DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 11 to have the limitation of “and each first support member corresponds to a second support member, of the plurality of second support members, so that each second support member has at least one corresponding first support member and each of at least one bag is stably held by the second support member and the at least one first support member”, where applicant argues these limitations. The primary reference of Murray (US 20180244293 A1) discloses cart (10) having hooks (80, 84, and 76, paragraph [0048]) on peg board (82) and shelves (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.1) which are the first and second support members. User positions the hooks on the peg board where necessary to hold the product units (paragraph [0050]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the hooks (80, 84, and 76) can be positioned above corresponding shelves (70 and 100) based on Users needs (paragraph [0050]) as the hooks are easy attached and removed from the peg board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, and16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US 20180244293 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murray discloses a cart (cart 10) for transporting a plurality of bags for use in a product storage facility, the cart comprising: a frame (frame assembly 22), wheels (wheels 24) mounted to and supporting the frame; a plurality of first support members (hooks 80, 84, 76, fig.1) extending from and fixedly mounted relative to the frame (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the hooks can be fixedly mounted via fasteners or adhesives) and configured to support handles of the bags thereon; and a plurality of second support members (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100) movably mounted relative to the frame and configured to support a bottom of the bags thereon (support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 are movable mounted on rack assembly 90); wherein the first support members are different from the second support members (support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 are different than hooks), and each first support member corresponds to a second support member (hooks 80, 84, and 76 are easily movable on the peg board to a Users needs and each shelf can have corresponding hook and vise versa, paragraph [0050]), of the plurality of second support members, so that each second support member has at least one corresponding first support member and each of at least one bag is stably held by the second support member and the at least one first support member (product units 2A-C can be supported by hooks and shelves, fig.1).
Regarding claim 2, Murray discloses wherein each of the first support members comprises a hook (hooks 80, 84, 76, fig.1), and wherein each of the second support members comprises a tray or a shelf (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100).
Regarding claim 3, Murray discloses wherein the frame comprises a vertical divider member (vertical portion 26 and peg board 82), wherein some of the second support members extend away from one side of the vertical divider member and some of the second support members extend away from an opposite side of the vertical divider member (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.6).
Regarding claim 6, Murray discloses wherein the cart includes at least three rows of first support members (a plurality of hooks 80, 84, and 76 can be mounted anywhere on peg board 82, including in three rows, fig.1 and 6) and three rows of second support members extending on a first side of the vertical divider member (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.6), and further comprising at least three rows of first support members (a plurality of hooks 80, 84, and 76 can be mounted anywhere on peg board 82, including in three rows, fig.1 and 6) and three rows of second support members extending on a second, opposite, side of the vertical divider member (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.6).
Regarding claim 7, Murray discloses wherein: a first row of the second support members is located between first and second rows of the first support members (uppermost product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above and below for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6); a second row of the second support members is located between second and third rows of the first support members (middle product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above and below for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6); and a third row of the second support members is located below a third row of the first support members (bottommost product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Murray discloses wherein at least one pair of the first support members is positioned above each one of the second support members (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Murray discloses further comprising a bag dispenser (storage bins 154 and 162, fig.1) coupled to the frame and configured to store a plurality of the bags when the bags are not in use (storage bins 154 and 162 can store bags).
Regarding claim 11, Murray discloses a method of transporting a plurality of bags in a product storage facility (cart 10 transports bags), the method comprising: supporting, using a respective one or more of a plurality of first support members (hooks 80, 84, 76, fig.1) of a cart (cart 10), handles of each of a plurality of bags being transported by the cart, wherein the cart comprises wheels (wheels 24) mounted to and supporting a frame (frame assembly 22), wherein the plurality of the first support members extend from the frame; and supporting, using a respective one of a plurality of second support members (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100) of the cart, a bottom of each of the plurality of bags being transported by the cart, wherein the plurality of second support members extend from the frame and are different from the plurality of the first support members (support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 are different than hooks), and each first support member corresponds to a second support member (hooks 80, 84, and 76 are easily movable on the peg board to a Users needs and each shelf can have corresponding hook and vise versa, paragraph [0050]), of the plurality of second support members, so that each second support member has at least one corresponding first support member and each of at least one bag is stably held by the second support member and the at least one first support member (product units 2A-C can be supported by hooks and shelves, fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Murray discloses wherein each of the first support members comprises a hook (hooks 80, 84, 76, fig.1), and wherein each of the second support members comprises a tray or a shelf (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100).
Regarding claim 13, Murray discloses wherein the frame comprises a vertical divider member (vertical portion 26 and peg board 82), wherein some of the second support members extend away from one side of the vertical divider member and some of the second support members extend away from an opposite side of the vertical divider member (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.6).
Regarding claim 16, Murray discloses wherein the cart includes at least three rows of first support members (a plurality of hooks 80, 84, and 76 can be mounted anywhere on peg board 82, including in three rows, fig.1 and 6) and three rows of second support members extending on a first side of the vertical divider member (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.6), and further comprising at least three rows of first support members (a plurality of hooks 80, 84, and 76 can be mounted anywhere on peg board 82, including in three rows, fig.1 and 6) and three rows of second support members extending on a second, opposite, side of the vertical divider member (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100, fig.6).
Regarding claim 17, Murray discloses wherein: a first row of the second support members is located between first and second rows of the first support members (uppermost product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above and below for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6); a second row of the second support members is located between second and third rows of the first support members (middle product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above and below for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6); and a third row of the second support members is located below a third row of the first support members (bottommost product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6).
Regarding claim 18, Murray discloses wherein at least one pair of the first support members is positioned above each one of the second support members (product support assembly 70 and shelf assembly 100 has peg board 82 above for rows of hooks 80, 84, and 76 to be mounted, figs.1 and 6).
Regarding claim 19, Murray discloses further comprising a bag dispenser (storage bins 154 and 162, fig.1) coupled to the frame and configured to store a plurality of the bags when the bags are not in use (storage bins 154 and 162 can store bags).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US 20180244293 A1) in view of Dresnick (US 10856656 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Murray discloses the cart of claim 1 and method of transporting of claim 11, but fails to disclose the second support members being pivotally coupled relative to the vertical divider member.
However, Dresnick discloses wherein the second support members (shelves 20, 30, 40, fig.3) are pivotally coupled relative to the vertical divider member such that each of the second support members is permitted to fold up relative to the vertical divider member (shelves 20, 30, and 40 fold upward relative to the tower 60, fig.3).
Murray and Dresnick are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of shelves. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murray with the foldable shelves of Dresnick with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the cart to be folded flatter for a more compact storage position.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Murray in combination with Dresnick discloses wherein the frame is in a form of an i-beam (base 62 of Dresnick form and I-beam, fig.3), and wherein, after the second support members are folded up, the cart permits another identical cart having second support members folded up to be nested thereagainst (Dresnick, shelves 20, 30, and 40 of item 10 being folded up would allow another item 10 to nest with runners 64 of one item 10 adjacent the runners 64 of another item 10, fig.3).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US 20180244293 A1) in view of Bidram (US 20220204066 A1).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Murray discloses the cart of claim 1 and method of transporting of claim 11, but fails to disclose a robotic transport unit.
However, Bidram discloses further comprising at least one robotic transport unit (towing device 250, figs.2) including a processor-based control circuit and configured to mechanically engage the cart (server 280 in communication with towing device 250 and apparatus 201, towing hook 256 with mechanical connection 258, fig.2, paragraphs [0025, 0027-0028], fig.2), and to move the cart about the product storage facility when mechanically engaged to the cart (fig.2).
Murray and Bidram are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of carts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Murray with the towing device of Bidram with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of allowing the carts to be autonomously transported around for a more efficient system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613