DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
It is noted that the claimed invention is directed solely to a method. The examiner suggests amending the title to reflect same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10-15, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walters (WO 99/28557).
Walters teaches an artificial turf (title) which is comprises a first carpet layer (1), a second layer (2), and a third intermediate adhesive layer (7) which is used to restore its resting condition i.e. resistance to distortion (abstract), which meets the claimed limitation of mechanical resilience. In addition the second layer can be waterproof resilient (p.4 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Walters teaches a carpet (p.3 paragraphs 1-2) and doesn’t teach a cation or anion, which meets the limitation of non-ionic.
Regarding claim 5, Walters teaches heat resistance (p.7 second full paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Walters teaches a thermoplastic adhesive with substantial resistance to ultraviolet light (p.2 lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 7, Walters teaches heat resistance (p.7 second full paragraph) and high melting point (p.2 penultimate paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, Walters teaches a backing (p.2 first paragraph) and bonding (p.2 penultimate paragraph).
Regarding claim 11, Walters teaches elastomeric particulate material (p.4 last paragraph).
Regarding claim 12-14, Walters teaches different particles sizes (p.5 first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Walters teaches color (p.3 first paragraph) and heat resistance (p.7 second full paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, the applicant requires diffusing by gravity. In general, all films are deposited by gravity unless some outside force such as magnetism is utilized. To utilize gravity would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 19, Walters teaches curing (p.4 second full paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (WO 99/28557) in view of KR 10-2019-0024247.
Walters teaches an artificial turf (title) which is comprises a first carpet layer (1), a second layer (2), and a third intermediate adhesive layer (7) which is used to restore its resting condition i.e. resistance to distortion (abstract), which meets the claimed limitation of mechanical resilience. In addition the second layer can be waterproof resilient (p.4 3rd paragraph). However, the reference fails to teach a silane.
KR’247 teaches a silane modifier such as hexamethyldisilazane which is covalently bonded for artificial turf (0022-0024). It would have been obvious to utilize a silane modifier in Walters with the expectation of success because KR’247 teaches of using a silane modifier for artificial turf.
Claims 4, 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (WO 99/28557) in view of Sick et al. (CA 3010760). Walters fails to teach a hydrogel.
Sick teaches a method for manufacturing an artificial turf infill comprising a granulate, a pigment, and a fluid binding agent (abstract). In one embodiment, the granulate can contain a hydrogel of methyl-cellulose (p.5 lines 23-25). It would have been obvious to utilize a hydrogel in the process of Walters with the expectation of success because Sick teaches of using a hydrogel to form an artificial turf infill.
Regarding claim 8, Sick teaches a gel (p.2 lines 25-34).
Regarding claim 16, Sick teaches a hydrogel (p.5 lines 23-25).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (WO 99/28557) in view of Pfitzer et al. (WO 2022/248440). Walters fails to teach an antimicrobial compound.
Pfitzer teaches an artificial grass lawn with spreadable granules (title) in which an artificial turf pitch has an antimicrobial finish in the form of polymer matrix incorporated silver ions (description, pp.24-25). It would have been obvious to utilize an antimicrobial finish in Walters with the expectation of success because Pfitzer teaches of using an antimicrobial finish in an artificial turf.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (WO 99/28557) in view of Sick et al. (2021/0230814). Walters fails to teach upper and lower layers.
Sick teaches an artificial turf system having two elastic layers (title) in which the infill layer has an upper and lower e-layer (0095). It would have been obvious to utilize an infill layer having an upper layer and a lower layer in Walters with the expectation of success because Sick teaches of using an infill layer having an upper and lower layer.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (WO 99/28557) in view of Hinkel (2012/0031814). Walters fails to teach removing infill particles.
Hinkel teaches of recycling artificial turf (title) by removing infill particles from synthetic turf (0010). It would have been obvious to remove infill particles in Walters with the expectation of success because Hinkel teaches of removing infill particles for recycling artificial turf.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715 01/05/2026