Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colvin et al (2021/0090402) hereinafter, Colvin in view of Ludwick et al (2022/0084352) hereinafter, Ludwick.
In regards to claim 1, Colvin teaches a gaming system comprising (abstract):
A system and method for operating a game of chance. A gaming system includes a primary game display and secondary game display with the secondary game display mapped with prize blocks arranged in a grid that may generally mimic a primary game grid. The prize blocks can be represented as characters, articles, numeral values, symbols and the like. Each prize block is assigned a prize value and a health value. When the health value of a prize block is exhausted based on primary game outcomes, the prize block is destroyed and removed awarding its corresponding prize value. New prize blocks fill the void left by removed prize blocks or the void remains as a space without any assigned prize value. One version of the system and method is facilitated by a slot-based primary game incorporating certain pre-established symbols (e.g., dice) that diminish (or increase) health values of the prize blocks. (Abstract)
a processor (fig. 6 (114); and
a memory storing instructions thereon which, when executed by the processor [0027 and [0075-0085], cause the processor to [0085]: control a display device to display an electronic game including a set of reels and transient characters(fig. 6 416/418), wherein each transient character is associated with one of the reels and is displayed for a predetermined number of spins (fig. 8 (920-1-920-6));
Colvin fails to teach randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character;
However, Ludwick teaches randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character [0049-0050] Ludwick;
[0050] FIG. 2A illustrates that gaming device 200 includes an RNG conversion engine 210 that translates the RNG outcome from RNG 212 to a game outcome presented to a player. To meet a designated RTP, a game developer can set up the RNG conversion engine 210 to utilize one or more lookup tables to translate the RNG outcome to a symbol element, stop position on a reel strip layout, and/or randomly chosen aspect of a game feature. As an example, the lookup tables can regulate a prize payout amount for each RNG outcome and how often the gaming device 200 pays out the prize payout amounts. The RNG conversion engine 210 could utilize one lookup table to map the RNG outcome to a game outcome displayed to a player and a second lookup table as a pay table for determining the prize payout amount for each game outcome. The mapping between the RNG outcome to the game outcome controls the frequency in hitting certain prize payout amounts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Colvin to further include randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character as taught by Ludwick in order help comply with regulatory requirements [0049-0050]
Therefore, Colvin in view of Ludwik teaches randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character; [0049-0050] Ludwick and (fig. 10a 1100) Colvin
control the display device to spin and stop the set of reels and display [127] Colvin a set of symbols on each stopped reel (fig. 8 (symbols on reel)); Colvin
determine, for each stopped reel, whether the set of symbols includes an attack symbol (fig. 8 (940) Colvin) that causes the number of health points [128-135] Colvin of the transient character associated with the reel to reach zero (fig. 8 (920-7))(fig. 10a (1100)); Colvin
when the number of health points for any of the transient characters reaches zero, generate an award that includes the prize for the transient character having zero health points (fig. 13 (1345)) Colvin;
control the display device to remove each transient character having zero remaining spins, determined after the reels are stopped (fig. 13 (1350-1355) Colvin; and
for each removed transient character, control the display device to display a new transient character and determine a prize and a number of health points for the new transient character. “At step 1360, the arrangement of prize blocks is adjusted to account for the removal of the prize block having zero health value. The adjustment may comprise leaving the void blank or dropping a new prize block into the vacated area.” [151] Colvin
In regards to claim 8, Colvin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions stored thereon, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to (abstract):
control a display device to display an electronic game including a set of reels and transient characters, wherein each transient character is associated with one of the reels and is displayed for a predetermined number of spins; (fig. 8 (920-1-920-6) fig. 13 1305-1330)[0075-0085]);
Colvin fails to teach randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character;
However, Ludwick teaches randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character [0049-0050] Ludwick;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Colvin to further include randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character as taught by Ludwick in order help comply with regulatory requirements [0049-0050]
Therefore, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches
randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character; control the display device to spin and stop the set of reels and display a set of symbols on each stopped reel; [0049-0050] Ludwick and (fig. 10a 1100) Colvin
determine, for each stopped reel, whether the set of symbols includes an attack symbol that causes the number of health points of the transient character associated with the reel to reach zero; (fig. 8 (920-7))(fig. 10a (1100)); Colvin
when the number of health points for any of the transient characters reaches zero, generate an award that includes the prize for the transient character having zero health points; (fig. 13 (1345)) Colvin;
control the display device to remove each transient character having zero remaining spins, determined after the reels are stopped; and(fig. 13 (1350-1355) Colvin; and
for each removed transient character, control the display device to display a new transient character and determine a prize and a number of health points for the new transient character. [151] Colvin
In regards to claim 15, Colvin teaches a computer-implemented method for providing an electronic game on an electronic gaming device, the method comprising: controlling a display device to display the electronic game including a set of reels and transient characters, (fig. 8 (920)
wherein each transient character is associated with one of the reels and is displayed for a predetermined number of spins(fig. 8 (920-1-920-6) fig. 13 1305-1330)[0075-0085]);;
Colvin fails to teach randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character;
However, Ludwick teaches randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character [0049-0050] Ludwick;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Colvin to further include randomly determine a prize and a number of health points for each transient character as taught by Ludwick in order help comply with regulatory requirements [0049-0050]
Therefore, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches randomly determining a prize and a number of health points for each transient character; [0049-0050] Ludwick and (fig. 10a 1100) Colvin
controlling the display device to spin and stop the set of reels and display a set of symbols on each stopped reel; determining, for each stopped reel, whether the set of symbols includes an attack symbol that causes the number of health points of the transient character associated with the reel to reach zero; (fig. 8 (920-1-920-6) fig. 13 1305-1330)[0075-0085]);
when the number of health points for any of the transient characters reaches zero, generating an award that includes the prize for the transient character having zero health points(fig. 13 (1345)) Colvin;
controlling the display device to remove each transient character having zero remaining spins, determined after the reels are stopped; (fig. 13 (1350-1355) Colvin; and
for each removed transient character, controlling the display device to display a new transient character and determining a prize and a number of health points for the new transient character. [151] Colvin
In regards to claim 2, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches the gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to randomly determine the prize and number of health points for each transient character and each new transient character by: performing a first lookup in a first lookup table to select a type of character; based on the selected type of character, determining a second lookup table from a plurality of 10asecond lookup tables each associated with different types of characters; and performing a second lookup in the determined second lookup table to determine the prize and number of health points. [0049-0050] Ludwick and (fig. 10a 1100) Colvin
In regards to claim 4, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches gaming system of claim 1, wherein, when the number of health points for a transient character having a free spins prize reaches zero, the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to initiate a free spins feature game on the display device [138] “free plays” and fig. 13 1330 and 1305) Colvin.
In regards to claim 5, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches gaming system of claim 4, wherein the free spins feature game includes display of feature characters each associated with one feature reel of a set of feature reels ([138] (fig. 13 (901-1-901-3)) Colvin, wherein each feature character has a prize and a number of health points determined when the free spins feature game is initiated (Fig. 8 (935 and 930) [138-0140]) Colvin
In regards to claim 6, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to dynamically determine a number of damage points caused by each attack symbol appearing on each reel to the transient character associated with the reel (fig. 11d the dice are dynamically determined) Colvin.
In regards to claim 7, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches gaming system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to control the display device to visually indicate that each transient character having at least one remaining spin, determined after the reels are stopped, has one fewer remaining spin than before the reels are spun and stopped.(fig. 8 health dots 930 when 1 is left [131-0140] Colvin.
In regards to claim 9, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to randomly determine the prize and number of health points for each transient character and each new transient character by: performing a first lookup in a first lookup table to select a type of character; based on the selected type of character, determining a second lookup table from a plurality of second lookup tables each associated with different types of characters; and performing a second lookup in the determined second lookup table to determine the prize and number of health points. [0049-0050] Ludwick and (fig. 10a 1100) Colvin
In regards to claim 11, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein, when the number of health points for a transient character having a free spins prize reaches zero, the instructions, when executed, cause the processor to initiate a free spins feature game on the display device. [138] “free plays” and fig. 13 1330 and 1305) Colvin.
In regards to claim 12, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the free spins feature game includes display of feature characters each associated with one feature reel of a set of feature reels([138] (fig. 13 (901-1-901-3)), wherein each feature character has a prize and a number of health points determined when the free spins feature game is initiated. (Fig. 8 (935 and 930) [138-0140]) Colvin
In regards to claim 13, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to dynamically determine a number of damage points caused by each attack symbol appearing on each reel to the transient character associated with the reel. (fig. 11d the dice are dynamically determined) Colvin.
In regards to claim 14, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to control the display device to visually indicate that each transient character having at least one remaining spin, determined after the reels are stopped, has one fewer remaining spin than before the reels are spun and stopped. (fig. 8 health dots 930 when 1 is left [131-0140] Colvin.
In regards to claim 16, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches method of claim 15, further comprising randomly determining the prize and number of health points for each transient character and each new transient character by: performing a first lookup in a first lookup table to select a type of character; based on the selected type of character, determining a second lookup table from a plurality of second lookup tables each associated with different types of characters; and performing a second lookup in the determined second lookup table to determine the prize and number of health points. [0049-0050] Ludwick and (fig. 10a 1100) Colvin
In regards to claim 18, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches method of claim 15, further comprising, when the number of health points for a transient character having a free spins prize reaches zero, initiating a free spins feature game on the display device, wherein the free spins feature game includes display of feature characters each associated with one feature reel of a set of feature reels, wherein each feature character has a prize and a number of health points determined when the free spins feature game is initiated. [138] “free plays” and fig. 13 1330 and 1305) Colvin
In regards to claim 19, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches method of claim 15, further comprising dynamically determining a number of damage points caused by each attack symbol appearing on each reel to the transient character associated with the reel.. (fig. 11d the dice are dynamically determined) Colvin.
In regards to claim 20, Colvin in view of Ludwick teaches method of claim 15, further comprising controlling the display device to visually indicate that each transient character having at least one remaining spin, determined after the reels are stopped, has one fewer remaining spin than before the reels are spun and stopped. (fig. 8 health dots 930 when 1 is left [131-0140] Colvin.
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colvin et al (2021/0090402) hereinafter, Colvin in view of Ludwick et al (2022/0084352) hereinafter, Ludwick further in view of Kendall et al (2021/0110665) hereinafter, Kendall.
In regards to claim 3, Colvin in view of Ludwich teaches the gaming system of claim 1, wherein, when the number of health points for any of the transient characters reaches zero, the instructions, when executed (fig. 8 (920-7) Colvin,
Colvin and Ludwick fail to teach further cause the processor to restore each transient character having zero remaining health points after the respective award is generated.
However, Kendall teaches further cause the processor to restore each transient character having zero remaining health points after the respective award is generated.[122]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Colvin and Ludwick to further include to restore each transient character in order to provide additional chances of winning [122]
Therefore, Colvin and Ludwick in view of Kendall teaches further cause the processor to restore each transient character having zero remaining health points after the respective award is generated.(fig. 12 (1340-1345) Colvin in view of [122] Kendall.
In regards to claim 10, Colvin and Ludwick in view of Kendall teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein, when the number of health points for any of the transient characters reaches zero, the instructions, when executed, further cause the processor to restore each transient character having zero remaining health points after the respective award is generated. (fig. 12 (1340-1345) Colvin in view of [122] Kendall.
In regards to claim 17, Colvin and Ludwick in view of Kendall teaches method of claim 15, further comprising restoring each transient character having zero remaining health points after the respective award is generated. (fig. 12 (1340-1345) Colvin in view of [122] Kendall.
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622