DETAILED ACTION
Claims 31-39, 41-49 and 51-59 are pending. Claims 1-30, 40, 50 and 60 are canceled. Claims 31, 41 and 51 are amended. This is in response to Applicants’ arguments and amendments filed on June 24, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 31, 41 and 51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
The 112 rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Regarding the 101 rejection, the rejection is maintained because the computer program product is interpreted as a piece of software. Whether this software resides on any physical medium such as a hard drive or a CD, etc. does not make it eligible as one of the four patent eligible subject matters.
This action is Final.
Double Patenting
Claim 31-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,223,048. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features as follows:
Claim 31 Claims 1 & 9 of Patent 12,223,048
receiving a plurality of detection events concerning a plurality of security events occurring on multiple security-relevant subsystems within one or more computing platforms;
processing the plurality of detection events using a machine learning model to identify attack patterns defined within the plurality of detection events, thus defining one or more identified attack patterns;
defining a new customer specific technology rule based upon the one or more identified attack patterns; directly detecting security events on one or more pieces of customer technology using the new customer specific technology rule including:
detecting a currently ongoing activity within the one or more computing platforms; determining that the currently ongoing activity matches a portion of an identified attack pattern; and initiating an investigation concerning the currently ongoing activity to determine if the currently ongoing activity includes
additional aspects of the identified attack pattern;
directly executing a remedial action plan via the one or more pieces of customer technology.
receiving a plurality of detection events concerning a plurality of security events occurring on the multiple security-relevant subsystems within the one or more computing platforms;
processing the event repository using a machine learning model to identify attack patterns defined within the plurality of detection events stored within the event repository, thus defining one or more identified attack patterns;
defining a new detection rule based, at least in part, upon the one or more identified attack patterns and the one or more current detection rules, wherein defining the new detection rule includes: defining a universal rule;
(claim 9) initiating an investigation of current activity within the one or more computing platforms based, at least in part, upon the current activity being similar to the one or more identified attack patterns.
directly executing a remedial action plan via the one or more pieces of customer technology.
Claims 41-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,223,048. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the same reasoning presented in claim 31 rejection.
Claims 51-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19 and 27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,223,048. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the same reasoning presented in claim 31 rejection.
This is an anticipatory rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 41-49 are rejected because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because computer program product is interpreted as software per se. Note that the claims recite the computer program product residing on the computer readable medium (CRM) where the CRM is defined as hardware does not make the claim eligible. To overcome the rejection, Applicant can rewrite the claim as a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a computer program product having a plurality of instructions stored thereon etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub CA-2428192-C (hereinafter Newton) in view of Pub WO-2017193036-A1 (hereinafter Zhao) and further in view of Patent 10,313,379 (hereinafter Han)
Regarding claim 31, Newton discloses a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising:
receiving a plurality of detection events concerning a plurality of security events occurring on multiple security-relevant subsystems within one or more computing platforms (Figs. 1-3, pages 6-10 disclose the master NID 12 (Network Intelligence Database) with NID device agents for IDS 42, firewall 44, servers 46 (web,
email), PCs 48 and routers 50 to provide protection for any security event detected as an improved IDS);
Newton does not expressly disclose processing the plurality of detection events using a machine learning model to identify attack patterns defined within the plurality of detection events, thus defining one or more identified attack patterns. Zhao discloses analyzing events for malware using machine learning model such as Apriori, Support Vector, Neural network, etc. For example, Zhao provides an example to determine informative sequence patterns in the filename/filepath in order to differentiate legitimate filenames/filepaths from suspicious filenames/filepaths (Figs 1-2, 6 and par. [0025]-[0044] and [0054]-[0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newton with Zhao to further teach the aforementioned feature. One would have done so for dynamically detecting and analyzing malware in order to provide effective and accurate protection against malware with the utilization of machine learning models.
Newton discloses defining a new customer specific technology rule based upon the one or more identified attack patterns; directly detecting security events on one or more pieces of customer technology using the new customer specific technology rule (pages 9-11 disclose the Policy Enforcer allows an administrator to take conceptual ideas to configure services, and turns them into the technical rules sets that the devices require. Then, the NID device agents are agents that convert policy enforcer rules, which are in a generic format (e.g. universal rule) into specific rules for the device in question. For example, a NID device agent on a LINUX box, which turns the generic rule into a rule for the particular firewall technology on the LINUX box’s rule);
Newton discloses the Master NID comprises all customer NIDs in various platforms (pages 9-10: “…there are NID device agents for IDS 42, firewall 44, servers 46 (web, email), PCs 48 and routers 50…”. Also see the citation above for a policy designed particularly Linux OS). Hence, Newton teaches the new customer specific technology rule including:
detecting a currently ongoing activity within the one or more computing platforms and determining that the currently ongoing activity matches a portion of an identified attack pattern (any event detected not accepted by the policy enforcer is considered as an attack. In another word, any malicious event matched from the master NID will be identified as an attack pattern. See page 12 for the type of data the master NID stores). However, Newton does not expressly disclose in detail the new customer specific technology rule including:
initiating an investigation concerning the currently ongoing activity to determine if the currently ongoing activity includes additional aspects of the identified attack pattern. Han discloses a method for making security-related predictions by gathering information that includes both a plurality of signatures of a plurality of events that occurred on a plurality of computing systems (e.g. a plurality of devices in different platforms) in a consecutive time slots, where the gathered information to train a machine learning model to create a latent feature that represents security postures of the computing systems that correlate with signatures and incident labels and for each time slot in the consecutive time slots (Summary section). Han further discloses detecting a virus event to generate a signature of the virus detection event. Han also discloses signatures of the same events may be similar or identical. For example, a security product that produces a signature of a failed login attempt on one computing device may produce the same signature as the same product that observes a failed login attempt on a different computing device. In other aspect, different products may produce the same signatures for the same events (Fig. 3 and related text, the cited above is from col 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Newton and Zhao with Han to further teach the aforementioned feature. One would have done so using the malware prediction process based on machine learning models taught in Han to arrive at the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Newton discloses directly executing a remedial action plan via the one or more pieces of customer technology (page 10, last three paragraphs disclose the Policy Enhancer PE and NID agents work in tandem to provide remedial action).
Regarding claim 32, Newton discloses wherein the plurality of security events includes one or more of: Denial of Service (DoS) events; Distributed Denial of Service DDoS events; Man-in-the-Middle (MitM) events; phishing events; Password Attack events; SQL Injection events; Cross-Site Scripting (XSS) events; Insider Threat events; spamming events; malware events; web attacks; and exploitation events (pages 6-7 discloses a Network Intelligence database storing Hostility level on the Internet and Security event history).
Regarding claim 33, Newton discloses wherein the security-relevant subsystems include one or more of: CDN (i.e., Content Delivery Network) systems; DAM (i.e., Database Activity Monitoring) systems; UBA (i.e., User Behavior Analytics) systems; MDM (i.e., Mobile Device Management) systems; IAM (i.e., Identity and Access Management) systems; DNS (i.e., Domain Name Server) systems; Antivirus systems; operating systems; data lakes; data logs; security-relevant software applications; security-relevant hardware systems; and resources external to the computing platform (pages 6-7 discloses the Network Intelligence Database storing a large number of security-related properties).
Regarding claim 34, Newton discloses wherein the one or more computing platforms includes: a first computing platform of a first client; and at least a second computer platform of at least a second client (see claim 31 rejection for providing an IDS to a pluralities of customers).
Regarding claim 35, Newton discloses wherein one or more artifacts / log entries are associated with each of the plurality of detection events (Fig. 3 and pages 6-7 and 10-13 discloses there are different NID agents and each monitor each subsystem such as firewall, email server, enterprise PCs, etc.).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Newton and Zhao discloses wherein processing the event repository using a machine learning model to identify attack patterns defined within the plurality of detection events stored within the event repository includes: processing the event repository using a machine learning model to identify attack patterns defined within the plurality of detection events and their associated artifacts / log entries stored within the event repository (Zhao discloses using the more than one machine learning model to analyze events in a dataset. Newton discloses NID agents monitoring events across the plurality of security devices for identifying normal and abnormal data traffic patterns shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Newton and Zhao discloses soliciting human feedback concerning the one or more identified attack patterns; and utilizing the human feedback to train the machine learning model (Newton, pages 9-11 discloses using an administrator to defines rules for each customer based on current events obtained in the master database where the Policy Enforcer allows the administrator to take conceptual ideas to configure services, and turns them into the technical rules sets that the devices require. Then, the NID device agents are agents that convert policy enforcer rules, which are in a generic format (e.g. universal rule) into specific rules for the device in question).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Newton and Zhao discloses defining a new detection rule based, at least in part, upon the one or more identified attack patterns (see claim 31 rejection for similar claimed feature).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Newton and Zhao discloses modifying an existing detection rule based, at least in part, upon the one or more identified attack patterns (see claim 37 rejection. Moreover, Newton, page 10 discloses the Master NID feeds the customers' NIDs updates as new data are collected or changed).
Claims 41-49 and 51-49 are the system and product claims of claims 31-39. Therefore, claims 41-49 and 51-59 are rejected in view of claims 31-39 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry communication
/TRI M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432