DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-12 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the second action on the merits.
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 7 states “which is supplemented to the hydroponic culture medium tank (421) by means of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium storage device (43)”, this means is mentioned in paragraph 10 of the specification but does not appear to go into further details on the structure of the means. The examiner is interpreting this limitation as the tank stores a quantity of the medium and can have the medium transferred from the tank to the storage device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamy (PGPub #2021/0368691) in view of Pavel (EP #837968), and Oka et al. (US #6,088,958).
Regarding claim 1, Bellamy teaches a Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium, comprising: a plant fertilizer (Paragraphs 24, and 117); and a plant growth-promoting additive (Paragraphs 24, and 117); wherein the plant growth-promoting additive is selected from the group consisting of: vitamin B complex, seaweed essence, amino acid, microorganism (Paragraphs 24, and 117), and a combination thereof; but Bellamy does not explicitly teach that the plant is Houttuynia cordata, and that an electronic conductivity of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 0.4ms/cm and 2.0ms/cm.
However, Pavel does teach that the plant is Houttuynia cordata (Column 7, lines 5-10, and Column 8, lines 16-17). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plant be Houttuynia cordata because Bellamy and Pavel are both indoor plant growing systems. The motivation for having the plant be Houttuynia cordata is that Houttuynia cordata is a commonly eaten plant that also can be difficult to fully remove from an area when it is done being cultivated which makes it more beneficial to grow it in an indoor container as it prevents it from spreading outside the desired growing area. But Pavel does not explicitly teach that an electronic conductivity of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 0.4ms/cm and 2.0ms/cm.
However, Oka does teach that an electronic conductivity of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 0.4ms/cm and 2.0ms/cm (Column 10, line 51-Column 11, line 5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrical conductivity of the medium be between 0.4ms/cm to 2.0ms/cm because Bellamy and Oka are both indoor plant growing systems with a liquid medium. The motivation for having the electrical conductivity of the medium be between 0.4ms/cm to 2.0ms/cm is that it helps to have the growth medium be conducive to growing plants in an aqueous environment.
Regarding claim 7, Bellamy teaches a Houttuynia cordata hydroponic planting system comprising: a cultivating carrier (Paragraphs 16, and 17), comprising a case (Paragraphs 16, and 17, the exterior walls of the greenhouse form the case) and an accommodation room wrapped around by the case (Paragraphs 16, and 17, the interior of the greenhouse forms the room), a translucent portion being disposed on the case (Paragraphs 16, and 17, the walls and roof of a greenhouse are inherently translucent), in order for sunlight to go through the translucent portion to shine into the accommodation room for shining upon a plant (Paragraphs 16, and 17, the walls and roof of a greenhouse are inherently translucent which allows the sun to shine through which is how the green house is kept warm and the plants can grow); a hydroponic module (50, and Paragraph 117), disposed in the accommodation room of the cultivating carrier (Paragraphs 16, 17, and 117), and comprising at least one hydroponic culture medium tank for planting the plant (50, and 52 as seen in figure 2, and Paragraph 117); and a plant hydroponic culture medium storage device (12), connecting with the hydroponic module (12, 30, and 50 as seen in figure 1, and Paragraphs 117, and 118), wherein the plant hydroponic culture medium storage device provides a plant hydroponic culture medium (Paragraphs 117, and 118), which is supplemented to the hydroponic culture medium tank by means of the hydroponic culture medium storage device (12, 30, and 50 as seen in figure 1, and Paragraphs 117, and 118), the plant hydroponic culture medium comprising a plant fertilizer (Paragraphs 24, and 117) and a plant growth-promoting additive (Paragraphs 24, and 117), wherein the Houttuynia cordata growth-promoting additive is selected from the groups consisting of: vitamin B complex, seaweed essence, amino acid, microorganism (Paragraphs 24, and 117), and a combination thereof; But Bellamy does not teach that the plant is Houttuynia cordata; and that an electronic conductivity of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 0.4ms/cm and 2.0ms/cm.
However, Pavel does teach that the plant is Houttuynia cordata (Column 7, lines 5-10, and Column 8, lines 16-17). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plant be Houttuynia cordata because Bellamy and Pavel are both indoor plant growing systems. The motivation for having the plant be Houttuynia cordata is that Houttuynia cordata is a commonly eaten plant that also can be difficult to fully remove from an area when it is done being cultivated which makes it more beneficial to grow it in an indoor container as it prevents it from spreading outside the desired growing area. But Pavel does not explicitly teach that an electronic conductivity of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 0.4ms/cm and 2.0ms/cm.
However, Oka does teach that an electronic conductivity of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 0.4ms/cm and 2.0ms/cm (Column 10, line 51-Column 11, line 5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrical conductivity of the medium be between 0.4ms/cm to 2.0ms/cm because Bellamy and Oka are both indoor plant growing systems with a liquid medium. The motivation for having the electrical conductivity of the medium be between 0.4ms/cm to 2.0ms/cm is that it helps to have the growth medium be conducive to growing plants in an aqueous environment.
Claims 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamy (PGPub #2021/0368691) as modified by Pavel (EP #837968), and Oka et al. (US #6,088,958) as applied to claims 1, and 7 above, and further in view of Vergeldt et al. (PGPub #2023/0380359).
Regarding claim 2, Bellamy as modified by Pavel and Oka teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium according to claim 1, but Bellamy does not explicitly teach that a pH value of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 5.5 and 7.0. However, Vergeldt does teach that a pH value of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 5.5 and 7.0 (Paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pH value be between 5.5 and 7 because Bellamy and Vergeldt are both hydroponic plant growing systems. The motivation for having the pH value be between 5.5 and 7 is that it helps to keep the liquid fairly neutral which can help to promote plant growth.
Regarding claim 8, Bellamy as modified by Pavel and Oka teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic planting system according to claim 7, but Bellamy does not explicitly teach that a pH value of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 5.5 and 7.0. However, Vergeldt does teach that a pH value of the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium is between 5.5 and 7.0 (Paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pH value be between 5.5 and 7 because Bellamy and Vergeldt are both hydroponic plant growing systems. The motivation for having the pH value be between 5.5 and 7 is that it helps to keep the liquid fairly neutral which can help to promote plant growth.
Claims 3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamy (PGPub #2021/0368691) as modified by Pavel (EP #837968), and Oka et al. (US #6,088,958) as applied to claims 1, and 7 above, and further in view of McKnight et al. (US #11,981,611).
Regarding claim 3, Bellamy as modified by Pavel and Oka teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium according to claim 1, but does not teach that the microorganism is selected from the group consisting of: Azotobacter, lactic acid bacteria, phosphate solubilizer, yeast, potassium solubilizer, Bacillus subtilis, and a combination thereof. However, McKnight does teach that the microorganism is selected from the group consisting of: Azotobacter (Column 90, lines 27-36, and Column 91, lines 8-22), lactic acid bacteria, phosphate solubilizer, yeast, potassium solubilizer, Bacillus subtilis, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the microorganism be Azotobacter because Bellamy and McKnight are both liquid fertilizer systems that have microorganisms. The motivation for having the microorganism be Azotobacter is that it can help to inhibit nitrificiation of the system and can help improve plant growth.
Regarding claim 9, Bellamy as modified by Pavel and Oka teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic planting system according to claim 7, but does not teach that the microorganism is selected from the group consisting of: Azotobacter, lactic acid bacteria, phosphate solubilizer, yeast, potassium solubilizer, Bacillus subtilis, and a combination thereof. However, McKnight does teach that the microorganism is selected from the group consisting of: Azotobacter (Column 90, lines 27-36, and Column 91, lines 8-22), lactic acid bacteria, phosphate solubilizer, yeast, potassium solubilizer, Bacillus subtilis, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the microorganism be Azotobacter because Bellamy and McKnight are both liquid fertilizer systems that have microorganisms. The motivation for having the microorganism be Azotobacter is that it can help to inhibit nitrificiation of the system and can help improve plant growth.
Claims 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamy (PGPub #2021/0368691) as modified by Pavel (EP #837968), and Oka et al. (US #6,088,958) as applied to claims 1, and 7 above, and further in view of Suntych (PGPub #2018/0000028).
Regarding claim 4, Bellamy as modified by Pavel and Oka teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium according to claim 1, but does not teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts, which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf, juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. However, Suntych does teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts (Paragraphs 49, and 60), which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf (Paragraph 60, Camphor oil is made from camphor leaf), juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the medium have a camphor leaf extract because Bellamy and Suntych are both soilless plant growing systems that add additives to the growing medium. The motivation for having the medium have a camphor leaf extract is that it helps to inhibit microbial growth in the medium to help the plants grow.
Regarding claim 10, Bellamy as modified by Pavel and Oka teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic planting system according to claim 7, but does not teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts, which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf, juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. However, Suntych does teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts (Paragraphs 49, and 60), which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf (Paragraph 60, Camphor oil is made from camphor leaf), juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the medium have a camphor leaf extract because Bellamy and Suntych are both soilless plant growing systems that add additives to the growing medium. The motivation for having the medium have a camphor leaf extract is that it helps to inhibit microbial growth in the medium to help the plants grow.
Claims 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamy (PGPub #2021/0368691) as modified by Pavel (EP #837968), Oka et al. (US #6,088,958), and Vergeldt et al. (PGPub #2023/0380359) as applied to claims 2, and 8 above, and further in view of Suntych (PGPub #2018/0000028).
Regarding claim 5, Bellamy as modified by Pavel, Oka, and Vergeldt teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium according to claim 2, but does not teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts, which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf, juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. However, Suntych does teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts (Paragraphs 49, and 60), which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf (Paragraph 60, Camphor oil is made from camphor leaf), juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the medium have a camphor leaf extract because Bellamy and Suntych are both soilless plant growing systems that add additives to the growing medium. The motivation for having the medium have a camphor leaf extract is that it helps to inhibit microbial growth in the medium to help the plants grow.
Regarding claim 11, Bellamy as modified by Pavel, Oka, and Vergeldt teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic planting system according to claim 8, but does not teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts, which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf, juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. However, Suntych does teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts (Paragraphs 49, and 60), which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf (Paragraph 60, Camphor oil is made from camphor leaf), juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the medium have a camphor leaf extract because Bellamy and Suntych are both soilless plant growing systems that add additives to the growing medium. The motivation for having the medium have a camphor leaf extract is that it helps to inhibit microbial growth in the medium to help the plants grow.
Claims 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellamy (PGPub #2021/0368691) as modified by Pavel (EP #837968), Oka et al. (US #6,088,958), and McKnight et al. (US #11,981,611) as applied to claims 3, and 9 above, and further in view of Suntych (PGPub #2018/0000028).
Regarding claim 6, Bellamy as modified by Pavel, Oka, and McKnight teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium according to claim 3, but does not teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts, which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf, juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. However, Suntych does teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts (Paragraphs 49, and 60), which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf (Paragraph 60, Camphor oil is made from camphor leaf), juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the medium have a camphor leaf extract because Bellamy and Suntych are both soilless plant growing systems that add additives to the growing medium. The motivation for having the medium have a camphor leaf extract is that it helps to inhibit microbial growth in the medium to help the plants grow.
Regarding claim 12, Bellamy as modified by Pavel, Oka, and McKnight teaches the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic planting system according to claim 9, but does not teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts, which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf, juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. However, Suntych does teach that the Houttuynia cordata hydroponic culture medium further comprises natural plant extracts (Paragraphs 49, and 60), which are extracted from one of the groups consisting of: Houttuynia cordata leaf, camphor leaf (Paragraph 60, Camphor oil is made from camphor leaf), juniper leaf, xiaonan (Incense Cedar) leaf, and a combination thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the medium have a camphor leaf extract because Bellamy and Suntych are both soilless plant growing systems that add additives to the growing medium. The motivation for having the medium have a camphor leaf extract is that it helps to inhibit microbial growth in the medium to help the plants grow.
Response to Arguments
The examiner disagrees with the applicant’s argument that it would not be obvious to combine Bellamy, Pavel, and Oka to teach the independent claims. All three of these prior arts are plant growing systems that use a nutrient fluid to provide the nutrients to the plants. The examiner does acknowledge that there are differences between the plant growing systems of the arts, however the examiner believes that given the scope in which the modifying references are used to modify Bellamy, that it is not improper to make the combination. Pavel is used to simply show that hydroponic style plant growing systems can be used to grow Houttuynia cordata and does not require or utilize any further structure or elements of the system of Pavel, and additionally the examiner notes that since the claims are drawn to a culture medium and planting system rather than the plant itself, so the specific species of plant is largely a functional limitation that Bellamy is capable of teaching without a modifying reference because the system of Bellamy is capable of supporting and growing Houttuynia cordata. Oka is just used to specify that the electrical conductivity of the nutrient solution, that is a shared feature between Bellamy and Oka, is within a desired range. As both systems use the nutrient solution to provide nutrients to the base and roots of a plant it would be obvious to modify Bellamy with Oka due to the similarities between the arts.
Additionally, the applicant is arguing that there are differences between the application and the structure and functionality of the prior arts, which the examiner does agree with, however the claims as currently written do not require these differences, and the applicant could include these structural differences in the claims to help overcome the prior arts.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM L GMOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647