DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-39 are pending in this continuation application for reissue of US Patent 9,047,547 (hereinafter “the '547 patent”) issued from application no. 13/353,850. Claims 1-19 are patented claims.
Prior or Concurrent Proceedings
2. Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which the ‘547 patent is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation.
Information Material to Patentability
3. Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is mate-rial to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Application Data Sheet
5. The application data sheet (ADS) filed on November 22, 2024 is objected to because the domestic benefit information does not properly identify the present application as both a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/579,820 and a reissue application of the '547 patent.
See the Reissue Application Filing Guide for more information at: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/forms/uspto_reissue_ads_guide_Sept2014.pdf
In particular see the screen shot on page 10 given the sample facts presented on page 9. The corrected ADS should comply with 37 CFR 1.76(c)(2), which requires that any changes to an ADS be identified with markings (underline for addition, strike through for deletion).
Applicant should additionally file, as a paper separate from its next response, a Request for Corrected Filing Receipt to ensure that these changes are acted upon and corrected by the appropriate official.
Claim Objection - 37 C.F.R. 1.173
6. 37 CFR 1.173 (c) states:
(c) Status of claims and support for claim changes. Whenever there is an amendment to the claims pursuant to paragraph (b) of this section, there must also be supplied, on pages separate from the pages containing the changes, the status (i.e., pending or canceled), as of the date of the amendment, of all patent claims and of all added claims, and an explanation of the support in the disclosure of the patent for the changes made to the claims (emphasis added).
Applicant has not provided any explanation of the support in the disclosure of the patent for the changes made to the claims for new claims 20-39. Applicant must explain how each of the limitations of the new claims are supported in the specification with reference to specific passages in the specification with accompanying explanations, not mere citations to columns and lines or paragraph numbers in the specification. Failure to comply in the next response will result in a notice of non-compliance with no substantive examination. Failure to provide sufficient explanation of support to satisfy the written description requirements under 35 USC 112(a) may result in additional new rejections under that statute.
Double Patenting – Non-Statutory
8. Claims 20, 23-24, 30-36, and 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20-39 of US RE48,939 (“the 939 patent”).
Claim 20 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 20 of the ‘939 patent, except for the number of second pins being more than the number of the first pins. However, only two pairs of pins are used functionally in the claim. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to add non-functional pins in a memory device.
9. Claims 20, 23-24, and 29-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20-39 of US RE50,274 (“the 274 patent”).
Claim 20 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘274 patent, except for the number of second pins being more than the number of the first pins. However, only two pairs of pins are used functionally in the claim. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to add non-functional pins in a memory device.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 251
(a) IN GENERAL.—Whenever any patent is, through error, deemed wholly or partly inoperative or invalid, by reason of a defective specification or drawing, or by reason of the patentee claiming more or less than he had a right to claim in the patent, the Director shall, on the surrender of such patent and the payment of the fee required by law, reissue the patent for the invention disclosed in the original patent, and in accordance with a new and amended application, for the unexpired part of the term of the original patent. No new matter shall be introduced into the application for reissue.
11. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 251 pursuant to 37 CFR 1.177(b). Instant reissue application presents original claims 1-19. However, these claims have been superseded by the reissuance of claims in the RE50,274 patent. Only one set of original patent claims, in its original or amended form, can be examined in a reissue application family. See MPEP 1451.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may cancel all original patent claims and present the amended claims as new claims.
12. MPEP 1412.01 states that the reissue claims must be for the same invention as that disclosed as being the invention of the original patent. MPEP 1412.01 further provides guidelines for determining whether the reissue claims are “for the invention disclosed in the original patent” as follows:
Examiners should review the reissue application to determine if:
(A) the claims presented in the reissue application are described in the original patent specification and enabled by the original patent specification such that 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph is satisfied;
(B) nothing in the original patent specification indicates an intent not to claim the subject matter of the claims presented in the reissue application; and
(C) the newly claimed invention is clearly and unequivocally disclosed in the specification as a separate invention with the claimed combination of features.
In Forum US, Inc. v. Flow Valve, LLC, Appeal 2018-1765 (Fed. Cir. June 17, 2019) Federal Circuit stated,
Thus, for broadening reissue claims, the specification of the original patent must do more than merely suggest or indicate the invention recited in reissue claims; “[i]t must appear from the face of the instrument that what is covered by the reissue was intended to have been covered and secured by the original.” Indus. Chems., 315 U.S. at 676 (emphasis added). Stated differently, the original patent “must clearly and unequivocally disclose the newly claimed invention as a separate invention.” Antares, 771 F.3d at 1362. We apply the standard set forth in Industrial Chemicals and Antares to this case and hold that the reissue claims are invalid.”
(emphasis added).
13. Claims 29, 30-31, 33, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 USC 251 for claiming subject matter that is not directed to the invention disclosed in the original patent.
14. With respect to claim 29, the original patent does not clearly and unequivocally disclose that first pins other than the one pair of first pins in the first pin group are invalidated in the second mode. The specification discloses that “the function in the normal mode is invalidated for pins other than GND (3rd and 6th) and VCC (4th) out of the 1st to 9th pins.”
15. With respect to claims 30 and 31, the original patent does not clearly and unequivocally disclose a memory card with first and second terminals arranged on the front side and a different side, respectively, as claimed. The only disclosed embodiments of claim 1, where the number of the second pins is more than the number of the first pins are shown in FIGs. 10A and 10B. The second pins shown in the figures are not arranged in the middle of the memory cards, not on any sides of the cards.
16. With respect to claim 33, the original patent does not clearly and unequivocally disclose that the second pin group is at a position that is offset from a central position in the embodiments of FIGs. 10A and 10B.
17. With respect to claims 35-37, the original patent does not clearly and unequivocally disclose that the wires connecting the pins for differential signals and the controller have approximately equal length in the embodiments of FIGs. 10A and 10B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
19. Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. See the rejection of claim 29 under 35 USC 251 above.
21. Claims 20-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
22. Claim 20 recites the limitation “a plurality of first pins arranged with aligning along the front edge of the substrate.” This grammatically unusual phase does not distinctly point out the metes and bounds of the claims. For the purpose of this examination, the limitation will be interpreted as “a plurality of first pins arranged to align along the front edge of the substrate.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claims 20, 27-28, 32, 34, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being US Pub. 2009/0254704 (“Nakamura”) in view of US Pub. 2005/0281010 (“Wang”).
25. With respect to claim 20, Nakamura discloses a memory card (FIG. 1, ) including a memory and a controller mounted on a substrate, the memory being capable of storing data and outputting stored data (see paragraph [0038]), the controller controlling an operation of the memory in a first mode and a second mode, data transfer speed of the second mode being higher than that of the first mode (paragraph [0011] and [0021]; see also FIG. 4) the substrate having a front edge, and a back edge, the back edge being an edge arranged on an opposite side of the front edge, the memory card further including:
a first pin group which includes a plurality of first pins arranged with aligning along the front edge of the substrate (see FIG. 3), the plurality of first pins functioning as four data pins, one command pin, one power source pin, one clock pin, and two ground pins in the first mode (see FIG. 4, pins 1-9 used in SD mode), part of the plurality of first pins being used both in the first mode and the second mode (see FIG. 4, some of the same pins are used in high speed mode); and
a second pin group which includes a plurality of second pins arranged with aligning along the front edge of the substrate (FIG 3., 202 and 205 pin pairs) [and being apart from the first pin group toward the back edge], at least two pairs of the plurality of second pins being used for differential data signal in the second mode (see FIG. 4, pins 10-13), [and the number of the second pins being more than the number of the first pins].
However, Nakamura does not specifically disclose limitations in square brackets above. On the other hand, Wang discloses a memory card where second pins are apart from the first pin group toward the back edge (Wang, FIG. 1, pins 124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt Wang’s arrangement of differential data pins in a second row in the memory card of Nakamura to provide more surface areas for higher speed data pins. Simple substitution of one known element (four small contact pins) for another (larger contact pins) to obtain predictable result is obvious under KSR v. Teleflex. Applying a known technique (increase contact surface area) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is also obvious under KSR.
Nakamura and Wang teach all of the limitations of claim 20 as discuss above, with the exception of the number of the second pins being more than the number of the first pins. However, only four of the second pins are associated with functionalities of the memory card of claim 20. Adding pins that do not provide any functionality is within the capability one or ordinary skill in the art.
26. With respect to claim 27, Nakamura discloses the memory card according to claim 20, wherein the part of the plurality of first pins used both in the first mode and the second mode is one pair of first pins used for data transfer in the first mode (FIG. 4, pins 7-8).
27. With respect to claim 28, Nakamura discloses the memory card according to claim 27, wherein the one pair of first pins is used for differential clock in the second mode (see FIG. 4).
28. With respect to claim 32, Nakamura discloses the memory card according to claim 20, wherein the second pin group is arranged in approximately same direction as the first pin group at a position that is near a central position between the front edge and the back edge and that is near the central position of the substrate (see Wang, FIG. 4).
29. With respect to 34, Nakamura discloses the memory card according to claim 20, wherein an area of the second pins arranged is smaller than an area of the first pins arranged (area occupied by pins 3-4 and 6-13 is smaller than the area occupied by pins 1-9). Nakamura provides evidence of having second pins smaller that the first pin.
30. With respect to claim 38, Oshima discloses the memory card according to claim 20, wherein the memory has a first memory and a second memory, each includes a NAND-type flash memory (the examiner takes official notice that NAND-type flash memory is well known in the art).
Conclusion
/Woo H. Choi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/Cameron Saadat/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
/ALEXANDER J KOSOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3992