DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 22, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-13, and 15-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,185,402.
Regarding independent claim 1 of the current application, claim 1 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a radio network, the method comprising:
receiving a timer configuration (see claim 1 of USPN 12,185,402);
determining, based on the timer configuration, whether a master cell group (MCG) fast recovery procedure is supported, wherein a presence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, and wherein an absence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is not supported (see claim 1 of USPN 12,185,402); and
based on the determination that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, after detecting a failure corresponding to the MCG, using the MCG fast recovery procedure to avoid a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment (see claim 1 of USPN 12,185,402).
Regarding claims 2 and 3 of the current application, claim 1 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the timer configuration comprises a value for a timer and starting a timer associated with the timer configuration (see claim 1 of USPN 12,185,402).
Regarding claim 4 of the current application, claim 2 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the timer configuration is received via an RRC Reconfiguration message.
Regarding claim 7 of the current application, claim 3 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses detecting the failure corresponding to the MCG.
Regarding claim 8 of the current application, claim 5 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses transmitting an MCG Failure Information message.
Regarding claim 9 of the current application, claim 4 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the failure comprises a radio link failure (RLF).
Regarding claim 10 of the current application, claim 6 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the UE receives the timer configuration while the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state.
Regarding independent claim 11 of the current application, claim 7 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses a non-transitory storage medium including program code to be executed by at least one processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a radio communication network, whereby execution of the program code causes the user equipment to perform operations comprising:
receiving a timer configuration (see claim 7 of USPN 12,185,402);
determining, based on the timer configuration, whether a master cell group (MCG) fast recovery procedure is supported, wherein a presence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, and wherein an absence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is not supported (see claim 7 of USPN 12,185,402); and
based on the determination that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, after detecting a failure corresponding to the MCG, using the MCG fast recovery procedure to avoid a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment (see claim 7 of USPN 12,185,402).
Regarding claim 12 of the current application, claims 7 and 10 of USPN 12,185,402 disclose using the MCG fast recovery procedure further comprises: starting a timer associated with the timer configuration (see claim 7 of USPN 12,185,402); and transmitting an MCG Failure Information message (see claim 10 of USPN 12,185,402).
Regarding claims 13 and 15 of the current application, claim 9 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses detecting the failure corresponding to the MCG, wherein the failure comprises a radio link failure (RLF).
Regarding independent claim 16 of the current application, claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses a user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a radio communication network, comprising:
a non-transitory storage medium (see claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402);
processing circuitry configured to execute instructions from the non-transitory storage medium to cause the user equipment to perform operations comprising (see claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402):
receiving a timer configuration (see claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402);
determining, based on the timer configuration, whether a master cell group (MCG) fast recovery procedure is supported, wherein a presence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, and wherein an absence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is not supported (see claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402); and
based on the determination that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, after a failure corresponding to the MCG, using the MCG fast recovery procedure to avoid a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment (see claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402).
Regarding claims 17 and 20 of the current application, claim 12 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the timer configuration is received via an RRC Reconfiguration message, wherein the UE receives the timer configuration while the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state.
Regarding claim 18 of the current application, claim 11 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the timer configuration comprises a value for a timer.
Regarding claim 19 of the current application, claim 13 of USPN 12,185,402 discloses that the failure comprises a radio link failure (RLF).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 7-13, and 15-20 are merely obvious variants of claims 1-14 of USPN 12,185,402. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of claims 1-14 of USPN 12,185,402 to be the same or equivalent to the invention of claims 1-4, 7-13, and 15-20 of the current application. The motivation for doing so would be to obtain a well-round patent protection.
Claims 5, 6, and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,185,402 in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0110180 (hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 14, claims 1-14 of USPN 12,185,402 disclose all of the subject matter of the invention except transmitting an MCG Failure Information message via a Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) and submitting an MCG Failure Information message to lower layers for transmission.
However, in an analogous art, Jung discloses, teaches, or suggests transmitting an MCG Failure Information message via a Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) (see at least paragraph 404) and submitting an MCG Failure Information message to lower layers for transmission (see at least paragraph 406).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique of transmitting an MCG Failure Information as taught by Jung in to the invention of claims 1-14 of USPN 12,185,402 in order to minimize service interruption when an MCG failure occurs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung.
Jung discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claims 1, 11, and 16, a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a radio network, the method and the UE comprising:
a non-transitory storage medium including program code to be executed by at least one processor of the UE configured to operate in the radio network, whereby execution of the program code causes the user to perform the method (see at least paragraphs 96-98, memory); and
processing circuitry configured to execute instructions from the non-transitory storage medium to cause the user equipment to perform the method comprising (see at least paragraphs 96-98, processor):
receiving a timer configuration (see at least paragraphs 360-361, a value of the timer may be configured by a network (e.g., MN));
determining, based on the timer configuration, whether a master cell group (MCG) fast recovery procedure is supported, wherein a presence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, and wherein an absence of the timer configuration indicates that the MCG fast recovery procedure is not supported (see at least paragraphs 361 and 412, the inclusion of t316 indicates that user shall apply fast MCG link recovery on MCG RLF and, on the other hand, if the network does not provide the value of the timer, the timer value may be set to a default value, e.g., an infinite value, which corresponds to the MCG fast recovery procedure not being supported); and
based on the determination that the MCG fast recovery procedure is supported, after detecting a failure corresponding to the MCG, using the MCG fast recovery procedure to avoid a radio resource control (RRC) re-establishment (see at least paragraphs 370-374 and paragraphs 401-404, upon detection of a MCG failure, the UE submits an MCGFailureInformation message to lower layers for transmission via SRB1 to a secondary node (SN), which avoids an RRC re-establishment until the timer expires);
regarding claims 2 and 18, the timer configuration comprises a value for a timer (see at least paragraphs 360-361, a value of the timer may be configured by a network (e.g., MN));
regarding claims 3, 7, 8, 12, and 13, starting a timer associated with the timer configuration; detecting the failure corresponding to the MCG; and transmitting an MCG Failure Information message (see at least paragraphs 371, 372, 402, and 404, upon detection of the MCG failure, the timer starts to run and the UE transmits MCG RLF report or MCGFailureInformation message to lower layers for transmission via SRB1);
regarding claim 5, transmitting an MCG Failure Information message via a Signal Radio Bearer 1 (SRB1) (see at least paragraph 404, the UE submits an MCGFailureInformation message to lower layers for transmission via SRB1);
regarding claims 6 and 14, submitting an MCG Failure Information message to lower layers for transmission (see at least paragraph 404, the UE submits an MCGFailureInformation message to lower layers for transmission via SRB1); and
regarding claims 9, 15, and 19, the failure comprises a radio link failure (RLF) (see at least the abstract, MCG RLF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0314826 (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Jung discloses all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1 and 16, as described above, including RLF-TimersandConstants (see at least paragraphs 410-411 and Table 7) but Jung does not explicitly teach that the timer configuration is received via an RRC Reconfiguration message.
However, in an analogous art, Chang discloses, teaches, or suggests that the timer configuration is received via an RRC Reconfiguration message (see at least paragraphs 39 and 40, receiving an RRC reconfiguration message including radio link monitoring configuration information, where the radio link monitoring configuration information may be an information element rlf-TimerAndConstants).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique of RRC Reconfiguration message carrying the RLF-TimersandConstants information element, as taught by Chang, in to the invention of Jung in order to implement a timer for fast MCG failure recovery.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Jung discloses all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1 and 16, as described above, but Jung does not explicitly disclose that the UE receives the timer configuration while the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state.
However, in an analogous art, Chang discloses, teaches, or suggests that the UE receives the timer configuration while the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state (see at least Fig. 1 and paragraph 38, the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration while the UE is in connected state).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique of receiving the RRC Reconfiguration message carrying the RLF-TimersandConstants information element, as taught by Chang, in to the invention of Jung in order to implement a timer for fast MCG failure recovery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0377758 (Fujishiro et al.) – fast recovery of an MCG link.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0038968 (Latheef et al.) – early RLF detection and fast recovery using T312 timer.
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0312282 (Chang et al.) – fast MCG link recovery mechanism.
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 09/12/2026