DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 08/11/2026.
Claims 1-7 and 10-22 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-7 and 10-22 rejected under 35 USC § 101, is withdrawn in light of the claim amendments.
Applicant’s argues on pages 9-10 of applicant’s remarks that Dayan in view of Srinivasan fails to teach “determining whether the first identity is anomalous based on anomalous identity criteria and the received information associated with the first identity” as recited in amended claims 1, 20, and 22.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Dayan teaches determining whether the first identity is anomalous based on anomalous identity criteria and the received information associated with the first identity ([0007], [0139], [0224], [0228]). Dayan stores a portion of the data associated with the network identity during an initial authentication, compares additional data associated with the network identity against the stored data, and treats a difference between them as reflecting anomalous activity ([0228]). Dayan identifies that additional data as the network identity’s username, group, role, authentication type, license, IP address, client type, device identifier, location, and network provider ([0224]), and obtains that data by monitoring the communication between the network identity and the network resource ([0007]). Dayan further discloses that an access policy may define the rule against which that data is measured, requiring at least one aspect of the data associated with a first request to match at least one aspect of the data associated with a second request, and gives as an example a rule ensuring that the network identity’s IP address matches between the two requests ([0139]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that measuring a network identity’s own username, group, role, IP address, location, and device identifier against a policy rule and against previously stored values for that same identity, and treat a deviation as anomalous, is determining whether the first identity is anomalous based on anomalous identity criteria and the received information associated with the first identity.
The examiner notes the applicant’s argument that the determination in Dayan “is performed after the network identity 240 is given access to the just-in-time session” is not a distinction over the claims. Amended claim 1 recites disabling access by the first identity to the particular resource when the first identity is determined to be anomalous, which presupposes that access exists to be disabled. The claims recite no order of steps requiring the anomaly determination to precede the grant of access, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a determination resulting in the disabling of an identity’s existing access is necessarily made with respect to an identity that has already been given access.
The examiner further notes the applicant’s argument that Dayan “instead discloses making the anomalousness determination based on actions performed in a session” and that this “is not equivalent to being based on ‘information associated with the first identity’” is not persuasive. Applicant’s argument addresses only paragraph [0087] of Dayan and does not address paragraphs [0139], [0224], and [0228]. Those paragraphs disclose a determination that turns on the network identity’s own attributes rather than on any action the network identity performs, and the attributes Dayan relies upon are the network identity’s username, group, role, IP address, client type, device identifier, location, and network provider ([0224]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such attributes describe who or what the network identity is rather than what it does, and are information associated with the first identity as claimed.
Therefore, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the limitations of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or
“step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or
acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for accessing an identity access protocol repository to retrieve an access
protocol associated with a particular resource”; “means for receiving information associated
with a first identity from the particular resource based on access protocol associated with the
particular resource”; “means for determining whether the first identity is anomalous based on anomalous identity criteria and the received information associated with the first identity”; “means for disabling access by the first identity to the particular resource and issuing an alert communication when the first identity is determined to be anomalous”; “means for determining whether the first identity is a privileged identity based on the received information associated with the first identity” and “means for adding the first identity to a secure identity repository when the first identity is determined to be a privileged identity” in claim 22. Paragraph [33], [35], and [38], provides sufficient structure for claim 22.
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover only the
corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the
claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, 13-15, 18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayan et al. US 20240179147 hereinafter referred to as Dayan in view of Srinivasan et al. US 9069979 hereinafter referred to as Srinivasan.
As per claim 1, Dayan teaches a method of preventing unauthorized access to a computing system, comprising: receiving information associated with a first identity from the particular resource based on the access protocol associated with the particular resource (Dayan [0007], [0094]: receives identity information from a resource through a native communication protocol established for that resource, see e.g., “the network identity to access at least one network resource using a native communication protocol; monitoring a communication between the network identity and the at least one network resource to identify additional data associated with the network identity”);
determining whether the first identity is a privileged identity based on the received information associated with the first identity (Dayan [FIG. 1], [FIG. 3], [0071], [0081]: determines privilege level of an identity by checking the received identity information, see e.g., “network resource proxy 120 may authorize network identity 240… determine if
network identity 240 has the necessary level of permissions to access network resource 170…
may verify access to the requested network resource 170 and determine whether network
identity 240 can access network resource 170 and perform requested actions”);
determining whether the first identity is anomalous based on anomalous identity criteria and the received information associated with the first identity (Dayan [0007], [0139], [0224], [0228]: “monitoring a communication between the network identity and the at least one network resource to identify additional data associated with the network identity… access policy may define a rule requiring at least one aspect of the data associated with the first request to match at least one aspect of data associated with the second request… a username of the network identity; a group the network identity is associated with; role the network identity is associated with… an IP address associated with the network identity… A difference between additional data 1735 and the stored data may reflect anomalous activity);
disabling access by the first identity to the particular resource and issuing an alert communication when the first identity is determined to be anomalous (Dayan [0087], [0139]:
“network identity 240 may be determined to be associated with anomalous or suspicious
network behavior, or for any other reason that a connection may be terminated between
network identity 240 and network resource 170… other security actions may include
generating an alert, flagging network identity 240, suspending or terminating a least-privilege
connection”);
adding the first identity to a secure identity repository when the first identity is determined to be a privileged identity (Dayan [FIG. 1], [0072]: secret hub functions as a secure identities, credentials, storage and stores the credentials that have access to the resource, see e.g., “Secret hub 160 may be any form of secure storage location for storing secrets, which may include, but are not limited to, passwords, credentials, encryption keys, tokens, certificates, or any other form of access credential for use in applications, services, privileged accounts, and other secure network resources. Secret hub 160 may allow for central management of secrets across multiple accounts within a network and allow security access policies to be consistently enforced across multiple accounts. In particular, secret hub 160 may encrypt and store credentials required to access network resource 170”).
Dayan does not explicitly disclose accessing an identity access protocol repository to retrieve an access protocol associated with a particular resource.
Srinivasan teaches accessing an identity access protocol repository to retrieve an access protocol associated with a particular resource (Srinivasan [Col. 9, lines 5-13]: per-service
instance security store that mentions artifacts used to connect to the resources, see e.g.,
“Each service instance of any type can have its own composite OPSS security store on a per-
instance basis. The security store can provide isolation to a service instance for all of that
instance's security artifacts… artifacts can include those used to obtain and consume
credentials to connect back-end systems. Such artifacts can include those used to obtain and
consume keys and certificates to establish secure socket layers (SSL) connections”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan of an adaptive
authentication system with the teachings of Srinivasan to include an access protocol repository
in order to manage access across different platforms while improving interoperability.
As per claim 2, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the access protocol associated with the particular resource includes an address for transmitting a request of identity information to the particular resource (Dayan [0097]: parameters used to
connect to the network resource include the IP addresses used for transmitting request to
that resource, see e.g., “parameters to connect to a proxy may indicate information such as
the identity making the request to access network resource 170… An identification of a network resource may comprise parameters to connect to network resource 170… identification of network resource 170 may include a source and destination address and
port, protocol, domain name system information, IP address information, or any other
connection information for identifying network resource 170”).
As per claim 3, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the access protocol associated with the particular resource comprises software instructions for retrieving identity information from the particular resource (Dayan [0094]: protocol has
software implemented native communication protocol instructions which constitutes the
software instructions used to retrieve and exchange information, see e.g., “Native
communication protocols may include rules and conventions for exchanging information
between devices through a network or other media… such as a Secure Shell Protocol (SSH), a
structured query language (SQL), a Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP), a File Transfer Protocol
(FTP), an SSH File Transfer Protocol (SFTP), a Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP), a
hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), a Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPs), or any
other protocol suitable for transmitting information between systems”).
As per claim 5, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the secure identity repository is configured to provide credential information associated with the first identity to an authorized requester (Dayan [0072]: secret hub that authenticates and
authorize a requester and provides them access to secrets, see e.g., “Secret hub 160 may
authenticate and authorize users, machines, or applications attempting to access one or more
secrets before permitting access to stored sensitive data”).
As per claim 6, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the authorized requester is a second resource, wherein the second resource is configured to use the credential information associated with the first identity to access the particular resource (Dayan [0082]: network resource proxy can constitute a second resource which receives
credentials from the secret hub and uses those credentials to authenticate and access the
resource on behalf of the network identity, see e.g., “Network resource proxy 120 may
retrieve strong account credentials from secret hub 160 through a privileged access
manager… network resource proxy 120 may send a request to secret hub 160 to retrieve
strong account credentials. In response, secret hub 160 may retrieve the strong account
credentials, decrypt the protected strong account credentials, and return the strong account
credentials to network resource proxy 120 over a secured channel”).
As per claim 7, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the second resource accesses the particular resource without intervention by a human operator (Dayan [0077]: second resource can be another network identity that accesses resources, and
these identities include software instances and applications that operate without human
intervention, see e.g., “Network identity 240 may be a virtual machine (e.g., based on AWS™,
Azure™, IBM Cloud™, etc.), container instance (e.g., Docker™ container, Java™ container,
Windows Server™ container, etc.), or other virtualized instance”).
As per claim 10, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first identity is determined to be anomalous based on a determination of whether the information associated with the first identity matches one or more anomalous access criteria (Dayan [0228]: anomaly detection is performed by comparing additional identity data against stored data, where deviations indicate anomalous activity, see e.g., “authentication step 1745 may be configured to detect changes in data associated with network identity 240… Authentication step 1745 may include comparing additional data 1735 with the stored data. A difference between additional data 1735 and the stored data may reflect anomalous
activity and thus may require additional authentication or another form of control action”).
As per claim 13, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first identity is determined to be a privileged identity based on comparison of the information associated with the first identity to one or more privileged access criteria (Dayan [0081]: comparing identity information against access policy criteria, see e.g., “Authorizing network
identity 240 may include checking the authentication credentials of network identity 240
against one or more access policy to determine if network identity 240 may access network
resource 170”).
As per claim 14, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more privileged access criteria are associated with the particular resource (Dayan
[0100]: “an access policy may be based on an address of network resource 170, an instance
name of network resource 170, a schema of network resource 170, a type of command, a
table of network resource 170, a column of network resource 170, or a row of network
resource 170”).
As per claim 15, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein said accessing, receiving, determining, and adding are repeated for a plurality of additional resources that are different than the particular resource (Dayan [0073], [0088], [0109]:
resources can be any type of computing resource within a network and you would have to do
the same steps to access the resource, see e.g., “network identity 240 would have to repeat
process 300 to access network resource 170 or to perform additional actions on network
resource 170… resource discovery may be used to discover network resource 170 and other
resources that may be accessed by network identity 240; Srinivasan [Col. 9, lines 5-13]: per-service instance security store that mentions artifacts used to connect to the resources).
As per claim 18, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the particular resource is a data store, a database, the secure identity repository, a particular record in a data store, a server, a service operating on a server, an operating system, an enterprise manager, an active directory, a network automation engine, network attached storage, an identity management store, a mainframe, an application, a cloud environment, a service associated with a cloud environment, a computer, a phone, or a mobile communication device (Dayan [0073]: “Network resource 170 may refer to any type of computing resource
within a network that may be accessed by entities (e.g., users, machines, applications)
through a communications network. Examples of network resources 170 may include servers,
databases, or data structures holding confidential information, restricted-use applications,
operating system directory services, access-restricted cloud-computing resources, sensitive
IoT equipment, or any other computer-based equipment or software that may be accessible
over a network e.g., network 110”).
As per claim 20 and 22, the claims disclose a system corresponding to the method claim 1 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 21, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the system of claim 20, further comprising a plurality of identity controlled resources that include the particular resource (Dayan [0073]: “Network resource 170 may refer to any type of computing resource within a
network that may be accessed by entities (e.g., users, machines, applications) through a
communications network. Examples of network resources 170 may include servers,
databases, or data structures holding confidential information, restricted-use applications,
operating system directory services, access-restricted cloud-computing resources, sensitive
IoT equipment, or any other computer-based equipment or software that may be accessible
over a network (e.g., network 110). Other examples of network resources 170 may include
files, folders, elements in cloud buckets, databases, serverless function settings, logs, computer programs, computer codes, machine executable instructions, or any other type of
data that may be stored in a data structure. In some embodiments, network resource 170
may be a privileged resource to which access is limited or restricted”).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayan in view of Srinivasan, and further in view of Edwards et al. US 20210211389 hereinafter referred to as Edwards.
As per claim 4, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1.
Dayan in view of Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose that wherein the access protocol
associated with the particular resource indicates that identity information is received from the
particular resource via a push protocol.
Edwards teaches that wherein the access protocol associated with the particular
resource indicates that identity information is received from the particular resource via a push
protocol (Edwards [0057]: “provide for different communication protocols to implement not
only the passage of identity data, but also any logic required to provision or reconcile
accounts and access, pull, or push identity changes from/to identity repositories e.g., human
resource (HR) systems”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan in view of Srinivasan of
access protocols associated with particular resources with teachings of Edwards to include a
push protocol in order to improve efficiency of resource access with proactive data delivery.
As per claim 16, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the access protocol associated with the particular resource comprises an API address and protocol for requesting information associated with identities that are authorized
to access the particular resource; wherein an access protocol associated with a second resource
indicates that information associated with identities that are authorized to access the second
resource can be accessed via a pull operation (Dayan [0094-0095]: multiple distinct communication protocols including API-based HTTP/HTTPS protocols and pull-based query
protocols such as SQL, SFTP, FTP for retrieving information from different resources, see e.g.,
“Native communication protocols may include rules and conventions for exchanging
information between devices through a network or other media… such as a Secure Shell
Protocol (SSH), a structured query language (SQL), a Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP), a File
Transfer Protocol (FTP), an SSH File Transfer Protocol (SFTP), a Simple Mail Transfer Protocol
(SMTP), a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP), a Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPs),
or any other protocol suitable for transmitting information between systems… Authenticating
network identity 240 using an existing protocol may occur conditional on network
identity 240 using a native client”).
Dayan in view of Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose wherein an access protocol
associated with a third resource indicates that information associated with identities that are
authorized to access the third resource can be accessed via a push operation.
Edwards teaches wherein an access protocol associated with a third resource indicates
that information associated with identities that are authorized to access the third resource can
be accessed via a push operation (Edwards [0057]: protocol associated with a resource, HR
systems, can indicate that information about authorized identities can be accessed via a push operation, see e.g., “provide for different communication protocols to implement not only
the passage of identity data, but also any logic required to provision or reconcile accounts
and access, pull, or push identity changes from/to identity repositories e.g., human resource
(HR) systems”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan in view of Srinivasan of
access protocols associated with particular resources with teachings of Edwards to include a
push protocol in order to improve efficiency of resource access with proactive data delivery.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dayan in view of
Srinivasan, and further in view of Xu et al. US 20230195863 here in after referred to as Xu.
As per claim 11, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1.
Dayan in view of Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose wherein the first identity is
determined to be anomalous by providing the information associated with the first identity to a
model trained on information associated with a plurality of anomalous identities and a plurality
of permissible identities.
Xu teaches wherein the first identity is determined to be anomalous by providing the
information associated with the first identity to a model trained on information associated with
a plurality of anomalous identities and a plurality of permissible identities (Xu [Abstract]:
submits the access data of the identity into a model and it outputs an anomaly report, see
e.g., “submitting access data to a trained machine learning model, receiving anomaly
detection result (214) from the trained machine learning model, formulating compromise assessment based on the anomaly detection result and supplying the compromise assessment (308) for use by an access control mechanism”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan in view of Srinivasan
anomaly detection with the teachings of Xu to submit data involving the anomaly to a model in
order to reduce false positives and tune the model to differentiate between malicious and
legitimate identities.
Claims 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Dayan in view of Srinivasan, and further in view of Yip et al. US 12386991 hereinafter referred
to as Yip.
As per claim 12, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1.
Dayan in view of Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose wherein the determination of
whether the first identity is anomalous is based on the first identity having been determined to
be a privileged identity.
Yip teaches wherein the determination of whether the first identity is anomalous is
based on the first identity having been determined to be a privileged identity (Yip [Col. 5, lines
11-16], [Col. 15, lines 45-55]: risk score can determine that a privileged account is anomalous,
see e.g., “risk score can indicate level of risk, and/or potential threat to an account. The risk
score can be weighted based on privilege level (e.g., privilege status and/or privilege value) of
an account. For instance, the apparatus can calculate a high risk score for an account with a
high privilege value (e.g., privileged-tier-high) with a low level of security”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan in view of Srinivasan of
anomaly detection with the teachings of Yip to include privilege-weighted anomaly
determination in order to detect issues involving privileged accounts and providing remedial
actions to prevent any compromise (Yip [Col. 15, lines 45-55].
As per claim 17, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 15.
Dayan in view of Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose further comprising determining
whether a second identity that is present in the secure identity repository is not received from
the particular resource.
Yip teaches further comprising determining whether a second identity that is present in
the secure identity repository is not received from the particular resource (Yip [Col. 4, lines 13-
17]: detecting accounts that were previously stored but no longer received from the platform,
see e.g., “the apparatus can perform an INSERT, UPDATE, and/or DELETE comparisons for the
database to detect any changes in the data from scheduled/executed jobs stored in the
database and newly received data for each account from the computing platforms”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan in view of Srinivasan of an
adaptive authentication engine with the teachings of Yip to include change detection for
identifying accounts in order to automatically sync the repository with the actual state of
resource to prevent security gaps caused by invalid identity data.
As per claim 19, Dayan in view of Srinivasan teaches the method of claim 1.
Dayan in view of Srinivasan does not explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting a
report indicating a number of new identities associated with the particular resource and other
resources during a pre-determined time period.
Yip teaches further comprising transmitting a report indicating a number of new
identities associated with the particular resource and other resources during a pre-determined
time period (Yip [FIGS. 10A-10C] [Col. 17, lines 32-39]: generating reports that collects account
data during scans, where the number of new identities is reflected by accounts newly
identified across platforms within the reporting interval, see e.g., “the report can include a
table listing identifies of each account retrieved, platforms from which each account is
retrieved, credentials associated with each account, privileged access rights of each account,
risk scores of each account, and/or the like. The report can also include statistical analysis of
the privileged access rights analysis e.g., the percentage of accounts retrieved being
privileged accounts, or a breakdown of privileged accounts by platforms”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dayan in view of Srinivasan of
securing privileged identities with the teachings of Yip to include a reporting mechanism in
order to enhance security monitoring and auditing by providing visibility of new identities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/HENRY TSANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495