DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed April 17, 2026 for the above identified patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 and 16, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler (DE 26 20 972) alone, or alternatively, in combination with Spaniel (DE 199 32 118).
Ziegler teaches a three-speed transmission system comprising: an input shaft (14); a first clutch shaft (18); a second clutch shaft (20); an idler shaft (24); a first clutch (34) configured to selectively engage the first clutch shaft; a second clutch (56) configured to selectively engage the second clutch shaft; a third clutch (50) configured to selectively engage the first clutch shaft; and an output shaft (16) coupled to the idler shaft, wherein the output shaft is positioned in one of a first and second position relative to the input shaft (the first and second output shaft positions are considered a first rotational position and a second rotational position); wherein the input shaft is positioned between the first clutch shaft and the second clutch shaft in relation to an axis that extends perpendicular to the input shaft, the first clutch shaft, and the second clutch shaft.
Ziegler does not teach one/two electric motor(s) driving the input shaft through an input speed reduction gear train. The prior art to Spaniel teaches a pair of electric motors (1,2) connected to a transmission input shaft (3) with an input speed reduction gear train (4) for providing an electric drive device having optimal efficiency. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to drive the input shaft of Ziegler with a pair of electric motors having an input speed reduction gear train, as taught by Spaniel, motivation being to provide an electric drive device having optimal efficiency.
Claim 3: The above described transmission of Ziegler modified with Spaniel teaches the input speed reduction gear train (Fig. 2 of Spaniel) comprises a first gear (4), a second gear (4), and a third gear (4) coupled in series, wherein the first gear couples to the first electric motor (1), the second gear rotationally couples to the input shaft (3), and the third gear couples to the second electric motor (2).
Claim 4: Ziegler teaches the input shaft is selectively rotationally coupled to the first clutch shaft via a first clutch gear (36) of the first clutch when the first clutch is engaged and via a third clutch gear (44) of the third clutch when the third clutch (and the first clutch are) is engaged.
Claim 5: Ziegler teaches the input shaft is selectively rotationally coupled to the second clutch shaft via a second clutch gear (54) of the second clutch when the second clutch is engaged.
Claim 6: Ziegler teaches the first clutch and the third clutch are configured together as a multi-range clutch, wherein, in a first position (friction plated or 34 are engaged and friction plates of 50 are disengaged) of the multi-range clutch, the first clutch is engaged, and in a second position (friction plated or 34 are disengaged and friction plates of 50 are engaged) of the multi-range clutch, the third clutch is engaged.
Claim 7: Ziegler teaches when the first clutch is engaged and the second and third clutches are disengaged, the transmission system is in a first gear ratio, when the second clutch is engaged and the first and third clutches are disengaged, the transmission system is in a second gear ratio, and when the third clutch is engaged and the first and second clutches are disengaged, the transmission system is in a third gear ratio.
Claim 17: Ziegler teaches the first and third clutches are configured as a multi-range clutch, wherein both the first and third clutches are rotationally coupled to the input shaft via the same gear (44).
Claim 19: Ziegler teaches the input shaft is rotationally coupled to the first clutch shaft via the first clutch when the first clutch is engaged and via the third clutch when the third clutch (and the first clutch are) is engaged with the first clutch shaft.
Claim 20: Ziegler teaches the idler shaft is rotationally coupled to the first clutch shaft and the second clutch shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, and 11-15 are allowed.
Claims 2 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art transmission does not teach the claimed structure, including the output shaft having short drop configuration and a long drop configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618