DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 were previously examined.
Claims 10-18 and 20 were previously objected.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9-11, 13 and 17 are amended on June 23, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending on this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments see under “Rejection of independent claims 1, 6 and 19 under USC 103” filed on June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
On page 16 of the remark, Applicant argued that none of prior arts disclose "encode the first subset of the plurality of messages into a first subset of codewords associated with a first Reed-Muller (RM) code; encode the second subset of the plurality of messages into a second subset of codewords associated with a second RM code, wherein the first RM code is a subcode of the second RM code" as recited in claim 1. On page 17 of the remark, Applicant argued that none of prior arts disclose “wherein the first subset of the plurality of codewords is associated with a first Reed-Muller (RM) code and the second subset of the plurality of codewords is associated with a second RM code, wherein the first RM code is a subcode of the second RM code…"
Applicant explained that Tsai discloses at [0076] discloses a single “Reed Muller code encoder 1012” that ''utilizes N basis vectors. Thus, Tsai maps different messages to different input bit positions of a single Reed-Muller encoder. Therefore, Tsai does not disclose the a first subset of codewords associated with a first Reed-Muller (RM) code; encode the second subset of the plurality of messages into a second subset of codewords associated with a second RM code, wherein the first RM code is a subcode of the second RM code”
In Responses:
Examiner carefully reviewed the specification.
Examiner disagreed because figure 4 of Applicant only shows a single encoder 420 to encoding either a first set of messages 411 or a second set of messages 412. It does not show the use of two different encoders. It shows single encoder 420 to (1) encode a first set of messages 411 to produce a first RM code (425) or (2) to encode a second set of set of messages 412 to produce a second RM code (425). The first RM code is different from the second RM code due to the fact that the first set of messages 411 and the second set of messages 412 are having different set of messages.
However, it does not show how the first RM code 411 (see output 425 of encoder 420 after encoding first set of messages) can be a subcode of RM code (see output 425 of encoder 420 after encoding second set of messages). The first RM code is either after or before the second RM code. The first RM code cannot be a sub-code of the second RM code at all.
Examiner disagreed.
The claims do not recite or require two different Reed Mueller encoders, such as a first Reed-Muller encoder and a seconder Reed-Muller encoder, wherein the first Reed Muller encoder is using a first Reed-Muller code and the second Reed Muller encoder is to use a second Reed-Muller code, wherein the first Reed-Muller code is different from the second Reed-Muller code”.
Examiner disagreed.
The recited claims do not specify how to arrange the output of first RM code and second RM code so that to create the first RM code is a subcode of the second RM code.
As such,
Tsai in paragraph [0070] discloses a method of using an encoder (see figure 13, at 1308 arrange first message to encoder…then second message to encoder…) to encoding different messages such as first message then a second message due to have different reliabilities messages, wherein the first message to have highest reliability and the second message to have the lowest reliability (see figure 13, at 1310) ([0070]… UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G)after encoding of the first message and the second message (see figure 13, at 1310 then output to 1312), the first RM code for the first message is different from the second RM code for the second message (1) because of different reliability setting in the encoder and (2) because of first message and second message are different therefore the first RM code and the second RM code for each message are different. (see figure 13, at 1310) ([0070]… UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G) The first RM code is a sub-code of the second RM code because the first message RM code and the second RM code is part of the whole message.(It is noted that the recited claim does not clearly explained how the first RM code can be a sub-code of the second RM code after encoding at all)
As such, Hampton further discloses a method for arranging the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, …wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset. Therefore, Hampton discloses that first subset is encoding with first degree of ECC protection and the second subset is encoding with second degree of ECC protection. The first code or the second ode are different from each other’s due to different degree of ECC protection. The first code or the second code are subcode of each other’s.
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments:
On page 17 of the remark, Applicant argued that none of prior arts disclose “ "decode the plurality of codewords using a decoding method that is associated with a first error tolerance for the first subset of the plurality of codewords associated with the first RM code and a second error tolerance for the second subset of the plurality of codewords associated with the second RM code, wherein the first error tolerance is higher than the second error tolerance" (emphasis added).
In Responses:
Examiner disagreed because Losh in [0081] discloses two ECC modules 302 and 304 that have different levels or strengths of error protection to provide any error correction and/or detection to any different data, any different ECC chunks so that the different data has different levels or strengths of error protection. For example, the secondary ECC module 304 may provide a stronger error correcting code for one or more ECC chunks than an error correcting code provided by the primary ECC module 302 for the rest of the ECC chunks)
As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2020/0,052,822), in view of Hampton et al. (US 2014/0,053,015), in view of Losh et al. (US 2015/,0,012,794)
As per claim 1: (Currently Amended)
Tsai discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at an encoder device, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor,
(Tsai, Figs 1-15)
(Tsai, [0031] … base stations 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104)
(Tsai, [0027]… implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. … may execute software. …instruction sets, code, code segments, program code, programs…)
obtain a plurality of messages comprising a first
(Tsai, [0103] At operation 1304, the UE determining a first message and a second message containing the data bits. In certain configurations, information bits of the first message include a first group of data bits of the generated data bits and protection bits derived from the first group of data bits. Information bits of the second message include a second group of data bits of the generated data bits)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
encode the first
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
transmit, to a
(Tsai [0104]…At operation 1310, the UE encodes the first plurality of input bits and the second plurality of input bits to generate encoded bits. At operation 1312, the UE transmits the encoded bits to the base station)
Tsai does not disclose:
subset
Hampton discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Hamptons’ method of arranging the messages of Tsai into subset wherein each subset comprising different degree of ECC protection based on the requirement of each subset.
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
Tsai-Hampton does not mention decoding.
Losh discloses:
Decoder for decoding
(Losh [0081] The primary ECC module 302 and the secondary ECC module 304, …, may encode, decode, or otherwise provide error correction and/or detection to different data, different ECC chunks, or the like, so that the different data has different levels or strengths of error protection. For example, the secondary ECC module 304 may provide a stronger error correcting code for one or more ECC chunks than an error correcting code provided by the primary ECC module 302 for the rest of the ECC chunks)
(Losh [0096]…Reed-Muller family…)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Losh’s method of decoding into the system in order to decode encoded data of Tsai-Hampton back into its original data.
(Losh [0081] The primary ECC module 302 and the secondary ECC module 304, …, may encode, decode, or otherwise provide error correction and/or detection to different data, different ECC chunks, or the like, so that the different data has different levels or strengths of error protection. For example, the secondary ECC module 304 may provide a stronger error correcting code for one or more ECC chunks than an error correcting code provided by the primary ECC module 302 for the rest of the ECC chunks)
(Losh [0096]…Reed-Muller family…)
As per claim 2: (Currently Amended)
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
refrain from transmitting, for each codeword in the plurality of codewords, an explicit indication of whether the codeword belongs to the first s
(Tsai [0104]…At operation 1310, the UE encodes the first plurality of input bits and the second plurality of input bits to generate encoded bits. At operation 1312, the UE transmits the encoded bits to the base station)
Hampton further discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 3: (Original)
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
wherein the first RM code and the second RM code are of a first length and, wherein the first RM code of the first length is of a first order, wherein the second RM code of the first length is of a second order that is greater than the first order, wherein the first order is associated with a first error tolerance that is greater than a second error tolerance associated with the second order, wherein the first
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G)
Hampton further discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 4: (Currently Amended)
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
wherein to encode a particular message in the first
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G)
Hampton further discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 5:
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
wherein the plurality of messages further comprises a third
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G)
Hampton further discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 6: (Currently Amended)
Tsai discloses:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a decoder device, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor,
(Tsai, Figs 1-15)
(Tsai, [0031] … base stations 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104)
(Tsai, [0027]… implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. … may execute software. …instruction sets, code, code segments, program code, programs…)
receive a plurality of codewords associated with a plurality of messages,
(Tsai [0104]…At operation 1310, the UE encodes the first plurality of input bits and the second plurality of input bits to generate encoded bits. At operation 1312, the UE transmits the encoded bits to the base station)
wherein the plurality of codewords comprises a first subset of the plurality of codewords associated with a first subset of the plurality of messages and a second subset of the plurality of codewords associated with a second subset of the plurality of messages,
(Tsai, [0103] At operation 1304, the UE determining a first message and a second message containing the data bits. In certain configurations, information bits of the first message include a first group of data bits of the generated data bits and protection bits derived from the first group of data bits. Information bits of the second message include a second group of data bits of the generated data bits)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
wherein the first
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
Tsai does not disclose:
subset
Hampton discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Hamptons’ method of arranging the messages of Tsai into subset wherein each subset comprising different degree of ECC protection based on the requirement of each subset.
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
Tsai-Hampton does not mention
Decoder for output a plurality of decoded codewords associated with the plurality of messages.
Losh discloses:
Decoder for output a plurality of decoded codewords associated with the plurality of messages.
(Losh [0081] The primary ECC module 302 and the secondary ECC module 304, …, may encode, decode, or otherwise provide error correction and/or detection to different data, different ECC chunks, or the like, so that the different data has different levels or strengths of error protection. For example, the secondary ECC module 304 may provide a stronger error correcting code for one or more ECC chunks than an error correcting code provided by the primary ECC module 302 for the rest of the ECC chunks)
(Losh [0096]…Reed-Muller family…)
As per claim 7:
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
wherein a one-to-one mapping exists from decoded codewords in the plurality of decoded codewords to corresponding messages in the plurality of messages.
(Losh [0081] The primary ECC module 302 and the secondary ECC module 304, …, may encode, decode, or otherwise provide error correction and/or detection to different data, different ECC chunks, or the like, so that the different data has different levels or strengths of error protection. For example, the secondary ECC module 304 may provide a stronger error correcting code for one or more ECC chunks than an error correcting code provided by the primary ECC module 302 for the rest of the ECC chunks)
(Losh [0096]…Reed-Muller family…)
As per claim 8:
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
wherein a set of codewords associated with the second RM code comprises the first
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
Hampton further discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 9: (Currently Amended)
Tsai-Hampton-Losh further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor,
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
Hampton further discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 19:
Tsai discloses:
A method of wireless communication at a decoder device, comprising:
(Tsai, Figs 1-15)
(Tsai, [0031] … base stations 102 may wirelessly communicate with the UEs 104)
(Tsai, [0027]… implemented as a “processing system” that includes one or more processors. … may execute software. …instruction sets, code, code segments, program code, programs…)
receiving a plurality of codewords associated with a plurality of messages, wherein the plurality of codewords comprises
(Tsai [0104]…At operation 1310, the UE encodes the first plurality of input bits and the second plurality of input bits to generate encoded bits. At operation 1312, the UE transmits the encoded bits to the base station)
a first subset of the plurality of codewords associated with a first subset of the plurality of messages and a second subset of the plurality of codewords associated with a second subset of the plurality of messages,
(Tsai, [0103] At operation 1304, the UE determining a first message and a second message containing the data bits. In certain configurations, information bits of the first message include a first group of data bits of the generated data bits and protection bits derived from the first group of data bits. Information bits of the second message include a second group of data bits of the generated data bits)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
wherein the first
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
(Tsai [0104] At operation 1306, the UE determines that a priority level of the first message is higher than a priority level of the second message based on at least one predetermined rule. At operation 1308, the UE maps information bits of the first message to a first plurality of input bits of an encoder and information bits of the second message to a second plurality of input bits of the encoder. The first plurality of input bits offer an error protection level higher than an error protection level offered by the second plurality of input bit)
(Tsai [0069] FIG. 8 …communication between a base station 102 and UE 104. The UE 104 may have messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, whose priority levels are decreasing,…. message 812-1 is assigned the highest priority level and is to be transmitted with the highest error protection level)
(Tsai [0070] The UE 104 is configured to use encoded bits 822-1, 822-2, . . . 822-G having different reliabilities to carry the messages 812-1, 812-2, . . . 812-G, which have different priority levels. … UE 104 may use the encoded bits 822-1, which have the highest priority level, to carry the message 812-1, and may use the encoded bits 822-G, which have the lowest reliability, to carry the message 812-G.
(Tsai, [0076] FIG. 10 is diagram 1000 illustrating a Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 that may be employed by the UE 104. In this example, the Reed-Muller code encoder 1012 utilizes N basis vectors)
Tsai does not disclose:
subset
Hampton discloses:
subset
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Hamptons’ method of arranging the messages of Tsai into subset wherein each subset comprising different degree of ECC protection based on the requirement of each subset.
(Hampton, Abstract, … arrange the source data into subsets and generate ECC data in respect of each subset, wherein the source data and the associated ECC data are to be written to a data storage medium via a plurality of individual data channels, and wherein the ECC data comprises at least a first degree of ECC protection having a first level of redundancy in respect of a first subset and a second degree of ECC protection having a second level of redundancy in respect of a second subset)
Tsai-Hampton does not mention
Decoder for output a plurality of decoded codewords associated with the plurality of messages.
Losh discloses:
Decoder for output a plurality of decoded codewords associated with the plurality of messages.
(Losh [0081] The primary ECC module 302 and the secondary ECC module 304, …, may encode, decode, or otherwise provide error correction and/or detection to different data, different ECC chunks, or the like, so that the different data has different levels or strengths of error protection. For example, the secondary ECC module 304 may provide a stronger error correcting code for one or more ECC chunks than an error correcting code provided by the primary ECC module 302 for the rest of the ECC chunks)
(Losh [0096]…Reed-Muller family…)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 11-13 and 16 are objected due objected claims 10 and 16.
The prior arts of record do not clearly disclose all the limitations “…wherein the second RM code is associated with a generator matrix having a first number of rows corresponding to a first number of bits in each decoded codeword, wherein each row uniquely corresponds to an order of the RM code, wherein a particular order of the RM code may correspond to one of a single row or multiple rows of the generator matrix, wherein to decode a particular codeword of the plurality of codewords corresponding to a particular message of the plurality of messages, the at least one processor…is further configured to: set a current order of the decoding method to be the second order and a current codeword to be the particular codeword; determine, for each row of the generator matrix corresponding to the current order of the decoding method and until the current order is decremented below zero, a corresponding bit value based on a thresholding operation performed on a set of binary values associated with a set of linear combinations of bits in the current codeword, wherein the thresholding operation is based on the threshold value when the current order of the decoding method is greater than the first order and is based on a majority when the current order of the decoding method is not greater than the first order; calculate, based on the determined corresponding bit values, an updated codeword; decrement a value of the current order of the decoding method; and return, when the value of the current order is decremented below zero, the determined corresponding bit values as a particular decoded codeword” as recited in claim 10.
The prior arts of record do not close “…a modified recursive projection-aggregation (RPA)…” as recited in claims 14-15, 17-18 and 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111