DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 2012/0307423) in view of Hack (2014/0098034).
Regarding claim 1, Bohn discloses a portable data processing device comprising:
a first housing (416, fig. 4);
a second housing (418, fig. 4);
a connecting member (406, fig. 4) connecting the first housing and the second housing (see fig. 4); and
a display panel (410, fig. 4) overlapping with the first housing, the second housing, and the connecting member (see fig. 4), the display panel comprising:
a first display region overlapping with the first housing (see display area 410 over 416 in fig. 4);
a second display region overlapping with the second housing (see display area 410 over 418 in fig. 4); and
a third display region overlapping with the connecting member (see display area 410 over 406 in fig. 4),
wherein the connecting member comprises a first region (see top of 406, fig. 4) overlapping with the display panel and not overlapping with either the first housing or the second housing (see fig. 4),
wherein the connecting member comprises a second region (414, fig. 4) which is exposed and between the first housing and the second housing (see fig. 4),
wherein the first display region is larger than the second display region (see fig. 4),
wherein, in a folded state of the portable data processing device, the first display region and the second display region overlap each (see fig. 4),
wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the first display region and the second display region face away from each other (see fig. 4, fig. 1),
wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the first display region and the third display region are visible by a user (see fig. 4, fig. 1),
wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the portable data processing device is configured to display an image in the first display region and the third display region (see fig. 4, fig. 1),
Bohn fails to disclose wherein the third display region provided in the space in between the first and second display regions.
wherein, in a folded state of the portable data processing device, the first display region (front side display region 422 in fig. 4D) and the second display region (see middle display region between front 422 and back 424 in fig. 4D) overlap each other with the third display region (see front bend region of 422 in fig. 4D) provided therebetween (see fig. 4D and para. 51),
wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the first display region and the second display region face away from each other 9see fig. 4D and para. 51),
wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the first display region and the third display region are visible by a user (see fig. 4D and para. 51),
wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the portable data processing device is configured to display an image in the first display region and the third display region (para. 51, 43 and fig. 4D; wherein display region 422, including the front bending area of 422, displays an image and is active), and not to display an image in the second display region (para. 43, 51; wherein the occluded middle display region is deactivated and does not display an image).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Hack in the device of Bohn. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a flexible display which can be folded into an S-shape (Hack; para. 51, 43 and fig. 4D; further wherein the display may be arranged to be entirely or partially usable when in the collapsed state), providing greater usability.
Regarding claim 2, Bohn discloses a transistor provided in the display panel comprises an oxide semiconductor in a channel formation region (para. 20; wherein an LCD includes conventional transistors).
Regarding claim 3, Bohn discloses wherein, in the folded state of the portable data processing device, the first housing and the second housing overlap with a space in between (see space between 438 and 442 in fig. 4).
The remainder of the claim is rejected in the same manner as written for claim 1 above.
Claim 4 is rejected in the same manner as written for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Bohn discloses a first conducting member (508, fig. 5) connecting the first housing (516, fig. 5) and the second housing (518, fig. 5);
a second connecting member (514, fig. 5) overlapping with the with the first connecting member (see fig. 5);
wherein the first connecting member comprises a first region overlapping with the display panel and not overlapping with either the first housing or the second housing (see fig. 5),
wherein the second connecting member comprises a first region overlapping with the third display region, a second region overlapping with the first housing, and a third region overlapping with the second housing (see 514, fig. 5; wherein 514 overlaps the first housing 516 and second housing 518 and third display area above 508),
wherein the second connecting member comprises a metal (para. 31, 19).
The remainder of the claim is rejected in the same manner as written for claims 1-2 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628