DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 11/22/2024. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 01/30/2025 is acknowledged and considered accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 11/27/2024 and 02/26/2025 have all been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
5. Claims 1, 2-10, and 11-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2-8 and 9-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12156204 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application No.: 18956375
US Patent No.: 12156204 B2
1. A wireless device, comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive a plurality of physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmissions, the plurality of PDCCH transmissions including a plurality of downlink control information, DCI, messages scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmissions, at least two of the plurality of PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain; and decode the plurality of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on the plurality of DCI messages by performing PDSCH resource mapping.
1. A wireless device, comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive a plurality of physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmissions, the plurality of PDCCH transmissions including a plurality of downlink control information, DCI, messages scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmissions, at least two of the plurality of PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain, each of the plurality of DCI messages is detected within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and perform PDSCH resource mapping for decoding the plurality of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on the plurality of DCI messages, the PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on a union of the CRS patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected.
A method implemented by a wireless device, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmissions, the plurality of PDCCH transmissions including a plurality of downlink control information, DCI, messages scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmissions, at least two of the plurality of PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain; and decode the plurality of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on the plurality of DCI messages by performing PDSCH resource mapping.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages is detected within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the CRS patterns.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a corresponding CRS parameter indicating the at least one CRS pattern.
5. The method of claim 3, wherein the PDSCH resource mapping is based at least in part on a union of the CRS patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected.
6. The method of claim 3, wherein each CRS pattern indicates resources that are unavailable for PDSCH to resource element mapping.
7. The method of claim 2, wherein a plurality of common reference signal, CRS, patterns for the PDSCH resource mapping are configured, the PDSCH resource mapping being performed based at least in part on a union of the configured plurality of CRS patterns when the plurality of DCI messages are detected at the wireless device.
8. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages indicates a resource element, RE, level PDSCH resource mapping information, the PDSCH resource mapping being performed based at least in part on the RE-level PDSCH resource mapping information indicated by each of the plurality of DCI messages.
9. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages indicates at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource for PDSCH resource mapping, the PDSCH resource mapping for each of the plurality of PDSCHs being based at least in part on the at least one ZP CSI-RS resource indicated by the respective DCI scheduling each PDSCH.
10. The method of claim 2, wherein at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource is indicated via a ZP CSI-RS trigger.
A method implemented by a wireless device, the method comprising: receiving a plurality of physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmissions, the plurality of PDCCH transmissions including a plurality of downlink control information, DCI, messages scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmissions, at least two of the plurality of PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain, each of the plurality of DCI messages is detected within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and performing PDSCH resource mapping for decoding the plurality of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on the plurality of DCI messages, the PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on a union of the CRS patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a corresponding CRS parameter indicating the at least one CRS pattern.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein each CRS pattern indicates resources that are unavailable for PDSCH to resource element mapping.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein a plurality of common reference signal, CRS, patterns for the PDSCH resource mapping are configured, the PDSCH resource mapping being performed based at least in part on the union of the configured plurality of CRS patterns when the plurality of DCI messages are detected at the wireless device.
6. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages indicates a resource element, RE, level PDSCH resource mapping information, the PDSCH resource mapping being performed based at least in part on the RE-level PDSCH resource mapping information indicated by each of the plurality of DCI messages.
7. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages indicates at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource for PDSCH resource mapping, the PDSCH resource mapping for each of the plurality of PDSCHs being based at least in part on the at least one ZP CSI-RS resource indicated by the respective DCI scheduling each PDSCH.
8. The method of claim 2, wherein at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource is indicated via a ZP CSI-RS trigger
11. A method implemented by a system, the method comprising: transmitting, at each of a plurality of network nodes, a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmission, the PDCCH transmission including a downlink control information, DCI, message scheduling a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission; and transmitting, at each of the plurality of network nodes, the PDSCH transmission for decoding by the wireless device using at least in part PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on the DCI messages from the plurality of network nodes, at least two of the scheduled PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein each DCI message is transmitted within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the CRS patterns.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a CRS parameter indicating the at least one CRS pattern.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the PDSCH resource mapping is based at least in part on a union of the CSI patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein each CRS pattern indicates resources that are unavailable for PDSCH to resource element mapping.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein a plurality of common reference signal, CRS, patterns for PDSCH resource mapping are configured, the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on a union of the configured plurality of CRS patterns when the plurality of DCI messages are detected at the wireless device.
17. The method of claim 11, wherein each of the DCI messages indicates a resource element, RE, level PDSCH resource mapping information, the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the RE-level PDSCH resource mapping information indicated by each of the DCI messages.
18. The method of claim 11, wherein each of the DCI messages indicates at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource for PDSCH resource mapping, the PDSCH resource mapping for each PDSCH being based at least in part on the at least one ZP CSI-RS resource indicated by the respective DCI scheduling each PDSCH.
19. The method of claim 11, wherein at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource is indicated via a ZP CSI-RS trigger.
20. The method of claim 11, wherein the PDCCH transmissions are received within a communication slot.
21. A system comprising: a plurality of network nodes configured to communicate with a wireless device, each of the plurality of network nodes comprising: processing circuitry configured to: transmit a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmission, the PDCCH transmission including a downlink control information, DCI, message scheduling a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission; and transmit the PDSCH transmission for decoding by the wireless device using at lest in part PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on the DCI messages from the plurality of network nodes, at least two of the scheduled PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain.
9. A method implemented by a system, the method comprising: causing, at each of a plurality of network nodes (16), a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmission, the PDCCH transmission including a downlink control information, DCI, message scheduling a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission, each of the plurality of DCI messages is detected within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and causing, at each of the plurality of network nodes, the PDSCH transmission for decoding by the wireless device using at least in part PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on the DCI messages from the plurality of network nodes (16), at least two of the scheduled PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain, the PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on a union of the CRS patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a CRS parameter indicating the at least one CRS pattern.
11. The method of claim 9, wherein each CRS pattern indicates resources that are unavailable for PDSCH to resource element mapping.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein a plurality of common reference signal, CRS, patterns for PDSCH resource mapping are configured, the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the union of the configured plurality of CRS patterns when the plurality of DCI messages are detected at the wireless device.
13. The method of claim 9, wherein each of the DCI messages indicates a resource element, RE, level PDSCH resource mapping information, the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the RE-level PDSCH resource mapping information indicated by each of the DCI messages.
14. The method of claim 9, wherein each of the DCI messages indicates at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource for PDSCH resource mapping, the PDSCH resource mapping for each PDSCH being based at least in part on the at least one ZP CSI-RS resource indicated by the respective DCI scheduling each PDSCH.
15. The method of claim 9, wherein at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource is indicated via a ZP CSI-RS trigger.
16. The method of claim 9, wherein the PDCCH transmissions are received within a communication slot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200196343 A1 to Marinier et al., (hereinafter Marinier) in view of US 20210084621 A1 to Kim et al., (hereinafter Kim).
Claim 1. A wireless device, (Mariner: see para[0021], Fig. 1A and Fig. 1B, various WTRU in communication with different RANs) comprising: processing circuitry configured to: receive a plurality of physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmissions, the plurality of PDCCH transmissions including a plurality of downlink control information, DCI, messages scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmissions, (Marinier: See para[0003]-[0005] for a receiver in WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising downlink control information (DCI) from RAN. See para[0089] each of the multiple DCI received may include information bits for PDSCH assignment (i.e., DCI includes PDSCH transmission assignment/scheduling)
at least two of the plurality of PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain; and (Marinier: See para[0086] for "DCI may be transmitted over PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmissions). See para[0077]-[0078] for "partial and/or complete overlapping" of uplink transmissions including "PDSCH transmissions". For example, see para[0092] and Fig. 2 that shows mapping (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein multiple PDSCH transmissions are shown, by decoding DCI instances. DCI is mapped to both "DL CC1" and "DL CC2", wherein PDSCH transmissions, via #202, has two PDSCH transmissions and one PDCCH, which entirely is overlapped fully with PDSCH transmissions encoded in DCI in #204. On the other hand, combined PDSCH transmission in #202 and #206 are partially overlapped with PDSCH transmissions of #204)
decode the plurality of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on the plurality of DCI messages by performing PDSCH resource mapping.
(Marinier: See para[0092] that teaches WTRU can decode DCI and determine PDSCH assignments/grants, and in Fig. 2, it shows "resource mapping including PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein plurality of PDSCH transmissions, that are encoded into plurality of DCI messages, such as shown in #202 and #204 (i.e., plurality of PDSCH transmissions based in part on the plurality of DCI messages).
Although Marinier teaches "DCI" has information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0089]) however, it does not explicitly disclose that the DCI is for “PDSCH transmission scheduling” as can be understood by the applied claim language. However, in a similar field, Kim in Table 5, teaches "a fallback DCI that is for scheduling a PDSCH" (i.e., DCI for PDSCH transmission scheduling) that includes and identifies "time domain" for PDSCH resource assignments, as well as "frequency domain" for PDSCH resource assignments used for PDSCH transmissions. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 2. A method implemented by a wireless device, the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmissions, the plurality of PDCCH transmissions including a plurality of downlink control information, DCI, messages scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmissions, (Marinier: See para[0003]-[0005] for a receiver in WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising downlink control information (DCI). See para[0089] each of the multiple DCI received may include information bits for PDSCH assignment (i.e., DCI includes PDSCH transmission assignment/scheduling)
at least two of the plurality of PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain; and (Marinier: See para[0086] for "DCI may be transmitted over PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmissions). See para[0077]-[0078] for "partial and/or complete overlapping" of uplink transmissions including "PDSCH transmissions". For example, see para[0092] and Fig. 2 that shows mapping (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein multiple PDSCH transmissions are shown, by decoding DCI instances. DCI is mapped to both "DL CC1" and "DL CC2", wherein PDSCH transmissions, via #202, has two PDSCH transmissions and one PDCCH, which entirely is overlapped fully with PDSCH transmissions encoded in DCI in #204. On the other hand, combined PDSCH transmission in #202 and #206 are partially overlapped with PDSCH transmissions of #204)
decode the plurality of PDSCH transmissions based at least in part on the plurality of DCI messages by performing PDSCH resource mapping. (Marinier: See para[0092] that teaches WTRU can decode DCI and determine PDSCH assignments/grants, and in Fig. 2, it shows "resource mapping including PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein plurality of PDSCH transmissions, that are encoded into plurality of DCI messages, such as shown in #202 and #204 (i.e., plurality of PDSCH transmissions based in part on the plurality of DCI messages).
Although Marinier teaches "DCI" has information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0089]) however, it does not explicitly disclose that the DCI is for PDSCH transmission scheduling as can be understood by the applied claim language. However, in a similar field, Kim in Table 5, teaches "a fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmission) that includes and identifies "time domain" for PDSCH resource assignments, as well as "frequency domain" for PDSCH resource assignments used for PDSCH transmissions. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 3. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages is detected within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, (Marinier: See para[0005] for first DCI may be received using a first CORESET and a second DCI may be received using a second CORESET) each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and (Marinier: See para[0161] WTRU transmits HARQ-ACK corresponding to PDSCH based on CORESET, and RNTI (i.e., Coreset group identifier)) the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the CRS patterns. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", that includes PDSCH resources mappings, also includes "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resource (i.e., the CRS pattern)).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 4. The method of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a corresponding CRS parameter indicating the at least one CRS pattern. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI- RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern)).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 5. The method of claim 3, wherein the PDSCH resource mapping is based at least in part on a union of the CRS patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping. See CORESET having associated with RNTI (i.e, a group identifier). It is understood that when multiple DCI are received, all of "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resources (i.e., all CRS patterns) received in DCI (s) are considered)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 6. The method of claim 3, wherein each CRS pattern indicates resources that are unavailable for PDSCH to resource element mapping. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern resource) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 7. The method of claim 2, wherein a plurality of common reference signal, CRS, patterns for the PDSCH resource mapping are configured, the PDSCH resource mapping being performed based at least in part on a union of the configured plurality of CRS patterns when the plurality of DCI messages are detected at the wireless device. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping. It is understood that when multiple DCI are received, all of "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resources (i.e., all CRS patterns) received in DCI (s) are considered)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 8. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages indicates a resource element, RE, level PDSCH resource mapping information, the PDSCH resource mapping being performed based at least in part on the RE-level PDSCH resource mapping information indicated by each of the plurality of DCI messages. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", includes Time domain resources assignment, consisting of either 1, 2, 3, or 4 bits (i.e., RE levels).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 9. The method of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of DCI messages indicates at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource for PDSCH resource mapping, the PDSCH resource mapping for each of the plurality of PDSCHs being based at least in part on the at least one ZP CSI-RS resource indicated by the respective DCI scheduling each PDSCH. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 10. The method of claim 2, wherein at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource is indicated via a ZP CSI-RS trigger. (Kim: See Table 5, DCI for scheduling a PDSCH, includes "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resource (i.e., a ZP CSI-RS resource).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 11. A method implemented by a system, the method comprising: transmitting, at each of a plurality of network nodes, a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmission, the PDCCH transmission including a downlink control information, DCI, message scheduling a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission; and (Marinier: See para[0003]-[0005] for a receiver in WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising downlink control information (DCI). See para[0089] each of the multiple DCI received may include information bits for PDSCH assignment (i.e., DCI includes PDSCH transmission assignment/scheduling)
transmitting, at each of the plurality of network nodes, the PDSCH transmission for decoding by the wireless device using at least in part PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on the DCI messages from the plurality of network nodes, (Marinier: See para[0092] that teaches WTRU can decode DCI and determine PDSCH assignments/grants, and in Fig. 2, it shows "resource mapping including PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein plurality of PDSCH transmissions, that are encoded into plurality of DCI messages, such as shown in #202 and #204 (i.e., plurality of PDSCH transmissions based in part on the plurality of DCI messages).
at least two of the scheduled PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain.
(Marinier: See para[0086] for "DCI may be transmitted over PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmissions). See para[0077]-[0078] for "partial and/or complete overlapping" of uplink transmissions including "PDSCH transmissions". For example, see para[0092] and Fig. 2 that shows mapping (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein multiple PDSCH transmissions are shown, by decoding DCI instances. DCI is mapped to both "DL CC1" and "DL CC2", wherein PDSCH transmissions, via #202, has two PDSCH transmissions and one PDCCH, which entirely is overlapped fully with PDSCH transmissions encoded in DCI in #204. On the other hand, combined PDSCH transmission in #202 and #206 are partially overlapped with PDSCH transmissions of #204)
Although Marinier teaches "DCI" has information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0089]), however, it does not explicitly disclose that the DCI is for PDSCH transmission scheduling as can be understood by the applied claim language. However, in a similar field, Kim in Table 5, teaches "a fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmission) that includes and identifies "time domain" for PDSCH resource assignments, as well as "frequency domain" for PDSCH resource assignments used for PDSCH transmissions. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 12. The method of claim 11, wherein each DCI message is transmitted within a respective control resource set, CORESET, of a plurality of CORESETs, (Marinier: See para[0005] for first DCI may be received using a first CORESET and a second DCI may be received using a second CORESET)
each CORESET being associated with a CORESET group identifier and at least one common reference signal, CRS, pattern; and (Marinier: See para[0161] WTRU transmits HARQ-ACK corresponding to PDSCH based on CORESET, and RNTI (i.e., Coreset group identifier))
the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the CRS patterns. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", that includes PDSCH resources mappings, also includes "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resource (i.e., the CRS pattern)).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 13. The method of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of CORESETs are associated with a CRS parameter indicating the at least one CRS pattern. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern))
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 14. The method of claim 12, wherein the PDSCH resource mapping is based at least in part on a union of the CSI patterns associated with the CORESET group identifier of the CORESET in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is detected. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping. It is understood that when multiple DCI are received, all of "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resources (i.e., all CRS patterns) received in DCI (s) are considered)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 15. The method of claim 12, wherein each CRS pattern indicates resources that are unavailable for PDSCH to resource element mapping. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 16. The method of claim 11, wherein a plurality of common reference signal, CRS, patterns for PDSCH resource mapping are configured, the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on a union of the configured plurality of CRS patterns when the plurality of DCI messages are detected at the wireless device. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping. It is understood that when multiple DCI are received, all of "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resources (i.e., all CRS patterns) received in DCI (s) are considered)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 17. The method of claim 11, wherein each of the DCI messages indicates a resource element, RE, level PDSCH resource mapping information, the PDSCH resource mapping being based at least in part on the RE-level PDSCH resource mapping information indicated by each of the DCI messages. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", includes Time domain resources assignment, consisting of either 1, 2, 3, or 4 bits (i.e., RE levels).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 18. The method of claim 11, wherein each of the DCI messages indicates at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource for PDSCH resource mapping, the PDSCH resource mapping for each PDSCH being based at least in part on the at least one ZP CSI-RS resource indicated by the respective DCI scheduling each PDSCH. (Kim: See Table 5, "DCI for scheduling PDSCH", besides PDSCH resources mappings, also includes ZP CSI-RS trigger resource (i.e., the CRS pattern) which is different than PDSCH resource elements identified and hence unavailable for PDSCH resource mapping).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 19. The method of claim 11, wherein at least one zero power channel state information-reference signal, ZP CSI-RS, resource is indicated via a ZP CSI-RS trigger. (Kim: See Table 5, DCI for scheduling a PDSCH, includes "ZP CSI-RS trigger" resource (i.e., a ZP CSI-RS resource)).
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Claim 20. The method of claim 11, wherein the PDCCH transmissions are received within a communication slot. (Marinier: See Fig. 2 for PDCCH transmissions that are received in the same communication slot)
Claim 21. A system, comprising:
A plurality of network nodes configured to communicate with a wireless device, (Mariner: see para[0021], Fig. 1A and Fig. 1B, various WTRU in communication with different RANs) each of the plurality of network nodes comprising:
Processing circuitry configured to: Transmit a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmission, the PDCCH transmission including a downlink control information, DCI, message scheduling a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission; and
(Marinier: See para[0003]-[0005] for a receiver in WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising downlink control information (DCI) from RAN. See para[0089] each of the multiple DCI received may include information bits for PDSCH assignment (i.e., DCI includes PDSCH transmission assignment/scheduling)
Transmit the PDSCH transmission for decoding by the wireless device using at least in part PDSCH resource mapping based at least in part on the DCI messages from the plurality of network nodes,
(Marinier: See para[0092] that teaches WTRU can receive the DCI from RAN, decode DCI and determine PDSCH assignments/grants, and in Fig. 2, it shows "resource mapping including PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein plurality of PDSCH transmissions, that are encoded into plurality of DCI messages, such as shown in #202 and #204 (i.e., plurality of PDSCH transmissions based in part on the plurality of DCI messages).
at least two of the scheduled PDSCH transmissions one of partially and fully overlap in a time domain.
(Marinier: See para[0086] for "DCI may be transmitted over PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmissions). See para[0077]-[0078] for "partial and/or complete overlapping" of uplink transmissions including "PDSCH transmissions". For example, see para[0092] and Fig. 2 that shows mapping (i.e., PDSCH resource mapping), wherein multiple PDSCH transmissions are shown, by decoding DCI instances. DCI is mapped to both "DL CC1" and "DL CC2", wherein PDSCH transmissions, via #202, has two PDSCH transmissions and one PDCCH, which entirely is overlapped fully with PDSCH transmissions encoded in DCI in #204. On the other hand, combined PDSCH transmission in #202 and #206 are partially overlapped with PDSCH transmissions of #204)
Although Marinier teaches "DCI" has information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0089]), however, it does not explicitly disclose that the DCI is for PDSCH transmission scheduling as can be understood by the applied claim language. However, in a similar field, Kim in Table 5, teaches "a fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH" (i.e., PDSCH transmission) that includes and identifies "time domain" for PDSCH resource assignments, as well as "frequency domain" for PDSCH resource assignments used for PDSCH transmissions. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Marinier teaches WTRU (i.e., UE) may receive one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions comprising DCI, wherein DCI includes information bits for PDSCH assignment (Marinier: See para[0086]-[0089])
Kim teaches a non-fallback DCI for scheduling a PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resource allocations in time and frequency domain (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling, to have incorporated non-fallback DCI for PDSCH transmissions, as taught by Kim, with the teachings of Marinier, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a non-fall back DCI for PDSCH transmission that identifies PDSCH resources both in time domain and frequency domain. (Kim: See para[0052] and Table-5)
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477