DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10, 11, & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (EP 4250266 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Sato discloses: A computer-implemented method for precautionary planning for a vehicle having an Automated Driving System (ADS) function having an Operational Design Domain (ODD) the method comprising: (Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0010 & 0023 a method for driving a vehicle by an automated driving system, including executing automated driving operations in an operational design domain [i.e. a method for a vehicle having an Automated Driving System (ADS) function having an Operational Design Domain (ODD)]. At least Paragraph 0016 of Sato discloses wherein the method may be implemented by a computer, including a ROM storing programs, and a CPU for performing computational processing [i.e. the method is computer-implemented])
obtaining data comprising information about a high-risk state for the vehicle along a route to be travelled by the vehicle, wherein the high-risk state is defined based on a geographical area along the route to be travelled and a set of potential states of the vehicle within the geographical area; (Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0039, 0042, & 0044 wherein an intersection may be defined as a risk area, in which contact or collision with other traffic participants [i.e. high-risk state for the vehicle] may occur if the vehicle is brought to a stop in the no-stopping area [i.e. the high-risk state is defined based on a geographical area along the route to be travelled and a set of potential states of the vehicle within the geographical area]. At least Paragraphs 0037 – 0039 & Figure 4(a) of Sato, below, describe and depict such an intersection, wherein the risk area is indicated as Element RA. At least Paragraphs 0011, 0017, & 0052 of Sato further disclose wherein map information, acquired from a map information database, may be used to acquire road data, as well as search for target stopping locations for a risk mitigation function of the vehicle [i.e. obtaining data comprising information about a high-risk state for the vehicle along a route to be travelled by the vehicle])
obtaining data comprising information about an Undesired Unexpected ODD (UUODD) exit area along the route to be travelled by the vehicle based on a current trajectory of the vehicle and a nominal Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) configuration of the vehicle, wherein the UUODD exit area is defined based on a likelihood that the vehicle will enter the high-risk state in response to the MRM being executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area; and (Sato discloses in at least Paragraph 0044 wherein a vicinity of an area near an intersection may be defined, such that the vicinity [i.e. Undesired Unexpected ODD (UUODD) exit area along the route to be travelled by the vehicle] is defined as a predetermined area in front of the intersection which, if the RMF [risk mitigation function, mapping to the MRM of the present claimed invention] is activated to decelerate the vehicle at a predetermined rate, the vehicle would come to a stop inside the no-stop area [i.e. the UUODD exit area is defined based on a likelihood that the vehicle will enter the high-risk state in response to the MRM being executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area based on a current trajectory of the vehicle and a nominal Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) configuration of the vehicle])
controlling the vehicle based on the UUODD exit area in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state. (Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0043 – 0044 & 0102 – 0103 wherein in the event that the RMF is activated in the vicinity of an intersection [i.e. based on the UUODD exit area], the vehicle is controlled to select a target stopping location that the vehicle can reach without cutting across the oncoming lane at the intersection, and the vehicle is controlled to execute the RMF based on said target stopping location [i.e. controlling the vehicle based on the UUODD exit area in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state])
Regarding Claim 7:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the geographical area is a pre-defined geographical area on a digital map accessible by the ADS function.
Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0011, 0017, & 0052 wherein map information, acquired from a map information database, may be used to acquire road data including the positions of roads and lanes, as well as search for target stopping locations for a risk mitigation function of the vehicle [i.e. wherein the geographical area is a pre-defined geographical area on a digital map accessible by the ADS function].
Regarding Claim 10:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a computing device, causes the computing device to carry out the method according to claim 1.
Sato discloses in at least Paragraph 0016 wherein a vehicle control part may be provided to implement the disclosed functions, including a ROM storing programs, and a CPU to perform computational processing [i.e. non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a computing device].
Regarding Claim 11:
Sato discloses: A system for precautionary planning for a vehicle having an Automated Driving System (ADS) function having an Operational Design Domain (ODD) the system comprising control circuitry configured to: (Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0010 & 0023 driving a vehicle by an automated driving system, including executing automated driving operations in an operational design domain [i.e. a system for precautionary planning for a vehicle having an Automated Driving System (ADS) function having an Operational Design Domain (ODD)]. At least Paragraph 0016 of Sato discloses wherein the system may be implemented by a computer, including a ROM storing programs, and a CPU for performing computational processing [i.e. the system comprising control circuitry])
obtain data comprising information about a high-risk state for the vehicle along a route to be travelled by the vehicle, wherein the high-risk state is defined based on a geographical area along the route to be travelled and a set of potential states of the vehicle within the geographical area; (Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0039, 0042, & 0044 wherein an intersection may be defined as a risk area, in which contact or collision with other traffic participants [i.e. high-risk state for the vehicle] may occur if the vehicle is brought to a stop in the no-stopping area [i.e. the high-risk state is defined based on a geographical area along the route to be travelled and a set of potential states of the vehicle within the geographical area]. At least Paragraphs 0037 – 0039 & Figure 4(a) of Sato, above, describe and depict such an intersection, wherein the risk area is indicated as Element RA. At least Paragraphs 0011, 0017, & 0052 of Sato further disclose wherein map information, acquired from a map information database, may be used to acquire road data, as well as search for target stopping locations for a risk mitigation function of the vehicle [i.e. obtaining data comprising information about a high-risk state for the vehicle along a route to be travelled by the vehicle])
obtain data comprising information about an Undesired Unexpected ODD (UUODD) exit area along the route to be travelled by the vehicle based on a current trajectory of the vehicle and a nominal Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) configuration of the vehicle, wherein the unplanned ODD exit area is defined based on a likelihood that the vehicle will enter the high-risk state in response to the MRM being executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area; and (Sato discloses in at least Paragraph 0044 wherein a vicinity of an area near an intersection may be defined, such that the vicinity [i.e. Undesired Unexpected ODD (UUODD) exit area along the route to be travelled by the vehicle] is defined as a predetermined area in front of the intersection which, if the RMF [risk mitigation function, mapping to the MRM of the present claimed invention] is activated to decelerate the vehicle at a predetermined rate, the vehicle would come to a stop inside the no-stop area [i.e. the UUODD exit area is defined based on a likelihood that the vehicle will enter the high-risk state in response to the MRM being executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area])
control the vehicle based on the UUODD exit area in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state. (Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0043 – 0044 & 0102 – 0103 wherein in the event that the RMF is activated in the vicinity of an intersection [i.e. based on the UUODD exit area], the vehicle is controlled to select a target stopping location that the vehicle can reach without cutting across the oncoming lane at the intersection, and the vehicle is controlled to execute the RMF based on said target stopping location [i.e. controlling the vehicle based on the UUODD exit area in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state])
Regarding Claim 14:
A vehicle comprising: a system according to claim 11.
Sato discloses in at least Paragraphs 0010 & 0023 wherein an automated driving system may be used to control a vehicle according to the manner of the disclosure [i.e. a vehicle comprising a system].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 9, & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (EP 4250266 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Lathrop (US 2017/0259832 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
The method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the vehicle comprises: in response to the ADS function being currently inactive, inhibiting activation of the ADS function within the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose inhibiting activation of the ADS function within the UUODD exit area/vicinity of the intersection.
However Lathrop teaches in at least Paragraphs 0021 & 0022 wherein a semi-autonomous vehicle may prevent activation of an autonomous driving mode if it is determined that the vehicle is approaching a geofence within a predetermined amount of time [i.e. within a UUODD exit area , the geofence defining a location in which autonomous driving is discouraged or prohibited [i.e. in response to the ADS function being currently inactive, inhibiting activation of the ADS function within the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the prevention of activation of autonomous driving based on approaching an area where autonomous driving is discouraged as taught by Lathrop.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Lathrop in at least Paragraphs 0021, 0022, & 0064, the autonomous operation of the vehicle may be prevented where not appropriate for use, improving the safety of the vehicle operation in risky areas.
Regarding Claim 8:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling of the vehicle is performed prior to the vehicle entering the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the controlling of the vehicle is performed prior to the vehicle entering the UUODD exit area.
However Lathrop teaches in at least Paragraphs 0022, 0044, & 0057, as well as in at least Claims 1 & 2 wherein a plurality of predetermined periods of time may be set as a vehicle approaches a geofenced area where autonomous driving is discouraged or prohibited, such that a warning is provided to a driver to assume driving of a vehicle in a first period of time, with control taking place to perform a minimum risk maneuver in a second period of time subsequent to the first, prior to the entry into the geofenced area [i.e. wherein the controlling of the vehicle is performed prior to the vehicle entering the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the control of a vehicle prior to entering the geofenced area in multiple predetermined time intervals as taught by Lathrop.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Lathrop in at least Paragraphs 0022 & 0057, the vehicle may be controlled in a manner to ensure that the level of automated control is appropriate when passing through a risk area, improving the safety of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 9:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the controlling of the vehicle is performed during a defined time-window immediately preceding a subsequent time window when the vehicle is expected to traverse the UUODD exit area.
Lathrop teaches in at least Paragraphs 0022, 0044, & 0057, as well as in at least Claims 1 & 2 wherein a plurality of predetermined periods of time may be set as a vehicle approaches a geofenced area where autonomous driving is discouraged or prohibited, such that a warning is provided to a driver to assume driving of a vehicle in a first period of time [i.e. during a defined time-window immediately preceding a subsequent time window when the vehicle is expected to traverse the UUODD exit area], with control taking place to perform a minimum risk maneuver in a second period of time subsequent to the first, prior to the entry into the geofenced area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the control of a vehicle prior to entering the geofenced area in a first time window prior to a second time window, prior to entry into a geofenced area as taught by Lathrop.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Lathrop in at least Paragraphs 0022 & 0057, the vehicle may be controlled in a manner to ensure that the level of automated control is appropriate when passing through a risk area, improving the safety of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 12:
The system according to claim 11, wherein control circuitry is configured to control the vehicle by: in response to the ADS function being currently inactive, inhibiting activation of the ADS function within the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose inhibiting activation of the ADS function within the UUODD exit area/vicinity of the intersection.
However Lathrop teaches in at least Paragraphs 0021 & 0022 wherein a semi-autonomous vehicle may prevent activation of an autonomous driving mode if it is determined that the vehicle is approaching a geofence within a predetermined amount of time [i.e. within a UUODD exit area , the geofence defining a location in which autonomous driving is discouraged or prohibited [i.e. in response to the ADS function being currently inactive, inhibiting activation of the ADS function within the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the prevention of activation of autonomous driving based on approaching an area where autonomous driving is discouraged as taught by Lathrop.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Lathrop in at least Paragraphs 0021, 0022, & 0064, the autonomous operation of the vehicle may be prevented where not appropriate for use, improving the safety of the vehicle operation in risky areas.
Claim(s) 3 - 5 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (EP 4250266 A1) as applied to claims 1 & 11 above, and further in view of Packer (US 2020/0086855 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
The method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the vehicle comprises: in response to the ADS function being currently active, updating the trajectory of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the trajectory of a vehicle is updated in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
However Packer teaches in at least Paragraph 0078 wherein a point in a collision risk zone may include areas proximate to an intersection, within a specified threshold distance [i.e. a UUODD exit area as defined above]. At least Paragraphs 0037 – 0039 of Packer further teach wherein a potential collision zone is determined, with offset distances in accordance with safe distances from surrounding agents. Based on the determination that a collision in the collision zone is possible, the planned path associated with the vehicle may be changed, including the change of vehicle lane or the slowing of the vehicle, as well as determining a safe stop position, such that in an example, changing the lane associated with the vehicle path preemptively may result in a reduced yield time as taught in at least Paragraphs 0022 & 0096 of Packer [i.e. updating the trajectory of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the adjustment of vehicle trajectory in anticipation of a yield maneuver when in a potential collision zone as taught by Packer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Packer in at least Paragraph 0022, the yield time may be reduced in the event that such a maneuver must be executed by preemptively controlling the vehicle to a safer state.
Regarding Claim 4:
The method according to claim 3, wherein updating a trajectory of the vehicle comprises: controlling a lateral motion of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the lateral motion of a vehicle is updated in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
However Packer teaches in at least Paragraph 0078 wherein a point in a collision risk zone may include areas proximate to an intersection, within a specified threshold distance [i.e. a UUODD exit area as defined above]. At least Paragraphs 0037 – 0039 of Packer further teach wherein a potential collision zone is determined, with offset distances in accordance with safe distances from surrounding agents. Based on the determination that a collision in the collision zone is possible, the planned path associated with the vehicle may be changed, including the change of vehicle lane, as well as determining a safe stop position, such that in an example, changing the lane associated with the vehicle path preemptively may result in a reduced yield time as taught in at least Paragraphs 0022 & 0096 of Packer [i.e. updating a trajectory of the vehicle comprises controlling a lateral motion of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the adjustment of vehicle trajectory by changing lanes in anticipation of a yield maneuver when in a potential collision zone as taught by Packer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Packer in at least Paragraph 0022, the yield time may be reduced in the event that such a maneuver must be executed by preemptively controlling the vehicle to a safer state.
Regarding Claim 5:
The method according to claim 3, wherein updating a trajectory of the vehicle comprises: controlling a speed of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the speed of a vehicle is controlled in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
However Packer teaches in at least Paragraph 0078 wherein a point in a collision risk zone may include areas proximate to an intersection, within a specified threshold distance [i.e. a UUODD exit area as defined above]. At least Paragraphs 0037 – 0039 of Packer further teach wherein a potential collision zone is determined, with offset distances in accordance with safe distances from surrounding agents. Based on the determination that a collision in the collision zone is possible, the planned path associated with the vehicle may be changed, including the change of vehicle speed to slow the vehicle, as well as determining a safe stop position, such that in an example, a reduced yield time may result as taught in at least Paragraphs 0022 & 0096 of Packer [i.e. updating a trajectory of the vehicle comprises controlling a speed of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the adjustment of vehicle trajectory by changing lanes in anticipation of a yield maneuver when in a potential collision zone as taught by Packer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Packer in at least Paragraph 0022, the yield time may be reduced in the event that such a maneuver must be executed by preemptively controlling the vehicle to a safer state.
Regarding Claim 13:
The system according to claim 11, wherein control circuitry is configured to control the vehicle by: in response to the ADS function being currently active, updating a trajectory of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the trajectory of a vehicle is updated in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
However Packer teaches in at least Paragraph 0078 wherein a point in a collision risk zone may include areas proximate to an intersection, within a specified threshold distance [i.e. a UUODD exit area as defined above]. At least Paragraphs 0037 – 0039 of Packer further teach wherein a potential collision zone is determined, with offset distances in accordance with safe distances from surrounding agents. Based on the determination that a collision in the collision zone is possible, the planned path associated with the vehicle may be changed, including the change of vehicle lane or the slowing of the vehicle, as well as determining a safe stop position, such that in an example, changing the lane associated with the vehicle path preemptively may result in a reduced yield time as taught in at least Paragraphs 0022 & 0096 of Packer [i.e. updating the trajectory of the vehicle in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the adjustment of vehicle trajectory in anticipation of a yield maneuver when in a potential collision zone as taught by Packer.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Packer in at least Paragraph 0022, the yield time may be reduced in the event that such a maneuver must be executed by preemptively controlling the vehicle to a safer state.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (EP 4250266 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2024/0109539 A1).
Regarding Claim 6:
The method according to claim 1, wherein controlling the vehicle comprises: in response to the ADS function being currently active, temporarily updating the MRM configuration to a different configuration than the nominal MRM configuration in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
Sato does not appear to specifically disclose updating the MRM configuration to reduce a likelihood of entering a high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area.
However Lee teaches in at least Paragraphs 0046 & 0059 wherein a minimum risk maneuver type may be determined and changed based on the characteristics of the road area to improve the safety of the minimum risk maneuver when executed. For example, at least Paragraph 0064 of Lee teaches wherein a time to complete a minimum risk maneuver type, such as a road shoulder stop, may be determined, and if the time is not within a defined criterion, the vehicle processor may change the minimum risk maneuver type from the road shoulder stop to the traffic lane stop, which is then used to control the vehicle as the minimum risk maneuver [i.e. temporarily updating the MRM configuration to a different configuration than the nominal MRM configuration in order to reduce the likelihood that the vehicle enters the high-risk state should the MRM be executed while the vehicle is in the UUODD exit area].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sato by incorporating the adjustment of minimum risk maneuver configuration for a vehicle to improve the safety of minimum risk maneuver execution as taught by Lee.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Lee in at least Paragraphs 0064 & 0105, the safety of the vehicle performing the minimum risk maneuver may be improved by determining an appropriate minimum risk maneuver to the current vehicle situation.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Yang (US 2023/0399018 A1): Yang recites a vehicle system for performing a minimum risk maneuver, including the determination of failure states in the vehicle and the determination of an appropriate minimum risk maneuver based on such. This may include a straight stop, out of lane stop, or current lane stop, with the type being determined based on factors such as sensor availability and the like.
Park (US 2020/0201323 A1): Park recites a safety control system for an autonomous vehicle, including the determination of faults in the control unit, and the performance of a safety action based on such. The determination of safety response may include determining a road profile, including if a designated safe zone or shoulder is available to pull over to, and selecting a stopping location based on such.
Kazemi (US 2024/0045428 A1): Kazemi recites a vehicle control system, including a vehicle emergency stoppage based on a severity level of a stoppage condition. A motion plan may be generated, including locations for the autonomous vehicle to stop at during travel, with locations being deselected based on their safety, such as being in an intersection or the like.
/CHRISTOPHER R CARDIMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661