DETAILED ACTION
1Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 09/08/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). It is noted that applicants amended claim 7 to recite “The substrate method according to claim 1”. Therefore, claim 7 belongs to group I and will be examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lauerhaas (US 2014/0206195 A1) in view of Arima (US 2022/0068646 A1) and further in view of Hernadi et al. (“Reactivity of different kinds of carbon during oxidative purification of catalytically prepared carbon nanotubes”, Solid State Ionics 141-142; page 203-209, Year: 2001).
Note:
As to claim 1, Lauerhaas discloses a substrate processing comprising:
an ozone gas supplies to
a sulfuric acid-ozone etching step of etching the amorphous carbon film by supplying, after the ozone gas is supplied to the amorphous carbon film, the amorphous carbon film with ozone-containing sulfuric acid that is sulfuric acid in which ozone gas as dissolved gas is dissolved (paragraph 0009-0013, 0036-0065).
As to claim 1, Lauerhaas fails to disclose an ozone gas etching step of etching an amorphous carbon film while heating the substrate. However, Lauerhaas clearly teaches to expose the amorphous carbon to oxidizing agent such as ozone while heating the substrate before sulfuric acid-ozone etching step (See paragraph 0062). Arima discloses an ozone dry etch prior to etching using sulfuric acid with oxidizing of a carbon-containing material (abstract, Fig 8A-8B, paragraph 0008-0030, 0059-0083). Hernadi teaches an ozone gas etching step of etching amorphous carbon while heating amorphous carbon (abstract, pages 202-209). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lauerhaas in view of Arima and Hernadi by performing disclose an ozone gas etching step of etching an amorphous carbon film while heating the substrate because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 2, Lauerhaas discloses wherein the sulfuric acid-ozone etching step includes a step of supplying the ozone-containing sulfuric acid to the amorphous carbon film while heating the substrate (paragraph 0009-0013, 0036-0065).
As to claim 3, Lauerhaas discloses the sulfuric acid-ozone etching step includes a step of etching the oxide film of the amorphous carbon film by supplying the ozone-containing sulfuric acid to the amorphous carbon film. Lauerhaas fails to disclose the ozone gas etching step includes a step of forming an oxide film of the amorphous carbon film in a surface layer of the amorphous carbon film by oxidizing a surface of the amorphous carbon film which has been exposed by etching of the amorphous carbon film. Hernadi discloses the ozone gas etching step includes a step of forming an oxide film of the amorphous carbon film in a surface layer of the amorphous carbon film by oxidizing a surface of the amorphous carbon film which has been exposed by etching (i.e. removal) of the amorphous carbon film (pages 202-209). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lauerhaas in view of Arima and Hernadi by having the ozone gas etching step includes a step of forming an oxide film of the amorphous carbon film in a surface layer of the amorphous carbon film by oxidizing a surface of the amorphous carbon film which has been exposed by etching of the amorphous carbon film because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
As to claim 4, Lauerhaas discloses the process steps or treatment cycle are repeated a plurality of time (paragraph 0076, 0086).
As to claim 5, Lauerhaas discloses wherein the sulfuric acid-ozone etching step includes a step of forming a liquid film of the ozone-containing sulfuric acid covering the entire front surface of the substrate, by discharging sulfuric acid toward the front surface of the substrate in a state in which the substrate is held horizontally with the front surface of the substrate facing upward, and an accommodating space in which the substrate is placed is filled with ozone gas (See Fig 3A-3B, paragraph 0043-0048).
As to claim 6, Lauerhaas discloses wherein the sulfuric acid-ozone etching step includes a step of causing the ozone-containing sulfuric acid to remain on the front surface of the substrate while maintaining a state in which the entire front surface of the substrate is covered with the liquid film of the ozone-containing sulfuric acid (See Fig 3A-3B, paragraph 0043-0048).
As to claim 7, as discussed above the combination of Lauerhaas, Arima and Hernadi discloses the method of claim 1. Lauerhaas further discloses the substrate processing method is performed by a substrate processing apparatus, the substrate apparatus comprising:
a heater that heats a substrate having an amorphous carbon film formed on a front surface of the substrate (paragraph 0044-0045);,
an ozone gas supply port
a nozzle that etches the amorphous carbon film by supplying, after the ozone gas is supplied to the amorphous carbon film, the amorphous carbon film formed on the front surface of the substrate with ozone-containing sulfuric acid that is sulfuric acid in which ozone gas as dissolved gas is dissolved (paragraph 0043-0070, Fig 3A-3B).
As to claim 7, Lauerhaas fails to disclose an ozone gas supply port that etches the amorphous carbon film while the front surface of the substrate is dry by supplying ozone gas as etching gas to the amorphous carbon film formed on the front surface of the substrate. Lauerhaas clearly discloses an ozone supply port supplies ozone to the amorphous carbon film (paraph 0062, 0070). Hernadi discloses ozone gas supply port that etches the amorphous carbon film while the front surface of the substrate is dry by supplying ozone gas as etching gas to the amorphous carbon film the substrate (page 203-209). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lauerhaas, Arima in view of Hernadi by having an ozone gas supply port that etches the amorphous carbon film while the front surface of the substrate is dry by supplying ozone gas as etching gas to the amorphous carbon film formed on the front surface of the substrate because equivalent and substitution of one for the other would produce an expected result (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713