DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG (US Pub.: 2010/0235700) in view of Malisic et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0095138) and Callaghan (US Patent 7,334,159).
As per claim 1, SONG teaches/suggests an apparatus comprising: one or more components configured to: operating, with a host tester, a set of instructions based on a type of test being performed for memory device (e.g. associated with read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]); inject the set of instructions into a data path of memory device (e.g. associated with transmitting read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]; [0037]); extract a set of data from the data path, wherein the set of data is generated by the data path based on the set of instructions; and determine a test result based on the set of data (e.g. associated with comparing data outputted from the DUT with corresponding data from latch unit to determine if DUT is normal or defective: Fig. 1; [0050]) (Fig. 1-3; and [0008]-[0014]; and [0029]-[0050]).
SONG does not teach the apparatus comprising:
being internal to the CXL compliant memory device;
generate, to virtualize one or more operation of the host, instruction for the CXL compliant device; and
communicating with the CXL compliant device.
Malisic teaches/suggests an apparatus comprising: operating with the CXL compliant memory device; generate instruction for the CXL compliant device (e.g. associated with testing workloads such as instructions are generated for CXL DUT/memory: [0035]; [0039]); and communicating with the CXL compliant device (e.g. associated with communicating with CXL DUT/memory for testing: [0083]-[0085]) ([0015]; [0033]-[0040]; [0083]-[0085]) (Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; and [0077]-[0085]).
Callaghan teaches/suggests an apparatus comprising: being internal to memory device ; and to virtualize one or more operation of the host (e.g. associated with self-testing RAM component (122) being internal to memory in Fig. 2-3) (Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; and col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Malisic’s testing architecture and Callaghan’s self-testing into SONG’s apparatus for the benefit of efficiently and effectively test resources in terms of performance and cost (Malisic, [0082]), and facilitate testing of memory while freeing CPU from tedious testing algorithms (Callaghan, col. 2, ll. 29-40) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the one or more components, to determine the test result, are configured to compare the set of data to an expected set of data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
As per claim 3, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 2 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the one or more components, to compare the set of data to the expected set of data, are configured to perform a bitwise exclusive or (XOR) operation using bit values of the set of data and bit values of the expected set of data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
As per claim 6, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of a read command or a write command (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
As per claim 7, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of fixed data or pseudo-randomly generated data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 8, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of a set of sequential memory addresses or a set of pseudo-random generated memory addresses (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, SONG teaches/suggests a method comprising: operating with a host tester; having a set of instructions based on a type of test being performed for memory device (e.g. associated with read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]); injecting the set of instructions into a data path of memory device (e.g. associated with transmitting read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]; [0037]); and extracting, by a comparator component of the memory device, a set of data from the data path, wherein the set of data is generated by the data path based on the set of instructions; and determining a test result based on the set of data (e.g. associated with comparing data outputted from the DUT with corresponding data from latch unit to determine if DUT is normal or defective: Fig. 1; [0050]) (Fig. 1-3; and [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]).
SONG does not teach the method comprising:
transmitting, by a control unit component internal to a compute express link (CXL) compliant memory device to a generator component internal to the CXL compliant memory device to virtualize one or more operations of the host, an indication of a type of test being performed for the CXL compliant memory device;
generating, by the generator component, instruction based on the type of test being performed for the CXL compliant device;
communicate, by the generator component, with the CXL compliant device;
operating, by at least one of the control unit component or a component internal to the CXL compliant device, accordingly; and operating, by the control unit component, accordingly.
Malisic teaches/suggests a method comprising: transmitting, by a control unit component of a compute express link (CXL) compliant memory device to a generator component of the CXL compliant memory device, an indication of a type of test being performed for the CXL compliant memory device (e.g. associated with corresponding signaling for configuring the test system to perform the corresponding test process: [0038]-[0039]); generating, by the generator component, instruction based on the type of test being performed for the CXL compliant device (e.g. associated with testing workloads such as instructions are generated for CXL DUT/memory: [0035]; [0039]); communicate, by the generator component, with the CXL compliant device (e.g. associated with communicating with CXL DUT/memory for testing: [0083]-[0085]) ([0015]; [0033]-[0040]; [0083]-[0085]); operating, by at least one of the control unit component or a component of the CXL compliant device, accordingly; and operating, by the control unit component, accordingly (Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; and [0077]-[0085]).
Callaghan teaches/suggests a method comprising: operating, by component internal to memory device with component internal to memory device to virtualize one or more operations of the host; and operating, by component internal to memory device (e.g. associated with components of self-testing RAM component (122) being internal to memory in Fig. 2-3) (Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; and col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Malisic’s testing architecture and Callaghan’s self-testing into SONG’s apparatus for the benefit of efficiently and effectively test resources in terms of performance and cost (Malisic, [0082]), and facilitate testing of memory while freeing CPU from tedious testing algorithms (Callaghan, col. 2, ll. 29-40) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
As per claim 10, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the method further comprising receiving, by the control unit component from the comparator component, an indication of a comparison of the set of data to an expected set of data, wherein determining the test result is based on the comparison of the set of data to the expected set of data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
As per claim 11, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 10 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the method further comprising performing, by the comparator component, a bitwise exclusive or (XOR) operation using bit values of the set of data and bit values of the expected set of data, wherein the comparison of the set of data to the expected set of data is based on the bitwise XOR operation (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
As per claim 14, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the method further comprising wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of a read command or a write command (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
As per claim 15, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the method further comprising wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of fixed data or pseudo-randomly generated data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
As per claim 16, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the method further comprising wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of a set of sequential memory addresses or a set of pseudo-random generated memory addresses (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features.
Claims 4, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG (US Pub.: 2010/0235700) in view of Malisic et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0095138), Callaghan (US Patent 7,334,159), and Goto et al. (US Pub.: 2002/0085418).
As per claim 4, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the one or more components, to inject the set of instructions into the data path, are configured to use a first multiplexer associated with an incoming data buffer of the data path, and wherein the one or more components, to extract the set of data from the data path, are configured to use a second multiplexer associated with an outgoing data buffer of the data path (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), but SONG, Malisic and Callaghan do not teach the apparatus comprising: a first multiplexer associated with an incoming data buffer of path; and a second multiplexer associated with an outgoing data buffer of path.
Goto teaches/suggests a memory device comprising: a first multiplexer (e.g. associate with multiplexer (7) in Fig. 9) associated with an incoming data buffer (e.g. associate with input buffer (17) in Fig. 9) of path; and a second multiplexer (e.g. associate with multiplexer (7) in Fig. 9) associated with an outgoing data buffer (e.g. associate with output buffer (15) in Fig. 9) of path (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Goto’s memory architecture into SONG, Malisic and Callaghan’s apparatus for the benefit of implementing a robust storage capacity that can be easily changed (Goto, [0007]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above rejection of claim 4.
As per claim 17, SONG teaches/suggests a memory device comprising: a data path (e.g. associated path for communicating data, read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]; [0037]; [0050]); operating with a host tester; an apparatus including a comparator component (e.g. associated with component for comparing data outputted from DUT with corresponding data from latch unit: Fig. 1; [0050]); a set of instructions based on the type of test being performed for the memory device (e.g. associated with read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]); inject the set of instructions into the data path (e.g. associated with transmitting read/write commands, address signal: Fig. 1; [0030]; [0037]); extract, by the comparator component, a set of data from the data path, wherein the set of data is generated by the data path based on the set of instructions; and determine a test result for the type of test being performed for the memory device based on the set of data (e.g. associated with comparing data outputted from the DUT with corresponding data from latch unit to determine if DUT is normal or defective: Fig. 1; [0050]) (Fig. 1-3; and [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]).
SONG do not teach the memory device comprising:
a compute express link (CXL) compliant host interface;
associated with the CXL compliant host interface including an incoming data buffer and an outgoing data buffer; and
a virtual interface test (VIT) apparatus to virtualize one or more operation of a host, the VIT apparatus including a control unit component internal to the memory device, a generator component internal to the memory device, being internal to the memory device, a first multiplexer between the CXL compliant host interface and the incoming data buffer, and a second multiplexer between the outgoing data buffer and the CXL compliant host interface, wherein the VIT apparatus is configured to:
transmit, by the control unit component to the generator component, an indication of a type of test being performed for the memory device, generate, by the generator component, to operate accordingly;
operating, by the generator component and using the first multiplexer, with the incoming data buffer of path
operating, by one of the control unit component and using the second multiplexer, with the outgoing data buffer of path; and operating, by the control unit component, accordingly.
Malisic teaches/suggests a memory device comprising: a compute express link (CXL) compliant host interface (e.g. associated with host (711) being coupled to interface of CXL DUT/memory device in Fig. 7: Fig. 7; [0035]); associated with the CXL compliant host interface (e.g. associated with host (711) being coupled to interface of CXL DUT/memory device in Fig. 7: Fig. 7; [0035]); and apparatus, the apparatus including a control unit component, a generator component, the CXL compliant host interface, and the CXL compliant host interface, wherein the apparatus is configured to: transmit, by the control unit component to the generator component, an indication of a type of test being performed for the memory device, generate, by the generator component, to operate accordingly (e.g. associated with corresponding signaling for configuring the test system to perform the corresponding test process, and then generating testing workloads such as instructions for CXL DUT/memory: [0038]-[0039]); operating, by the generator component, accordingly; and operating, by one of the control unit component, accordingly; and operating, by the control unit component, accordingly (Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; and [0077]-[0085]).
Callaghan teaches/suggests a memory device comprising: a virtual interface test (VIT) apparatus to virtualize one or more operation of a host, the VIT apparatus including component internal to the memory device, being internal to the memory device, being internal to the memory device, wherein the VIT apparatus is operating accordingly (e.g. associated with components of self-testing RAM component (122) being internal to memory in Fig. 2-3) (Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; and col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14).
Goto teaches/suggests a memory device comprising: including an incoming data buffer (e.g. associate with input buffer (17) in Fig. 9) and an outgoing data buffer (e.g. associate with output buffer (15) in Fig. 9); a first multiplexer (e.g. associate with multiplexer (7) in Fig. 9) between interface and the incoming data buffer (e.g. associate with input buffer (17) in Fig. 9), and a second multiplexer (e.g. associate with multiplexer (7) in Fig. 9) between the outgoing data buffer (e.g. associate with output buffer (15) in Fig. 9) and interface; operating, using the first multiplexer (e.g. associate with multiplexer (7) in Fig. 9), with the incoming data buffer (e.g. associate with input buffer (17) in Fig. 9) of path; and operating, using the second multiplexer (e.g. associate with multiplexer (7) in Fig. 9), with the outgoing data buffer (e.g. associate with output buffer (15) in Fig. 9) of path (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Malisic’s testing architecture, Callaghan’s self-testing and Goto’s memory architecture into SONG’s device for the benefit of efficiently and effectively test resources in terms of performance and cost (Malisic, [0082]), facilitate testing of memory while freeing CPU from tedious testing algorithms (Callaghan, col. 2, ll. 29-40), and implementing a robust storage capacity that can be easily changed (Goto, [0007]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
As per claim 18, SONG, Malisic, Callaghan and Goto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 17 above, where SONG, Malisic, Callaghan and Goto further teach/suggest the memory device comprising wherein the VIT apparatus is configured to determine the test result based on comparing, by the comparator component, the set of data to an expected set of data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14; and Goto, Fig. 9).
As per claim 19, SONG, Malisic, Callaghan and Goto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where SONG, Malisic, Callaghan and Goto further teach/suggest the memory device comprising wherein the VIT apparatus is configured to compare the set of data to the expected set of data by performing, by the comparator component, a bitwise exclusive or (XOR) operation using bit values of the set of data and bit values of the expected set of data (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14; and Goto, Fig. 9).
As per claim 20, SONG, Malisic, Callaghan and Goto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 17 above, where SONG, Malisic, Callaghan and Goto further teach/suggest the memory device comprising wherein the set of instructions is associated with at least one of: a read command, a write command, fixed data, pseudo-randomly generated data, a set of sequential memory addresses, or a set of pseudo-random generated memory addresses (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14; and Goto, Fig. 9), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further teach/suggest the above claimed features.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG (US Pub.: 2010/0235700) in view of Malisic et al. (US Pub.: 2024/0095138) and Callaghan (US Patent 7,334,159) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Erickson et al. (US Pub.: 2023/0177176).
As per claim 5, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: wherein the one or more components are further configured to receive control information of the CXL compliant memory device (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), but SONG, Malisic and Callaghan do not teach/suggest the apparatus comprising: communicating via a side band interface.
Erickson teaches/suggests an apparatus comprising: communicating via a side band interface (Fig. 5; and [0029]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Erickson’s side-band into SONG, Malisic and Callaghan’s apparatus for the benefit of allowing host to communicate without interfering with CXL-related signal transfers (Erickson, [0029]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
As per claim 13, SONG, Malisic and Callaghan teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where SONG, Malisic and Callaghan further teach/suggest the method further comprising: wherein the control unit component is associated with an interface of the CXL compliant memory device (SONG, Fig. 1-3; [0008]-[0014]; [0029]-[0050]; Malisic, Fig. 1A-1B; Fig. 7-8; [0015]; [0033]-[0044]; [0077]-[0085]; and Callaghan, Fig. 2-3; Fig. 5; col. 4, l. 31 to col. 8, l. 39; col. 9, l. 32 to col. 10, l. 14), but SONG, Malisic and Callaghan do not teach/suggest the method comprising: a side band interface.
Erickson teaches/suggests a method comprising: a side band interface (Fig. 5; and [0029]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Erickson’s side-band into SONG, Malisic and Callaghan’s method for the benefit of allowing host to communicate without interfering with CXL-related signal transfers (Erickson, [0029]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
II. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 July 02, 2026