristics such as surface recombination velocity whereas lower microwave probe frequencies can provide more information about bulk recombination (line 66, col 15- line 17, col 16).
Moslehi is silent about obtaining an electrical characteristic image and a pixel grayscale value of the electrical characteristic image.
Klingenbeck et al (US 4805627 A) teaches, The data acquired in a calibration mode, without the presence of the object 12, are stored in the first memory 28, whereas the data which are acquired during an actual examination mode are stored in the second data memory 30. The outputs of the two memories 28 and 30 are supplied to a computer 32. The data from the two memories 28 and 30 are combined with each other in the computer 32, as described in greater detail below. The respective position 1 of the array 14 is thereby taken into consideration. The computer 32 identifies the three-dimensional distribution of the dielectric constants .epsilon. in the examined object 12. The output of the computer 32 is supplied to an image display unit 34 or to some other recording device. A section through the three-dimensional distribution can be selected (by hardware or software) at an input (not shown) of the computer 32, in a manner similar to that employed in computer tomography. A two-dimensional slice through the object 12 is thus shown in the image display unit 34. Based on need or interest, some other slice presentation can be selected. Three-dimensional presentations are also possible, wherein the viewing direction can be selected. As stated above, the microwave detector array 14 documents the radiation transmitted and scattered by the object 12. The individual detectors 14a of the detector array 14 can be arranged on a flat, cylindrical or spherical surface. In the embodiment shown in the drawing, a flat surface F is used. The displacement of the array 14 within the path .DELTA.1 along the direction of maximum radiation propagation is undertaken in small steps. One set of data (amplitude and phase) for the location of each detector element 14a is identified in each step. In order to achieve an optimum resolution, the detector array 14 should cover a solid angle which is as large as possible. It is also possible to move the detector array 14 around the object 12. This is also preferably undertaken in steps along a circular orbit or path, schematically indicated by the double arrow 40. In this embodiment, an image can be generated with relatively few individual elements 14a. Linear mobility and rotational mobility of the detector array 14 can be simultaneously provided. A data set (amplitude and phase) for the location of each detector element 14a is registered for every linear step at each rotational angle. An angular position detector 41 identifies the rotational angle position .alpha.. The computer 32 is supplied with the output of the detector 41 so as to be informed of the angle position .alpha. (lines 11-66, column 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing for creating an image from the distribution of the dielectric constant data as taught by Klingenbeck et al (lines 11-66, column 6).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the process control computer 76 converts measured signals corresponding to the incident power, reflected power, and collected power values into substrate lifetime and substrate temperature and/or conductivity measurements. Process control computer 76 may, for example, contain look-up tables that translate the collected microwave reflectance transient lifetime data (or, more precisely, the ratio of collected microwave power in the receiving waveguide to the transmitted microwave power in the emitter waveguide) to substrate doping level or impurity concentration characteristics, as taught by Klingenbeck et al (lines 34-45, column 10).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection method according to claim 17.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, In the preferred embodiment, process control computer 76 converts measured signals corresponding to the incident power, reflected power, and collected power values into substrate lifetime and substrate temperature and/or conductivity measurements. Process control computer 76 may, for example, contain look-up tables that translate the collected microwave reflectance transient lifetime data (or, more precisely, the ratio of collected microwave power in the receiving waveguide to the transmitted microwave power in the emitter waveguide) to substrate doping level or impurity concentration characteristics. Process control computer 76 may, for example, include a program that uses look-up tables by correlating measured microwave reflectance values with known values of semiconductor wafer conductivity and substrate temperature values. These tables are also useful to determine values for substrate sheet resistance or to detect process end-point time during semiconductor wafer cleaning processes. The thermal equilibrium substrate conductivity (light source off) measurement can be used to extract substrate temperature and/or doping. Moreover, the transient conductivity measurements with chopped light source allow substrate lifetime measurements (lines 34-67, column 10). Also see (line 66, col 15- line 17, col 16).
Moslehi is silent about obtaining an electrical characteristic image of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material based on the reflected electromagnetic wave, and calculating the electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material based on a pixel grayscale value of the electrical characteristic image; and calculating an intermediate parameter based on the transmitted electromagnetic wave, and using a difference between the intermediate parameter and the electrical characteristic parameter of the doped surface of the to-be-detected material as the electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material.
Klingenbeck et al (US 4805627 A) teaches, (The data acquired in a calibration mode, without the presence of the object 12, are stored in the first memory 28, whereas the data which are acquired during an actual examination mode are stored in the second data memory 30. The outputs of the two memories 28 and 30 are supplied to a computer 32. The data from the two memories 28 and 30 are combined with each other in the computer 32, as described in greater detail below. The respective position 1 of the array 14 is thereby taken into consideration. The computer 32 identifies the three-dimensional distribution of the dielectric constants .epsilon. in the examined object 12. The output of the computer 32 is supplied to an image display unit 34 or to some other recording device. A section through the three-dimensional distribution can be selected (by hardware or software) at an input (not shown) of the computer 32, in a manner similar to that employed in computer tomography. A two-dimensional slice through the object 12 is thus shown in the image display unit 34. Based on need or interest, some other slice presentation can be selected. Three-dimensional presentations are also possible, wherein the viewing direction can be selected. As stated above, the microwave detector array 14 documents the radiation transmitted and scattered by the object 12. The individual detectors 14a of the detector array 14 can be arranged on a flat, cylindrical or spherical surface. In the embodiment shown in the drawing, a flat surface F is used. The displacement of the array 14 within the path .DELTA.1 along the direction of maximum radiation propagation is undertaken in small steps. One set of data (amplitude and phase) for the location of each detector element 14a is identified in each step. In order to achieve an optimum resolution, the detector array 14 should cover a solid angle which is as large as possible. It is also possible to move the detector array 14 around the object 12. This is also preferably undertaken in steps along a circular orbit or path, schematically indicated by the double arrow 40. In this embodiment, an image can be generated with relatively few individual elements 14a. Linear mobility and rotational mobility of the detector array 14 can be simultaneously provided. A data set (amplitude and phase) for the location of each detector element 14a is registered for every linear step at each rotational angle. An angular position detector 41 identifies the rotational angle position .alpha.. The computer 32 is supplied with the output of the detector 41 so as to be informed of the angle position .alpha. (lines 11-66, column 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing for creating an image from the distribution of the dielectric constant data as taught by Klingenbeck et al (lines 11-66, column 6).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the process control computer 76 converts measured signals corresponding to the incident power, reflected power, and collected power values into substrate lifetime and substrate temperature and/or conductivity measurements. Process control computer 76 may, for example, contain look-up tables that translate the collected microwave reflectance transient lifetime data (or, more precisely, the ratio of collected microwave power in the receiving waveguide to the transmitted microwave power in the emitter waveguide) to substrate doping level or impurity concentration characteristics, as taught by Klingenbeck et al (lines 34-45, column 10).
6. Claims 6-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moslehi (US 5049816 A) and in view of Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A)is silent about, wherein the transmitting module comprises a plurality of transmitters arranged in an array; and the receiving and processing module comprises a plurality of receivers arranged in an array.
Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) teaches, ([0040] FIG. 2A shows a perspective view of a terahertz imaging module 20a of the technology of the present description disposed over an imaging region 30 through which an assembly belt (not shown) or like device is used to sequentially deliver products (10a-10n, not shown). FIG. 2B shows a side view of the terahertz
imaging module 20a of FIG. 2A. Imaging module 20a includes a source 22 comprising a linear array of sources/emitters each emitting dedicated terahertz waves (i.e., radiation patterns) 26 across imaging region 30 to be received by corresponding detectors/sensors in detector 24. Both source 22 and detector 24 are coupled to power supply and/or communication circuitry 28. [0041] FIG. 3 shows a perspective view of an alternative terahertz imaging module 20b wherein both the source 22a and detector 24a are on the same side in relation to the imaging zone 30. Imaging module 20b incorporates a
transmission scenario wherein emitted waves 26a pass through imaging region 30 and then are reflected off of reflective surface 32 and back across the imaging region 30 as reflected waves 26b to be received by dedicated detector chips within detector 24a. [0042] Surface 32 is shown as a planar sheet in FIG. 3, however other shapes are contemplated, such as a concave, cylindrical, or other curvilinear reflective surface that focuses the emitted radiation back at the detector 24. [0043] It is also appreciated that the imaging module may incorporate both transmission and reflection characteristics of the embodiments of FIG. 2 and FIG. 3. The detector 24 and source 22 may also be located in the same enclosure in FIG. 3. [0044] In operation, sources 22 and detectors 24 are arranged in a linear fashion and a transmission mode image is produced. The source detector/pair 22/24 may be replaced with a transceiver or a retroactive detector as available in the art).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing a linear array of source/emitters as taught by Chang et al (figures 2, 3, paragraphs [0040]-[0044]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the each source/detector pair of the linear array may be configured to completely or partially rely on respective dedicated micro-lens optics, no large lens needed for whole array, enabling a compact scanner body while still supporting a wide scanning width, the detector sensors of the array of the terahertz wave scanner of the technology of the present description are configured to operate in parallel, thus supporting high-speed scanning and avoiding the need for raster scanning, as taught by Chang et al (paragraphs [001], [0012]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) and Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) teach the detection apparatus according to claim 6.
Moslehi et is silent about the limitation, wherein the plurality of receivers are arranged in an M×N array, and the plurality of transmitters are arranged in a X×Y array, M, N, X and Y are integers greater than or equal to 1, and M×N is equal to X×Y, or M×N is not equal to X×Y.
Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) further teaches, wherein the plurality of receivers are arranged in an M×N array, and the plurality of transmitters are arranged in a X×Y array, M, N, X and Y are integers greater than or equal to 1, and M×N is equal to X×Y, or M×N is not equal to X×Y (figures 2, 3, paragraphs [0040]-[0044]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing a linear array of source/emitters as taught by Chang et al (figures 2, 3, paragraphs [0040]-[0044]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the each source/detector pair of the linear array may be configured to completely or partially rely on respective dedicated micro-lens optics, no large lens needed for whole array, enabling a compact scanner body while still supporting a wide scanning width, the detector sensors of the array of the terahertz wave scanner of the technology of the present description are configured to operate in parallel, thus supporting high-speed scanning and avoiding the need for raster scanning, as taught by Chang et al (paragraphs [001], [0012]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Moslehi et is silent about the limitation, further comprising: a second optical module, wherein the second optical module is configured to focus the measurement electromagnetic wave, the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave.
Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) teaches, further comprising: a second optical module, wherein the second optical module is configured to focus the measurement electromagnetic wave, the first electromagnetic wave and the second electromagnetic wave ([0047] Each source element 56 and detector element 58 is equipped with a high-dielectric lens 60 to collimate the beam (e.g., wave 26a) that is received by the respective dedicated detector element 58. [0050] FIG. 5 shows a cross-sectional view of an alternative terahertz imaging module 50b having collimating/focusing discrete lenses 80 disposed between dielectric lenses 60 of the source arrays 52b and detector arrays 54b and the imaging region 66. The collimating/focusing discrete lenses 80 may be positioned and sized so that they are dedicated to each source 56/detector 58 pair to increase the directivity of the beam the terahertz radiation wave from each source 56. [0051] FIG. 6 shows a cross-sectional view of an alternative terahertz imaging module 50c having large concave 82 and convex 84 lenses disposed between dielectric lenses 60 of the source array 52c and detector array 54c and the imaging region 66 for a wider illumination/scanning area. Housing 70 is shown removed from the illustration of FIG. 6. [0052] FIG. 7 shows a cross-sectional view of an alternative terahertz imaging module 50d having horizontal curvilinear lenses 90 between dielectric lenses 60 of the source array 52d and detector array 54d and the imaging region 66. As seen in FIG. 7, the horizontal curvilinear lens 90 has a length longer than the source/detector arrays, and a cross-sectional curvilinear profile (e.g., semi-circular other curvilinear profile such as elliptical, parabolic, arc segment, etc.) in a plane aligned in a direction of the emitted radiation pattern and perpendicular to the linear orientation of the array of transmitters and array of detectors. Attachment means (e.g., boards 64 and wire bonding 62) are shown removed from FIG. 7). [0053] FIG. 8 shows a cross-sectional view of an alternative terahertz imaging module 50e having horizontal curvilinear lenses 92 between the source arrays 52e and detector arrays 54e and the imaging region 66. In this configuration, the source arrays 52e and detector arrays 54e are directly mounted on the flat surface of the horizontal curvilinear lenses 92. The horizontal curvilinear lens 92 has a length longer than the source/detector arrays, and a cross-sectional curvilinear profile (e.g., semi-circular other curvilinear profile such as elliptical, parabolic, arc segment, etc.) in a plane aligned in a direction of the emitted radiation pattern and perpendicular to the linear orientation of the array of transmitters and array of detectors.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing a second optical module for focusing the electromagnetic wave as taught by Chang et al (paragraphs [0047], [0051-0053).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the collimating/focusing discrete lenses 80 may be positioned and sized so that they are dedicated to each source 56/detector 58 pair to increase the directivity of the beam the terahertz radiation wave from each source 56, as taught by Chang et al (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) teaches, A detection apparatus (non-invasive sensor system 50, figure 2), comprising: an electromagnetic wave module, wherein the electromagnetic wave module is configured to transmit a measurement electromagnetic wave to a first doped surface and a second doped surface of a to-be-detected material (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2), and receive a third electromagnetic wave and a fourth electromagnetic wave, wherein the third electromagnetic wave comprises the
measurement electromagnetic wave reflected from the first doped surface and the second doped surface, and the fourth electromagnetic wave comprises the measurement electromagnetic wave transmitting through the to-be-detected material; and the electromagnetic wave transceiver module is further configured to obtain electrical characteristic parameters of the first doped surface and the second doped surface of the to-be-detected material and an electrical characteristic parameter of the body of the to-be-detected material based on the third electromagnetic wave and the fourth electromagnetic wave (figure 2, line 33, col 12 - line 14, column 13).
It is not clear how a transceiver module which is collecting the reflected wave is also collecting the wave transmitting through the to-be-detected material. Please see 112 rejection above).
Moleshi et al does not teach a transceiver and third and fourth electromagnetic wave.
Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) teaches, ([0044] In operation, sources 22 and detectors 24 are arranged in a linear fashion and a transmission mode image is produced. The source detector/pair 22/24 may be replaced with a transceiver or a retroactive detector as available in the art. [0040] FIG. 2A shows a perspective view of a terahertz imaging module 20a of the technology of the present description disposed over an imaging region 30 through which an
assembly belt (not shown) or like device is used to sequentially deliver products (10a-10n, not shown). FIG. 2B shows a side view of the terahertz imaging module 20a of FIG. 2A. Imaging module 20a includes a source 22 comprising a linear array of sources/emitters each emitting dedicated terahertz waves (i.e., radiation patterns) 26 across imaging region 30 to be received by corresponding detectors/sensors in detector 24. Both source 22 and detector 24 are coupled to power supply and/or communication circuitry 28. [0041] FIG. 3 shows a perspective view of an alternative terahertz imaging module 20b wherein both the source 22a and detector 24a are on the same side in relation to the imaging zone 30. Imaging module 20b incorporates a transmission scenario wherein emitted waves 26a pass through imaging region 30 and then are reflected off of reflective surface 32 and back across the imaging region 30 as reflected waves 26b to be received by dedicated detector chips within detector 24a. [0042] Surface 32 is shown as a planar sheet in FIG. 3, however other shapes are contemplated, such as a concave, cylindrical, or other curvilinear reflective surface that focuses the emitted radiation back at the detector 24. [0043] It is also appreciated that the imaging module may incorporate both transmission and reflection characteristics of the embodiments of FIG. 2 and FIG. 3. The detector 24 and source 22 may also be located in the same enclosure in FIG. 3. [0044] In operation, sources 22 and detectors 24 are arranged in a linear fashion and a transmission mode image is produced. The source detector/pair 22/24 may be replaced with a transceiver or a retroactive detector as available in the art).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing a linear array of source/emitters as taught by Chang et al (figures 2, 3, paragraphs [0040]-[0044]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the each source/detector pair of the linear array may be configured to completely or partially rely on respective dedicated micro-lens optics, no large lens needed for whole array, enabling a compact scanner body while still supporting a wide scanning width, the detector sensors of the array of the terahertz wave scanner of the technology of the present description are configured to operate in parallel, thus supporting high-speed scanning and avoiding the need for raster scanning, as taught by Chang et al (paragraphs [001], [0012]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) and Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) teach the detection apparatus according to claim 13.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, wherein at least two electromagnetic wave transceiver modules are provided, and the at least two electromagnetic wave transceiver modules operate in a time division mode, or the at least two electromagnetic wave transceiver modules operate in a frequency division mode (figures 6 and 7 an their description in col 14, 15 and 18; lines 23-29, column 7; lines 1-15, col 10)); in a case of the time division mode, the at least two electromagnetic wave transceiver modules transmit and receive the measurement electromagnetic waves at different times (figures 6 and 7 an their description in col 14, 15 and 18); in the case of the frequency division mode, the at least two electromagnetic wave transceiver modules transmit and receive the measurement electromagnetic waves of different frequencies (lines 23-29, column 7; lines 1-15, col 10).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Moslehi (US 5049816 A) and Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) teach the detection apparatus according to claim 13.
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) further teaches, wherein the electromagnetic wave module comprises a transmitter, a receiver and a processor, and the receiver is connected to the processor, or the processor is integrated into the receiver (transmitting antenna shown in figure 2, collecting waveguide arm 1 element 84, and collecting waveguide arm 2 element 85, as shown in figure 2, processor 76, figure 1 and 2).
Moslehi (US 5049816 A) does not teach a transceiver.
Chang et al (US 2020/0150032 A1) wherein the electromagnetic wave transceiver module comprises a transceiver, the transceiver comprises a transmitter, a receiver and a processor, and the receiver is connected to the processor, or the processor is integrated into the receiver (Paragraphs [0122], [0124], [0125], [0076], [0077]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Moslehi by providing a linear array of source/emitters as taught by Chang et al (figures 2, 3, paragraphs [0040]-[0044]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the each source/detector pair of the linear array may be configured to completely or partially rely on respective dedicated micro-lens optics, no large lens needed for whole array, enabling a compact scanner body while still supporting a wide scanning width, the detector sensors of the array of the terahertz wave scanner of the technology of the present description are configured to operate in parallel, thus supporting high-speed scanning and avoiding the need for raster scanning, as taught by Chang et al (paragraphs [001], [0012]).
Closest Prior art
7. The following relevant prior art of record is not cited in the office action.
Okamura et al (US 2005/0156607 A1) teaches, An interface detection apparatus detects a position of a hidden interface between first and second materials, the first material having a different physical property from the second material. The apparatus encompasses (a) an irradiation mechanism configured to irradiate an electromagnetic wave onto a sample implemented by the first and second materials, (b) a detection mechanism configured to detect the electromagnetic wave that has passed through the sample, and (c) a traveling mechanism configured to change the relative position of the hidden interface with respect to the position of the detection mechanism.
Shimatani et al (US 2022/0223747 A1) teaches, An electromagnetic wave detector includes a light-receiving element, an insulating film, a two-dimensional material layer, a first electrode part, and a second electrode part. The light-receiving element includes a first semiconductor portion of a first conductivity type and a second semiconductor portion. The second semiconductor portion is joined to the first semiconductor portion. The second semiconductor portion is of a second conductivity type. The insulating film is disposed on the light-receiving element. The insulating film has an opening portion. The two-dimensional material layer is electrically connected to the first semiconductor portion in the opening portion. The two-dimensional material layer extends from on the opening portion onto the insulating film. The first electrode part is disposed on the insulating film. The first electrode part is electrically connected to the two-dimensional material layer. The second electrode part is electrically connected to the second semiconductor portion.
Fraundorfer et al (US 2021/0373098 A1) teaches, A system includes a table and a material detection system. The material detection system includes a transmit chain configured to generate first radio frequency (RF) signals and a transmit probe configured to transmit the first RF signals towards an item through open space. The material detection system also includes a receive probe configured to receive second RF signals from the item through open space, where the second RF signals have one or more characteristics indicative of one or more materials within the item. The material detection system further includes a receive chain configured to process the second RF signals and at least one processing device configured to identify the one or more materials within the item using nuclear quadrupole resonance (NQR) spectrometry based on the processed second RF signals. The transmit and receive probes are positioned in an upper portion of the table.
Fukasawa et al (US 2001/0029436 A1) teaches, An electrical characteristics evaluation apparatus comprises a terahertz pulse light source that irradiates terahertz pulse light onto a semiconductor material, a light detector that detects pulse light having been transmitted through or having been reflected by the semiconductor material, a measurement device that obtains a spectral transmittance or a spectral reflectance by using a time-series waveform of the electric field intensity of the transmitted pulse light or the reflected pulse light and an arithmetic operation unit that calculates an electrical characteristics parameter of the semiconductor material based upon the spectral transmittance or the spectral reflectance. By adopting this electrical characteristics evaluation apparatus and the corresponding electrical characteristics evaluation method, the electrical material quantities (such as the carrier density, the mobility, the resistivity and the electrical conductivity) of the measurement target, i.e., the semiconductor material, can be measured and inspected without contaminating or damaging the semiconductor material.
Wang (US 2023/0111160 A1) teaches, A method for measuring an element concentration of a material includes: a material sample is irradiated with first electromagnetic waves; second electromagnetic waves radiated by the material sample are obtained under the action of the first electromagnetic waves; material property parameters of the material sample are determined by detecting the second electromagnetic waves; and an element concentration of the material sample is determined according to the material property parameters.
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/23/2026