DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 11.22.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-13 are now pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims below are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the at least one substrate is integrated in a coating on a busbar”. Claim 8 depends upon claim 1 and claim 1 recites “at least one substrate placed on or above a coating on at least one of the semiconductor packages” If the coating is the same, then there seems to be a conflict between “above” in claim 1 and “integrated” in claim 8. If the coating is different, then it needs to be recited accordingly in claim 8. To advance prosecution, Examiner will ignore “above” and interpret as “the coating”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Weis et al (US20240007015A1 Filing Date 6.27.23), hereinafter Weis.
Regarding Claim 1, Weis discloses (Figs 3-4, 10-11) an inverter[Abstract] comprising:
a base plate(2) ;
at least one half bridge [Para 0026 discloses “Semiconductor packages 4 are generally arranged in mutual opposition such that, in each case, two of the latter form a half-bridge, wherein one semiconductor package 4 functions as a high-side switch 41 and the other functions as a low-side switch 40, each of which comprises two mutually parallel-connected power semiconductors”] on the base plate, which has a high side for at least one semiconductor package forming a high side switch (41), and a low side for at least one parallel semiconductor package forming a low side switch (40), wherein each semiconductor package is encased in a non-conductive coating [0027 discloses “The term semiconductor package 4 describes a sheathed power semiconductor (chip), inclusive of (unsheathed) terminal lugs for electrical or signal contact-connection”]; and
a temperature measuring system (Figs 10-11) configured to measure a temperature of the semiconductor packages in the inverter, wherein the inverter includes at least one phase (P1), wherein the temperature measuring system comprises:
at least one substrate (10) placed on or above a coating on at least one of the semiconductor packages (Fig 11); and
at least one temperature measuring element (106) on or in the at least one substrate (10), which is configured to at least detect a surface temperature of the coating on at least one semiconductor package [0036 discloses “temperature sensors 106 to be led through to the underside of the DC-negative conductor rail 6, in order to measure the temperature of semiconductor packages 4”].
Regarding Claim 2, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1. Weis further discloses wherein the temperature measuring element (106) comprises a temperature sensor [0036] or resistor strip.
Regarding Claim 3, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1. Weis further discloses
wherein the temperature measuring system comprises: a temperature measuring element (106) for each semiconductor package, or for each phase, or for each high side and/or low side [0067 discloses “one or more temperature sensors 106 can also be connected to the signal bus board for the direct inspection of the semiconductor packages 4, more specifically, and independently, the high-side 40 and low-side 41 thereof respectively, i.e. for monitoring the temperature thereof”], or for all of the phases.
Regarding Claim 6, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1. Weis further discloses
wherein the at least one substrate (10) extends over (Fig 11) the semiconductor packages (4).
Regarding Claim 7, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1. Weis further discloses
wherein the at least one substrate (10) is attached to the semiconductor packages (4)[0062 discloses a screw attachment between 10 and 2].
Regarding Claim 9, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1 . Weis further discloses wherein the at least one substrate (10) is a film, a flexible film, a PCB [0062 discloses "[Para 0062 discloses “The signal busboard 10 is a circuit board in or upon which signal lines are routed and components are arranged”], or a copper strip.
Regarding Claim 11, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1. Weis further discloses
an electronics module [0003] comprising: the inverter [0003] according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1. Weis further discloses
an electric motor [0003] for a vehicle [0003] comprising: at least one electric drive [0003]; and the electronics module according to claim 11 configured to control the electric motor.
Regarding Claim 13, Weis further discloses a vehicle [0003] comprising: the electric motor [0003] according to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis in view of Feurtado et al (US20200053900A1), hereinafter Feurtado.
Regarding Claim 4, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1 . Weis further discloses wherein the at least one substrate (10) extends in a shape over one or all of the at least one phase (P1)(10 has a shape that extends over each phase) but does not explicitly disclose a U-shape.
Feurtado discloses (Fig 18) substrate (616) with a U-shape (Fig 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed inverter of Weis with U shaped substrate as taught by Feurtado in order to have a shape that is minimally required to support the various electronic components as well as make required electrical connections.
Regarding Claim 5, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1 . Weis does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one substrate is formed by two strips, each of which extends continuously over one or all of the at least one phase, over the high side or low side.
Feurtado discloses (Fig 10) wherein the at least one substrate (616) is formed by two strips (616,616), each of which extends continuously over one or all of the at least one phase (Fig 12B), over (this is a relative term) the high side or low side (Examiner interprets high or low side as V+ or V- and Fig 12B is a half bridge structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed inverter of Weis with substrate in two strips as taught by Feurtado in order to have a shape that is minimally required to support the various electronic components as well as make required electrical connections.
Claims 8,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis in view of Speinle et al (US20240291414A1 PCT Filed 8.2.22), hereinafter Speinle.
Regarding Claim 10, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1 . Weis does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one substrate is integrated in a coating on a busbar directly above the semiconductor packages.
Speinle discloses (Fig 2) wherein the at least one substrate (10) is integrated in a coating (10 is a flexible circuit which is integrated with busbar 11 and temperature sensor 6) on a busbar (11) directly above (above is a relative term) the semiconductor packages (S1,S2,S3,S4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed inverter of Weis with integrated substrate with busbar as taught by Speinle in order to have a simplified circuit that contains sensors and power lines.
Regarding Claim 10, Weis discloses the inverter according to claim 1 . Weis does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the at least one substrate contains at least one contact point with which the temperature measuring system is connected to an external processor ( Weis is Para 0067 does disclose “Signals can then be read out from the signal busboard 10, whereafter e.g. the controller of the semiconductor packages 4 can then be adjusted” but does not disclose “contact point” similar to instant claim and invention.
Speinle discloses (Figs 1-2) wherein each of the at least one substrate (10) contains at least one contact point (12 contact point) with which the temperature measuring system (6) is connected to an external processor (3)[Para 0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed inverter of Weis with temperature measuring system connection point with external processor as taught by Speinle in order to have a way to transfer sensor signal to a processor and controller so that temperature is monitored and not allowed to exceed predetermined limits to avoid failure.
Conclusion
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834